Skip booklet index and go to page content

Winter Skate (Leucoraja Ocellata)

Logo of COSEWIC

COSEWIC
Executive Summary

Winter Skate
Leucoraja Ocellata

Species Information

Winter skate (Leucoraja ocellata Mitchill 1815), also known as the big or eyed skate, are recognized by a flattened disc shape, greatly enlarged wing-like fins, and long tail. The upper surface is usually light to dark brown with a large white eyespot near the rear corner of the pectoral fins, which helps distinguish them from other species of skate.

Distribution

Winter skate are endemic to the Northwest Atlantic and are found from the northern Gulf of St. Lawrence and southern Newfoundland to Cape Hatteras, North Carolina. In Canadian waters, skate are concentrated in 3 areas: southern Gulf of St. Lawrence, eastern Scotian Shelf, and the Canadian portion of Georges Bank. Winter skate have been assessed as four Designatable Units: Southern Gulf of St. Lawrence population, Eastern Scotian Shelf population, Georges Bank-Western Scotian Shelf-Bay of Fundy population, and Northern Gulf-Newfoundland population.

Habitat

The winter skate is a bottom-dwelling species, usually found on sand and gravel. They occur at depths of up to 371 m, but are most common at depths less than 111 m. Most are caught in waters ranging between 5 and 9°C (range: -1.2 to 19°C).

Biology

Very little is known about the biology of winter skate. They grow slowly and reach sexual maturity between 7 and13 years at lengths estimated to range between 50 cm and 75 cm. Maximum age has been estimated to be as high as 30 years. Generation time is estimated to be between 17 and 22 years. Fecundity ranges between 6 and 50 eggs. Spawning has been reported to occur in late summer/early autumn. The diet consists mainly of rock crab and squid, as well as worms, amphipods, shrimp, clams and small fish.

Population Sizes and Trends

Population size and trends in abundance can be estimated from fisheries-independent surveys. Estimates of minimum total abundance are 100 000 for the Southern Gulf population, 750 000 for the Eastern Scotian Shelf population, and 1.7 million for the Georges Bank-Western Scotian Shelf-Bay of Fundy population; abundance has not been estimated for the Northern Gulf-Newfoundland population. Since the early 1970s, mature winter skate are estimated to have declined 98% in the Southern Gulf and more than 90% on Eastern Scotian Shelf. There is no discernible trend in the abundance of mature skate in the Georges Bank-Western Scotian Shelf-Bay of Fundy population. Abundance trend information for the Northern Gulf-Newfoundland population is unavailable because of the rarity of the species in these waters. Winter skate on the U.S. portion of Georges Bank, although not defined as being overfished, are at low levels relative to their abundance in the mid-1980s. 

Limiting Factors and Threats

Narrow latitudinal ranges and a high degree of endemism have been documented for the skate family worldwide. Of 58 documented marine fish extirpations, 13 have been experienced by members of the skate family (Rajidae). Winter skate possess life history characteristics that increase vulnerability to exploitation, that reduce rate of recovery, and that increase risk of extinction. These characteristics include delayed age at maturity, large size at birth, long generation time, low fecundity, and consequently slow population growth rate. In Canadian waters, winter skate are subject to capture as bycatch in fisheries for other groundfish species (notably flatfishes) and, on Georges Bank, for scallops. The Eastern Scotian Shelf population is subjected to a small, directed fishery.

Special Significance of the Species

Winter skate are endemic to the western North Atlantic with a considerable portion of their range in Canadian waters. They are among the most ancient of extant species of vertebrates. The species has, at various times, supported a directed fishery.

Existing Protection or Other Status Designations

In Canadian waters, commercial catches are regulated by the Department of Fisheries and Oceans. All populations in Canadian waters are subject to bycatch. The only directed fishery in Canadian waters is a limited one that exists on the eastern Scotian Shelf, where annual Total Allowable Catches (TACs) have declined from 2000t in 1994 to 200t, a TAC set initially in 2002. Winter skate have no status under IUCN.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Raie tachetée (Leucoraja ocellata)

Raie tachetée

Leucoraja ocellata

 

Information sur l’espèce

La raie tachetée (Leucoraja ocellata [Mitchill, 1815]), également connue sous le nom de raie d’hiver, est reconnaissable à sa forme arrondie et aplatie, ses grandes nageoires pectorales en forme d’ailes et sa longue queue. Sa face dorsale est généralement brun pâle à brun foncé, avec une grande tache blanche (ocelle) située dans la région du bord postérieur de chaque pectorale, qui permet de la distinguer d’autres raies.

 

Répartition

La raie tachetée est endémique de l’Atlantique Nord‑Ouest, où on la rencontre depuis le nord du golfe du Saint‑Laurent et la côte sud de Terre‑Neuve jusqu’au cap Hatteras, en Caroline du Nord. En eaux canadiennes, l’espèce est concentrée dans trois secteurs : le sud du golfe du Saint‑Laurent, l’est du plateau néo‑écossais et le banc Georges. Aux fins d’évaluation, nous avons considéré quatre unités désignables : la population du sud du golfe du Saint‑Laurent, la population de l’est du plateau néo‑écossais, la population du banc Georges, de l’ouest du plateau néo‑écossais et de la baie de Fundy et la population du nord du golfe du Saint‑Laurent et de Terre‑Neuve.

 

Habitat

La raie tachetée est un poisson benthique qui vit sur les fonds sableux ou graveleux. Elle vit le plus souvent à moins de 111 m de profondeur, mais peut descendre jusqu’à 371 m. L’espèce est le plus souvent capturée dans des eaux dont la température se situe entre 5 et 9 °C (plage de -1,2 à 19 °C).

 

Biologie

On connaît très peu de choses sur la biologie de la raie tachetée. L’espèce a une croissance lente et acquiert la maturité sexuelle entre 7 et 13 ans, à une longueur estimée à 50 à 75 cm. La longévité maximale a été estimée à 30 ans. Selon les estimations, la durée d’une génération varie de 17 à 22 ans. La femelle pond entre 6 et 50 œufs, à la fin de l’été ou au début de l’automne. La raie tachetée se nourrit principalement de crabes communs et de calmars, mais elle consomme également des vers, des amphipodes, des crevettes, des bivalves et des petits poissons.

 

Taille et tendances des populations

La taille et les tendances des populations peuvent être estimées à partir des données de relevés effectués indépendamment des pêches commerciales. L’effectif minimum total est estimé à 100 000 individus pour la population du sud du golfe du Saint‑Laurent, à 750 000 individus pour celle de l’est du plateau néo‑écossais et à 1,7 millions d’individus pour celle du banc Georges, de l’ouest du plateau néo‑écossais et de la baie de Fundy; l’effectif de la population du nord du golfe du Saint‑Laurent et de Terre‑Neuve n’a pas été estimé. Depuis le début des années 1970, on estime que la population adulte de raies tachetées a connu un déclin de 98 p. 100 dans le sud du golfe du Saint‑Laurent et de plus de 90 p. 100 dans l’est du plateau néo‑écossais; on ne peut dégager aucune tendance des données sur la population adulte du banc Georges, de l’ouest du plateau néo‑écossais et de la baie de Fundy. Il n’existe aucune information sur les tendances de la population du nord du golfe du Saint‑Laurent et de Terre‑Neuve à cause de la rareté de l’espèce dans ces eaux. Dans les eaux américaines du banc Georges, bien que la raie tachetée ne soit pas considérée comme surexploitée, l’effectif a beaucoup diminué depuis le milieu des années 1980.

 

Facteurs limitatifs et menaces

On observe chez les Rajidés du monde entier une étroite répartition latitudinale et un degré élevé d’endémisme. Treize des 58 espèces de poissons marins disparues appartiennent à la famille des Rajidés. Les particularités de cycle vital de la raie tachetée rendent l’espèce particulièrement sensible à l’exploitation, lente à se rétablir et sujette à la disparition. Ces particularités sont une taille importante à la naissance, une maturité tardive, une faible fécondité et la longue durée d’une génération, qui font que les populations de l’espèce ne peuvent croître que lentement. En eaux canadiennes, la raie tachetée est prise accessoirement dans les pêches d’autres poissons de fond (en particulier celles de poissons plats) et, sur le banc Georges, dans les pêches de pétoncles. La population de l’est du plateau néo‑écossais fait l’objet d’une pêche dirigée à petite échelle.

 

Importance de l’espèce

La raie tachetée est endémique de l’Atlantique Nord‑Ouest, et une part importante de son aire de répartition se trouve en territoire canadien. L’espèce est un des plus anciens vertébrés vivants. Elle a fait l’objet de pêches commerciales à différentes périodes.

 

Protection actuelle ou autres désignations de statut

La pêche commerciale de la raie tachetée en eaux canadiennes est réglementée par le ministère des Pêches et des Océans. Dans toutes les eaux canadiennes où l’espèce est présente, elle est prise accessoirement dans d’autres pêches. Elle fait l’objet d’une pêche dirigée uniquement dans l’est du plateau néo‑écossais, le total admissible de captures (TAC), fixé à 2 000 tonnes par an en 1994, ayant été réduit depuis 2002 à seulement 200 tonnes par an. Aucun statut particulier n’a été attribué à la raie tachetée par l’Union mondiale pour la nature (UICN).