Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Roseate Tern (Sterna Dougallii)

Declaration

Environment Canada has developed its recovery strategy for the Roseate Tern, as required by the Species at Risk Act. This proposed recovery strategy has been prepared in cooperation with jurisdictions responsible for the species, as described in the Preface.

Success in the recovery of this species depends on the commitment and cooperation of many different constituencies that will be involved in implementing the directions set out in this strategy and will not be achieved by Environment Canada or any other jurisdiction alone. In the spirit of the Accord for the Protection of Species at Risk, the Minister of the Environment invites all Canadians to join Environment Canada in supporting and implementing this strategy for the benefit of the Roseate Tern and Canadian society as a whole. Environment Canada will endeavour to support implementation of this strategy, given available resources and varying species at risk conservation priorities. The Minister will report on progress within five years.

This strategy will be complemented by one or more action plans that will provide details on specific recovery measures to be taken to support conservation of the species. The Minister will take steps to ensure that, to the extent possible, Canadians directly affected by these measures will be consulted.

RESPONSIBLE JURISDICTIONS

Top of page

Environment Canada (Atlantic Region)
Government of New Brunswick
Government of Nova Scotia
Government of Québec

 

AUTHORS

Top of page

The Strategy was prepared by Andrew G. Horn and Andrew W. Boyne.

 

ACKNOWLEDGMENTS

Top of page

We would like to acknowledge the significant effort of the members of the Canadian Roseate Tern Recovery Team:

  • Andrew W. Boyne, Environment Canada, Canadian Wildlife Service (Chair), Atlantic Region
  • J. Sherman Boates, Nova Scotia Department of Natural Resources
  • Ted C. D’Eon, Local steward, Pubnico, Nova Scotia
  • Marty L. Leonard, Dalhousie University
  • François Shaffer, Environment Canada, Canadian Wildlife Service, Québec Region
  • Rebecca M. Whittam, Bird Studies Canada

 

We would also like to thank Marty Leonard and Sherman Boates, for information and for feedback on various drafts, and David Currie and Ken Gregoire of the Nova Scotia Bird Society for discussions and information on various points. The environmental assessment group of Environment Canada, Atlantic Region provided wording for sections related to decision making and planning. The cover illustration was provided by the artist, Diane Pierce. Thanks also to Canadian Wildlife Service Habitat Conservation Section for their advice and Canadian Wildlife Service Recovery Section for their advice and efforts in preparing this document for posting.

 

STRATEGIC ENVIRONMENTAL ASSESSMENT

Top of page

A strategic environmental assessment (SEA) is conducted on all SARA recovery planning documents, in accordance with the Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan and Program Proposals. The purpose of a SEA is to incorporate environmental considerations into the development of public policies, plans, and program proposals to support environmentally-sound decision making.

Recovery planning is intended to benefit species at risk and biodiversity in general. However, it is recognized that strategies may also inadvertently lead to environmental effects beyond the intended benefits. The planning process based on national guidelines directly incorporates consideration of all environmental effects, with a particular focus on possible impacts on non-target species or habitats. The results of the SEA are incorporated directly into the strategy itself, but are also summarized below.

This recovery strategy will clearly benefit the environment by promoting the recovery of the Roseate Tern. The potential for the strategy to inadvertently lead to adverse effects on other species was considered. The SEA concluded that this strategy will clearly benefit the environment and will not entail any significant adverse effects. Refer to the following sections of the document in particular: Potential management impacts on other species, Species information, Ecological role, and Recommended approach / scale for recovery.

 

RESIDENCE 

Top of page

SARA defines residence as: a dwelling-place, such as a den, nest or other similar area or place, that is occupied or habitually occupied by one or more individuals during all or part of their life cycles, including breeding, rearing, staging, wintering, feeding or hibernating [Subsection 2(1)].

Residencedescriptions , or the rationale for why the residence concept does not apply to a given species, are posted on the SARA public registry: http://www.sararegistry.gc.ca/plans/residence_e.cfm

 

PREFACE

Top of page

The Roseate Tern is a migratory bird covered under the Migratory Birds Convention Act, 1994 and is under the management jurisdiction of the federal government.  The Species at Risk Act (SARA, Section 37) requires the competent minister to prepare recovery strategies for listed extirpated, endangered or threatened species. The Roseate Tern was listed as Endangered under SARA in June 2003.  Canadian Wildlife Service – Atlantic Region, Environment Canada led the development of this Recovery Strategy.  All other responsible jurisdictions reviewed and approved the strategy (Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Québec). The proposed strategy meets SARA requirements in terms of content and process (Sections 39-41). It was developed in cooperation or consultation with:

  • All provincial jurisdictions in which the species occurs - New Brunswick, Nova Scotia and Québec
  • Aboriginal groups - the Nova Scotia Native Council, the Acadia First Nation, the Confederacy of Mainland Mi'kmaq
  • Environmental non-government groups - the Sable Island Preservation Trust, the Nova Scotia Bird Society, the Mahone Islands Conservation Association, Association québécoise des groupes d'ornithologues, Comité ZIP des Îles-de-la-Madeleine, Attention Fragîles, and
  • Industry stakeholders - Guysborough County Regional Development Authority, Aquaculture Association of Nova Scotia, Canada-Nova Scotia Offshore Petroleum Board
  • Landowners - Private landowners, Department of Fisheries and Oceans, and the Nova Scotia Department of Natural Resources.

This first recovery strategy for a migratory bird posted on the SARA Public Registry identifies what is now understood as nesting critical habitat under SARA.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Sterne de Dougall (Sterna dougallii)

Déclaration

Environnement Canada a élaboré son programme de rétablissement de la Sterne de Dougall tel que l’exige la Loi sur les espèces en péril. Le présent programme de rétablissement proposé a été préparé en collaboration avec les compétences responsables de l’espèce, tel qu’il est décrit dans la préface.

Réussir à rétablir cette espèce dépendra de l’engagement et de la collaboration d’un grand nombre de parties concernées qui participeront à la mise en œuvre des orientations formulées dans le présent programme. Cette réussite ne pourra reposer sur Environnement Canada ou sur toute autre compétence seulement. Dans l’esprit de l’Accord pour la protection des espèces en péril, le ministre de l’Environnement invite toutes les Canadiennes et tous les Canadiens à se joindre à Environnement Canada pour appuyer le présent programme et le mettre en œuvre, pour le bien de la Sterne de Dougall et de l’ensemble de la société canadienne. Environnement Canada s’appliquera à appuyer la mise en œuvre du présent programme, compte tenu des ressources disponibles et des diverses priorités à l’égard de la conservation des espèces en péril. Le ministre rendra compte des progrès réalisés d’ici cinq ans.

Un ou plusieurs plans d’action détaillant les mesures de rétablissement particulières à prendre pour appuyer la conservation de cette espèce viendront s’ajouter au présent programme. Le ministre mettra en œuvre des moyens pour s’assurer, dans la mesure du possible, que les Canadiennes et les Canadiens directement touchés par ces mesures seront consultés.

 

COMPÉTENCES RESPONSABLES

Haut de la page

Environnement Canada (Région de l'Atlantique)
Gouvernement du Nouveau-Brunswick
Gouvernement de la Nouvelle-Écosse
Gouvernement du Québec

 

AUTEURS

Haut de la page

Le programme de rétablissement a été préparé par Andrew G. Horn et Andrew W. Boyne.

 

REMERCIEMENTS

Haut de la page

Nous voudrions souligner l’effort important fourni par les membres de l’équipe canadienne de rétablissement de la Sterne de Dougall :

  • Andrew W. Boyne (président), Environnement Canada, Service canadien de la faune, Région de l'Atlantique;
  • J. Sherman Boates, Department of Natural Resources de la Nouvelle-Écosse;
  • Ted C. D’Eon, intendant local, Pubnico (Nouvelle-Écosse);
  • Marty L. Leonard, Dalhousie University;
  • François Shaffer, Environnement Canada, Service canadien de la faune, Région du Québec;
  • Rebecca M. Whittam, Études d’Oiseaux Canada.

Nous remercions également Marty Leonard et Sherman Boates pour l’information qu’ils nous ont fournie et pour leurs commentaires sur les diverses ébauches du présent document, de même que David Currie et Ken Gregoire de la Nova Scotia Bird Society pour leurs analyses et pour les renseignements sur divers points. Le groupe des évaluations environnementales de la Région de l’Atlantique d’Environnement Canada a contribué à la rédaction des sections sur la prise de décisions et la planification. L’illustration de la page couverture est l’œuvre de l’artiste Diane Pierce. Nous aimerions également remercier la Section de la conservation des habitats du Service canadien de la faune pour les conseils formulés et la Section du rétablissement du Service canadien de la faune pour les conseils et les efforts entourant la préparation de l’affichage du présent document.

 

ÉVALUATION ENVIRONNEMENTALE STRATÉGIQUE

Haut de la page

Une évaluation environnementale stratégique (EES) est effectuée dans le cadre de tous les documents de planification du rétablissement en vertu de la LEP conformément à la Directive du Cabinet de 1999 sur l'évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes. L’objet de l’EES est d’incorporer les considérations environnementales à l’élaboration des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes publics pour appuyer une prise de décisions éclairées du point de vue de l’environnement.

La planification du rétablissement vise à favoriser les espèces en péril et la biodiversité en général. Il est cependant reconnu que des programmes peuvent, par inadvertance, produire des effets environnementaux qui dépassent les avantages prévus. Le processus de planification fondé sur des lignes directrices nationales tient directement compte de tous les effets environnementaux, notamment des incidences possibles sur les espèces ou les habitats non ciblés. Les résultats de l’EES sont directement inclus dans le programme lui-même, mais également résumés ci-dessous.

Le présent programme de rétablissement favorisera clairement l’environnement en encourageant le rétablissement de la Sterne de Dougall. La possibilité que le programme produise par inadvertance des effets négatifs sur d’autres espèces a été envisagée. L’EES a permis de conclure que le présent programme sera clairement favorable à l’environnement et n’entraînera pas d’effets négatifs significatifs. Consultez plus particulièrement les sections suivantes du document : Incidences possibles de la gestion sur d’autres espèces; Information sur l’espèce; Rôle écologique; Approche recommandée et échelle des mesures de rétablissement.

 

RÉSIDENCE

Haut de la page

La LEP définit la résidence comme suit : Gîte -- terrier, nid ou autre aire ou lieu semblable -- occupé ou habituellement occupé par un ou plusieurs individus pendant tout ou partie de leur vie, notamment pendant la reproduction, l’élevage, les haltes migratoires, l’hivernage, l’alimentation ou l’hibernation [Paragraphe 2(1)].

Les descriptions de la résidence ou les raisons pour lesquelles le concept de résidence ne s'applique pas à une espèce donnée sont publiées dans le Registre public de la LEP : http://www.registrelep.gc.ca/plans/residence_f.cfm.

 

PRÉFACE

Haut de la page

La Sterne de Dougall est un oiseau migrateur protégé par la Loi de 1994 sur la convention concernant les oiseaux migrateurs (LCOM); sa gestion relève du gouvernement fédéral. Aux termes de l’article 37 de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP), le ministre compétent est tenu d’élaborer des programmes de rétablissement pour les espèces inscrites comme espèces disparues du pays, en voie de disparition ou menacées. En juin 2003, la Sterne de Dougall a été inscrite comme étant en voie de disparition sous le régime de la LEP. La Région de l’Atlantique du Service canadien de la faune d’Environnement Canada a dirigé l’élaboration du présent programme de rétablissement.Toutes les autres compétences responsables ont examiné et approuvé le programme (Nouvelle-Écosse, Nouveau-Brunswick et Québec).Le programme proposé satisfait aux exigences de la LEP en ce qui concerne le contenu et le processus (articles 39 à 41). Il a été préparé en collaboration avec :

  • les compétences de toutes les provinces où se trouve l’espèce – Nouveau‑Brunswick, Nouvelle-Écosse et Québec;
  • des groupes autochtones – Nova Scotia Native Council, Acadia First Nation, Confederacy of Mainland Mi'kmaq;
  • des groupes non gouvernementaux environnementaux – Sable Island Preservation Trust, Nova Scotia Bird Society, Mahone Islands Conservation Association, Association québécoise des groupes d'ornithologues, Comité ZIP des Îles-de-la-Madeleine, Attention FragÎles;
  • des intervenants du secteur privé -- Guysborough County Regional Development Authority, Aquaculture Association of Nova Scotia, Office Canada–Nouvelle-Écosse des hydrocarbures extracôtiers;

·       des propriétaires fonciers -- propriétaires fonciers privés, Pêches et Océans Canada, Department of Natural Resources de la Nouvelle-Écosse.

Ce premier programme de rétablissement pour un oiseau migrateur à figurer dans le Registre public de la Loi sur les espèces en péril identifie ce qui est actuellement considéré comme l'habitat de nidification essentiel de l'espèce au terme de la LEP.