Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and status report on the Butternut in Canada

Limiting Factors and Threats

The most serious and widespread pressure on butternut is the butternut canker, a disease that was first reported from Wisconsin in 1967 (Renlund 1971). It was originally believed that the causal agent was Melanconis juglandis, and it was not until 1979 that the true pathogen was identified as Sirococcus clavigignenti-juglandacearum (Nair et al. 1979).

Table 2: Summary of Known Occurrences of Butternut in New Brunswick by Estimated Abundance Class
Abundance ClassNumber of AreasNumber of sites
1000+6220
100-100011104
10-1002237
1-101111
Total50372


Figure 3: Butternut Distribution in Quebec

Figure 3: Butternut distribution in Quebec (Ministère des Ressources naturelles du Québec, 2002).

Ministère des Ressources naturelles du Québec, 2002).


Figure 4: Quebec Populations where Butternut is ≥ 25% of Basal Area/Canopy Cover

Figure 4: Quebec populations where butternut is ³25% of basal area/canopy cover (Ministère des Ressources naturelles du Québec, 2002).

Ministère des Ressources naturelles du Québec, 2002).

The origin of butternut canker is unknown. However, factors such as its rapid and aggressive spread, the scarcity of resistant trees, apparent lack of genetic diversity in the fungus, and the fact that the oldest cankers appear to be around 50 years old suggests that the disease is a recently introduced exotic (Anderson, 1996). Butternut canker infects all sizes and age classes of trees on all sites and infection can occur through buds, leaf scars and various wounds (Ostry 1995; Davis and Meyer 1997).

Butternut canker can infect and cause mortality in trees of all ages and sizes. Sprouts may be produced, but are generally also infected and do not grow to an appreciable age (Schlarbaum, pers. comm.).

The canker infects trees through leaf scars, buds, lenticels and wounds. Trees are killed by crown dieback or stem girdling. Hyphal pegs (also called stromatal columns) of the fungus rupture the outer bark on branches and stems of infected trees, exposing stromatic tissue and pycnidia of the fungus (Tisserat and Kuntz, 1983). Conidia require free water for release from a gelatinous matrix and are released from pycnidia during periods of rain or high relative humidity (Cree, 1995). Conidia may be carried from branch to branch by rainsplash (Tisserat and Kuntz, 1981). Spores are also carried from the infected crown down the stem by rain wash, causing a number of stem cankers which eventually girdle the tree (Anderson, 1996; Ostry et al., 1994).

During rainstorms, conidia have been trapped in air samples as far as 40 m from the nearest source of inoculum, although spore numbers decreased exponentially with distance from an infected tree (Tisserat and Kuntz, 1983). There is evidence that conidia travel even greater distances (Tissert and Kuntz, 1981). Cankers resulting from natural infection have been found over 100 m from the nearest cankered tree (Tisserat and Kuntz, 1983). Tisserat and Kuntz (1983) concluded that small droplets or aerosols containing conidia could be distributed by wind for distances greater than 1 km. Conidia may survive in an airborne environment for at least 8 hours (Tisserat and Kuntz, 1981).

Following death of a tree, the fungus may continue to sporulate for 20 months (Tisserat and Kuntz, 1984). Several insect species have been found in association with fungus spores on infected trees (Katovich and Ostry, 1998). At least seventeen beetle species have been found to be disease vectors by carrying pathogen conidia (Halik and Bergdahl, 2002). Studies in Quebec have shown that the disease can be transported to new sites on the fruit of black walnut and butternut (Innes, 1998).

Artificial inoculation of black walnut with butternut canker has caused infections, but severe infections in natural stands or plantations have not been found in black walnut.


Resistance

It is not clear whether resistance to the canker occurs as complete immunity or is present in varying degrees. There are reports of individual trees in infected stands that show no signs of the canker (Ostrey et al. 1994), while other observations suggest trees of varying levels of resistance, but that are nonetheless infected. That is, given the length of time that the butternut canker has been present in the eastern United States, and the reduction in numbers or loss of trees from so many areas, the existence of surviving trees, though infected to some degree, may be evidence of some level of resistance (Schlarbaum, pers. comm.). 

While Ostry et al. (1994) indicate that healthy butternut growing amongst diseased trees may be putatively resistant trees, it has not yet been shown that this putative resistance reflects actual genetic-based resistance.


Butternut Canker in Canada

In Canada, butternut canker was first collected in Quebec in 1990 (Innes and Rainville, 1996), and then in Ontario in 1991 (Davis et al., 1992) and in New Brunswick in 1997 (Harrison et al. 1998). Butternut canker is currently known to exist throughout the range of butternut in Ontario and Quebec, with limited distribution, at present (see Figure 5), in New Brunswick (Hopkin et al. 2001).


Figure 5: Distribution of Butternut and Butternut Canker in Canada

Figure 5. Distribution of butternut and butternut canker in Canada (Hopkin et al., 2001).

Hopkin et al., 2001.

In Ontario, butternut canker was first identified in 1991 by the Forest Insect and Disease Survey (FIDS) unit of the Canadian Forest Service. However, the age of cankers found indicates that the disease had been present in Ontario for at least 20 years. In 1992, the FIDS unit sampled 30 locations in south-western Ontario. The canker was present on 22 of those sites. Whole-tree mortality was most evident in the OMNR Cambridge District where 27% of the trees surveyed had been killed by the disease. Although there was no whole-tree mortality recorded in the eastern half of the province, greater than 90% of the trees examined were infected. Data on growth, health and mortality is collected on growth and yield plots across Ontario. Butternut canker was positively identified in only 3 trees; damage and mortality estimates caused by butternut canker were assumed in the other cases. Records show 40 live butternut trees distributed across 32 plots (Table 3), 17 of which were assessed as potentially infected by canker. Twenty-one dead trees were also recorded with butternut canker listed as the cause for 4 trees.

In Ontario, a voluntary survey of landowners was conducted between 1996 to 1998 to which approximately 500 landowners responded with reports of locations of butternut on their property. Responses from 304 participants provided geographic reference data accurate enough to allow mapping (Figure 6). Of the 500 reports, 263 included data on health of butternut. Trees were in poor condition at 47% of sites for which health was reported. In addition, butternut was identified as a species of concern for the Tree Atlas program conducted from 1996 to 2000. Separate forms were filled out for identified butternut trees with respect to health of the trees located (Figure 6). Tree atlas data indicates that 44% of the 170 individual trees reported on were in poor condition. Tree Atlas data is derived from individual tree forms submitted by volunteer tree atlas surveyors.

Table 3: Summary of OMNR Growth and Yield Data for Butternut in Southern Ontario
OMNR DistrictOntario Township# plots# live treesPotentially cankered# dead treesCanker as possible cause of death
AylmerColchester23 1 
AylmerDunwich111  
AylmerMosa1  2 
 subtotal 413 
CambridgeLincoln1  1 
KemptvilleCharlottenburgh13   
KemptvilleEdwardsburgh111  
KemptvilleFinch11   
KemptvilleKenyon3513 
KemptvilleLancaster11   
 subtotal 1123 
MidhurstCollingwood111  
MidhurstGlenelg1  1 
MidhurstKeppel221  
MidhurstOro2321 
MidhurstOsprey2  52
MidhurstSullivan111  
MidhurstSydenham2  22
 subtotal 7594
TweedBedford121  
TweedDummer21041 
TweedHungerford2221 
TweedHuntington3323 
TweedS. Fredericksburg11   
 subtotal 1895 
Total  4017214

Butternut canker was positively identified in only 3 trees; damage and mortality estimates caused by butternut canker were assumed in other cases.


Butternut Canker in the United States

In the U.S., the factor having the greatest effect on population size is mortality caused by butternut canker (Sirococcus clavigignenti-juglandacearum V.M.G. Nair, Kostichka and Kuntz ).  Butternut canker was first reported in Wisconsin in 1967 (Renlund, 1971); but the causal agent was not described until 1979 (Nair, 1979). Sinclair (1987) has noted that butternut of all ages and sizes throughout most of its range have signs of the canker. Cankered trees are found growing in mixed and relatively pure stands, on dry, infertile ridgetops with shallow soils, and in moist, fertile bottomlands with deep soils. Infected trees were found in local pockets and over extensive areas (Kuntz et al. 1979, Prey and Kuntz, 1982). Although young butternut has the ability to produce sprouts, asexual sprouts are limited by the fungus and are usually killed in the first year (Ostry et al. 1994).


Figure 6: Tree Atlas Data and Landowner Survey Data for Butternut Health in Ontario

Figure 6: Tree Atlas data and landowner survey data for butternut health in Ontario.

Ostry et al. (1994) indicate that forest inventory data from the USDA Forest Service shows a dramatic decrease in the number of live butternut throughout the United States in the past 10-15 years. The Forest Inventory and Analysis group of the USDA Forest Service reported a 77% reduction in the number of butternut with diameter 5 inches and larger over a 30 year period in North Carolina and Virginia (USDA Forest Service, 2003). Although these results are based on samples, and therefore have some margin of error, they confirm the declines in additional or parallel studies. For example, estimates of the number of butternut infected with the canker in Wisconsin increased from 30 % to 91% between 1976 and 1992, and the number dead butternut trees in the sample areas increased from 8.5% to 27% over the same time period (Cummings Carlson et al. 2004).Tisserat (1984) reported an increase from 5% trees infected to 71% trees infected over a six year period, however this was within one plantation area, which may not be indicative of the natural forest situation. Skilling et al. (1993) have determined that additional surveys are needed to more accurately assess the health of butternut, and several states have now undertaken or are planning to conduct additional surveys.


Disease Symptoms

The following description of butternut canker symptoms has been extracted from "Field Guide to Tree Diseases of Ontario (Davis and Meyer, 1997):

"The most obvious symptoms of the disease are the elongated, sunken cankers, which commonly originate at leaf scars, buds, or wounds. In spring, an inky-black fluid exudes from cracks in the canker; in summer, the cankers appear as sooty black patches, often with a whitish margin. Peeling the bark away reveals brown to black areas of killed cambium. Older cankers can be perennial, are found in bark fissures or loosely covered with shredded bark, and are bordered by successive callous layers. Trees are usually first infected in the lower crown and then die downward as spores from the cankers are washed down. This disease infects trees of all ages and sizes and on all sites. Cankers spread around branches and trunks, eventually girdling and killing the tree".


Disease Control

There is no known control for butternut canker and U.S. researchers suggest that selection of genetically resistant material offers the best potential for recovery programs.


Other Damaging Agents

In addition to butternut canker there are a number of insects and diseases that cause damage to butternut. Only those considered to cause significant damage are included here.

Aside from butternut canker, perhaps the most damaging disease reported on butternut is bunch disease, a witches' broom disease believed to caused by a mycoplasmalike organism (Rink, 1990). Normally-dormant axillary and adventitious buds develop prematurely and form brooms of sucker-like shoots and undersized chlorotic leaves on large limbs and the trunk (Seliskar 1976, Meador et al. 1986). This abnormal growth lacks cold-hardiness and suffers winter-kill. Branches infected with bunch disease do not produce normal nut crops (Berry 1973). In Quebec, one of the most damaging agents in young plantations is Fusarium canker. Phomopsis canker has also been identified in Quebec on tree branches and stems.

There are a number of foliage diseases that are common to butternut as well as to other Juglans species. The most damaging is an anthracnose leaf spot caused by Marssonina juglandis (Lib.) Magnus. This pathogen is reportedly infecting and killing young shoots as well as foliage (Myren 1991; CFS 1994; Black et al. 1977).

Armillaria gallica H. Marxm. & Romagn. has been reported as causing root disease on butternut (McLaughlin, 2001). This species of Armillaria favours hardwood hosts and infects and kills stressed trees. The decline of trees suffering from butternut canker will be accelerated by Armillaria root disease.

The most serious insect pest is the butternut curculio (Conotrachelus juglandis), a beetle that injures young stems and fruit, although damage is usually not major (Rink, 1990). Other insects found on butternut include woodborers, defoliators, nut weevils, lacebugs, and bark beetles (Rink, 1990). Hyphantria cunea (Drury), fall webworm, causes defoliation to a broad range of hardwood trees including Juglans species (Nystron and Britnell 1994). A gregarious feeder (Cannon 1985) that can cause significant defoliation in localized areas when populations are high, it does not cause mortality to healthy trees, although control is sometimes recommended (Anderson 1978). Datana integerrima Grote & Robinson, walnut caterpillar, is common in southern Ontario and the northeastern U.S. (Anon 1985). It feeds on a variety of hardwoods but prefers Juglans species, and is considered an important defoliator of Juglans (Farris and Appleby 1979). 

Acrobasis demotella Grt. is a shoot-borer and one larva can kill a shoot or leader and result in a crooked tree (Martinat and Wallner 1980). It is considered capable of causing serious damage to butternut and walnut in Canada (Nystrom and Britnell 1994).

The common grackle has been reported to destroy immature fruit (Rink, 1990). Butternut is very susceptible to fire and storm damage (Rink, 1990), and is also highly susceptible to frost damage in late spring (OMNR, 2000).

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le noyer cendré au Canada

Facteurs limitatifs et menaces

La menace la plus grave et la plus répandue qui pèse actuellement sur le noyer cendré est le chancre du noyer cendré, maladie qui a été observée pour la première fois au Wisconsin, en 1967 (Renlund, 1971). On croyait d’abord que l’agent de cette maladie était le Melanconis juglandis, et ce n’est qu’en 1979 qu’on a établi que le champignon responsable est en fait le Sirococcus clavigignenti-juglandacearum (Nair et al., 1979).

Tableau 2 : Sommaire des occurrences connues du noyer cendré au Nouveau-Brunswick, selon les classes d’effectif estimatif
Classe d’effectifNombre de localitésNombre de sites
Plus de 1 0006220
100-1 00011104
10-1002237
1-101111
Total50372


Figure 3 : Répartition du noyer cendré au Québec

Figure 3 : Répartition du noyer cendré au Québec (ministère des Ressources naturelles du Québec, 2002).

Ministère des Ressources naturelles du Québec, 2002.


Figure 4 : Sites québécois du noyer cendré où cette espèce constitue au moins 25 p. 100 de la surface terrière ou du couvert forestier

Figure 4 : Sites québécois du noyer cendré où cette espèce constitue au moins 25 p. 100 de la surface terrière ou du couvert forestier (ministère des Ressources naturelles du Québec, 2002).

Ministère des Ressources naturelles du Québec, 2002.

On ne connaît pas l’origine du chancre du noyer cendré. Cependant, plusieurs facteurs semblent indiquer qu’il s’agit d’un pathogène exotique récemment introduit. Ces facteurs sont la propagation rapide et agressive de la maladie, la rareté des noyers cendrés résistants, l’absence apparente de diversité génétique chez le champignon et le fait que les chancres les plus vieux semblent avoir environ 50 ans (Anderson, 1996). Le chancre du noyer cendré s’attaque à toutes les classes d’âge ou de dimensions, et l’infection peut s’introduire par les bourgeons, les cicatrices foliaires ou divers types de lésions (Ostry, 1995; Davis et Meyer, 1997).

Le chancre du noyer cendré peut infecter et tuer des individus de toutes les classes d’âge et de toutes les classes de dimensions. Les arbres atteints peuvent produire des rejets, mais ceux-ci finissent généralement par être infectés à leur tour et n’arrivent pas à atteindre un âge appréciable (Schlarbaum, comm. pers.).

L’infection peut s’introduire par les bourgeons, les cicatrices foliaires, les lenticelles ou les lésions. Les arbres sont tués par dépérissement apical ou par annélation. Chez les arbres infectés, des colonnes de stroma (formées d’hyphes du champignon) percent l’écorce externe des branches et des tiges, ce qui expose le stroma et les pycnides du champignon (Tisserat et Kuntz, 1983). Comme les spores ont besoin d’eau libre pour s’échapper de leur matrice gélatineuse, elles sont libérées par les pycnides durant les périodes de pluie ou d’humidité relative élevée (Cree, 1995). Les spores peuvent être transportées d’une branche à l’autre par les gouttelettes d’éclaboussement résultant de l’impact des gouttes de pluie. (Tisserat et Kuntz, 1981). Les spores peuvent aussi être transportées depuis le houppier infecté jusqu’au bas de l’arbre par le ruissellement de l’eau de pluie, ce qui peut provoquer l’apparition de plusieurs chancres finissant par anneler la tige (Anderson, 1996; Ostry et al., 1994).

Tisserat et Kuntz (1983) ont trouvé des spores du champignon dans des échantillons d’air prélevés lors de pluies torrentielles jusqu’à 40 m de la source d’inoculum la plus proche, mais le nombre de spores présentes diminuait exponentiellement avec la distance de cette source. D’autres observations de Tisserat et Kuntz (1981) tendent à indiquer que les spores peuvent parcourir des distances encore plus grandes. Ces auteurs ont découvert des chancres résultant d’une infection naturelle à plus de 100 m du noyer chancreux le plus proche (Tisserat et Kuntz, 1983). Ils estiment même que les aérosols ou petites gouttelettes renfermant des spores peuvent être transportées par le vent à plus de 1 km (Tisserat et Kuntz, 1983). Les spores peuvent survivre au moins 8 heures en milieu aérien (Tisserat et Kuntz, 1981).

Après la mort d’un arbre, le champignon peut continuer de produire des spores pendant 20 mois (Tisserat et Kuntz, 1984). Plusieurs espèces d’insectes ont été trouvées sur des arbres infectés et étaient associées aux spores du champignons (Katovich et Ostry, 1998). Halik et Bergdahl (2002) ont constaté qu’au moins 17 espèces de coléoptères peuvent agir comme vecteurs de la maladie en transportant les spores du pathogène. Par ailleurs, des études réalisées au Québec ont montré que le pathogène peut être transporté vers de nouveaux sites sur les fruits du noyer noir et du noyer cendré (Innes, 1998).

L’inoculation artificielle de l’agent du chancre du noyer cendré a déjà permis de provoquer des infections chez le noyer noir, mais aucune infection grave n’a jamais été observée dans les peuplements naturels et plantations de cette espèce.


Résistance

On ne sait pas exactement si la résistance au chancre du noyer cendré n’existe que sous la forme d’une immunité complète ou se présente à des degrés divers. On a signalé dans certains peuplements infectés la présence d’arbres ne présentant aucun signe de la maladie (Ostry et al., 1994), mais d’autres observations semblent indiquer que les arbres peuvent présenter divers degrés de résistance tout en étant infectés. Comme le chancre du noyer cendré est depuis longtemps présent dans l’est des États-Unis et que la maladie a fait disparaître les arbres ou en a réduit le nombre dans de nombreuses régions, l’existence d’arbres survivants bien qu’infectés à divers degrés est peut-être indicatrice d’une certaine résistance (Schlarbaum, comm. pers.).

Ostry et al. (1994) font valoir que les individus sains poussant parmi les individus malades pourraient être des arbres résistants, mais il n’a pas encore été démontré que cette résistance apparente est fondée sur des facteurs génétiques.


Le chancre du noyer cendré au Canada

Au Canada, les premiers spécimens de chancre du noyer cendré ont été récoltés au Québec en 1990 (Innes et Rainville, 1996), en Ontario en 1991 (Davis et al., 1992) et au Nouveau-Brunswick en 1997 (Harrison et al., 1998). Le chancre du noyer cendré est actuellement présent dans toute l’aire du noyer cendré en Ontario et au Québec, mais il n’a encore été signalé que dans une partie limitée de l’aire de l’arbre au Nouveau-Brunswick (figure 5; Hopkin et al., 2001).


Figure 5 : Répartition du noyer cendré et du chancre du noyer cendré au Canada

Figure 5 : Répartition du noyer cendré et du chancre du noyer cendré au Canada (Hopkin et al., 2001).

Hopkin et al., 2001.

En Ontario, le chancre du noyer cendré a été identifié pour la première fois en 1991 par l’unité chargée du Relevé des insectes et des maladies des arbres (RIMA) au Service canadien des forêts. Cependant, l’âge des chancres examinés révèle que la maladie était présente en Ontario depuis au moins 20 ans. En 1992, l’unité chargée du RIMA a prélevé des échantillons dans 30 localités du sud-ouest de l’Ontario, et la maladie était présente dans 22 de ces localités. La mortalité d’arbres entiers à cause de la maladie était particulièrement remarquable dans le district de Cambridge du ministère des Richesses naturelles de l’Ontario (MRNO), où 27 p. 100 des arbres examinés avaient été tués par le chancre. Aucun cas de mortalité d’arbre entier n’a été signalé dans l’est de la province, mais plus de 90 p. 100 des arbres examinés étaient infectés. Des données sur la croissance, l’état de santé et la mortalité ont été recueillies dans des parcelles servant à suivre la croissance et le rendement des arbres dans toutes les régions d’Ontario. Le chancre du noyer cendré n’a été identifié avec certitude que chez 3 arbres; dans les autres cas, on a supposé que les dégâts et la mortalité avaient été causés par le chancre du noyer cendré. Selon les registres, les 32 parcelles renfermaient en tout 40 noyers cendrés vivants (tableau 3), dont 17 ont été jugés potentiellement infectés par le chancre. De plus, 21 arbres morts ont été observés dans le cadre des relevés, et dans 4 cas le chancre du noyer cendré a été mentionné comme cause de la mort.

Toujours en Ontario, des bénévoles de la FGCA ont mené une enquête auprès de propriétaires fonciers entre 1996 et 1998. Environ 500 des propriétaires interrogés ont signalé la présence de sites de noyer cendré dans leurs terrains, et 304 ont fourni des coordonnées géographiques suffisamment précises pour permettre le pointage des sites sur une carte (figure 6). De plus, 263 des propriétaires ont fourni des données sur l’état de santé des noyers cendrés. Ces arbres étaient en mauvais état dans 47 p. 100 des sites où leur état de santé était précisé. Par ailleurs, le noyer cendré a été mentionné comme espèce préoccupante (species of concern) dans le cadre du programme Ontario Tree Atlas, mené de 1996 à 2000. Des fiches individuelles ont été remplies par les bénévoles sur l’état de santé de chacun des 170 noyers cendrés signalés (figure 6). Selon les données de l’Atlas, 44 p. 100 de ces noyers étaient en mauvais état.

Tableau 3. Sommaire des données du MRNO sur la croissance et le rendement du noyer cendré dans le sud de l’Ontario. Le chancre du noyer cendré a été identifié avec certitude chez seulement 3 arbres; dans les autres cas, on a supposé que les dégâts et la mortalité avaient été causés par le chancre du noyer cendré.
District du MRNOCantonNombre de parcellesNombre d’arbres vivantsNombre d’arbres peut‑être chancreuxNombre d’arbres mortsNombre d’arbres dont la mort a pu être causée par le chancre
AylmerColchester23 1 
AylmerDunwich111  
AylmerMosa1  2 
 sous-total 413 
CambridgeLincoln1  1 
KemptvilleCharlottenburgh13   
KemptvilleEdwardsburgh111  
KemptvilleFinch11   
KemptvilleKenyon3513 
KemptvilleLancaster11   
 sous-total 1123 
MidhurstCollingwood111  
MidhurstGlenelg1  1 
MidhurstKeppel221  
MidhurstOro2321 
MidhurstOsprey2  52
MidhurstSullivan111  
MidhurstSydenham2  22
 sous-total 7594
TweedBedford121  
TweedDummer21041 
TweedHungerford2221 
TweedHuntington3323 
TweedS. Fredericksburg11   
 sous-total 1895 
Total  4017214


Le chancre du noyer cendré aux États-Unis

Aux États-Unis, le facteur qui a le plus d’impact sur la taille des populations de noyer cendré est la mortalité due au chancre du noyer cendré (Sirococcus clavigignenti-juglandacearumV.M.G. Nair, Kostichka et Kuntz). Le chancre du noyer cendré a été observé pour la première fois au Wisconsin, en 1967, mais le champignon responsable de cette maladie n’a été décrit qu’en 1979 (Nair, 1979). Sinclair (1987) a constaté que des noyers cendrés de tous âges et de toutes dimensions présentent des signes de la maladie, dans la plus grande partie de l’aire de répartition de l’espèce. Les arbres chancreux se rencontrent dans des peuplements mélangés ou relativement purs, dans les sols secs, stériles et minces du haut des crêtes, ou dans les sols humides, fertiles et profonds du fond des vallées. Les arbres infectés peuvent former des poches isolées ou occuper de vastes zones (Kuntz et al., 1979, Prey et Kuntz, 1982). Les jeunes noyers cendrés peuvent produire des rejets, mais la croissance de ceux-ci est limitée par le champignon, et ils meurent généralement au cours de la première année (Ostry et al., 1994).


Figure 6 : Données issues de l’enquête auprès des propriétaires fonciers et données de l’Ontario Tree Atlas sur la santé du noyer cendré en Ontario

Figure 6 : Données issues de l’enquête auprès des propriétaires fonciers et données de l’Ontario Tree Atlas sur la santé du noyer cendré en Ontario.

Selon Ostry et al. (1994), les données d’inventaire forestier du USDA Forest Service révèlent que le nombre de noyers cendrés vivants a connu une baisse énorme aux États-Unis au cours des 10 à 15 dernières années. Le groupe chargé de l’analyse et des relevés du USDA Forest Service a signalé que le nombre de noyers cendrés ayant un diamètre d’au moins 5 po avait baissé de 77 p. 100 en Caroline du Nord et en Virginie au cours d’une période de 30 ans (USDA Forest Service, 2003). Bien que ces données soient fondées sur des échantillons et, par conséquent, qu’une marge d’erreur soit possible, elles confirment les déclins dans le cadre d’études supplémentaires ou parallèles. Par exemple, selon les estimations, le nombre de noyers cendrés infectés du chancre au Wisconsin est passé de 30 p. 100 à 70 p. 100 entre 1976 et 1992 et, au cours de la même période, le nombre de noyers centrés tués par la maladie dans les zones d’échantillonnage est passé de 8,5 p. 100 à 27 p. 100 (Cummings Carlson et al., 2004). Tisserat (1984) a signalé que la proportion d’arbres infectés est passée de 5 p. 100 à 71 p. 100 en six ans, mais cette observation ne porte que sur une plantation et n’est donc pas nécessairement indicatrice de la situation existant en milieu naturel. De l’avis de Skilling et al. (1993), il faudrait des relevés supplémentaires pour pouvoir évaluer de manière plus précise l’état de santé du noyer cendré. De tels relevés sont d’ailleurs prévus, ou même déjà entrepris, dans plusieurs États.


Symptômes de la maladie

La description suivante des symptômes du chancre du noyer cendré est tirée du Guide des maladies des arbres en Ontario (Davis et Meyer, 1997) :

Le symptôme le plus évident de la maladie est la formation de chancres renfoncés de forme allongée qui prennent habituellement naissance sur les cicatrices foliaires, les bourgeons ou les plaies. Au printemps, un liquide noir d’encre s'écoule des fissures du chancre. En été, le chancre détermine une tache noire suie, souvent entourée d'une bordure blanchâtre. L'écorçage révèle la présence de zones de cambium nécrosé de couleur brune à noire. Les chancres les plus vieux peuvent être persistants. Ils s'observent dans les fissures de l'écorce ou sont recouverts d'écorce fragmentée clairsemée et entourés de couches successives de tissus calleux. En général, l'infection touche d'abord la partie inférieure du houppier, puis gagne les parties inférieures de l'hôte sous l'effet de la dispersion des spores à partir des chancres. La maladie infecte les arbres de tous âges et de toutes dimensions, dans tous les sites. Les chancres se répandent autour des branches et du tronc et finissent ainsi par provoquer l’annélation et la mort de l’arbre.


Lutte contre la maladie

On ne connaît aucun moyen de lutte contre le chancre du noyer cendré. Certains chercheurs des États-Unis estiment que la sélection de matériel génétiquement résistant est l’avenue la plus prometteuse pour les programmes de rétablissement.


Autres organismes nuisibles au noyer cendré

Outre le chancre du noyer cendré, plusieurs insectes et pathogènes peuvent nuire au noyer cendré. Nous ne mentionnerons ici que les organismes pouvant causer des dommages appréciables.

Après le chancre du noyer cendré, la maladie qui cause sans doute le plus dommages au noyer cendré est la « bunch disease », maladie du type « balai de sorcière » qu’on croit causée par un organisme de type phytoplasme (USDA-FS, 1990). Sur le tronc et les branches principales, des bourgeons axillaires ou adventifs qui normalement resteraient à l’état dormant se développent prématurément et forment des balais de sorcière, c’est-à-dire des touffes de pousses ressemblant à des drageons, avec les feuilles rabougries et chlorosées (Seliskar, 1976; Meador et al., 1986). Ces pousses anormales ne possèdent aucune résistance au froid et sont tuées par l’hiver. Les branches infectées ne produisent pas la quantité normale de noix (Berry, 1973). Par ailleurs, dans les jeunes plantations de noyers du Québec, une des maladies les plus nuisibles est le chancre fusarien. Le chancre phomopsien a également été observé dans cette province, sur les tiges et les branches.

 Plusieurs maladies foliaires sont communes au noyer cendré et à d’autres arbres du genre Juglans. La plus nuisible de ces maladies est l’anthracnose causée par le Marssonina juglandis (Lib.) Magnus., qui provoque l’apparition de taches sur les feuilles. On signale que ce pathogène peut infecter et tuer le feuillage ainsi que les jeunes pousses (Myren, 1991; Service canadien des forêts, 1994; Black et al., 1977).

McLaughlin (2001) mentionne que l’Armillaria gallica H. Marxm. & Romagn. peut provoquer une maladie racinaire chez le noyer cendré. Les feuillus sont les hôtes préférés de ce champignon, qui peut en tuer les individus affaiblis. Cette maladie peut accélérer le déclin des arbres déjà infectés par le chancre du noyer cendré.

L’insecte le plus nuisible au noyer cendré est le charançon du noyer (Conotrachelus juglandis), coléoptère qui s’attaque aux jeunes tiges et aux fruits mais ne provoque généralement pas de dégâts graves (Rink, 1990). On rencontre également sur le noyer cendré des perce-bois, des défoliateurs, des charançons s’attaquant aux noix, des punaises réticulées et des scolytes (Rink, 1990). La chenille à tente estivale (Hyphantria cunea Drury), provoque une défoliation chez toute une gamme d’espèces de feuillus, notamment du genre Juglans (Nystrom et Britnell, 1994). En s’alimentant, cette chenille grégaire (Cannon, 1985) peut provoquer une défoliation appréciable dans les secteurs où ses populations sont nombreuses; elle ne tue pas les arbres sains, mais des mesures de lutte sont parfois recommandées (Anderson, 1978). La chenille du noyer (Datana integerrima Grote & Robinson) commune dans le sud de l’Ontario et le nord-est des États-Unis (Anon., 1985), se nourrit de divers feuillus mais préfère les espèces du genre Juglans. Elle est considérée comme un défoliateur important des Juglans (Farris et Appleby, 1979).

L’Acrobasis demotella Grt. est une pyrale perce-tige. Il suffit d’une chenille de cette pyrale pour tuer une pousse ou une flèche et ainsi produire une déviation dans l’arbre (Martinat et Wallner, 1980). Nystrom et Britnell (1994) estiment que cet insecte pourrait causer des dommages graves au noyer cendré et au noyer noir au Canada.

Rink (1990) signale que le Quiscale bronzé peut détruire les noix immatures du noyer cendré et que l’arbre peut être fortement endommagé par les incendies et les tempêtes. Le noyer cendré est également très sensible aux gelées printanières tardives (MRNO, 2000).