Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and status report on the Butternut in Canada

Biology

General

Butternut is relatively short lived, rarely living more than 75 years. It is shade intolerant. Although young trees can tolerate shade from the side, butternut does not survive when shaded from above (Rink, 1990).

In Ontario, butternut is usually found as scattered individuals or in small groups in mixed hardwood stands, or as remnant or volunteer trees in fence lines or open fields. In N.B. butternut is scattered throughout the Grand Lake Ecoregion on flood plain soils and is a common component of field hedgerows. A number of extensive pure stands occur on several flood plain islands. Butternut is also scattered throughout the upland hardwood forest in the Meductic Ecodistrict (Valley Lowlands Ecoregion), which is underlain with rich calcareous soils (Sabine, pers. comm. 2003).


Reproduction and Genetics

Butternut flowers from April to June, depending on location. The species is monoecious (separate male and female flowers on the same tree), and wind-pollinated. The male flowers are thick, green catkins that develop from axillary buds. The female flowers are shorter than the male flowers and occur on short stems arising in the axils of new leaves. Flowers of both sexes on an individual tree usually mature at different times (Rink, 1990).

The fruit contains an oblong nut surrounded by a semi-fleshy indehiscent, pubescent husk (Harlow et al., 1979). The fruit matures in September and October in the year of pollination. Fruits occur singly or in clusters of 2 to 5. Mature fruits are 4-6 cm long, ovoid and green. Removal of the husk yields a nut containing an embryo with two large cotyledons surrounded by a seed coat and then a thick pericarp (outer husk). The cotyledons are sweet, oily and edible. The fruit usually remains on the tree until after leaf fall (Rink, 1990). Although the embryo can remain dormant for 2 years (OMNR, 2000) it usually germinates the following spring after seed fall (Rink, 1990).

Seed bearing starts at age 20 and peaks at age 30 to 60. Good seed crops occur every 2-3 years with light crops during intervening years. Low viable seed yields are usually caused by insect damage or lack of pollination (Rink, 1990). Seeds require cold stratification for 90 to 120 days to overcome dormancy (Young and Young, 1992).

The nut is considered to be intolerant of long-term storage and remains viable for 3 to 5 years if stored in sealed containers at temperatures just above freezing (Anonymous 1948; Wang 1974). Satisfactory storage can be obtained for at least 2 years if stored in closed containers at 80% to 90% relative humidity and +5 to 0°C. The nut cannot tolerate drying to low water contents (e.g. 5 % water content) and are sensitive to temperatures below -40°C (Wang et al. 1993). Stumps of young butternut trees are capable of sprouting (Rink, 1990) and can be propagated via rooted cuttings.

None of the species with which butternut hybridizes occur naturally within Canada. However, several of these species have been planted for nut production or landscaping. Butternut will hybridize with other species of Juglans, including heartnut (J. cordiformis) to produce buartnut (Millikan et al.,1991); Japanese walnut (J. ailantifolia) to produce J. x bixbyi; and with English walnut (J. regia) to produce J. x quadrangulata. Butternut has also been reported to successfully hybridize with little walnut (J. microcarpa) and Manchurian walnut (J. mandschurica) (Rink, 1990). There have not been any confirmed reports of black walnut (J. nigra) and butternut hybridization.

Busov et al. (1997) compared allozyme variation within and among several Juglans species including butternut. Ostry (1998) reported that genetic diversity of butternut is limited. Morin et al. (2000a) investigated 12 isozyme loci of 9 butternut populations from the species’ northeastern limit (7 from Quebec and one each from New Brunswick and Vermont). They observed low genetic diversity estimates compared to other species of the genus: only 3 of the 12 loci were polymorphic, and pairwise genetic distances were very low except for comparisons involving the population from Vermont. Population differentiation was estimated to be about 8%, but when the Vermont population was excluded, this estimate was reduced to 3%. One Quebec population, located over 100 km from the nearest sizable stand and thus with little to no gene flow with other populations, was completely monomorphic for those isozymes studied. The authors hypothesized that a combination of factors, including a genetic bottleneck occurring during the Pleistocene glaciation, influence of the butternut canker, and low migration distances of the gravity-dependent seed may have contributed to loss of diversity in butternut.


Movements/Dispersal

Seeds are dispersed by gravity, water, squirrels and other small rodents. There is evidence to suggest that some populations of butternut, among other nut bearing trees, were introduced into northeastern North America by the Iroquois, before the arrival of Europeans (Wykoff, 1991).


Nutrition and Interspecific Interactions

Butternut grows best on fertile sites but also is found on dry rocky infertile sites. Butternut trees produce a substance called juglone, a naphthoquinone that is selectively toxic to associated vegetation (Rink, 1990). The Eastern Chapter of Ontario Nut Growers web site (http://ecsong.ca/vol15no4.html#M) provides a listing of species of trees, shrubs and herbaceous plants categorized as negatively or neutrally affected by the presence of butternut and walnut. The information is derived from the publication Black Walnut Toxicity by Olga Piedrahita, Factsheet No. 84-050, Ontario Ministry of Agriculture and Food, November 1984, and is as follows:

"Plants reported as susceptible to black walnut toxicity include tomatoes, alfalfa, apple, pear, blackberry, blueberry, mountain laurel, azaleas, rhododendrons, shrubby cinquefoil (Potentilla fruticosa), red pine, white pine and other evergreens. Plants reported as showing toxicity symptoms occasionally include poverty grass (Danthonia), sweet peppers, common lilac, Persian lilac, viburnum, autumn crocus, peony, crabapple, magnolia, red raspberry, peach and Euonymus sp. Plants not affected or which have shown improved growth near walnut roots include Kentucky bluegrass, timothy, red top, orchard grass and other grasses, white clover, beets, snapbeans, lima beans, onions, parsnips, sweet corn, black raspberry, grapes, wild roses, forsythia, Virginia creeper, poison ivy, narcissus, salvia, impatiens, Rudbeckia sp., red cedar, oaks, maples, hickories and other native hardwoods. Other plants apparently tolerant to black walnut are anemone, jack-in-the-pulpit, lady fern, cyclamen, epimedium, dog's tooth violet, gentian, green hellebore, alumroot, plantain lily, iris, lilies, ostrich fern, forget-me-not, narcissus, lily turf, may apple, Solomon's seal, Christmas fern, primroses, pilewort, nightshade, meadow rue, toad lily, white clover, trillium, bellwort, wild oats, periwinkle, burning bush, honey suckle, mock orange, oaks, and poison ivy."

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le noyer cendré au Canada

Biologie

Généralités 

Le noyer cendré est un arbre qui vit relativement peu longtemps, rarement plus de 75 ans. Il ne tolère pas l’ombre. Les jeunes individus peuvent tolérer l’ombre provenant des côtés, mais l’espèce ne peut survivre si l’ombre provient d’en haut (Rink, 1990).

En Ontario, le noyer cendré pousse généralement seul ou en petits groupes à l’intérieur de peuplements mélangés de feuillus, ou encore à l’état de vestige ou de repousse spontanée le long de clôtures ou en plein champ. Au Nouveau-Brunswick, le noyer cendré pousse à l’état dispersé dans les sols alluviaux de toute l’écorégion des Grands Lacs, et il est commun dans les haies séparant les champs. Il en existe de grands peuplements purs dans plusieurs îles inondables. Le noyer cendré pousse également à l’état dispersé dans toute la forêt de feuillus des terrains élevés de l’écodistrict de Meductic (écorégion des Basses-Terres de la vallée), caractérisé par des calcaires riches (Sabine, comm. pers., 2003).


Reproduction et génétique

Le noyer cendré fleurit d’avril à juin, selon les localités. L’espèce est monoïque (les fleurs mâles et femelles sont distinctes mais produites par le même individu) et pollinisée par le vent. Les fleurs mâles sont réunies en chatons verts et épais issus de bourgeons axillaires. Les fleurs femelles sont plus courtes et situées à l’extrémité de courts pédoncules à l’aisselle des nouvelles feuilles. Chez un même arbre, les fleurs des deux sexes arrivent généralement à maturité à des moments différents (Rink, 1990).

Le fruit est une noix oblongue enveloppée d’un brou semi-charnu, indéhiscent et pubescent (Harlow et al., 1979). Il arrive à maturité durant le mois de septembre ou octobre suivant la pollinisation. Les fruits sont solitaires ou en groupes de 2 à 5. Le fruit mûr est ovoïde, vert, long de 4 à 6 cm. L’embryon que renferme la noix possède deux gros cotylédons et est enveloppé d’un tégument séminal et d’un épais péricarpe (coque). Les cotylédons sont doux, huileux et comestibles. Le fruit reste généralement sur l’arbre jusqu’après la chute des feuilles (Rink, 1990). L’embryon peut demeurer à l’état dormant pendant 2 ans (MRNO, 2000), mais il germe habituellement le printemps suivant la chute de la noix (Rink, 1990).

L’arbre commence à produire des noix à 20 ans, et la production maximale est atteinte entre 30 et 60 ans. Une bonne quantité de noix est produite tous les deux ou trois ans, et une quantité moindre les autres années. Il arrive que peu de graines soient viables, généralement en raison de dégâts causés par les insectes ou d’un échec de la pollinisation (Rink, 1990). La levée de la dormance exige une stratification froide de 90 à 120 jours (Young et Young, 1992).

On estime que la noix ne tolère pas l’entreposage à long terme et demeure viable 3 à 5 ans si elle est entreposée dans un contenant scellé, à une température à peine supérieure au point de congélation (Anonyme, 1948; Wang, 1974). On peut obtenir une conservation satisfaisante pendant au moins deux ans en entreposant les noix dans un contenant fermé où sont maintenus un taux d’humidité relative de 80 à 90 p. 100 et une température de 0 à 5 °C. La noix ne tolère pas une forte dessiccation (jusqu’à une teneur en eau de 5 p. 100, par exemple) et est sensible aux températures inférieures à - 40 °C (Wang et al., 1993). La souche des jeunes noyers cendrés peut produire des rejets (Rink, 1990), et la plante peut être multipliée au moyen de boutures racinées.

Aucune des espèces avec lesquelles le noyer cendré peut s’hybrider ne pousse naturellement au Canada. Cependant, plusieurs de ces espèces ont été plantées pour la production de noix ou l’aménagement paysager. Le croisement du noyer cendré avec le noyer cordiforme (Juglans cordiformis) donne un arbre appelé en anglais « buartnut » (Millikan et al.,1991); le croisement du noyer cendré avec le noyer du Japon (J. ailanthifolia) donne le J. x bixbyi; enfin, le croisement du noyer cendré avec le noyer commun (J. regia) donne le Jx quadrangulata. Rink (1990) signale également que le noyer cendré peut être croisé avec succès avec le noyer à petits fruits (J. microcarpa) et avec le noyer de Mandchourie (J. mandschurica). Il n’existe aucune mention confirmée d’hybridation entre le noyer noir (J. nigra) et le noyer cendré.

Busov et al. (1997) ont étudié la variabilité des alloenzymes parmi plusieurs espèces de Juglans, dont le noyer cendré, et chez chacune de ces espèces. Selon Ostry (1998), le noyer cendré possède une diversité génétique limitée. Morin et al. (2000a) ont examiné 12 locus isoenzymatiques chez 9 populations de noyer cendré situées près de la limite nord-est de l’espèce (7 du Québec, une du Nouveau-Brunswick et une du Vermont). Les taux de diversité génétique ainsi estimés étaient faibles par rapport à ceux signalés pour d’autres espèces de Juglans : seulement 3 des 12 locus étaient polymorphes, et les analyses par paires ont montré que les distances génétiques étaient très faibles, sauf lorsqu’une des populations comparées était celle du Vermont. Le taux de différenciation des populations a été estimé à environ 8 p. 100, et à seulement 3 p. 100 lorsqu’on excluait la population du Vermont. Chez une des populations du Québec, située à plus de 100 km de tout autre population de taille appréciable et ne connaissant donc pratiquement aucun échange de gènes avec d’autres populations, les locus isoenzymatiques étudiés étaient entièrement monomorphes. Les auteurs ont avancé que cette perte de diversité pourrait s’expliquer par une combinaison de facteurs, dont un étranglement génétique survenu durant la glaciation pléistocène, l’impact du chancre du noyer cendré et la faible distance de dispersion des graines, liée à la gravité.


Dispersion

Les graines sont dispersées par la gravité, l’eau, les écureuils et d’autres petits rongeurs. Selon les observations de Wykoff (1991), il se peut que certaines populations de noyer cendré et d’autres arbres produisant des noix aient été introduites dans le nord-est de l’Amérique du Nord par les Iroquois, avant l’arrivée des Européens.


Nutrition et relations interspécifiques

Le noyer cendré préfère les sols fertiles, mais se rencontre également dans des terrains rocheux secs et stériles. L’arbre produit de la juglone, substance du groupe des naphthoquinones qui présente une toxicité sélective pour certaines espèces végétales associées au noyer cendré (Rink, 1990). On trouvera sur le l’Eastern Chapter of the Society of Ontario Nut Growers(http://ecsong.ca/vol15no4.html#M) une liste d’arbres, arbustes et plantes herbacées qui sont sensibles à divers degrés, ou non sensibles, à la présence de noyers. Ces renseignements portent avant tout sur le noyer noir et proviennent de l’article Black Walnut Toxicity, rédigé par Olga Piedrahita (Factsheet No. 84-050, Ministère de l’Agriculture et de l’Alimentation de l’Ontario, novembre 1984) :

[Traduction] « On a signalé une sensibilité à la toxicité du noyer noir chez les plantes suivantes : tomate, luzerne, pommier, poirier, mûrier (Rubus), bleuet (Vaccinium), kalmia à feuilles larges, azalées, rhododendrons, potentille frutescente, pin rouge, pin blanc et autres conifères. On a signalé des symptômes occasionnels de toxicité chez les plantes suivantes : danthonie, poivron, lilas commun, lilas de Perse, viorne, colchique, pivoine, pommetier, magnolia, framboisier rouge, pêcher et fusain. On n’a signalé aucun effet, ou on a observé une meilleure croissance à proximité des racines de noyer, chez les espèces suivantes : pâturin des prés, fléole, agrostide blanche, dactyle pelotonné et autres graminées, trèfle blanc, betterave, haricot commun, haricot de Lima, oignon, panais, maïs sucré, framboisier noir, vigne, rosier sauvage, forsythia, vigne vierge, herbe à puce, narcisse, sauge, impatiente, rudbeckie, genévrier rouge, chênes, érables, caryers et autres feuillus indigènes. Les plantes suivantes semblent également tolérantes au noyer noir : anémone, petit-prêcheur, athyrie fougère-femelle, cyclamen, chapeau d’évêque (Epimedium), érythrone, gentiane, hellébore vert, heuchère, hosta, iris, lis, matteucie fougère-à-l'autruche, myosotis, narcisse, liriope, podophylle pelté, sceau-de-Salomon, polystic faux-acrostic, primevères, renoncule ficaire, morelle, pigamon, lis des crapauds (Tricyrtis), trèfle blanc, trille, uvulaire, folle avoine, pervenche, fusain pourpre, chèvrefeuille, seringat (Philadelphus), chênes et herbe à puce. »