Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and status report on the Butternut in Canada

First Nations Traditional Knowledge

Butternut (Akiehwa:ta in Mohawk) was an edible oil nut known and used by many First Nation peoples. This nut had to be harvested quickly, when it matured, because the oils in the nut would become rancid and inedible. As a result of this, Native people planted this tree anywhere that their villages were established. Like the Black Walnut, this species was brought north with the movement of the Haudenosaunee (People of the Longhouse, popularly known as the Iroquois).

The distribution of butternut was widespread over southern Ontario, southern Quebec and central Maritimes but occurred in dense clusters. Butternut’s establishment in the Maritimes probably occurred within the last 600 years as the butternut was distributed among the different nations. Since the butternut is still traded among Native peoples, isolated trees can be found outside of the main range.

The butternut trees tend to become “grandfather” trees at 30-50 years. At this age, trees are used to propagate new trees within the area. Once the grandfathers are taken, it is hard to ensure that replacement stock is suitable for the area.

Butternut has been steadily declining since contact with Europeans in Canada and the United States. Many of the butternut stands were used for furniture but also were cleared from the best spots for villages. These sites in many cases were old Native village sites now occupied by Canadian cities and towns. Farming and other land uses also threaten the remaining stands of butternut.  Currently butternut canker has been seen on most trees within the main range. Many Native peoples are searching for canker resistant butternuts to establish new butternut clusters and for future seed sources.

The Native peoples of North America had many medicinal and cultural uses for the butternut (Chandler et al., 1979; Gilmore, 1933; Hamel and Chiltoskey, 1975; Herrick, 1977; Smith, 1928; Smith, 1923; Smith, 1933). For further details see the website.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le noyer cendré au Canada

Connaissances traditionnelles des premières nations

Le noyer cendré, ou « Akiehwa:ta » en mohawk, servait à produire une huile de noix comestible utilisée par de nombreux peuples des Premières Nations. Il fallait récolter la noix rapidement, parce que son huile pouvait rancir et cesser d’être comestible. C’est pourquoi les Autochtones plantaient l’arbre à proximité des villages qu’ils fondaient. Le noyer cendré et le noyer noir ont ainsi été propagés vers le nord par les Haudenosaunee, ou « peuple de la maison longue », c’est-à-dire les Iroquois.

Le noyer cendré était répandu dans le sud de l’Ontario, le sud du Québec et le centre des Maritimes, mais ses populations étaient concentrées en groupes denses. L’espèce s’est probablement établie dans les Maritimes il y a moins de 600 ans, avec les échanges entre les diverses nations. Comme le noyer cendré fait encore l’objet d’un commerce parmi les Premières Nations, on en rencontre des individus isolés à l’extérieur de l’aire de répartition principale de l’espèce.

Les noyers cendrés deviennent généralement des arbres « grands-pères » vers l’âge de 30 à 50 ans. Ils sont alors utilisés pour multiplier l’espèce à l’intérieur de la région. Une fois les grands-pères disparus, il est difficile de garantir que le matériel de remplacement conviendra à la région.

Le noyer cendré connaît un déclin constant depuis l’arrivée des Européens au Canada et aux États-Unis. De nombreux peuplements de noyer cendré ont été exploités pour la fabrication de meubles ou simplement enlevés des meilleurs emplacements pour la fondation de villages. Dans bien des cas, ces emplacements, aujourd’hui occupés par des villes canadiennes, étaient ceux d’anciens villages autochtones. Les peuplements qui existent encore sont en outre menacés par l’agriculture et les autres utilisations des terres. Actuellement, le chancre du noyer cendré est visible sur la plupart des arbres dans l’aire principale de l’espèce. Plusieurs peuples autochtones sont à la recherche d’individus résistants en vue d’établir de nouvelles colonies de noyer cendré et de s’assurer des sources de graines pour l’avenir.

Le noyer cendré avait de nombreux usages médicinaux et culturels chez les peuples autochtones d’Amérique du Nord (Chandler et al., 1979; Gilmore, 1933; Hamel et Chiltoskey, 1975; Herrick, 1977; Smith, 1923; Smith, 1928; Smith, 1933). Pour plus de renseignements, voir le site web (en anglais seulement).