Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and status report on the Butternut in Canada

Acknowledgements and Authorities Consulted

The butternut literature review by V.R. Fleugel was used as a starting point in putting together the present report. Dr. Mike Ostry, USDA North Central Forest Experiment Station, Henry Kock, University of Guelph Arboretum, and Dr. Martin Hubbes, professor emeritus, University of Toronto, all participated in discussions at the commencement of our report preparation, and we are indebted to their deep interest and open sharing of ideas and literature. Henry Kock and Rob Guthrie provided Tree Atlas data; the Atlas would not have been possible without the many landowners and volunteers who provided info and compiled the data, and financial support from the Ontario Forest Research Institute. The authors also appreciate the contributions of data and information from a variety of contacts.

Karen Zhou, OMNR Terrestrial Assessment Program database specialist, assisted with assembling growth and yield data. Bob Johnston, OMNR Regional Native Liaison Officer, OMNR Northeast Region, reviewed the aboriginal traditional knowledge section. Sylvia Greifenhagen, Ontario Forest Research Institute, assisted with assembling pathology information. Bob Sajan assisted with assembly of insect pest descriptions. Allen Bibby, Corey Van Es (Kemptville District, OMNR) and Mike Dunkley (Science and Information, Peterborough, MNR) assisted with map preparation. Ed Hurleyand Ken J. Harrison, Natural Resources Canada, Canadian Forest Service provided information on the status of butternut in New Brunswick. The cover image of a butternut silhouette is from Farrar, 1998 (Trees in Canada CD-ROM), and is used with permission.

A number of authorities were contacted and provided information for the Butternut status report: Parks Canada (including representatives from a number of individual parks), provincial agencies (including representatives from provincial parks, forestry services, and wildlife conservation and management departments), conservation data centres, various arboreta, conservation associations and coalitions and the COSEWIC Secretariat. A full list is available on request from the COSEWIC Secretariat.

Funding for the preparation of this status report was provided by the Forest Gene Conservation Association.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le noyer cendré au Canada

Remerciements et experts consultés

Comme point de départ pour la rédaction du présent rapport, nous avons utilisé la recherche bibliographique de V.R. Fleugel sur le noyer cendré. Mike Ostry, de la North Central Forest Experiment Station de l’USDA, Henry Kock, de l’Arboretum de la University of Guelph, ainsi que Martin Hubbes, professeur émérite à la University of Toronto, ont accepté de participer aux discussions tenues en vue de la préparation du rapport, et nous avons beaucoup profité du grand intérêt qu’ils ont porté au projet ainsi que des idées et publications qu’ils ont accepté de partager. Henry Kock et Rob Guthrie nous ont transmis les données de l’Ontario Tree Atlas, et cet Atlas n’aurait pu être réalisé sans l’aide des nombreux propriétaires fonciers et bénévoles qui ont fourni ou compilé l’information et sans le soutien financier de l’Institut de recherche forestière de l’Ontario. Nous tenons également à remercier les diverses personnes qui nous ont fourni des données et des renseignements.

Karen Zhou, spécialiste des bases de données au Programme d'évaluation des écosystèmes terrestres du ministère des Richesses naturelles de l'Ontario (MRNO), nous a aidés à rassembler les données sur la croissance et le rendement. Bob Johnston, agent régional de liaison avec les Autochtones au MRNO, a relu la section portant sur les connaissances traditionnelles des Premières Nations. Sylvia Greifenhagen, de l’Institut de recherche forestière de l’Ontario, nous a aidés à rassembler les données pathologiques. Bob Sajan nous a aidés à rédiger les paragraphes concernant les insectes ravageurs. Allen Bibby, Corey Van Es (District de Kemptville, MRNO) et Mike Dunkley (Sciences et Information, Peterborough, MRNO) nous ont aidés à dresser les cartes. Ed Hurley et Ken J. Harrison, du Service canadien des forêts de Ressources naturelles Canada, nous ont fourni de l’information sur la situation du noyer cendré au Nouveau-Brunswick. L’illustration de la couverture, qui représente une silhouette de noyer cendré, est une image tirée de Farrar (1998) dont la reproduction a été autorisée.

Un certain nombre d’autorités ont été consultées et ont fourni des renseignements pour le rapport de situation sur le noyer cendré : Parcs Canada (y compris des représentants de plusieurs parcs individuels), des organismes provinciaux (y compris des représentants de parcs provinciaux, de services forestiers et des ministères responsables de la conservation et de la gestion des espèces sauvages), des centres de données sur la conservation, divers arboretums, des associations et des coalitions de conservation et le Secrétariat du COSEPAC.  Une liste complète est disponible sur demande auprès du Secrétariat du COSEPAC.

Le présent rapport de situation a été financé par la Forest Gene Conservation Association.