Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content


Species Specialist and Aboriginal Traditional Knowledge

Subcommittee Contacts



Dr. Marco Festa-Bianchet
Département de biologie
Université de Sherbrooke
Sherbrooke, QC, J1K 2R1



Species Specialist and Aboriginal Traditional Knowledge Subcommittees

Amphibians & Reptiles

Dr. David M. Green
Redpath Museum, McGill University
859 Sherbrooke Street, West
Montreal, QC H3A 2K6

Dr. Ronald J. Brooks
Department of Zoology
College of Biological Science
University of Guelph
Guelph, ON, N1G 2W1

Terrestrial Mammals

Dr. Brock Fenton
Department of Biology
York University
North York, ON, M3J 1P3

Dr. Marco Festa-Bianchet
Département de biologie
Université de Sherbrooke
Sherbrooke, QC, J1K 2R1


Dr. Gilles Seutin
Parcs Canada
25, rue Eddy, 4e étage
Hull, QC K1A 0M5

Richard (Dick) Cannings
1330 East Debeck Road
Site 11, Comp. 96, RR # 1
Naramata, BC, V0H 1N0

Lepidopterans & Molluscs

Dr. Theresa Fowler (Lepidopterans)
Canadian Wildlife Service
Environment Canada
Ottawa, ON, K1A 0H3

Dr. Gerald L. Mackie (Mollusca)
College of Biological Sciences
University of Guelph
Guelph, ON, N1G 2W1

Marine Mammals

Dr. Andrew Trites
Marine Mammal Research Unit
Fisheries Centre
University of British Columbia
2205 Main Mall, Vancouver B.C. V6T 1Z4

Dr. Hal Whitehead
Biology Department
Dalhousie University
Halifax, NS, B3H 4J1

Plants & Lichens

Dr. Erich Haber (Vascular Plants &
National Botanical Services
604 Wavell Avenue
Ottawa, ON, K2A 3A8

Dr. René Belland (Mosses)
Devonian Botanic Garden
University of Alberta
Edmonton, AB, T6G 2E1

Marine Fishes

Co-chair (Atlantic)
Dr. Richard L. Haedrich
Department of Biology
Memorial University of Newfoundland
St. John’s, NF, A1B 5S7

Co-chair (Pacific)
Dr. Mart R. Gross
Department of Zoology
University of Toronto
Suite 503
25 Harbord St.
Toronto, ON, M5S 3G5

Aboriginal Traditional


Interim Co-chair

F. Henry Lickers
Mohawk Council of Akwesasne,
Department of the Environment,
P.O. Box 579
Cornwall Ontario
K6H 5T3
Second co-chair to be announced.

Freshwater Fishes

Dr. Robert Campbell
131 Dahlia Avenue
Ottawa, ON, K1A 6G1

Dr. Claude Renaud
Canadian Museum of Nature
P.O. Box 3443, Station D
Ottawa, ON, K1P 6P4


The Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) was created in 1977 as a result of a recommendation at the Federal-Provincial Wildlife Conference held in 1976. It arose from the need for a single, official, scientifically sound, national listing of wildlife species at risk. In 1978, COSEWIC designated its first species and produced its first list of Canadian species at risk. Species designated at meetings of the full committee are added to the list. In 2002, COSEWIC is celebrating 25 years of Science and Knowledge for species at risk in Canada.

The Canadian Wildlife Service, Environment Canada, provides full administrative and financial support to the COSEWIC Secretariat.

Page 8