Skip booklet index and go to page content

Winter Skate (Leucoraja Ocellata)

Biology

General

Despite increased fishing effort and a broad geographic range (Sulikowski et al., 2003), little information exists on the biology and distribution of winter skate and other skate. Data have routinely been collected during research surveys in the northwest Atlantic but there has been only limited examination of this information (Kulka et al., 1996).


Reproduction

Like all elasmobranches (sharks, skate, rays), winter skate are slow-growing, produce very few young each year, and almost certainly, as a consequence, have a slow population growth rate. Skate that are part of the Eastern Scotian Shelf and the Georges Bank-Western Scotian Shelf-Bay of Fundy populations mature at considerably larger sizes than those in the Southern Gulf population. On Georges Bank and the Gulf of Maine, individuals mature between 70 and 109 cm total length (TL). Length at 50% maturity for female winter skate on the eastern Scotian Shelf has been estimated to be 75 cm (Simon et al., 2003). Skate in the Southern Gulf of St. Lawrence population mature at a smaller size (50 cm) and do not attain as large a size as in other populations (McEachran and Martin, 1977).

Preliminary aging of winter skate on the eastern Scotian Shelf suggests that the length at 50% maturity corresponds to an age of 7-8 years, although it should be noted that these estimates are based on very limited sample sizes. Maximum age for skate in this region has been estimated to be 20 to 30 years (Simon and Frank, 2000; Sosebee and Terceiro, 2000). These studies were carried out on the eastern Scotian Shelf and have not been validated.

These estimates of age at maturity and maximum age differ from those reported from a study conducted in the Gulf of Maine (Sulikowski et al., 2003). Age at maturity and maximum age were estimated from vertebral band counts, morphological variability, and histological data as well as steroid hormone concentrations. Examination of 96 males and 88 females indicate an age at 50% maturity to occur between 769 to 776 mm for females, corresponding to an age of 12-13 years. For males, 50% maturity was estimated at 730 mm, which corresponds to an age of 11 years. Maximum age was estimated at 18 years for females and 19 years for males (Sulikowski et al., 2003). The aging study by Sulikowski et al. (2003) was undertaken only on skate from the U.S. portion of the population and may not provide accurate estimates of age at maturity for winter skate in Canadian waters. It does, however, provide the most comprehensive information on the age of winter skate at sexual maturity. Mating probably occurs throughout the year although precise details are lacking (Scott and Scott, 1988).

Generation time was estimated as Age at Maturity + 1/M, where M is the instantaneous rate of natural mortality. Based on the estimates provided by Sulikowski et al. (2003), age at maturity was set at 12 years for skate in the Southern Gulf and Georges Bank-Western Scotian Shelf-Bay of Fundy populations. Available, albeit limited, data suggest an age at maturity of 7 years for Eastern Scotian Shelf skate. Based on estimates provided by J. Simon (DFO, Bedford Inst. Oceanography), M was set at 0.1, an estimate of natural mortality that is reasonable for long-lived species such as winter skate. Using these parameter estimates, the generation time is estimated to be 17 years for the Eastern Scotian Shelf population and 22 years for the Georges Bank-Western Scotian Shelf-Bay of Fundy populations.

Winter skate are thought to deposit from six (Bigelow and Schroeder, 1953) to fifty egg cases (Holden, 1977), although the exact number of purses laid is unknown (Collette and Klein-MacPhee, 2002). One fisherman from Isle aux Morts reported 4 to 6 egg cases in winter skate he has cut open. Eggs can take as long as 22 months to develop (Simon & Frank, 1998). If 22 months is an accurate estimate, this may mean that mature females only spawn every two years, but this hypothesis has not been empirically tested.

Eggs of winter skate are deposited throughout the year off southern New England and from summer to autumn off Nova Scotia (Vladykov, 1936; Collette and Klein-MacPhee, 2002). Industry has previously noted females extruding complete purses only in the late summer/early autumn west of Sable Island and suggestions were made that this may be a spawning area (Simon and Frank, 2000). Each embryo is contained in a tough brown egg case, 5.5-8.6 cm long, and 3.5-5.2 cm wide, excluding horns (Scott and Scott, 1988). There are four long filaments, which are thought to serve as anchors (Collette and Klein-MacPhee, 2002). Specimens so recently hatched that their abdomens are still swollen with yolk range from about 112-127 mm in length (Collette and Klein-MacPhee, 2002).


Survival

Little is known about predation on winter skate, but they are eaten by many predators including sharks, other skates (such as L. erinacea), and grey seals (Scott and Scott, 1988). Winter skate are also prone to several parasites, including protozoans, myxosporidian, haematazoa, trematodes and nematodes (Scott and Scott, 1988).

Winter skate are the targets of directed fisheries in the United States and Canada. The principal commercial fishing method used to catch skate is otter trawling. They are also caught as bycatch in groundfish trawls and scallop and shrimp trawls, after which they are usually discarded (Sosebee and Terceiro, 2000). These methods of fishing have been hypothesized to disrupt bottom habitats occupied by winter skate as well as other skate species (Sosebee and Terceiro, 2000).


Movements/Dispersal

Research vessel survey data for the Scotian Shelf suggest that winter skate are concentrated in deeper warmer waters in the winter and move into shallower waters during spring and summer. Three specimens tagged in the Gulf of Maine were recaptured between 130 and 190 km east of where they were released (Whitehead et al., 1984). A recent study of a related species of skate in the North Sea, the thornback ray, indicated that the annual migration cycle, based on conventional and electronic tagging experiments, was restricted to an area 1°latitude X 1°longitude in area (i.e., approximately 110 km X 110 km) (Hunter et al. submitted). In the southern Gulf of St. Lawrence, Clay (1991) concluded that winter skate move from shallow waters to deeper, warmer water in winter (see also Darbyson and Benoît, 2003).


Nutrition and Interspecific Interactions

Although rock crab and squid are favoured by winter skate, they also prey upon annelid worms, amphipods, shrimps, and razor clams, and they eat whatever small fish are readily available (Collette and Klein-MacPhee, 2002). Historical information shows that they eat other small skate and that sandlance appear to be a favoured species of fish (Simon and Frank, 2000).

Studies of food habits of winter skate and little skate by McEachran et al. (1976) have shown that although the two species occur together over most of their range, they probably avoid serious competition with one another by consuming different proportions of the same food resources. Winter skate tend to eat infauna and little skate eat epifauna. Winter skate also overlap with thorny skate (Amblyraja radiata) in the northern portion of their Canadian range, but little is known of the relationship between the two species.


Behaviour/Adaptability

Very little is known about the behaviour of winter skate.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Raie tachetée (Leucoraja ocellata)

Biologie

Généralités

En dépit de la grande étendue de l’aire de répartition de la raie tachetée et d’une intensification de l’effort de pêche (Sulikowski et al., 2003), il existe très peu d’information sur la biologie et la répartition de l’espèce et des raies en général. Des données sur la raie tachetée ont été recueillies à l’occasion d’autres relevés scientifiques dans le nord-ouest de l’Atlantique, mais elles n’ont pas été analysées de très près (Kulka et al., 1996).


Reproduction

Comme tous les Élasmobranches (requins et raies), la raie tachetée a une croissance lente et produit un très petit nombre de petits par an. Il est donc presque certain que ses populations ne peuvent croître que lentement. La population de l’est du plateau néo-écossais et celle du banc Georges, de l’ouest du plateau néo-écossais et de la baie de Fundy acquièrent la maturité à une taille nettement plus grande que la population du sud du golfe du Saint-Laurent. Dans les eaux du banc Georges et du golfe du Maine, les individus arrivent à maturité entre 70 et 109 cm de longueur (longueur totale). Dans les eaux de l’est du plateau néo-écossais, la longueur à laquelle 50 p. 100 des femelles acquièrent la maturité a été estimée à 75 cm (Simon et al., 2003). Les individus vivant dans le sud du golfe du Saint-Laurent acquièrent la maturité à une plus petite taille (50 cm) et n’atteignent pas la taille maximale observée chez les autres populations (McEachran et Martin, 1977).

Les analyses préliminaires des données d’âge de la population de l’est du plateau néo-écossais indiquent que la taille à laquelle la moitié de la population acquiert la maturité correspond à 7 ou 8 ans. Il importe toutefois de souligner que ces estimations reposent sur un échantillon très limité. La longévité maximale chez cette population se situerait entre 20 et 30 ans (Simon et Frank, 2000; Sosebee et Terceiro, 2000). Les études sur lesquelles sont fondées ces estimations étaient restreintes à l’est du plateau néo-écossais, et elles n’ont pas été validées.

Ces estimations de l’âge à la maturité et de la longévité maximale de la raie tachetée diffèrent de celles issues d’une étude réalisée dans le golfe du Maine (Sulikowski et al., 2003). Les auteurs de cette étude ont estimé l’âge à la maturité et la longévité maximale de l’espèce à partir du nombre d’anneaux des vertèbres, de la variabilité morphologique, de données histologiques et des concentrations d’hormones stéroïdes. Ils ont examiné 96 mâles et 88 femelles et ont estimé que 50 p. 100 des femelles étaient arrivées à maturité entre 769 et 776 mm de longueur, à un âge de 12 à 13 ans, et que 50 p. 100 des mâles, à 730 mm, à 11 ans. La longévité maximale a été estimée à 18 ans pour les femelles et 19 ans pour les mâles (Sulikowski et al., 2003). L’étude de Sulikowski et al. (2003) portait uniquement sur la population américaine de l’espèce, et les résultats ne sont pas forcément directement transposables à la population canadienne. Il s’agit cependant de la plus importante source d’information sur l’âge de la raie tachetée à la maturité. Il n’existe pas d’information détaillée sur l’accouplement, mais celui-ci se produit probablement en tout temps de l’année (Scott et Scott, 1988)

La durée d’une génération a été estimée à l’aide de la formule suivante : âge à la maturité + 1/M, M étant le coefficient instantané de mortalité naturelle. L’âge à la maturité a été fixé, d’après les estimations de Sulikowski et al. (2003), à 12 ans pour la population du sud du golfe du Saint-Laurent et pour celle du banc Georges, de l’ouest du plateau néo-écossais et de la baie de Fundy. D’après les données limitées disponibles pour la population de l’est du plateau néo-écossais, la maturité chez cette dernière serait acquise à 7 ans. Le coefficient M a été fixé à 0,1 d’après les estimations de J. Simon (MPO, Institut océanographique de Bedford), valeur jugée raisonnable pour une espèce longévive comme la raie tachetée. La durée d’une génération a ainsi été estimée à 17 ans pour la population de l’est du plateau néo-écossais et à 22 ans pour la population du banc Georges, de l’ouest du plateau néo-écossais et de la baie de Fundy.

On pense que la raie tachetée pond entre six (Bigelow et Schroeder, 1953) et cinquante (Holden, 1977) sacs ovigères, mais on ne peut rien dire de plus précis (Collette et Klein-MacPhee, 2002). Un pêcheur d’Isle aux Morts a compté 4 à 6 sacs ovigères dans le corps de femelles capturées. L’incubation pourrait durer jusqu’à 22 mois (Simon et Frank, 1998); si cette estimation est exacte, cela pourrait signifier que les femelles adultes ne pondent que tous les deux ans, mais cette hypothèse n’a pas été vérifiée.

Dans les eaux du sud de la Nouvelle-Angleterre, la ponte s’étale sur toute l’année, tandis que dans les eaux de la Nouvelle-Écosse, elle a lieu seulement à l’été et à l’automne (Vladykov, 1936; Collette et Klein-MacPhee, 2002). À l’ouest de l’île de Sable, les pêcheurs signalent des pontes de sacs ovigères complets uniquement à la fin de l’été et au début de l’automne. Certains auteurs croient que ce secteur est une frayère de l’espèce (Simon et Frank, 2000). Chaque embryon est enfermé dans un sac ovigère dur de couleur brune mesurant entre 5,5 et 8,6 cm de longueur et entre 3,5 et 5,2 cm de largeur, cornes non comprises (Scott et Scott, 1988). Le sac ovigère est muni de quatre longs filaments qui font probablement office d’ancres (Collette et Klein-MacPhee, 2002). Des spécimens examinés si tôt après la sortie de l’œuf que leur abdomen était encore plein de vitellus mesuraient environ 112 à 127 mm de longueur (Collette et Klein-MacPhee, 2002).


Survie

Outre ses nombreux prédateurs, au nombre desquels on compte les requins, d’autres raies (notamment la raie hérisson) et le phoque gris, on connaît peu de choses concernant la prédation sur la raie tachetée (Scott et Scott, 1988). L’espèce peut servir d’hôte à plusieurs parasites, notamment des protozoaires, des myxosporidies, des hématozoaires, des trématodes et des nématodes (Scott et Scott, 1988).

La raie tachetée fait l’objet d’une pêche dirigée au Canada et aux États-Unis. On la pêche surtout au chalut à panneaux. L’espèce est également prise accessoirement dans les chaluts à poissons de fond, à pétoncles et à crevettes; ces prises sont le plus souvent rejetées (Sosebee et Terceiro, 2000). On croit que les chaluts de fond perturbent l’habitat de la raie tachetée et des autres raies (Sosebee et Terceiro, 2000).


Déplacements et dispersion

Les données recueillies par les navires de recherche dans les eaux du plateau néo-écossais indiquent qu’en hiver les plus fortes concentrations de raies tachetées se trouvent en eaux profondes, moins froides, et que l’espèce se déplace vers les eaux moins profondes au printemps et à l’été. Trois spécimens marqués dans le golfe du Maine ont été recapturés 130 à 190 km à l’est du lieu de leur remise à la mer (Whitehead et al., 1984). Une étude récente réalisée dans la mer du Nord sur la raie bouclée (Raja clavata), où des sujets ont été marqués selon des techniques classiques et électroniques, a montré que le cycle des migrations annuelles de cette espèce, apparentée à la raie tachetée, se déroule dans une zone couvrant un degré de latitude et un degré de longitude (environ 110 km x 110 km) (Hunter et al., présenté). Clay (1991) est arrivé à la conclusion que dans le sud du golfe du Saint-Laurent, la raie tachetée quitte les eaux côtières avant l’hiver pour gagner les profondeurs, où les eaux sont plus chaudes (voir également Darbyson et Benoît, 2003).


Alimentation et relations interspécifiques

Le crabe commun et le calmar sont recherchés par la raie tachetée, mais celle-ci se nourrit également d’annélides, d’amphipodes, de crevettes, de couteaux et de n’importe quels petits poissons (Collette et Klein-MacPhee, 2002). Selon les données historiques, la raie tachetée dévorerait des raies de petite taille, et le lançon serait parmi ses poissons préférés (Simon et Frank, 2000).

McEachran et al. (1976) ont étudié les habitudes alimentaires de la raie tachetée et de la raie hérisson et ont constaté que ces deux espèces sympatriques, dont les aires de répartition se recoupent très largement, évitent probablement de se livrer une trop forte compétition en exploitant dans des proportions différentes les ressources alimentaires qu’elles partagent. Ainsi, la raie tachetée exploite principalement l’endofaune, et la raie hérisson, l’épifaune. La partie nord de l’aire canadienne de la raie tachetée chevauche également l’aire de la raie épineuse (Amblyraja radiata), mais il existe peu de données sur les relations entre ces deux espèces.


Comportement et adaptabilité

On connaît très peu de choses sur le comportement de la raie tachetée.