Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Annual Report 2004

Appendix IV

19 March, 2004

 

Terms of Reference

COSEWIC

Aboriginal Traditional Knowledge Subcommittee

(draft)


COSEWIC uses the best available scientific, Aboriginal traditional and community knowledge to assess species at risk. The Species at Risk Act (Section 18(1)) requires that COSEWIC establish an Aboriginal Traditional Knowledge subcommittee.

Purpose

The Aboriginal Traditional Knowledge Subcommittee (the ATK Subcommittee) facilitates access to the best available Aboriginal traditional knowledge and the incorporation of that knowledge into the COSEWIC species status assessment and classification processes.

Guiding Principles

The ATK Subcommittee is guided in carrying out its functions by the following principles. Subject to the terms of self-government and land claims agreements, Aboriginal communities are presumed to be the primary bodies to facilitate access to Aboriginal traditional knowledge in the assessment and classification of species at risk. Access is subject to local laws, protocols and practices. Permission to use Aboriginal traditional knowledge in the assessment and classification of species at risk must be secured from the holders of such knowledge. Aboriginal traditional knowledge used in the assessment and classification of species at risk is to be treated as public knowledge only with the approval of the holders of such knowledge. It is to be organized and presented in a culturally-appropriate, timely and thorough manner, and - to the extent possible - in such a way as to be comprehensible by both Aboriginal and non-aboriginal persons.

Functions

The functions of the ATK Subcommittee are:

  • To facilitate access to the best available Aboriginal traditional knowledge and the incorporation of that knowledge in the assessment and classification of species at risk;
  • To facilitate and, where necessary, participate - through reliance upon local holders of Aboriginal traditional knowledge - in the gathering of Aboriginal traditional knowledge in the assessment and classification of species at risk;
  • To commission Aboriginal Traditional Knowledge Reviews, as needed, which collect and present Aboriginal traditional knowledge concerning eligible candidate species, and receive unsolicited Aboriginal Traditional Knowledge reviews;
  •  To work jointly with other COSEWIC subcommittees to:
  • develop a candidate list of species for potential assessment by COSEWIC,

  •  develop and maintain the COSEWIC species priority list;

  • commission Species Status Reports; and

  •  review unsolicited Status Reports

  • To facilitate the delivery of the best available Aboriginal traditional knowledge on the status of a species under consideration by COSEWIC to the commissioned writer(s) of a Species Status Report;
  • To review and advise on the adequacy of the Aboriginal traditional knowledge content of draft, interim and final Species Status Reports, and provide recommendations concerning the status assessments of particular species; and
  • To promote a wider understanding of the nature and the benefits of Aboriginal traditional knowledge concerning the assessment and classification of species at risk.


Structure

Members

The ATK Subcommittee is composed of Aboriginal people experienced in Aboriginal traditional knowledge. The subcommittee normally has at least nine members. All members are appointed by the Minister of the Environment on the basis of their experience concerning Aboriginal traditional knowledge after consultation with any Aboriginal organizations he or she considers appropriate. Each member is appointed during good behavior for a term of four years. A member may be re-appointed, and shall only be removed for cause.

The duties of Members are to:

  • perform their duties in an independent manner;
  • attend ATK Subcommittee meetings;
  • review draft and interim status reports and contribute to status assessment deliberations to the best of their knowledge and ability;
  • advise writers of status reports and ATK reviews of appropriate guidelines established for the gathering and recording of Aboriginal traditional knowledge, as well as known sources of information and appropriate contacts, suggest species for the priority list and for status reports, review drafts and interim reports, and provide regional expertise on the status of, and threats to species;
  • participate as members of ATK Review Teams, as necessary;
  • provide additional and specific expertise as required to support the work of the ATK Subcommittee; and
  • participate on other COSEWIC Subcommittees and working groups, as requested by the Chair of COSEWIC.

 

Co-Chairpersons

The members select, from among the membership, two ATK Subcommittee Co-Chairpersons. Initially, one Co-Chairperson serves a term of two years, and the other a term of four years. Thereafter, both Co-Chairpersons serve staggered four-year terms. A Co-Chairperson may be re-appointed, and shall only be removed by the members for cause, after consultation with COSEWIC.

One ATK Subcommittee Co-Chairperson sits as a member of COSEWIC. The other Co-Chairperson is the alternate ATK Subcommittee member of COSEWIC.

The duties of the Co-Chairs are to:

  • serve as spokespersons for the subcommittee to COSEWIC;
  • manage the affairs of the subcommittee, including the conducting of meetings;
  • participate as members of COSEWIC;
  • exercise their discretion in an independent manner; and
  • participate on the Co-chairs Subcommittee of COSEWIC.


Operation

 

Meetings

The ATK subcommittee develops it own operations and procedures, under the authority of COSEWIC.

The person chairing an ATK Subcommittee meeting ensures that the meeting proceeds in an orderly fashion, maintaining COSEWIC's fundamental principles of independence, transparency and integrity.

The ATK Subcommittee attempts to make all decisions on the basis of consensus. Where consensus is not achievable, decisions are decided by a vote. All members except the person chairing the meeting has one vote on all matters. This person votes only in order to break a tie.

The presence of two-thirds of the ATK Subcommittee constitutes a quorum at meetings of the ATK Subcommittee. However, a decision or status recommendation related to the assessment of a species ordinarily requires input of a member from the area providing the most significant habitat for the species, or - if no such member has been appointed - of a member of an Aboriginal People traditionally associated with the species.

At the discretion of the ATK Subcommittee Co-Chairs, observers may attend ATK Subcommittee meetings in whole or in part. Sensitive or personal information may be discussed in camera as requested by Subcommittee members.

Reporting

The ATK Subcommittee:

  • provides to COSEWIC copies of its Aboriginal Traditional Knowledge Reviews and unsolicited Aboriginal traditional knowledge reviews. At the request of the ATK subcommittee, COSEWIC provides these documents to relevant authorities, including NACOSAR and wildlife management boards.
  • reports to COSEWIC on the adequacy of the Aboriginal traditional knowledge content of draft, interim and final Species Status Reports.
  • provides COSEWIC with recommendations concerning the status assessments of species discussed in Species Status Reports.
  •    provides an Annual Report of its activities to COSEWIC, which COSEWIC will make available on request.
  • All formal reports, advice and decisions of the ATK Subcommittee are provided in writing.

ATK Review Teams

Where a species is identified by the ATK Subcommittee or by COSEWIC as requiring an assessment that includes the best available Aboriginal traditional knowledge, the ATK Subcommittee may establish an ATK Review Team to provide it with relevant advice. The ATK Review Team is composed of Aboriginal traditional knowledge holders with specific expertise concerning that species and a member from the ATK Subcommittee who is responsible for reporting to the ATK Subcommittee.

ATK Database and Reviews

The ATK Subcommittee commissions ATK reviews on species requiring an assessment, via COSEWIC's procedure for commissioning reports.

Subject to relevant privacy and intellectual property rights and Aboriginal protocols, the ATK Subcommittee maintains a database and audio and video library on Aboriginal traditional knowledge resulting from the ATK Reviews or other work of the Subcommittee.

Network of Aboriginal Traditional Knowledge-holders

The ATK Subcommittee will assemble a network of Aboriginal traditional knowledge-holders and related experts covering the various Ecozones in Canada. The ATK Subcommittee will rely upon those persons:

  • to participate as members of ATK Review Teams; or
  • to provide additional and specific expertise as required to support the work of the ATK Subcommittee.

Members of this network are selected by the ATK Subcommittee and are not members of COSEWIC. Their mandate and term are specified by the ATK Subcommittee.

Support

As outlined in the Terms of Reference of COSEWIC, the COSEWIC Secretariat provides necessary administrative and technical support to the ATK Subcommittee. The ATK Subcommittee directs to the COSEWIC Secretariat any request for a copy of a Committee report, recommendation or other non-confidential document.

Review and Amendment

These Terms of Reference may be reviewed and changed by the ATK Subcommittee and COSEWIC by agreement.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Rapport annuel du COSEPAC - 2004

Annexe IV

Le 19 mars 2004

Mandat du

Sous-comité

des connaissances traditionnelles autochtones du

COSEPAC

Le COSEPAC utilise les meilleures connaissances scientifiques, traditionnelles autochtones et communautaires disponibles pour évaluer les espèces en péril. La Loi sur les espèces en péril [article 18(1)] exige que le COSEPAC mette sur pied un sous-comité des connaissances traditionnelles autochtones.

Objectif

Le Sous-comité des connaissances traditionnelles autochtones (Sous-comité des CTA) facilite l'accès aux meilleures connaissances traditionnelles autochtones disponibles ainsi que l'incorporation de ces connaissances aux processus d'évaluation de la situation d'une espèce et de classification du COSEPAC.

Principes directeurs

Le Sous-comité des CTA est guidé par les principes qui suivent dans l'exercice de ses fonctions. Conformément aux termes des ententes sur l'autonomie gouvernementale et sur les accords des revendications territoriales, il est attendu que les communautés autochtones constituent les principaux organismes qui faciliteront l'accès aux connaissances traditionnelles autochtones pour l'évaluation et la classification des espèces en péril. L'accès est assujetti aux lois, aux protocoles et aux pratiques locaux. La permission d'utiliser les connaissances traditionnelles autochtones dans l'évaluation et la classification des espèces en péril doit être obtenue auprès des détenteurs de ces connaissances. Les connaissances traditionnelles autochtones utilisées dans l'évaluation et la classification des espèces en péril ne doivent être traitées comme des connaissances publiques qu'avec l'assentiment des détenteurs de ces connaissances. Elles doivent être organisées et présentées de façon appropriée à la culture, opportune et approfondie et - dans la mesure du possible - de manière à être comprises tant par les Autochtones que par les autres personnes.

Fonctions

Les fonctions du Sous-comité des CTA sont les suivantes :

faciliter l'accès aux meilleures connaissances traditionnelles autochtones disponibles et l'incorporation de ces connaissances à l'évaluation et à la classification des espèces en péril;

  • faciliter et, au besoin, participer - en se fiant aux détenteurs locaux des connaissances traditionnelles autochtones - à l'acquisition des connaissances traditionnelles autochtones destinées à l'évaluation et à la classification des espèces en péril;
  • commander, au besoin, des examens des connaissances traditionnelles autochtones qui recueillent et présentent les connaissances traditionnelles autochtones concernant les espèces candidates admissibles et reçevoir les examens non demandés des connaissances traditionnelles autochtones;
  • travailler conjointement avec d'autres sous-comités du COSEPAC pour :
  • élaborer une liste des espèces candidates à une évaluation éventuelle par le COSEPAC;

  • élaborer et maintenir la liste des espèces prioritaires du COSEPAC;

  • commander des rapports sur la situation des espèces;

  • examiner les rapports de situation non sollicités;

  • faciliter la prestation des meilleures connaissances traditionnelles autochtones disponibles concernant la situation d'une espèce examinée par le COSEPAC au(x) rédacteur(s) du rapport de situation d'une espèce;
  • examiner la pertinence du contenu en matière de connaissances traditionnelles autochtones des versions provisoire, intermédiaire et finale des rapports de situation des espèces, donner des conseils à ce sujet et fournir des recommandations concernant les évaluations de la situation d'une espèce donnée;
  • promouvoir une compréhension approfondie de la nature et des avantages des connaissances traditionnelles autochtones destinées à l'évaluation et à la classification des espèces en péril.

 

Structure

Les membres

Le Sous-comité des CTA se compose d'Autochtones d'expérience en matière de connaissances traditionnelles autochtones. Il compte généralement au moins neuf membres. Tous les membres sont nommés par le ministre de l'Environnement en fonction de leur expérience en matière de connaissances traditionnelles autochtones après qu'une consultation ait eu lieu avec tout organisme autochtone qu'il ou qu'elle juge approprié. Chaque membre est nommé à titre inamovible pour une durée de quatre ans. Un membre peut être nommé de nouveau et ne peut qu'être démis pour motif valable.

Les obligations des membres sont les suivantes :

  • remplir leurs obligations de façon indépendante;
  • assister aux réunions du Sous-comité des CTA;
  • examiner les rapports de situation provisoires et intermédiaires et participer aux délibérations entourant l'évaluation de la situation au meilleur de leurs connaissances et de leurs aptitudes;
  • aviser les rédacteurs des rapports de situation et des examens des CTA concernant, d'une part, les lignes directrices pertinentes établies pour l'acquisition et la consignation des connaissances traditionnelles autochtones et, d'autre part, les sources connues d'information et les personnes-ressources appropriées, suggérer des espèces pour la liste prioritaire et les rapports de situation, examiner les rapports provisoires et intermédiaires et fournir une expertise régionale sur la situation des espèces et les menaces qui pèsent sur elles;
  • participer, au besoin, à titre de membres aux équipes d'examen des CTA;
  • fournir, au besoin, une expertise supplémentaire et précise pour appuyer le travail du Sous comité des CTA;
  • prendre part à d'autres sous-comités et groupes de travail du COSEPAC, tel qu'exigé par le président du COSEPAC.

 

Les coprésidents

Les membres sélectionnent, parmi les membres, deux coprésidents du Sous comité des CTA. Au départ, un des coprésidents remplit un mandat de deux ans et l'autre, un mandat de quatre ans. Par la suite, les deux coprésidents remplissent des mandats échelonnés de quatre ans. Un coprésident peut être nommé de nouveau et les membres ne peuvent le démettre que pour motif valable, après qu'une consultation ait eu lieu avec le COSEPAC.

Un des coprésidents du Sous-comité des CTA siège à titre de membre du COSEPAC. L'autre coprésident constitue le membre suppléant du Sous-comité des CTA du COSEPAC.

Les obligations du coprésident sont les suivantes :

  • agir à titre de porte-parole du Sous-comité auprès du COSEPAC;
  • gérer les affaires du sous-comité, y compris la tenue de réunions;
  • participer à titre de membre du COSEPAC;
  • exercer son pouvoir discrétionnaire de façon indépendante;
  • prendre part aux activités du Sous-comité des coprésidents du COSEPAC.


Activités

Les réunions   
Le Sous-comité des CTA élabore ses propres activités et procédures, en vertu du COSEPAC.

La personne qui préside une réunion du Sous-comité des CTA s'assure que la réunion se déroule d'une manière harmonieuse et maintient les principes fondamentaux d'indépendance, de transparence et d'intégrité du COSEPAC.

Le Sous-comité des CTA s'efforce de prendre toutes les décisions par voie de consensus. Lorsqu'il est impossible de parvenir à un consensus, les décisions sont prises par vote. Tous les membres, à l'exception de la personne qui préside la réunion, ont le droit de voter sur tous les sujets. La personne qui préside ne vote que pour briser l'égalité.

La présence des deux tiers des membres du Sous-comité des CTA constitue le quorum lors des réunions de ce sous-comité. Par contre, une décision ou une recommandation concernant l'évaluation d'une espèce exige généralement les commentaires d'un membre de la région renfermant l'habitat le plus significatif de l'espèce ou - si aucun membre du genre n'a été nommé - d'un membre du peuple autochtone traditionnellement associé à l'espèce.

Des observateurs peuvent assister aux réunions du Sous-comité des CTA en totalité ou en partie. Cela relève du pouvoir discrétionnaire des coprésidents de ce sous-comité. Si les membres du Sous-comité l'exigent, il est possible de discuter à huis clos des renseignements délicats ou personnels.

Les rapports

Le Sous-comité des CTA :

  • fournit au COSEPAC des exemplaires de ses examens des connaissances traditionnelles autochtones et de ses examens non demandés des connaissances traditionnelles autochtones. À la demande du Sous-comité des CTA, le COSEPAC transmet ces documents aux autorités appropriées, notamment le Conseil autochtone national des espèces en péril (CANEP) et les conseils de gestion des ressources fauniques;
  • relève du COSEPAC concernant la pertinence du contenu en matière de connaissances traditionnelles autochtones des rapports provisoires, intermédiaires et finaux sur la situation des espèces;
  • offre des recommandations au COSEPAC concernant les évaluations de la situation des espèces dont il est question dans les rapports sur la situation des espèces;
  • transmet un rapport annuel de ses activités au COSEPAC, rapport que le COSEPAC rend disponible sur demande.

 

Tous les rapports, conseils et décisions officiels du Sous-comité des CTA sont fournis par écrit.

Les équipes d'examen des CTA
Lorsque le Sous-comité des CTA ou le COSEPAC détermine qu'une espèce a besoin d'une évaluation qui inclue les meilleures connaissances traditionnelles autochtones disponibles, le Sous comité des CTA peut mettre sur pied une équipe d'examen des CTA qui lui fournira des conseils pertinents. L'équipe d'examen des CTA se compose de détenteurs des connaissances traditionnelles autochtones qui possèdent une expertise précise sur cette espèce et d'un membre du Sous comité des CTA responsable de rendre compte à ce sous-comité.

La base de données et les examens des CTA
Le Sous comité des CTA commande des examens des CTA concernant les espèces qui nécessitent une évaluation, par l'intermédiaire de la procédure du COSEPAC en matière d'attribution de rapports.
Le Sous comité des CTA maintient une base de données ainsi qu'une bibliothèque audio et vidéo de connaissances traditionnelles autochtones qui proviennent des examens des CTA et d'autres travaux du Sous comité, lesquelles sont assujetties aux droits de la protection des renseignements personnels et de la propriété intellectuelle appropriés ainsi qu'aux protocoles autochtones.

Le réseau des détenteurs de connaissances traditionnelles autochtones

Le Sous comité des CTA réunira un réseau de détenteurs de connaissances traditionnelles autochtones et de spécialistes connexes qui couvrira les différentes écozones du Canada. Le Sous comité des CTA comptera sur ces personnes pour :

  • prendre part en tant que membre aux équipes d'examen des CTA;
  • fournir, au besoin, une expertise supplémentaire et précise pour appuyer le travail du Sous comité des CTA.

Les membres de ce réseau sont sélectionnés par le Sous comité des CTA et ne sont pas des membres du COSEPAC. Leur mandat et la durée de leur mandat sont précisés par le Sous comité des CTA.

Soutien

Tel que mentionné dans le mandat du COSEPAC, le Secrétariat du COSEPAC offre le soutien administratif et technique nécessaire au Sous comité des CTA. Le Sous comité des CTA renvoie au Secrétariat du COSEPAC toute demande visant à obtenir un exemplaire d'un rapport, d'une recommandation ou tout autre document non confidentiel du comité.

Examen et modification

Ce mandat peut être examiné et modifié par le Sous comité des CTA et le COSEPAC au moyen d'une entente.