Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and status report on the Butternut in Canada

Special Significance of the Species

There are about 20 species within the genus Juglans (also referred to as walnuts) distributed in North and South America, Europe, Asia and India. Of the 6 species native to North America, only butternut and black walnut occur naturally in Canada (Farrar, 1995), with southern Ontario encompassing the entire Canadian portion of the range of black walnut, and approximately 60% to 70% of all butternut in Canada.

Butternut wood is lightweight, soft, low in strength, and coarse-grained. The wood is valued for interior finishing, cabinetwork and carving. It does not have high economic value in Canada but is valued in the U.S. as a timber species.

The nuts have a delicious buttery flavour and an oil content of up to 60% at peak ripeness (Rupp, 1990). More than 40 butternut cultivars have been described with a few gentoypes exhibiting good nut qualities for commercial production (large size and ease of cracking) (Ostry et al., 2000). Nut growers value butternut as a cold-hardy, nut-producing species. Nuts are especially popular in New England for making maple-butternut candy. Additionally, there are reports that butternut trees were tapped by the pioneers and yielded an excellent syrup (Lauriault, 1989). However, the ratio of sap to syrup is four times higher than that of maple trees (Rupp, 1990). Nuts are also utilized by wildlife as a food source.

A dye can be extracted from the husks and the root bark and a tea can be brewed from the dried outside bark to cure toothaches and dysentery (Lauriault, 1989). Juglone, which is a component of butternut, is antiseptic and herbicidal: some antitumor activity has also been reported. A recent animal study suggests that juglone possesses sedative activity comparable with diazepam (the prescription drug Valium) (Foster and Duke, 2000).

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le noyer cendré au Canada

Importance de l'espèce

Il existe dans le monde une vingtaine d’espèces de noyers véritables (genre Juglans), réparties entre l’Amérique du Nord, l’Amérique du Sud, l’Europe, l’Inde et le reste de l’Asie. Sur les 6 espèces indigènes d’Amérique du Nord, seuls le noyer cendré et le noyer noir poussent naturellement au Canada (Farrar, 1996). Toute l’aire canadienne du noyer noir ainsi que 60 à 70 p. 100 de l’aire canadienne du noyer cendré se trouvent dans le sud de l’Ontario.

Le bois du noyer cendré est léger, tendre et peu résistant, et son grain est grossier. Il est apprécié pour la finition intérieure, l’ébénisterie et la sculpture. Ce bois n’a pas une grande valeur économique au Canada, mais il est apprécié comme bois d’œuvre aux États-Unis.

Les noix du noyer cendré ont une saveur exquise qui rappelle le beurre. À maturité optimale, elles peuvent renfermer jusqu’à 60 p. 100 d’huile (Rupp, 1990). Plus de 40 cultivars ont été décrits, et quelques génotypes donnent de grosses noix qui sont faciles à ouvrir et conviennent à la production commerciale (Ostry et al., 2000). Les producteurs de noix apprécient en outre la rusticité du noyer cendré. Les noix de cet arbres sont particulièrement populaires en Nouvelle-Angleterre, où elles entrent, avec l’érable, dans la composition de certains bonbons. On signale également que les premiers colons entaillaient le noyer cendré et tiraient de sa sève un excellent sirop (Lauriault, 1987). Cependant, cette sève a un rendement en sirop quatre fois moins élevé que celui de la sève d’érable (Rupp, 1990). Enfin, les noix constituent un aliment pour la faune.

Une teinture peut être extraite du brou de la noix et de l’écorce des racines. La tisane obtenue en faisant infuser l’écorce externe peut être utilisée contre les maux de dents et la dysenterie (Lauriault, 1987). La juglone que renferme le noyer cendré a des propriétés antiseptiques et herbicides. On signale aussi que cette substance aurait une certaine activité anti-tumorale. Une récente étude sur animal semble indiquer que la juglone a une activité sédative comparable à celle du diazépam, médicament vendu sur ordonnance sous la marque Valium (Foster et Duke, 2000).