Skip booklet index and go to page content

NORTHERN SPOTTED OWL (Strix occidentalis caurina)

Recovery strategy for the northern spotted owl

RECOVERY STRATEGY FOR THE

NORTHERN SPOTTED OWL

(Strix occidentalis caurina)

IN BRITISH COLUMBIA

NORTHERN SPOTTED OWL (Strix occidentalis caurina)

Jared Hobbs ©

Prepared by The Canadian Spotted Owl Recovery Team

April 19, 2004


Recommended Citation

Chutter, M.J., Blackburn, I., Bonin, D., Buchanan, J., Costanzo, B., Cunnington, D., Harestad, A., Hayes, T., Heppner, D., Kiss, L., Surgenor, J., Wall, W., Waterhouse, L., and Williams, L. 2004. Recovery Strategy for the Northern Spotted Owl (Strix occidentalis caurina) in British Columbia. Prepared for the BC Ministry of Environment, Victoria, BC. 74 pp.

 

Spotted Owl Recovery Team Members (as of April 2004)

Ian Blackburn
Wildlife Biologist
Ministry of Water, Land and Air Protection
10470 152nd St.
Surrey, BC, V3R 0Y3
Phone: 604-582-5240
Email: Ian.Blackburn@gems1.gov.bc.ca

Derek Bonin
Superintendent Watershed Planning
Greater Vancouver Regional District 4330 Kingsway
Burnaby, BC, V5H 4G8
Phone: 604-432-6415
Email: Derek.Bonin@gvrd.bc.ca

Joseph B. Buchanan
Wash. Dept. of Fish and Wildlife
Wildlife Diversity Division
600 Capitol Way North
Olympia, WA, 98501
Phone: 360-902-2697
Email: buchajbb@dfw.wa.gov

Michael J. Chutter (Chair)
Biodiversity Branch
Ministry of Water, Land and Air Protection
PO Box 9338 Stn Prov Govt
Victoria, BC, V8W 9M1
Phone: 250-387-9797
Email: Myke.Chutter@gems7.gov.bc.ca

David Cunnington
Endangered Species Biologist
CWS, Environment Canada
RR#1, 5421 Robertson Rd,
Delta, BC, V4K 3N2
Tel: 604.940.4687
Email: David.Cunnington@ec.gc.ca

Alton Harestad
Professor
Dept of Biological Sciences
Simon Fraser University
8888 University Drive
Burnaby, BC, V5A 1S6
Phone: 604-291-4809
Email: harestad@sfu.ca

Les Kiss
Vice President
Coast Forest & Lumber Association
Suite 1200, 1090 W. Pender
Vancouver, BC, V6E 2N7
Phone: 604-891-1237
Email: kiss@cfla.org

Louise Waterhouse
Wildlife Habitat Ecologist
Research Section,
Coast Forest Region
Ministry of Forests
2100 Labieux Rd.
Nanaimo, BC, V9T 6E9
Phone: 250-751-7123
Email: Louise.Waterhouse@gems1.gov.bc.ca

Liz Williams
Ecosystem/Habitat Planning Specialist
Ministry of Sustainable Resource Management
1st Floor 780 Blanshard St.
Victoria, BC, V8W 9M3
Phone: 250-356-6605
Email: Liz.Williams@gems8.gov.bc.ca

 

Alternates and Coordinator

Trish Hayes
(alternate for David Cunnington)
CWS, Environment Canada
RR #1, 5421 Robertson Rd.
Delta, BC, V4K 3N2
Phone: 604-940-4658
Email: Trish.Hayes@ec.gc.ca

Don Heppner
(alternate for Louise Waterhouse)
Coast Forest Region
Ministry of Forests
2100 Labieux Road
Nanaimo, BC, V9T 6E9
Phone: 250-751-7107
Fax: 250-751-7101
Email: Don.Heppner@gems5.gov.bc.ca

John Surgenor
(alternate for Ian Blackburn)
Ministry of Water, Land and Air Protection
1259 Dalhousie Dr.
Kamloops, BC, V2C 5Z5
Phone: 250-371-6306
Fax: 250-828-4000
Email: John.Surgenor@gems6.gov.bc.ca

Wayne Wall
(alternate for Les Kiss)
Habitat Specialist
International Forest Products
#311-1180 Ironwood Road
Campbell River, BC, V9W 5P7
Phone: 250-286-5143
Fax:250-286-5150
Email: Wayne_Wall@interfor.com

Brenda Costanzo
(FIA Recovery Team Coordinator)
Biodiversity Branch, Ministry of Water, Land and Air Protection
PO Box 9338 Stn Prov Gov't
Victoria, BC, V8W 9M1
Phone: 250-387-9611
Fax: 250-356-9145
Email: Brenda.Costanzo@gems7.gov.bc.ca