Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the American Ginseng in Canada

Population Size and Trends

When the status report was written in 1988, 25 extant sites of ginseng from Ontario and 15 from Quebec had been studied in detail (White, 1988). Although the average size of colonies documented in the status report is over 100 plants, only the largest known colonies were selected for study. The average Ontario colony was estimated to be 10 to 20 plants and many sites contained only a few plants (White, 1988). An additional 80 locations from Ontario and 13 sites in Quebec could theoretically still be extant (White, 1988).

In this report, we are reporting 65 ginseng records for Ontario: 31 are known to be extant; 11 are known to be extirpated; and 23 are possibly extant (Appendix 1). Among those, 42 sites were studied in detail between 1996 and 1998. In 1997, 20 of the 25 previously-documented populations in Ontario were re-surveyed (Table 1). The results of these revisits are alarming: 25% of the 1988 sites had disappeared and 50% had declined. Harvesting was confirmed or suspected in 55% of the sites visited. Logging was suspected of causing declines in 25% of colonies investigated. In 1997 and 1998, an additional 22 sites were searched and counted in Ontario (Table 2). Of the 22 new sites surveyed, 27% had disappeared. Few of these new sites had a sufficiently reliable previous count to determine whether the population had increased or declined. If we evaluate the 42 locations surveyed in Ontario, the situation appears very precarious (Figure 2). Eighty-three percent of previously-documented Ontario populations have been extirpated or are threatened due to their small size (i.e. N< 170 plants, the Minimum Viable Population size for ginseng; Nantel et al., 1996; refer to Biology section). This figure should be seen as a conservative estimate, since only the larger sites were selected for this survey. The total plant counts documented for the province is 8619 plants, however, 70% of them were found in the two largest colonies.

The situation is also precarious in Quebec. The 1988 status report listed 15 extant sites and 13 possibly-extant sites for ginseng in Quebec. After much concentrated field effort over several seasons, the data bank of the “Centre de données du patrimoine écologique du Québec” reports 74 occurrences for ginseng (Appendix 2). From 1994 to 1998, 59 ginseng locations were studied in detail. Ten populations have been extirpated (i.e. 17%), and most of the extant ones are small (Figure 4). In Quebec, 75% of all ginseng populations recorded have been extirpated or are threatened (i.e. N<MVP). Fifteen viable populations are presently known, but nearly 50% of all plants known in the province (N=10,956) are found in only two large colonies (only one is protected). In Quebec, ginseng is concentrated in the south, in the Monteregian region, the most developed and urbanized area of the province. As a consequence, most populations are small and dispersed in a fragmented landscape where habitat loss and degradation is high. Harvest is less common in Quebec, observed in 15% of the sites sampled.

We have documented seven viable populations of ginseng in Ontario, and 15 in Quebec. Although these stations are considered viable on a biological point of view, none can be considered secure or protected. All face an uncertain future. Threats from harvest in Ontario and from habitat loss in Quebec are all clearly illustrated by these recent observations. Clearly, since the 1988 status report, harvest and habitat loss and degradation through logging and development have significantly reduced the ginseng population in Canada.

Table 4: Threats to Viable Ginseng Populations in Canada
Prov.SiteLand Ownership/UsageSizeCharacteristicsThreats (potential)
Ont Private/Recreation> 500Loss of vigor, probably due to observed disease. Very low seed production. Within town limit. Probably planted.Disease Development
(Harvest)
Ont Private/ Pasture240Colony occurs in a steepsided ravine protecting plants from cattle grazing in adjacent areas.Cattle Grazing Isolated habitat
(Logging)
Ont Provincial Park/Recreation> 500Immature colony with 2000 one-leaf plants. Half the mature plants were harvested in 1997. Very low reproductive potential.Harvest in 1997.
Highly visible from trail.
Ont Private/Recreation226Mature colony with good seed production but very low recruitment.Logging
(Gravel pit)
Ont Private/Unknown192Major decline since 1988 due to canopy opening from beaver activity. Island of deciduous forest in a large wetland complex.Habitat degradation
Isolated habitat
Ont Provincial Park/Recreation237Immature population structure due to harvest. Half plants are seedlings.Harvest in the 80s.
Canopy affected by ice storm.
Ont Private/Unknown> 500Mature colony, very vigourous despite a major harvest (at least 105 mature plants and fruits).Harvest in 1997.
Que001*QC 1Wildlife National res./Recreation Conservation467Mature and moderately productive colony, but plants are small. Proportion of immature has increased from 1994 to 1998.Trail newly established nearby.
(Harvest)
Que003*QCProvincial Park/Recreation Conservation> 500Several sub-populations dispersed in a protected area. A small colony was destroyed by disease in 1995. Harvested since 1995. Numerous trails expose this population to harvest.Harvested since 1995.
Disease
Que004*QCPrivate/Sugar bush Recreation366Major losses in 1998 from ice-storm. Sharp decline since 1995 due to the establishment of a golf course nearby. Seed production reduced.Development
Major canopy loss from ice storm.
Habitat fragmentation.
Que006*QCPrivate/Forestry Recreation> 500Mature colony, very vigorous. Major damages from ice storm. Next to an ATV trail.Logging in 1995.
Major canopy loss from ice storm.
Que0015*QCPrivate/ Sugar bush262Young population structure, but good regeneration. Numerous trails nearby for sap collection.(Logging)
(Harvest)
Que0020b*QCPrivate/ Forestry480A few sub-populations within mature habitat. Housing project projected.Logging
Development
Que0037*QCPrivate/ Forestry Recreation300A few mature sub-populations dispersed in mature forest. Numerous ATV trails. Deer grazing.Logging Canopy affected by ice storm.
(Harvest)
Que0051*QCPrivate/ Hunting club320Mature population but poor recruitment.(Logging)
Que0052*QCProvincial Park/ Recreation272Mature colony with good seed production. Poor recruitment due to low seed viability.(Harvest)
Que0055*QCPrivate/ Forestry220Mature colony with good seed production. Poor recruitment due to major seed predation. Nearby trail.(Logging)
(Harvest)
Que0058*QCPrivate/ Recreation Conservation195Immature colony with poor seed production. May have been harvested in the past. Numerous trails. Species rich habitat.Seed harvest reported.
(Logging)
Que0059*QCPrivate/ Forestry281Mature colony with good recruitment reduced half size by selective logging.Logging in 1997.
Que0062*QCNational Park/ Recreation Conservation222Immature colony growing nearby trail. Few reproductive plants. Highly visible.Major damage from ice storm.
(Harvest)
Que0063*QCPrivate/ Forestry248Immature population originating from seed plantation. Established nearby trails.Harvest
Major damage from ice storm.
Que0068*QCPrivate/ Nature trails Sugar bush486Mature colony, good recruitment. Mature maple forest highly fragmented by trails for sap collection and nature trails. Over 100 large plants dug in 1995. Highly visible.Harvest in 1995.
Fragmentation

1 Locations are kept confidential. Site numbers correspond to EOCODE.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le ginseng à cinq folioles au Canada - Mise à jour

Taille et tendances des populations

En 1988, au moment de la rédaction du dernier rapport de situation, 25 sites ontariens et 15 sites québécois de ginseng à cinq folioles avaient été recensés de manière détaillée (White, 1988). L’effectif moyen de ces populations était de plus de 100 sujets, mais seules les plus grandes populations connues avaient été retenues pour l’étude. White (1988) estimait que l’effectif moyen réel des populations ontariennes se situait entre 10 et 20 sujets, et de nombreuses populations ne comptaient que quelques sujets. White (1988) mentionnait, qu’en théorie, outre les sites recensés de manière détaillée, il pouvait encore exister 80 autres sites en Ontario et 13 au Québec.

Dans le présent rapport, nous mentionnons 65 sites de ginseng à cinq folioles pour l’Ontario, dont 31 certainement encore existantes, 11 certainement disparus, et 23 peut-être encore existants (annexe 1). Parmi ces 65 sites, 42 ont été étudiés en détail entre 1996 et 1998. En 1997, 20 des 25 sites ontariens étudiés en 1988 ont été examinés à nouveau (tableau 1) et les résultats sont alarmants : 25 % d’entre eux sont disparus, tandis que 50 % ont décliné. L’étude a permis de confirmer ou soupçonner la pratique de la cueillette dans 55 % des sites examinés et la coupe forestière peut avoir causé le déclin de 25 % des sites. En 1997 et 1998, 22 autres sites ontariens ont fait l’objet de recherches et de recensements (tableau 2). Sur ces 22 sites, 27 % avaient disparu; seulement quelques-uns avaient fait l’objet d’un recensement antérieur suffisamment fiable pour qu’on puisse déterminer si leur population avait augmenté ou décliné. Dans l’ensemble, la situation des 42 sites ontariens étudiés semble très précaire (figure 2). Par ailleurs, 83 % des sites ontariens recensés en 1988 sont aujourd’hui disparus, ou menacés en raison de leur petite taille (N < 170 sujets, seuil de viabilité selon Nantel et al., 1996; voir la section Biologie générale). De plus, cette proportion doit être considérée comme une estimation prudente, car seuls les plus grands sites ont été retenus pour l’étude. Le nombre total de sujets recensés en Ontario s’élève à 8 619, mais 70 % de cet effectif est constitué par les deux plus grandes populations.

La situation de l’espèce est également précaire au Québec. Dans le dernier rapport de situation, White (1988) mentionne 15 sites confirmés et 13 sites possibles. À la suite de travaux de terrain intensifs répartis sur plusieurs années, la base de données du Centre de données du patrimoine écologique du Québec comporte maintenant 74 « occurrences » du ginseng à cinq folioles pour la province (annexe 2). De 1994 à 1998, 59 sites ont été étudiés en détail. Dans le cas de dix (17 %) de ces sites, les populations sont disparues, tandis que dans la plupart des autres cas, elles sont petites (figure 4). Au Québec, 75 % de toutes les populations de ginseng à cinq folioles mentionnées à ce jour sont disparues ou menacées (N<PMV). On connaît actuellement 15 populations viables dans la province, mais presque 50 % de l’effectif connu (N=10 956) est constitué des deux plus grandes populations, dont seulement une est protégée. Au Québec, l’effectif de l’espèce est concentré dans le sud de la province, en Montérégie, région la plus développée et urbanisée de la province. Par conséquent, la plupart des populations sont petites et dispersées dans un paysage fragmenté où l’habitat de l’espèce connaît un taux élevé de destruction et de dégradation. La cueillette se pratique moins au Québec qu’en Ontario et n’a été relevée que sur 15 % des sites étudiés.

Nous avons établi la présence de sept populations viables en Ontario et de 15 au Québec. Bien que ces sites soient jugés viables du point vue biologique, aucun ne peut être considéré comme protégé ou hors de danger, et tous ont un avenir incertain. Les menaces que constituent la cueillette en Ontario et la destruction de l’habitat au Québec sont manifestes à la lumière des observations récentes. Il est évident que la cueillette du ginseng à cinq folioles ainsi que la destruction de son habitat par la coupe forestière et le développement ont considérablement réduit les populations canadiennes de cette espèce depuis la rédaction du rapport de situation de 1988.

Table 4: Facteurs menaçant les populations viables de ginseng à cinq folioles au Canada
Prov.SiteTenure/Utilisation du territoireEffectifCaractéristiquesMenaces (potentielles)
ON Terrain privé/ Récréation> 500Perte de vigueur, probablement due à la maladie observée. Très faible production de graines. Le site est situé dans une municipalité et l’espèce y a probablement été semée ou plantée.Maladie
Développement
(Cueillette)
ON Terrain privé/ Pâturage240Population située dans un ravin escarpé la protégeant des bovins broutant à proximité.Broutage par les bovins
Habitat isolé
(Coupe forestière)
ON Parc provincial/ Récréation> 500Population immature comportant 2 000 sujets unifoliés. La moitié des sujets adultes ont été cueillis en 1997. Très faible potentiel reproducteur.Cueillette en 1997.
Très visible depuis le sentier.
ON Terrain privé/ Récréation226Population mature avec bonne production de graines, mais recrutement très faible.Coupe forestière
(Gravière)
ON Terrain privé/ Utilisation inconnue192Déclin important depuis 1988, dû à l’ouverture du couvert forestier par l’activité des castors. Îlot de forêt décidue à l’intérieur d’un vaste complexe de milieux palustres.Dégradation de l’habitat
Habitat isolé
ON Parc provincial/ Récréation237Population immature à cause de la cueillette. La moitié des sujets sont de jeunes semis.Cueillette durant les années 1980.
Couvert forestier affecté par la tempête de verglas.
ON Terrain privé/ Utilisation inconnue> 500Population mature, très vigoureuse malgré une cueillette importante (au moins 105 sujets adultes ainsi que des fruits).Cueillette en 1997.
QC001*QC 1Réserve nationale de faune/ Récréation et conservation467Population mature modérément productive, mais sujets de petite taille. La proportion des sujets immatures a augmenté de 1994 à 1998.Aménagement récent d’un sentier à proximité.
(Cueillette)
QC003*QCParc provincial/ Récréation et conservation> 500Plusieurs sous-populations dispersées à l’intérieur d’une zone protégée. Une petite sous-population a été détruite par la maladie en 1995. Cueillette depuis 1995. La présence de nombreux sentiers expose la population à la cueillette.Cueillette depuis 1995.
Maladie
QC004*QCTerrain privé/ Acériculture et récréation366Pertes importantes en 1998 à cause de la tempête de verglas. Déclin marqué depuis 1995 dû à l’aménagement d’un terrain de golf à proximité. Production de graines réduite.Développement
Perte importante de couvert forestier due à la tempête de verglas. Fragmentation de l’habitat.
QC006*QCTerrain privé/ Exploitation forestière et récréation> 500Population mature très vigoureuse. Dégâts importants dus à la tempête de verglas. Piste de VTT à proximité.Coupe forestière en 1995.
Perte importante de couvert forestier due à la tempête de verglas.
QC0015*QCTerrain privé/ Acériculture262Population à structure très jeune, mais bonne régénération. Nombreux sentiers utilisés pour l’acériculture à proximité.(Coupe forestière)
(Cueillette)
QC0020b*QCTerrain privé/ Exploitation forestière480Petit groupe de souspopulations à l’intérieur d’un boisé mature. Projet de construction domiciliaire.Coupe forestière
Développement
QC0037*QCTerrain privé/ Exploitation forestière et récréation300Petit groupe de souspopulations à l’intérieur d’un boisé mature. Nombreuses pistes de VTT. Broutage par le cerf de Virginie.Coupe forestière Couvert forestier affecté par la tempête de verglas.
(Cueillette)
QC0051*QCTerrain privé/ Club de chasse320Population mature, mais recrutement médiocre.(Coupe forestière)
QC0052*QCParc provincial/ Récréation272Population mature avec bonne production de graines. Recrutement médiocre, à cause de la faible viabilité des graines.(Cueillette)
QC0055*QCTerrain privé/ Exploitation forestière220Population mature avec bonne production de graines. Recrutement médiocre, à cause d’une prédation importante des graines. Sentier à proximité.(Coupe forestière)
(Cueillette)
QC0058*QCTerrain privé/ Récréation et conservation195Peuplement immature avec faible production de graines. Possibilité de cueillette passée. Sentiers nombreux. Milieu riche en espèces.Cueillette de graines signalée.
(Coupe forestière)
QC0059*QCTerrain privé/ Exploitation forestière281Population mature avec bon recrutement, mais réduite de moitié par la coupe sélective.Coupe forestière en 1997.
QC0062*QCParc national/ Récréation et conservation222Population immature située à proximité d’un sentier. Sujets reproducteurs peu nombreux. Population très visible.Dégâts importants dus à la tempête de verglas.
(Cueillette)
QC0063*QCTerrain privé/ Exploitation forestière248Population immature issue d’un ensemencement. Sentiers établis à proximité.Cueillette
Dégâts importants dus à la tempête de verglas.
QC0068*QCTerrain privé/ Sentiers de nature et acériculture486Population mature avec bon recrutement. Érablière mature très fragmentée par les sentiers d’exploitation acéricole et les sentiers de nature. Plus de 100 gros sujets ont été récoltés en 1995. Population très visible.Cueillette en 1995.
Fragmentation.

1 Les localités sont confidentielles. Le nombre de référence des sites correspond aux nombres du système EOCODE.