Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Northern and Southern Resident Killer Whales (Orcinus orca) in Canada

Appendix D - Record of Cooperation and Consultation

Northern and southern resident killer whales are listed on Schedule 1 of the Species at Risk Act (SARA) and as an aquatic species are under federal jurisdiction and managed by Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO): 200 - 401 Burrard Street, Vancouver, BC. Southern resident killer whales are a transboundary population and the United States is concurrently developing a recovery plan as mandated under their Endangered Species Act.

To assist in the development of an initial draft of this recovery strategy, DFO brought together a diverse team of experts from various government, environmental, eco-tourism and non-governmental groups from both Canada and the United States. On the advice of the Species at Risk Coordinator at the BC Aboriginal Fisheries Commission, a letter of invitation followed up by phone calls was sent to all coastal First Nations seeking their interest in participating on the Recovery Team and/or Technical Workshop. No response was received from First Nations for inclusion on either initiative. Subsequent to the consultation process the Namgis First Nation has indicated an interest to be involved in future action planning and local implementation. 

A Technical Workshop was hosted in March 2004 to provide a forum for the sharing of knowledge and expertise on killer whales with an invited group of scientific and technical stakeholders which was invaluable in assisting the Resident Killer Whale Recovery Team to formulate an effective recovery strategy. 

Public news releases announcing the Recovery Team and development of the recovery strategy and a notice of Public Consultations were sent to a distribution list of whale-related contacts provided to DFO in recent years from environmental groups, the eco-tourism sector, non-governmental organizations, government agencies and private citizens. An announcement was also placed in the Vancouver Aquarium Aquanews newsletter.

Additional input was sought through the internet (March 2005) on the draft recovery strategy and a discussion guide and feedback form were available.  Responses were received from eco-tourism and non-government organizations and the Mowachaht/Muchalaht First Nations. Input from the United States National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration and the State of Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife was received through team participation. Feedback on the recovery strategy was also received from other government agencies including: the Department of National Defence, Province of BC, SARA Secretariat, Environment Canada and Natural Resources Canada. An external peer review was conducted by Volker Deecke, Ph.D., University of BC, and Christope Guinet, Centre d’Etudes Bilogiques de Chize, France. All feedback from both government agencies and peer reviewers has been incorporated into the final recovery strategy.

A proposed version of the recovery strategy was posted on the SARA Public Registry for a 60-day public comment period, from June 21st to August 20th, 2007. During this time, numerous comments were received from a wide variety of sources including government agencies, commercial and recreational fishing groups, ecotourism operators, non-governmental organizations, and private citizens. All feedback from this comment period was considered and incorporated into the final recovery strategy as appropriate.

Recovery Team:

Marilyn Joyce, Chair: Fisheries & Oceans Canada, Lance Barrett-Lennard, Vancouver aquarium John Ford, Fisheries & Oceans Canada, Graeme Ellis, Fisheries & Oceans Canada, Peter Ross, Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Peter Olesiuk, Fisheries & Oceans Canada, Brian Reader, Parks Canada Agency, Christine Garrett, Environment Canada, Ken Balcomb, Centre for Whale Research, Brent Norberg, National Marine Fisheries Service, Steve Jeffries, Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife, John Durban, National Marine Fisheries Service, Linda Jones, National Marine Fisheries Service, Rich Osborne, The Whale Museum, David Bain, Friday Harbor Laboratories, University of Washington, Paul Spong, Orcalab, Andrew Trites, University of British Columbia, Anna Hall, Whale Watch Operators Association NW, Jim Borrowman, North Island Whale Watching Community, Rob Williams, Marine Conservation Caucus, Scott Wallace, Sierra Club of Canada, B.C. Chapter (Alternate), Gary Wiles, Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife (Alternate), Brian Riddell, Pacific Fisheries Resource Conservation Council, Rob Paynter, Ministry of Water, Land and Air Protection, Kathy Heise, University of British Columbia

External Review:

Dr. Volker Deecke of the University of British Columbia and Dr. Christope Guinet, Centre d’Etudes Bilogiques de Chize, France.

Page 11

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement de l’épaulard (Orcinus orca), populations résidentes du nord et du sud des eaux du Pacifique au Canada

Annexe D – Résumé des consultations

Les épaulards résidents du nord et du sud, inscrits à l’Annexe 1 de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP), sont des espèces aquatiques qui relèvent de la compétence fédérale et sont gérées par Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO) : 200 – 401, Burrard Street, Vancouver, C.-B. Les épaulards résidents du sud constituent une population transfrontalière et les États-Unis élaborent par ailleurs un programme de rétablissement pour cette espèce, conformément à l’Endangered Species Act de ce pays.

Afin de faciliter l’élaboration du programme de rétablissement, le MPO a constitué une équipe diversifiée d’experts de divers groupes gouvernementaux, environnementaux, écotouristiques et non gouvernementaux du Canada et des États-Unis chargés de produire une première ébauche du présent document. Sur les conseils du coordonnateur des espèces en péril de l’Aboriginal Fisheries Commission de la Colombie-Britannique, on a envoyé une lettre, suivie d’appels téléphoniques, à toutes les Premières nations vivant sur la côte afin de connaître leur intérêt à l’égard de la participation à l’équipe de rétablissement ou à l’atelier technique. Aucune réponse n’a été reçue des Premières nations en vue d’une inclusion à l’une ou à l’autre des initiatives. À la suite du processus de consultation, la Première nation Namgis a fait part de son intérêt à participer à la planification des mesures à prendre et à leur mise en œuvre à l’échelon local.

En mars 2004, on a tenu un atelier technique afin de fournir une tribune pour le partage des connaissances et de l’expertise concernant les épaulards avec un groupe invité d’intervenants des milieux scientifiques et techniques, dont l’aide a été fort utile à l’équipe de rétablissement des épaulards pour la formulation d’un programme de rétablissement efficace.

Des communiqués de presse publics annonçant la création de l’équipe de rétablissement et l’élaboration du programme de rétablissement de même qu’un avis des consultations publiques ont été envoyés à une liste d’envoi constituée d’un ensemble de ressources liées aux baleines dont les coordonnées ont été fournies au MPO ces dernières années par des groupes de défense de l’environnement, le secteur de l’écotourisme, des organismes gouvernementaux et non gouvernementaux et des citoyens. Une annonce a également été publiée dans le bulletin Aquanews de l’Aquarium de Vancouver.

On a aussi sollicité l’avis du public en publiant sur Internet une version préliminaire (mars 2005) du programme de rétablissement, ainsi qu’un guide de discussion et un formulaire de rétroaction. Des réponses ont été reçues d’organismes écotouristiques et non gouvernementaux ainsi que des Premières nations Mowachaht/Muchalaht. Des commentaires de la National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration des États-Unis et du Department of Fisheries and Wildlife de l’État de Washington ont été reçus au cours des travaux en équipe. Des commentaires concernant le programme de rétablissement ont également été reçus d’autres organismes gouvernementaux, y compris les suivants : le ministère de la Défense nationale, la province de Colombie-Britannique, le Secrétariat de la LEP, Environnement Canada et Ressources naturelles Canada. Un examen par des pairs externes a été réalisé par MM. Volker Deeke (Ph. D.), de l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique, et Christophe Guinet (Ph. D.), du Centre d’Études Biologiques de Chizé, en France. Tous les commentaires des organismes gouvernementaux et des pairs examinateurs ont été intégrés à la version finale du programme de rétablissement.

La version préliminaire du programme de rétablissement a été publiée dans le Registre public de la LEP pendant une période de consultation publique de 60 jours, à savoir du 21 juin au 20 août 2007. Pendant ce temps, de nombreux commentaires ont été reçus de sources très différentes, notamment d’organismes gouvernementaux, de groupes de pêche commerciale et récréative, d’exploitants du secteur de l’écotourisme, d’organisations non gouvernementales et de citoyens. Tous les commentaires reçus pendant cette période ont été examinés et intégrés au texte définitif du programme de rétablissement, au besoin.

Équipe de rétablissement

Marilyn Joyce, présidente, Pêches et Océans Canada, Lance Barrett-Lennard, Aquarium de Vancouver, John Ford, Pêches et Océans Canada, Graeme Ellis, Pêches et Océans Canada, Peter Ross, Pêches et Océans Canada, Peter Olesiuk, Pêches et Océans Canada, Brian Reader, Agence Parcs Canada, Christine Garrett, Environnement Canada, Ken Balcomb, Centre for Whale Research, Brent Norberg, National Marine Fisheries Service, Steve Jeffries, Washington Department of Fisheries and Wildlife, John Durban, National Marine Fisheries Service, Linda Jones, National Marine Fisheries Service, Rich Osborne, Whale Museum, David Bain, Friday Harbor Laboratories, University of Washington, Paul Spong, Orcalab, Andrew Trites, Université de la Colombie-Britannique, Anna Hall, Whale Watch Operators Association Northwest, Jim Borrowman, North Island Whale Watching Community, Rob Williams, Marine Conservation Caucus, Scott Wallace, Sierra Club du Canada, Section de la Colombie-Britannique (remplaçant), Gary Wiles, Washington Department of Fisheries and Wildlife (remplaçant), Brian Riddell, Conseil pour la conservation des ressources halieutiques du Pacifique, Rob Paynter, Ministry of Water, Land and Air Protection, Kathy Heise, Université de la Colombie-Britannique.

Examen externe

MM. Volker Deeke (Ph. D.), de l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique, et Christophe Guinet (Ph. D.), du Centre d’Études Biologiques de Chizé, en France