Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and status report on the Butternut in Canada

Habitat

Habitat Requirements

Butternut grows best on rich, moist, well-drained loams often found on stream bank sites but may be found on well-drained gravelly sites, especially those of limestone origin (Rink, 1990). It is seldom found on dry, compact, or infertile soils (Rink, 1990). Common associates include basswood, black cherry, beech, black walnut, elm, hemlock, hickory, oak, red maple, sugar maple, yellow poplar (tulip-tree), white ash and yellow birch (Rink, 1990). Butternut is intolerant of shade (Rink, 1990). There have also been reports of butternut as an indicator/associate with the rare understory plant ginseng, Panax quinquefolius L. (OMNR, 2000).

The climate for butternut varies greatly within its range. Mean annual temperature ranges from a maximum of 16°C to a minimum of 4°C (Rink, 1990). Frost-free periods extend from 105 days in the north to 210 days in the south (Rink, 1990). Butternut is susceptible to late spring frosts (OMNR, 2000).


Trends

Trends in habitat vary across the range of butternut. Forest cover for the area within the Ontario range of butternut varies from less than 10% in most of southwestern Ontario to 35% in eastern Ontario. In southwestern Ontario, the amount of habitat for all forest-dependent species has been severely reduced and potentially resistant butternut trees have been and are being lost through forest conversion to agriculture and development. However, in eastern Ontario total forest area is increasing due to abandonment of marginal farmland. In N.B., ecodistricts that comprise the majority of butternut range within N.B. are Aukpaque and Meductic, which are 62 and 65 % forested respectively. Within the province overall, the area of agricultural land has declined from 367 000 ha in 1921 to 135 000 in 1996 due to abandonment of marginal lands. Aukpaque and Meductic Ecodistricts contain the richest farmland and therefore are assumed to have experienced a lower rate of decline in farmland. However, there is abandoned farmland within both ecodistricts that has been re-colonized with butternut (Sabine, pers. comm. 2003).


Protection/Ownership

Butternut has been reported in Point Pelee and St. Lawrence Islands National Parks in Ontario. Kouchibouguac National Park, N.B. and Cape Breton Highlands, N.S. are outside the current species range, although archaeological evidence at the former park points to possible butternut inhabitance in the past. There are no records of butternut occurrence in the Bruce Peninsula, ON, Georgian Bay Islands, ON, and La Mauricie, Que., national parks; these national parks may be outside the species range. Information regarding population sizes and health status within each park has been requested but not yet received.

To date, St. Lawrence Islands National Park, ON, has reported populations on Grenadier and Hill Islands; field checks to determine size and health status are currently underway. At Point Pelee National Park, ON, small populations have been reported at 2 locations (13 trees in total), with trees ranging between 4 cm and 60 cm diameter at breast height. Younger trees appear healthy, but older trees show signs of crown dieback. The older trees are bearing fruit, and may have been planted, although records from 1905 list butternut as native to the area.

In Ontario, butternut has also been reported in the following provincial parks; Rondeau, Bronte Creek, Short Hills, Pinery, John E. Pearce, Earl Rowe, Mono Cliff, Forks of the Credit, Boyne Valley, Awenda, Fitzroy, Pretty Valley, Restoule, Sibbald, Voyageur, Westmeath, MacGregor and Provincial Nature Reserves; Nottawasaga Lookout, Trillium Woods, Morris Tract and Hockley Valley.

In New Brunswick, butternut occurs in the following protected areas: Grand Lake Meadows Protected Natural Area, Hal Hinds Forest, near Woodstock (N.B. Dept. Nat. Res. and Energy); Meduxnekeag River Preserve; Maquapit Lake; Sugar Island, (St. John River). The latter two are administered by the Nature Trust of New Brunswick (Zelazny, pers. comm. 2002).

The geographic range of butternut within Ontario coincides with the area where 90% of the land is under private ownership. Where butternut does occur on crown land in Ontario, management is controlled by Silvicultural Guidelines that recommend retention of viable populations for uncommon species, retention of healthy trees for pest threatened species and management to provide conditions for the regeneration of species of concern (Anderson and Nielsen, 1998a). A majority of land within the butternut range in N.B. and Quebec is also under private ownership. Although there are no guidelines specific to management of butternut in N.B., watercourse buffer zone guidelines for Crown Land forestry activities, which limit extent and type of forest overstory removal along watercourses on Crown Lands, might be of some benefit to butternut populations occurring on riparian sites. Watercourse Alteration Regulations under the Clean Water Act provide a similar function for areas within 30 m of watercourses on private lands.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le noyer cendré au Canada

Habitat

Besoins de l’espèce

Le noyer cendré préfère les sols loameux, riches, humides et bien drainés, qui se rencontrent souvent en bordure de cours d’eau. L’espèce pousse également dans certains sols graveleux bien drainés, souvent d’origine calcaire (Rink, 1990), mais rarement dans les sols secs, compacts ou stériles (Rink, 1990). Les arbres souvent associés au noyer cendré sont le tilleul, le cerisier tardif, le hêtre, le noyer noir, l’orme, la pruche, le caryer, le chêne, l’érable rouge, l’érable à sucre, le tulipier, le frêne blanc et le bouleau jaune (Rink, 1990). Le noyer cendré ne tolère pas l’ombre (Rink, 1990). Selon l’MRNO (2000), le noyer cendré serait associé au ginseng à cinq folioles (Panax quinquefolius L.) et pourrait servir d’espèce indicatrice pour cette plante herbacée rare poussant dans les sous-bois.

À l’intérieur de l’aire de répartition du noyer cendré, le climat varie grandement selon les régions. La température moyenne annuelle est de 4 à 16 °C (Rink, 1990), et la durée de la saison sans gel est de 105 à 210 jours, selon la latitude (Rink, 1990). Le noyer cendré est sensible aux gelées printanières tardives (MRNO, 2000).


Tendances

Les tendances de l’habitat du noyer cendré varient selon les régions. En Ontario, le couvert forestier est de moins de 10 p. 100 dans la plus grande partie du sud-ouest de la province et atteint 35 p. 100 dans l’est. Dans le sud-ouest de l’Ontario, la superficie d’habitat disponible pour l’ensemble des espèces forestières a connu une diminution marquée, et des noyers cendrés peut-être résistants ont été et continuent d’être éliminés à mesure que la forêt cède sa place à l’agriculture et au développement. Par contre, dans l’est de l’Ontario, la superficie boisée est en augmentation, avec l’abandon des terres agricoles peu productives. Au Nouveau-Brunswick, la plus grande partie de l’aire du noyer cendré se trouve dans les écodistricts d’Aukpaque et de Meductic, dont le couvert forestier est respectivement de 62 et 65 p. 100. Dans l’ensemble de la province, la superficie consacrée à l’agriculture a diminué, passant de 367 000  ha en 1921 à 135 000  ha en 1996, avec l’abandon des terres peu productives. Cependant, comme les terres agricoles les plus riches de la province se trouvent dans les écodistricts d’Aukpaque et de Meductic, on peut supposer que le déclin de la superficie cultivée a été moindre dans ces écodistricts. Néanmoins, dans ces deux écodistricts, il existe des terres agricoles abandonnées qui ont été colonisées à nouveau par le noyer cendré (Sabine, comm. pers., 2003).


Protection et propriété des terrains 

Le noyer cendré a été signalé dans les parcs nationaux de la Pointe-Pelée et des Îles-du-Saint-Laurent, en Ontario. Les parcs nationaux Kouchibouguac, au Nouveau-Brunswick, et des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton, en Nouvelle-Écosse, se trouvent à l’extérieur de l’aire actuelle de l’espèce, mais des vestiges archéologiques indiquent que le noyer cendré a peut-être déjà été présent aux deux endroits. Il n’existe aucune mention de l’espèce pour les parcs nationaux de la Péninsule-Bruce, en Ontario, des Îles-de-la-Baie-Georgienne, également en Ontario, et de la Mauricie, au Québec, mais il se peut que ces parcs soient situés à l’extérieur de l’aire de l’espèce. Nous avons demandé des renseignements sur la taille et la santé des populations se trouvant dans chacun des parcs nationaux, mais n’avons encore rien reçu.

Jusqu’à présent, dans le parc national des Îles-du-Saint-Laurent, des populations ont été signalées dans les îles Grenadier et Hill; des travaux de terrain visant à déterminer la taille et la santé de ces populations sont en cours. Au parc national de la Pointe-Pelée, de petites populations ont été signalées à deux endroits; ces populations comptent en tout 13 arbres, mesurant entre 4 et 60 cm de diamètre à hauteur de poitrine. Les jeunes arbres paraissent sains, mais les arbres plus âgés montrent des signes de dépérissement de la cime. Ces arbres plus âgés produisent des noix et ont peut-être été plantés, bien que l’espèce soit caractérisée comme indigène de la région dans un document datant de 1905.

En Ontario, le noyer cendré a également été signalé dans les parcs provinciaux Rondeau, du Ruisseau Bronte, des Collines Short, The Pinery, John E. Pearce, Earl Rowe, des Falaises Mono, Forks of the Credit, de la Vallée de la Boyne, Awenda, Fitzroy, de la Vallée de la rivière Pretty, Restoule, Sibbald, Voyageur, Westmeath et MacGregor ainsi que dans les réserves naturelles provinciales Nottawasaga Lookout, des Bois Trillium, Morris Tract et de la Vallée Hockley.

Au Nouveau-Brunswick, le noyer cendré est présent dans les aires protégées suivantes : la Zone naturelle protégée des prés du Grand Lac; la forêt Hal Hinds, près de Woodstock (ministère des Ressources naturelles et de l’Énergie du Nouveau-Brunswick); la réserve de la rivière Meduxnekeag; le lac Maquapit; l’île Sugar, sur le fleuve Saint-Jean. Ces deux dernières aires protégées sont administrées par la Fondation pour la protection des sites naturels du Nouveau-Brunswick (Zelazny, comm. pers., 2002).

En Ontario, l’aire de répartition du noyer cendré coïncide avec la partie de cette province où 90 p. 100 des terres sont privées. Là où le noyer cendré pousse sur des terres de la Couronne, l’aménagement est régi par des lignes directrices sylvicoles qui recommandent de conserver les populations viables des espèces peu communes, de conserver les arbres sains appartenant à une espèce menacée par un organisme nuisible et d’aménager la forêt de manière à favoriser la régénération des espèces préoccupantes (Anderson et Nielsen, 1998). De même, au Nouveau-Brunswick et au Québec, la plus grande partie des terres se trouvant à l’intérieur de l’aire du noyer cendré sont des terres privées. Au Nouveau-Brunswick, il n’existe aucune ligne directrice d’aménagement portant spécifiquement sur le noyer cendré, mais les populations de cet arbre qui se trouvent en bordure de cours d’eau profitent peut-être de certaines directives imposant des limites aux types et à l’étendue des coupes forestières le long des cours d’eau, dans les terres de la Couronne. Le Règlement sur la modification des cours d'eau et des terres humides établi en vertu de la Loi sur l'assainissement de l'eau offre une protection semblable pour les terres privées jusqu’à 30 m des rives des cours d’eau.