Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and status report on the Butternut in Canada

Distribution

Global Range

Butternut is native to north-eastern and north-central United States and reaches its northern limit in south-eastern Canada (Figure 1). In the United States it is found throughout the New England states except for northwest Maine and Cape Cod. The range then extends south to include northern New Jersey, western Maryland, Virginia, North Carolina, north-western South Carolina, northern Georgia, northern Alabama, northern Mississippi, and Arkansas. Westward the range extends to central Iowa and central Missouri and in the north to Minnesota, Wisconsin and Michigan (Rink, 1990).


Figure 1: Native Range of Butternut

Figure 1: Native range of butternut (adapted from Rink, 1990 and Farrar, 1995).

Adapted from Rink, 1990 and Farrar, 1995.


Canadian Range

The range of butternut in Canada spans the Deciduous Forest Region, the southeastern part of the Great Lakes ­St. Lawrence Forest Region along the St. Lawrence Seaway in Ontario and Quebec and the western section of the Acadian Forest Region in New Brunswick (Lauriault, 1989).

There is some debate over the occurrence of butternut in P.E.I. and N.S. According to the Atlantic Canada Conservation Data Centre there is insufficient evidence to suggest butternut occurred naturally in P.E.I. (Blaney, pers. comm. 2002). No published records exist for butternut in the wild in N.S. although two small naturalized trees were found but suspected to be offspring of a tree planted in the past (Blaney, pers. comm. 2002).

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le noyer cendré au Canada

Répartition

Répartition mondiale

Le noyer cendré est indigène du nord-est et du centre-nord des États-Unis et atteint sa limite nord dans le sud-est du Canada (figure 1). Aux États-Unis, il est présent dans toute la Nouvelle-Angleterre, sauf à Cape Cod et dans le nord-ouest du Maine. Vers le sud, l’aire de répartition atteint le nord du New Jersey, l’ouest du Maryland, de la Virginie et de la Caroline du Nord, le nord-ouest de la Caroline du Sud ainsi que le nord de la Georgie, de l’Alabama, du Mississippi et de l’Arkansas. Vers l’ouest, elle atteint le centre du Missouri et de l’Iowa, puis, vers le nord, le Minnesota, le Wisconsin et le Michigan (Rink, 1990).


Figure 1 : Aire de répartition naturelle du noyer cendré

Figure 1 : Aire de répartition naturelle du noyer cendré, d’après Rink (1990) et Farrar (1996).

D’après Rink (1990) et Farrar (1996).


Répartition canadienne

L’aire canadienne du noyer cendré occupe toute la Région forestière des feuillus, le sud-est de la Région forestière des Grands lacs et du Saint-Laurent, le long de la Voie maritime du Saint-Laurent en Ontario et au Québec, ainsi que l’ouest de la Région forestière acadienne, au Nouveau-Brunswick (Lauriault, 1987).

La présence du noyer cendré à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard et en Nouvelle-Écosse est contestée. Selon le Centre de données sur la conservation du Canada atlantique, les données actuelles ne permettent pas de conclure que l’espèce ait déjà poussé naturellement à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard (Blaney, comm. pers., 2002). Par ailleurs, il n’existe aucune mention publiée confirmant la présence du noyer cendré à l’état sauvage en Nouvelle-Écosse; deux petits noyers cendrés apparemment naturalisés ont été observés, mais on croit qu’il s’agit de descendants d’un arbre planté dans le passé (Blaney, comm. pers., 2002).