Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the American Ginseng in Canada

Update
COSEWIC Status Report
on the
American Ginseng
Panax quinquefolius
in Canada
1999

Introduction

Ginseng was designated as threatened in 1988 due to its decline at many sites and the continued threat posed by diggers who harvest the root for sale as a medicinal plant (White, 1988). Wild ginseng has been considered rare or threatened over much of its North American range for many years (White, 1988). Concerns over its declining populations led to the plant being declared an Appendix II species in 1973 under the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora (CITES). Appendix II species must be monitored to ensure that continued international trade does not threaten their existence. After the CITES agreement was signed, the Quebec government decided not to issue export permits for ginseng. The Ontario government issued export permits to comply with the CITES agreement but did not establish a formal monitoring program to determine the effect of the harvest on the population (White, 1988).

The 1988 status report documented 25 extant sites (several that consisted of two or three subpopulations) of ginseng in Ontario and stated there were an additional 80 sites in the province that had been located or reconfirmed by other field botanists since 1964. Many of these 80 sites, however, may have disappeared before 1988 (White, 1988). Gagnon and Charron (1987) document 15 extant sites for Quebec and list a further 13 sites that had been located or reconfirmed after 1964. Although the average size of the populations documented in the status report is about 100 plants, most populations found consist of only one or a few plants (White, 1988). When the status report was written, the main threats to ginseng were considered to be harvest, and habitat degradation from clearing, logging, and grazing cattle (White, 1988).

Since the status report was written, a considerable amount of information has been generated on different aspects of the biology of ginseng (Charron, 1989; Charron and Gagnon, 1991; Nantel, et al., 1996).  Extensive field studies have been undertaken in Quebec from 1994 to 1998 (Nault, et al., 1997) and in Ontario in 1997 (Nault, et al., 1998).  The cultivation of ginseng has also expanded tremendously (Clark and Kort, 1996). This report evaluates the status of the species in regards to the new information available and to the changes observed.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le ginseng à cinq folioles au Canada - Mise à jour

Mise à jour
Rapport de situation du COSEPAC
sur le
ginseng à cinq folioles
Panax quinquefolius
au Canada
1999

Introduction

Le ginseng à cinq folioles a été désigné espèce menacée en 1988 en raison du déclin de nombreuses populations et de la menace constante que constitue la cueillette de ses racines pour la vente comme plante médicinale (White, 1988). L’espèce, à l’état sauvage, est considérée comme rare ou menacée dans la plus grande partie de son aire de répartition nord-américaine depuis de nombreuses années (White, 1988). En 1973, les craintes soulevées par le déclin des populations de ginseng à cinq folioles ont abouti à l’inscription de cette espèce à l’Annexe II de la Convention sur le commerce international des espèces de faune et de flore sauvages menacées d'extinction (CITES). Les espèces figurant dans cette annexe doivent faire l’objet d’une surveillance étroite permettant de garantir que la poursuite de leur commerce international n’en menace pas la survie. Après la signature de la CITES, le gouvernement du Québec a décidé de ne pas délivrer de permis pour l’exportation du ginseng. Le gouvernement de l’Ontario a entrepris la délivrance de permis conformément à la CITES, mais il n’a pas établi de programme de surveillance officiel permettant de déterminer l’effet de la cueillette sur les populations (White, 1988).

Dans le premier rapport de situation, White (1988) présente des données iétablissant l’existence de 25 sites (dont plusieurs comportaient deux ou trois sous-populations) en Ontario et mentionne 80 autres sites, découverts ou confirmés par d’autres botanistes de terrain depuis 1964; il ajoute cependant que nombre de ces sites ont peut-être disparu par la suite. Par ailleurs, Gagnon et Charron (1987) présentent des données établissant l’existence de 15 sites au Québec et mentionnent 13 autres sites ayant été découverts ou confirmés après 1964. Les populations recensées par White (1988) renfermaient en moyenne une centaine de sujets, mais la plupart en renfermaient un seul, ou quelques-uns. Au moment de la rédaction du rapport de White (1988), les principaux facteurs menaçant les populations étaient la cueillette ainsi que la dégradation de l’habitat due au débroussaillage, à l’exploitation forestière et au broutage par les bovins.

Depuis la rédaction du premier rapport de situation, une quantité considérable d’information a été obtenue sur divers aspects de la biologie du ginseng à cinq folioles (Charron, 1989; Charron et Gagnon, 1991; Nantel et al., 1996) et des études de terrain approfondies ont été menées au Québec de 1994 à 1998 (Nault et al., 1997) ainsi qu’en Ontario en 1997 (Nault et al., 1998). Par ailleurs, la culture du ginseng a connu une expansion énorme (Clark et Kort, 1996). Le présent rapport vise à évaluer la situation de l’espèce à la lumière des nouvelles données ainsi que des changements observés.