Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Annual Report 2004

Appendix III

 

BIOSKETCHES

 

Non-government Member

1. Recommendation - Dr. Jeffrey Hutchings (renewal)


Dr. Hutchings received a Ph. D. from Memorial University in 1991 and conducted postdoctoral research at the University of Edinburgh and at the Department of Fisheries and Oceans in St. John's. He became a faculty member at Dalhousie University in 1995 and is currently a full Professor. Dr. Hutchings has compiled an impressive record of research focussing on the conservation of marine fishes and the ecology of gadid and salmonid fishes. Dr. Hutchings has published over 80 publications in the peer-reviewed literature including sentinel publications on exploited marine species, and is well known for communicating this science to Canadian Society. Dr. Hutchings also authored the 2003 COSEWIC status report on Atlantic Cod.

Dr. Hutchings has considerable knowledge and experience with respect to the biology and management of Canadian marine, anadromous and freshwater fishes. He is most knowledgeable regarding Atlantic Canadian marine and freshwater environments and freshwater environments in Ontario. Dr. Hutchings has been a member of the COSEWIC Marine Fishes SSC since 1997 and has been a Non-government Member of COSEWIC since 2001. This has given him a strong foundation in species assessment and in formulating recommendations with respect to biological status. Dr. Hutchings has also published several peer-reviewed papers addressing the application of the IUCN criteria which have been adopted by COSEWIC.

Dr. Hutchings has broad experience as an editor for scientific journals and also has a proven record of working well collaboratively as a member of various panels and advisory committees in addition to his work on COSEWIC. He has successfully supervised eight graduate students and is currently supervising seven graduate students at the Ph. D. and M. Sc. level.

Co-chair

Amphibians & Reptiles Specialist Subcommittee

2. Recommendation - Dr. David M. Green (renewal)

 

Dr. David M. Green received his Ph.D. in Zoology from the University of Guelph in 1982. He is an Associate Professor at McGill University and Curator of Terrestrial Vertebrates at the Redpath Museum with over 90 peer-reviewed publications on amphibians. He has supervised or is currently supervising 13 graduate students doing projects on amphibians and reptiles (5 M.Sc., 3 Ph.D. graduated; 3 M.Sc., 2 Ph.D. ongoing). He is past Chair of COSEWIC (1998-2002), a Co-chair of the Amphibians and Reptiles Subcommittee since 1995 and a member of the Amphibians and Reptiles Subcommittee since 1985.

 

Co-chair

Arthropods Specialist Subcommittee

3. Recommendation - Dr. B. Theresa Fowler (renewal)

 

Dr. B. Theresa Fowler:
Current Position, Degrees and Biological Science Background since 1995, Scientific Authority, Endangered Species, Species at Risk Branch,
Canadian Wildlife Service
PhD, Ottawa, on behavioural ecology of Tamias striatus
3 years experience, behavioural ecology of marsh birds (Rallus limicola, Porzana carolina,
Exobrychus exilis)
5 years experience arctic ecosystems ( Lagopus mutus, Lepus arcticus)
56 papers and publications including government documents and presentations to legislators, popular conservation and nature literature, 2 journal articles and 2 book chapters

Other relevant experience (conservation biology, taxonomy, ecology, genetics, population biology etc)
8 years as Director of Canadian Nature Federation
broad interest in all taxa

Geographic Areas/Taxa
small mammals and birds, Quebec, Ontario and High Arctic
broad knowledge of flora and fauna of North America

Determining Biological Status of Species
17 years as a member of COSEWIC   
initiated and assembelled the molluscs and Lepidoptera Subcommittee for COSEWIC
since 2003, Co-Chair Arthropoda Species Specialist Group

Knowledge of Concepts and Techniques Related to Assessment and Conservation of Species at Risk
works daily with issues regarding Species at Risk

Editorial Roles, Manuscripts, Journals
periodic role as reviewer for journal articles
review of 4 natural history book manuscripts and 11 post publication book reviews
accomplished reviewer and editor of COSEWIC status reports for Lepidoptera and Mollusca
edits many documents in daily work
Other
knows English, French, and Polish with experience as a translator of scientific texts

Co-chair

Arthropods Specialist Subcommittee

4. Recommendation - Dr. Paul M. Catling (new)

Dr. Paul M. Catling:
Current Position, Degrees and Biological Science Background
since 1991, classified as Research Scientist, Level 3, Biological Resources Division of Agriculture Canada, 24 years experience with the Biosystematics Research Center/Biological Resources as a plant systematist, ecologist and curator of plant collections;
PhD, Toronto, on systematics and ecology of plants
14 years on the faculty of University of Ottawa
about 50 publications on odonates and lepidoptera , including books, book chapters, refereed journal articles and government documents, and over 300 botany publications

Other relevant experience (conservation biology, taxonomy, ecology, genetics, population biology etc)
7 years experience gathering data on the distribution of dragonflies in Canada including extensive Ontario work and some in NWT
serves on many advisory committees ( Canadian Expert Committee on Plant Genetic Resources, Species Survival Commission, Nature Conservancy)

Geographic Areas/ Taxa
odonates of Canada, most provinces, especially Ontario and NWT
lepidoptera of Ontario
expert knowledge of flora of Canada
publications in ornithology (10), mycology(1), herpetology(6)

Determining Biological Status of Species
prepared status reports on some Ontario lepidoptera and a COSEWIC status report on the goldenseal
participated in status ranking of plants and insects in Ontario and odonates in NWT

Knowledge of Concepts and Techniques Related to Assessment and Conservation of SAR
has wide experience in studying rare flora and fauna and rare habitats such as alvars and grasslands; has identified streams where rare odonates are found for possible protection measures
involved in 4 recovery teams including the team for the butterfly, bog elfin and the goldenseal; prepared monitoring plans, and publicizes recovery team approaches

Editorial Roles, Manuscripts, Journals,
assesses over 100 manuscripts, grant applications and theses per annum
associate editor of Canadian Field Naturalist, and the journal "Biodiversity"
currently editing conference proceedings


Co-chair

Birds Specialist Subcommittee

5. Recommendation - Richard Cannings (renewal)



Richard Cannings:

M.Sc. (1977) from Memorial University of Newfoundland -- breeding ecology of Horned Larks

B.Sc. (1975) from the University of B.C. -- homing behaviour in deer mice and Townsend's voles

Extensive (provincial, national and international) education and work experience (25 years) covering many aspects of conservation biology, systematics, population biology and genetics, and wildlife management

Curator of the Cowan Vertebrate Museum in the Department of Zoology, University of British Columbia (1980 to 1995) -- considerable experience in systematics and taxonomy of all terrestrial vertebrate groups-birds, mammals, reptiles and amphibians

Consulting biologist in conservation biology, particularly regarding the flora and fauna of British Columbia

Completed (1996) a comprehensive treatment of all BC avian taxa called Birds of British Columbia: A Taxonomic Catalogue

Chair and report author of the South Okanagan Ecosystem Recovery Team (Habitat Atlas for Wildlife at Risk-South Okanagan & Lower Similkamee) -included habitat assessments, habitat mapping and GIS work, reintroduction of extirpated species, estimating minimum viable populations and minimum habitat requirements, working with local community groups and First Nations and implementing outreach and stewardship programs

Current research interests include the breeding biology of small owls, but I have a broad expertise in owl biology and have published a review of owl biology in the Handbook of Birds of the World (volume 5)

Good knowledge of the odonate (dragonfly) fauna of western Canada, and to a lesser extent, other insect groups (butterflies, true bugs)

Familiar with the flora of British Columbia, the Yukon and Newfoundland

Author of 8 COSEWIC status reports (including three updates) on five bird species and one amphibian

Author of reports on the provincial status of eight bird species in British Columbia., as well as Identified Wildlife reports (status and management recommendations) for three birds, seven butterflies and two dragonflies in British Columbia

Co-chair of the Birds Species Specialist Committee of COSEWIC (2001 to present). Member of RENEW recovery teams for White-headed Woodpecker, Sage Thrasher, Yellow-breasted Chat and Western Screech-Owl

Regular reviewer of articles and books for scientific journals, including the Auk, Condor and the Journal of Raptor Research

 

Co-chair

Marine Mammals Specialist Subcommittee

6. Recommendation - Dr. Randall R. Reeves (new)



Dr. Randall R. Reeves:
B.A. - University of Nebraska, Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
M.P.A. - Princeton University, Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Ph.D. - McGill University, Montreal

Dr. Reeves has been a self-employed researcher and writer since 1976, during which time he has compiled an impressive record of quality scientific work and of leadership in the conservation of marine mammals. Dr. Reeves has served on a number of national and international committees, most notably the Cetacean Specialist Group of the World Conservation Union or IUCN (of which he has been chair since 1997), as well as the various incarnations of the COSEWIC subcommittee devoted to marine mammals (1990 to present). He is the author or co-author of over 200 scientific or popular articles on marine mammals and is co-author or co-editor of several books and special issues of scientific journals. His writings include both technical and general treatment of the ecology of marine mammals, reviews of human impact on marine mammal populations (e.g. historic catches, live- capture and trade, offshore drilling), technical guides, workshop summaries, species status reports and conservation/management plans and guidelines. Dr. Reeves has conducted fieldwork at sites that span continents, including the Eastern Canadian Arctic and the North Atlantic, and is therefore well placed to address the status of Atlantic or Arctic species, as specified in our call for applicants. In short, Dr. Reeves has an impressive track record across the range of targeted skills, from strong science, to collaboration, to production of quality reports, and would therefore be an excellent choice as Co-Chair of the Marine Mammal Species Specialist Subcommittee.

 

Co-chair

Molluscs Specialist Subcommittee

7. Recommendation - Janice L. Smith (new)

 

Janice L. Smith:
Research Biologist,    Cumulative Impacts on Aquatic Biodiversity Project, Aquatic Ecosystem Impacts Research Branch, National Water Research Institute, Environment Canada, Burlington, Ontario
B.Sc. (First Class Honours) in Zoology, University of Manitoba, 1973.
M.Sc. equivalency, University of Waterloo, 1990

She is an excellent researcher with wide publishing and editing experience, is a known team player in the conservation area (recovery teams, Mollusc and Lepidoptera SSC for many years, co-led part of the General Status assessment of mollusks), and is a recognized authority on an important group of Canadian critters (Ontario mollusks). She has been instrumental in bringing the conservation problems of this otherwise rather obscure group into the mainstream and in getting them recognized as an indicator species for freshwater conservation problems generally.

NOTE: Curricula vitae for all nominees and current members are on file with the COSEWIC Secretariat.

19 March, 2004

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Rapport annuel du COSEPAC - 2004

Annexe III

 

CURRICULUMS VITAE ABRÉGÉS

 

Membre non gouvernemental

1. Recommandation - Jeffrey Hutchings (renouvellement)


M. Hutchings a obtenu un doctorat de la Memorial University en 1991. Il a aussi mené des recherches postdoctorales à l'University of Edinburgh ainsi qu'au ministère des Pêches et des Océans à St. John's. Il est membre de la faculté de la Dalhousie University depuis 1995 où il est actuellement professeur titulaire. M. Hutchings a réalisé d'impressionnantes recherches sur la conservation des poissons marins et l'écologie des salmonidés et des gadidés. Il a publié plus de 80 écrits dans des publications examinées par des pairs, notamment des publications sur le contrôle de l'exploitation des espèces marines. ll est également reconnu pour avoir fait connaître sa science à la Société canadienne et a rédigé le rapport de situation 2003 du COSEPAC sur la morue.

Il possède de vastes connaissances et une expérience d'envergure en matière de biologie et de gestion des poissons anadrome, des milieux marins et d'eau douce au Canada. Il connaît à fond les milieux marins et d'eau douce du Canada atlantique ainsi que les milieux d'eau douce de l'Ontario. M. Hutchings est membre du SSE des poissons marins du COSEPAC depuis 1997 et membre non gouvernemental du COSEPAC depuis 2001, ce qui lui vaut d'ailleurs un fondement solide en matière d'évaluation des espèces et de recommandations relatives à la situation biologique. Il a aussi publié divers articles scientifiques sur l'application des critères de l'Union mondiale pour la nature (UICN), lesquels ont été examinés par des pairs et approuvés par le COSEPAC.
M. Hutchings possède une profonde expérience à titre de rédacteur de revues scientifiques et apporte une expertise reconnue à titre de membre grâce à sa précieuse collaboration aux divers groupes de travail et aux comités consultatifs outre son travail au sein du COSEPAC. Il a supervisé avec succès huit étudiants diplômés et en encadre actuellement sept pour l'obtention d'un doctorat et d'une maîtrise ès science.

 

Coprésident

Sous-comité de spécialistes des amphibiens et reptiles

2. Recommandation - David M. Green (renouvellement)

 

David M. Green a obtenu son doctorat en zoologie de l'University of Guelph en 1982. Il est professeur agrégé à l'Université McGill et conservateur de la section des espèces vertébrées terrestres au Redpath Museum. De plus, il a rédigé au delà de 90 articles sur les amphibiens examinés par des pairs. Il a supervisé et supervise actuellement 13 étudiants diplômés travaillant à des projets sur les amphibiens et les reptiles (dont cinq maîtrises ès sciences, trois titulaires de doctorat; et, en cours, trois maîtrises ès sciences et deux doctorats). Il est président sortant du COSEPAC (de 1998 à 2002) et occupe le poste de coprésident du Sous-comité de spécialistes des amphibiens et reptiles depuis 1995, un sous-comité dont il est d'ailleurs membre depuis 1985.

 

Coprésidente

Sous-comité de spécialistes des arthropodes

3. Recommandation - B. Theresa Fowler (renouvellement)

 

B. Theresa Fowler :
Poste actuel, diplômes et formation en sciences biologiques
Depuis 1995, autorité scientifique, espèce en péril, Direction des espèces en péril, Service canadien de la faune;
Ph.D. portant sur l'éthologie du tamia rayé, Ottawa;
Trois ans d'expérience, éthologie des oiseaux des marais (Râle de Virginie, Marouette de Caroline, Ixobrychus exilis);
Cinq ans d'expérience en matière d'écosystèmes arctiques (lagopède alpin, lièvre arctique);
Cinquante-six articles ou publications, notamment des documents gouvernementaux et des présentations aux législateurs, des ouvrages de vulgarisation sur la conservation et la nature, deux articles de revue scientifique et deux chapitres d'un livre.

Expérience pertinentes dans d'autres domaines (biologie de conservation, taxinomie, écologie, génétique, biologie des populations, etc.)
Huit ans en qualité de directrice de la Fédération canadienne de la nature;
Vaste intérêt pour tous les taxons.

Régions géographiques et taxons
Petits mammifères et oiseaux, Québec, Ontario, Extrême-Arctique;
Connaissances approfondies de la flore et de la faune de l'Amérique du Nord.

Désignation de la situation biologique des espèces
Dix-sept ans en qualité de membre du COSEPAC;   
Création et réunion du Sous-comité des spécialistes des lépidoptères et mollusques du COSEPAC;
Coprésidente du Groupe de spécialistes des arthropodes depuis 2003.

Connaissance des concepts et des techniques en matière d'évaluation et de conservation des espèces en péril
Travail quotidien sur des enjeux relatifs aux espèces en péril.

Rôles rédactionnels, manuscrits, journaux
Rôle périodique d'examinateur d'articles de revue scientifique;
Examen de quatre manuscrits sur l'histoire naturelle et de onze livres après leur publication;
Réalisation de l'examen et rédactrice des rapports de situation du COSEPAC sur les lépidoptères et les mollusques;
Travail à la rédaction de nombreux documents sur une base quotidienne.
Autres
Maîtrise de l'anglais, du français et du polonais; expérience en tant que traductrice de textes scientifiques.

 

Coprésident

Sous-comité de spécialistes des arthropodes

4. Recommandation - Paul M. Catling (nouveau)


Paul M. Catling :
Poste actuel, diplômes et formation en sciences biologiques
Depuis 1991, chercheur scientifique reconnu, niveau 3, Division des ressources biologiques d'Agriculture Canada. Vingt-quatre ans d'expérience à son actif au sein du Centre de recherches biosystématiques et en ressources biologiques à titre de taxinomiste botanique, d'écologiste et de conservateur des collections végétales;
Ph.D. portant sur la systématique et l'écologie des plantes, Toronto;
Membre du corps professoral de l'Université d'Ottawa pendant 14 ans;
Auteur d'une cinquantaine de publications sur les odonates et les lépidoptères, notamment des livres, des chapitres de livres, des articles de revues spécialisées et des documents gouvernementaux ainsi que plus de 300 publications sur la botanique.

Autres expériences pertinentes (biologie de conservation, taxinomie, écologie, génétique, biologie des populations, etc.)
Sept ans d'expérience dans la collecte de données sur la répartition des libellules au Canada, notamment un travail intensif en Ontario et satisfaisant dans les T.N.-O.;
Membre de nombreux comités consultatifs (Comité d'experts du Canada sur les ressources génétiques végétales, Commission de la sauvegarde des espèces, Conservation de la nature Canada).

Régions géographiques et taxons
Les odonates du Canada, dans la majorité des provinces, plus particulièrement en Ontario et dans les T.N.-O.;
Les lépidoptères de l'Ontario;
Connaissance approfondie de la flore du Canada;
Publications sur l'ornithologie (10), la mycologie (1) et l'herpétologie (6).

Désignation de la situation biologique des espèces
Préparation de rapports de situation de quelques lépidoptères de l'Ontario et un rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur l'hydraste du Canada;
Participation au classement de la situation des plantes et des insectes de l'Ontario et des odonates des T.N.-O.

Connaissances des concepts et des techniques relatifs à l'évaluation et à la conservation des espèces en péril
Expérience d'envergure en matière d'étude sur la rareté de la flore, de la faune et des habitats, notamment les alvars et les terres herbeuses; identification de cours d'eau dans lesquels se trouvent de rares odonates à des fins de mesures de protection éventuelles;
Représentant de quatre équipes de rétablissement, dont l'une se charge de la surveillance du papillon, du lutin des tourbières et de l'hydraste du Canada; participation à la préparation des plans de surveillance et à la diffusion d'approches de l'équipe de rétablissement.

Rôles rédactionnels, manuscrits, revues scientifiques
Évaluation, par année, de plus de 100 manuscrits, de demandes de subvention et de thèses;
Corédacteur de la publication intitulée The Canadian Field Naturalist et de la revue Biodiversity;
Préparation en cours de comptes rendus de conférences.

 

Coprésident

Sous-comité de spécialistes des oiseaux

5. Recommandation - Richard Cannings (renouvellement)

 

Richard Cannings :

   Maîtrise ès sciences (1977) de la Memorial University de Terre Neuve - dans le domaine de l'écologie de reproduction des Alouettes hausse col;
   Baccalauréat ès sciences (1975) de l'University of British Columbia - dans le domaine du comportement d'orientation des souris sylvestres et des campagnols de Townsend;
   Études poussées (aux niveaux provincial, national et international) et vaste expérience de travail (25 ans) liée à de nombreux aspects de la biologie de conservation ou des populations, de la systématique, de la génétique et de la gestion de la faune;
   Conservateur du Cowan Vertebrate Museum du Department of Zoology de l'University of British Columbia (de 1980 à 1995) - vaste expérience dans le domaine de la systématique et de la taxinomie de tous les groupes d'espèces vertébrés terrestres - oiseaux, mammifères, reptiles et amphibiens;
   Biologiste conseil en biologie de conservation, particulièrement en ce qui a trait à la flore et à la faune de la Colombie-Britannique;
   Achèvement (en 1996) d'un programme de traitement exhaustif de toutes les espèces aviaires intitulé « Birds of British Columbia : A Taxonomic Catalogue »;
   Président et auteur du rapport de l'équipe de rétablissement de l'écosystème du Sud de l'Okanagan (Habitat Atlas for Wildlife at Risk - South Okanagan and Lower Similkamee). Le rapport comprenait l'évaluation des habitats, l'établissement des cartes de l'habitat et le travail avec le SIG, la réinsertion d'espèces disparues du Canada, l'estimation des populations viables minimales et les exigences de base des habitats, le travail avec les groupes locaux de la communauté et les Premières nations ainsi que la mise en ouvre de programmes de sensibilisation et d'intendance;
   Les sujets de recherche actuels traitent de la biologie de reproduction des petits hiboux, mais M. Cannings possède également des connaissances spécialisées en matière de biologie des hiboux et a publié une étude sur la biologie des hiboux dans le Handbook of the Birds of the World (volume 5);
   Bonne connaissance de la faune des odonates (libellules) de l'ouest de Canada et, d'une façon moins considérable, d'autres groupes d'insectes (papillons, punaises);
   Connaissance de la flore de la Colombie-Britannique, du Yukon et de Terre Neuve et Labrador;
   Auteur de huit rapports de situation du COSEPAC (dont trois mises à jour) portant sur cinq espèces d'oiseaux et une espèce d'amphibien;
   Auteur de rapports sur la situation provinciale de huit espèces d'oiseaux de la Colombie Britannique, ainsi que de rapports sur la désignation des espèces sauvages (Identified Wildlife), lesquels font état de la situation et des recommandations sur la gestion de trois espèces d'oiseaux, de sept espèces de papillons et de deux espèces de libellules de la Colombie-Britannique;
   Coprésident du Comité de spécialistes des espèces d'oiseaux du COSEPAC (de 2001 à ce jour). Membre des équipes de rétablissement des espèces canadiennes en péril (RESCAPÉ) pour le Pic à tête blanche, le Moqueur des armoises, la Paruline polyglotte et le Petit duc des montagnes;
   Examinateur régulier d'articles, de revues scientifiques et de livres notamment le Auk, le Condor et le Journal of Raptor Research.

 

Coprésident

Sous-comités de spécialistes des mammifères marins

6. Recommandation - Randall R. Reeves (nouveau)

Randall R. Reeves :
   Baccalauréat ès lettres - University of Nebraska, Lincoln, Nebraska, États Unis;
   MPA -Princeton University, Princeton, New Jersey, États Unis;
   Ph.D. - Université McGill, Montréal.
   
   M. Reeves est chercheur scientifique et auteur à titre de travailleur autonome depuis 1976. Depuis, il a rassemblé un bagage impressionnant de travail scientifique et s'avère un précurseur en matière de conservation de mammifères marins. M. Reeves a été membre de nombreux comités nationaux et internationaux, notamment à titre de président depuis 1997 du Groupe de spécialistes des cétacés de l'Union mondiale pour la nature (UICN) outre, depuis 1990, diverses participations au sous comité du COSEPAC qui se consacre aux mammifères marins. Il est auteur ou coauteur de plus de 200 articles scientifiques ou de vulgarisation sur les mammifères marins. Il est aussi coauteur ou corédacteur de plusieurs livres et articles spéciaux parus dans des revues scientifiques. Ses écrits portent sur les traitements technique et général de l'écologie des mammifères marins et sur les examens d'incidence des activités humaines sur les populations de mammifères marins (p. ex. les historiques de captures, la capture et l'échange d'animaux vivants, le forage en mer), les guides techniques, les sommaires d'ateliers, les rapports sur la situation des espèces et les plans ou les lignes directrices de conservation ou de gestion. M. Reeves a effectué du travail sur le terrain à l'échelle continentale, notamment dans l'est de l'Arctique canadien et dans l'Atlantique Nord. Il est donc bien en mesure d'aborder la situation des espèces de l'Atlantique ou de l'Arctique, tel que le spécifiait notre appel de candidatures. Bref, M. Reeves dispose de références impressionnantes quant aux diverses compétences ciblées, c'est-à-dire la connaissance de principes scientifiques éprouvés, d'expérience en matière de collaboration et de production de rapports de qualité. Il serait donc un excellent coprésident du Sous comité de spécialistes des mammifères marins.

 

Coprésidente

Sous-comité de spécialistes des mollusques

7. Recommandation - Janice L. Smith (nouvelle)

 

Janice L. Smith :
   Biologiste, Projet sur les impacts cumulatifs sur la biodiversité aquatique, Direction de la recherche sur l'étude des impacts sur les écosystèmes aquatiques, Institut national de recherche sur les eaux, Environnement Canada, Burlington (Ontario);
   Baccalauréat ès sciences (avec distinction) en zoologie, University of Manitoba, 1973;
   Équivalence de la maîtrise ès sciences, University of Waterloo, 1990.
   
   Elle excelle en recherche et dispose d'une vaste expérience liée à la publication et à la rédaction. Elle est reconnue pour son bon esprit d'équipe dans le domaine de la conservation (équipes de rétablissement, sous comité de spécialistes des lépidoptères et mollusques depuis bon nombre d'années et codirectrice d'une partie de l'évaluation de la situation générale des mollusques). Elle est une autorité reconnue en matière de groupe important d'animaux du Canada (mollusques de l'Ontario). Elle a contribué à faire connaître les problèmes de conservation de ce groupe plutôt inconnu et à le faire reconnaître comme espèce indicatrice des problèmes généraux de conservation des eaux douces.


NOTE: Les curricula vitae des personnes nommées et des membres sont conservés au Secrétariat du COSEPAC