Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Red Crossbill, percna subspecies

Background

1.1 Species Description

Crossbills are medium-sized finches with crossed mandibles, which allow them to forage on the seeds of conifer cones. Red Crossbills are associated with conifer forests on the island of Newfoundland and can be distinguished from congeners of insular Newfoundland by the crossed mandibles in combination with the lack of white wing bars, which are characteristic of White-winged Crossbills (Loxia leucoptera) (COSEWIC 2004). Adult males are mostly red with some brown shading, whereas adult females are greyish olive with yellowish rumps (Godfrey 1986). Both males and females have blackish brown flight feathers and deeply notched tails (Godfrey 1986; Adkisson 1996). Juveniles are similar in appearance to adult females and are usually pale grey with some olive and yellow. They can be distinguished from adults by their streaked heads and bodies as well as their buffy wing coverts (Godfrey 1986; Adkisson 1996). Red Crossbills often forage in flocks.

The percna subspecies is distinguished from other North American Red Crossbills by its larger body, stouter bill, and darker, duskier plumage. However, owing to the difficulty of identifying subspecies by morphology alone, vocalization may be the best method of distinguishing different Red Crossbill types in the field. The percna subspecies is considered one of eight reproductively isolated forms found in North America and is believed to have its own distinct call (Groth 1993).

Since the release of the COSEWIC status report (COSEWIC 2004), additional information on population and/or distribution ofpercna has become available. Recent studies of congeners in Europe stress the importance of vocalization for Red Crossbill identification (Bijlsma 2004; Edelaar and Terpstra 2004). Edelaar and Terpstra (2004) support Benkman’s (1989) and Groth’s (1993) suggestions that North American Red Crossbills likely represent distinct species and not subspecies; these suggestions were based on studies of morphological, vocal, and genetic traits.

1.2 Distribution of Red Crossbill

For a more detailed summary of the species’ range, refer to the COSEWIC status report (COSEWIC 2004).

1.2.1   Global Range 

Red Crossbills occur throughout the boreal forests of North America and Eurasia and southward through the coniferous forests of northern Spain, northern Africa, the Mediterranean islands, northern India, southern China, Japan, and the northern Philippines (Godfrey 1986).

1.2.2   Canadian Range  

Godfrey (1986) reports that in Canada, Red Crossbills breed in the coniferous forests of southern Yukon, southwestern Northwest Territories, all of British Columbia (including coastal islands), Alberta (in the south, confined to the western mountainous region), northwestern and central Saskatchewan, southern Manitoba, central and southern Ontario (except the extreme southwestern region), southern Québec, New Brunswick (except possibly the northwestern region; Erskine 1992), Prince Edward Island, Nova Scotia, and Newfoundland (but are absent from Labrador) (Todd 1963; Godfrey 1986).

The percna subspecies has been identified as extending throughout Newfoundland, with occasional irruptions in the Maritimes. The COSEWIC status report indicated that during years of low cone crops, the percna subspecies has been observed in Ontario, Québec, New Brunswick, and Nova Scotia (COSEWIC 2004), as well as potentially in the bordering northeastern U.S. states (Dickerman 1987). It is not known if percna has bred in Labrador, as breeding records for Red Crossbill are unsubstantiated (Todd 1963). Their insular Newfoundland range is not fully understood, as it is not clear if there are core breeding areas other than their association with coniferous forests (COSEWIC 2004). Canadian range is illustrated in Figure 1.

1.2.3   Percentage of the Global Distribution in Canada 

The percna subspecies is believed to nest only in insular Newfoundland, Canada.

1.3 Population Sizes and Trends

Quantitative information does not exist to allow the assessment of historical population numbers or population trends for Red Crossbills in Newfoundland. However, they were once considered abundant, with numbers comparable to those of White-winged Crossbills (COSEWIC 2004). Since the mid-1900s, sightings of this species have greatly diminished, and the population is believed to have experienced a population decline upwards of 75% per decade during the period from 1968 through 2002 (based on Newfoundland Christmas Bird Counts; COSEWIC 2004). The status report suggests that the current total population size is 500–1500 individuals, but states that there is uncertainty associated with this estimate (COSEWIC 2004). This uncertainty is likely due to the sporadic and inconsistent nature of the survey effort across percna’s range, as well as a lack of surveys targeted specifically at crossbills.

Figure 1. Canadian range map for the Red Crossbill

Figure 1. Canadian range map for the Red Crossbill (Loxia curvirostra) (from Adkisson 1996).

1.4 Biological Needs, Ecological Role, and Limiting Factors

Due to their bill morphology, crossbills are highly specialized for foraging in conifer habitats. This habitat is also important for roosting and nesting (Adkisson 1996). Red Crossbills are locally irruptive, and their presence in an area is usually considered reflective of cone abundance. They often forage in flocks, suggesting the importance of social behaviour, and nest at any time of the year, based on cone availability. However, very little is known about the specific needs or life history ofpercna.

Survival and recovery of percna may be limited by changes to habitat and/or food abundance, possibly resulting from a combination of anthropogenic and non-anthropogenic factors (COSEWIC 2004). Interspecific competition, Allee effects, [1] and the cumulative effects of all of these factors could also influence Red Crossbill survival.

1.5 Habitat Needs

As previously described, Red Crossbills are believed to require a mosaic of cone-producing conifers for foraging, roosting, and nesting (COSEWIC 2004). However, owing to their irruptive behaviour and ability to breed at any time of the year, based on cone availability, Red Crossbill habitat associations are difficult to identify and are unknown for percna at this time. Knowledge gaps regarding habitat associations are considered a priority for future research.

Generally, large-billed crossbills are associated with large cones, such as pine; recent observations of Red Crossbills in Newfoundland have included a number of sightings in pine stands (COSEWIC 2004). Native red pine (Pinus resinosa) and eastern white pine (P. strobus) stands in particular are believed to have been historically important habitat for Red Crossbills in Newfoundland and may currently be linked to their survival (see section 2.2.2; W. Montevecchi, pers. comm. 2005). Benkman (1993a, 1993c) and Parchman and Benkman (2002), however, contend that percna is adapted to foraging on the seeds of black spruce (Picea mariana) in Newfoundland and argue that the cones of this species are different from the cones of mainland black spruce. Unfortunately, Parchman and Benkman (2002) do not indicate whether cones of mainland conifers are unexploitable by percna, except to suggest that differences arose due to mainland spruce evolving under predation by both crossbills and squirrels, whereas Newfoundland spruce have evolved under pressure from crossbills only (Benkman 1993c). Research to compare the cones of black spruce on the mainland with those of Newfoundland black spruce is necessary to assess the contention by Benkman and colleagues that the scales of Newfoundland black spruce cones are thinner than those of black spruce cones on the mainland; this study was based on a minute and geographically restricted sample (W. Montevecchi, pers. comm. 2005).Other conifer species exploited by Red Crossbills include white spruce (Picea glauca), balsam fir (Abies balsamea), and tamarack (Larix laricina), and there is evidence that Red Crossbills, including those in Newfoundland, also forage on various non-conifer food sources (Peters and Burleigh 1951; Payne 1972; Benkman 1993a; B. Mactavish, pers. comm. 2005). Furthermore, it is likely that all conifers present on the mainland would also be accessible to any percna occurring there.

 




[1]The Allee effect is a biological phenomenon based on the positive relationship of population density with per capita population growth: i.e., the per capita birth rate decreases as population density decreases.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Bec-croisé des sapins de la sous-espèce percna

Contexte

1.1 Description de l’espèce

Les becs-croisés sont des roselins de taille moyenne pourvu de mandibules croisées qui leur permettent de se nourrir des graines des cônes de conifères. Les Becs-croisés des sapins sont associés aux forêts de conifères de l’île de Terre-Neuve et se distinguent de leurs congénères sur l’île par leurs mandibules croisées et par l’absence des bandes alaires blanches qui caractérisent le Bec-croisé bifascié (Loxialeucoptera) (COSEPAC, 2004). Le plumage des mâles adultes est presque entièrement rouge et marqué de brun par endroit alors que celui des femelles adultes est olive grisâtre et jaune au niveau du croupion (Godfrey, 1986). Les mâles et les femelles ont des rémiges brun noir et une queue très ciselée (Godfrey, 1986; Adkisson, 1996). Les juvéniles ressemblent aux femelles adultes et sont généralement d’une couleur gris pâle teintée d’olive et de jaune. Ils se distinguent des adultes par la présence de rayures sur la tête et le corps de même que de bordures chamois sur les tectrices des ailes (Godfrey, 1986; Adkisson, 1996). Les Becs-croisés des sapins cherchent souvent leur nourriture en groupe.

La sous-espèce percna se distingue des autres Becs-croisés des sapins nord-américains par sa plus forte taille, par son bec plus large et plus foncé, et par son plumage plus sombre. Toutefois, puisqu’il est difficile d’identifier une sous-espèce uniquement par sa morphologie, le chant de l’oiseau peut être la meilleure méthode pour distinguer les différents types de Becs-croisés des sapins sur le terrain. La sous-espècepercna appartient à un groupe de huit formes isolées sur le plan reproductif présentes en Amérique du Nord et son cri serait distinct (Groth, 1993).

Depuis la publication du rapport de situation du COSEPAC (COSEPAC, 2004), des données additionnelles sur la population et/ou la distribution de la sous-espèce percna sont devenus disponibles. Des études récentes sur les espèces congénères en Europe soulignent l'importance du chant pour l'identification du Bec-croisé des sapins (Bijlsma, 2004; Edelaar et Terpstra, 2004). Edelaar et Terpstra (2004) apportent leur appui aux suggestions de Benkman (1989) et de Groth (1993) selon lesquelles les Becs-croisé des sapins de l'Amérique du Nord représenteraient fort probablement des espèces distinctes et non des sous-espèces; ces suggestions s'appuyaient sur des études de la morphologie, du chant et des caractéristiques génétiques.

1.2 Répartition du Bec-croisé des sapins

Pour une description plus détaillée de l’aire de répartition de l’espèce, consulter le rapport de situation du COSEPAC (COSEPAC, 2004).

1.2.1   Aire de répartition mondiale

Le Bec-croisé des sapins est présent dans les forêts boréales d’Amérique du Nord et d’Eurasie, et, au sud, jusque dans les forêts de conifères du nord de l’Espagne, du nord de l’Afrique, des îles de la Méditerranée, du nord de l’Inde, du sud de la Chine, du Japon et du nord des Philippines (Godfrey, 1986).

1.2.2   Aire de répartition au Canada

Godfrey (1986) signale que le Bec-croisé des sapins se reproduit au Canada dans les forêts conifériennes du sud du Yukon et du sud-ouest des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, de toute la Colombie-Britannique (y compris les îles côtières), de l'Alberta (dans le sud, seulement dans la région montagneuse de l’Ouest), du nord-ouest et du centre de la Saskatchewan, du sud du Manitoba, du centre et du sud de l’Ontario (sauf dans l’extrême sud-ouest), du sud du Québec, du Nouveau-Brunswick (sauf peut-être dans la région nord-ouest; Erskine, 1992), de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, de la Nouvelle-Écosse et de Terre-Neuve (mais pas au Labrador) (Todd, 1963; Godfrey, 1986).

La sous-espèce percna a été observée sur toute l’île de Terre-Neuve et à l’occasion dans les Maritimes. Le rapport de situation du COSEPAC signale que, les années où la production de cônes a été mauvaise, la sous-espècepercna a été observée en Ontario, au Québec, au Nouveau-Brunswick et en Nouvelle-Écosse (COSEPAC, 2004), et peut-être même dans les États limitrophes du nord-est des États-Unis (Dickerman, 1987). On ignore si la sous-espècepercna s’est déjà reproduite au Labrador car les mentions de reproduction du Bec-croisé des sapins n’ont pas été confirmées (Todd, 1963). On ne connaît pas précisément l’aire de répartition sur l’île de Terre-Neuve puisqu'il n'est pas certain qu'il y ait des aires de reproduction principales autres que les associations de l'espèce avec les forêts de conifère (COSEPAC, 2004). L’aire de répartition canadienne est illustrée à la figure 1.

1.2.3   Pourcentage de l’aire de répartition mondiale comprise au Canada 

On croit que la sous-espèce percna niche uniquement dans l’île de Terre-Neuve, au Canada.

1.3 Tailles et tendances des populations

Il n’existe aucune information quantitative qui permettrait d'évaluer les effectifs ou les tendances de la population historique de Becs-croisés des sapins de Terre-Neuve. Toutefois, les Becs-croisés des sapins ont déjà été considérés comme abondants avec un effectif comparable à celui des Becs-croisés bifasciés (COSEPAC, 2004). Depuis le milieu des années 1900, les observations de cette espèce ont fortement chuté, et on croit que la population a connu un déclin de 75 % par décennie entre 1968 et 2002 (selon les Newfoundland Christmas Bird Counts; COSEPAC, 2004). Le rapport de situation suggère une population actuelle de 500 à 1 500 individus mais précise que cette estimation est plutôt incertaine (COSEPAC, 2004). Cette incertitude est probablement due à la nature sporadique et irrégulière des relevés menés dans l’aire de répartition de la sous-espècepercna, et au manque de relevés ciblant spécifiquement les becs-croisés.

1.4 Besoins biologiques, rôle écologique et facteurs limitatifs

En raison de la morphologie de leur bec, les becs-croisés sont hautement spécialisés pour s’alimenter dans les habitats de conifères. Ces habitats sont également importants pour le repos et la nidification (Adkisson, 1996). Les Becs-croisés des sapins font des irruptions locales, et leur présence dans un secteur est généralement associée à une abondance de cônes. Ils cherchent leur nourriture en groupe, ce qui suggère que les comportements sociaux sont importants, et ils nichent à n’importe quel moment de l’année, selon la disponibilité des cônes. Les besoins spécifiques de la sous-espèce percna et son cycle vital sont toutefois très peu connus.

La survie et le rétablissement de la sous-espècepercna peuvent être limités par des changements à l’habitat et/ou à la disponibilité de la nourriture qui pourraient résulter d'une combinaison de facteurs anthropiques et naturels (COSEPAC, 2004). La concurrence interspécifique, l’effet d'Allee [1]et les effets cumulatifs de ces facteurs peuvent également compromettre la survie du Bec-croisé des sapins.

Figure 1. Aire de répartition du Bec-croisé des sapins

Figure 1. Aire de répartition du Bec-croisé des sapins (Loxia curvirostra) au Canada (tiré de Adkisson, 1996).

1.5 Besoins en matière d’habitat

Tel que mentionné précédemment, on croit que le Bec-croisé des sapins dépend d’une mosaïque de conifères producteurs de cônes pour l’alimentation, le repos et la nidification (COSEPAC, 2004). Cependant, en raison de sa tendance aux irruptions et de sa capacité à se reproduire à n’importe quel moment de l’année en fonction de la disponibilité des cônes, les associations à l'habitat du Bec-croisé des sapins sont difficiles à cerner et sont actuellement inconnues pour la sous-espèce percna. Les lacunes dans les connaissances concernant les associations à l'habitat sont considérées comme une priorité pour les recherches futures.

De manière générale, les becs-croisés à gros bec sont associés aux gros cônes, comme ceux des pins. Certaines des récentes observations de Becs-croisés des sapins à Terre-Neuve ont été faites dans des pinèdes (COSEPAC, 2004). On croit que les peuplements indigènes de pins rouges (Pinus resinosa)et de pins blancs (P. strobus) étaient autrefois un habitat important pour le Bec-croisé des sapins à Terre-Neuve et qu’ils pourraient actuellement avoir un lien avec la survie de l’espèce (voir section 2.2.2; W. Montevecchi, comm. pers., 2005). Benkman (1993a, 1993c) et Parchman et Benkman (2002) soutiennent cependant que la sous-espèce percnas’est adaptée à consommer des graines de l’épinette noire (Picea mariana) à Terre-Neuve et ils affirment que les cônes de cette espèce sont différents de ceux que l’on trouve sur les épinettes noires du continent. Malheureusement, Parchman et Benkman (2002) ne précisent pas si les cônes des conifères du continent sont inutilisables par la sous-espèce percna; ils suggèrent seulement que les différences sont attribuables au fait que les épinettes du continent ont évolué en subissant la prédation des becs-croisés et des écureuils, alors que les épinettes de Terre-Neuve ont évolué en ne subissant que la prédation des becs-croisés (Benkman, 1993c). Des recherches visant à comparer les cônes des épinettes noires du continent à ceux de Terre-Neuve devront être menées afin d’évaluer l'assertion de Benkman et de ses collègues selon laquelle les écailles des cônes des épinettes noires de Terre-Neuve sont plus minces que celles des épinettes noires du continent, l'étude de Benkman ne reposant que sur un petit échantillon géographiquement restreint (W. Montevecchi, comm. pers., 2005). Parmi les autres espèces de conifères exploitées par le Bec-croisé des sapins figurent l’épinette blanche (P. glauca), le sapin baumier (Abies balsamea) et le mélèze laricin (Larix laricina). Certains indices suggèrent que les Becs-croisés des sapins, y compris ceux de Terre-Neuve, utilisent également diverses sources de nourriture autres que les conifères (Peters et Burleigh, 1951; Payne, 1972; Benkman, 1993a; B. Mactavish, comm. pers., 2005). De plus, il est fort probable que tous les conifères du continent soient accessibles à n’importe quel individu de la sous-espèce percna qui y serait présent.



[1]L'effet d'Allee est un phénomène biologique qui s'appuie sur la relation positive existant entre la densité de population et le taux de croissance de la population par individu,c.-à-d. le taux de natalité par individu décroît avec la diminution de la densité de population.