Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Annual Report 2004

Appendix V

 

COSEWIC Assessment Process, Categories and Guidelines

Reviewed and approved by

COSEWIC

in

May 2004


Table 1. Determining eligibility of species for status assessment.


A) Taxonomic validity

COSEWIC would normally only consider species and subspecies or varieties that have been established as valid in published taxonomic works or in peer reviewed communications from taxonomic specialists. COSEWIC would not normally consider other designatable units unless they can be shown to be genetically distinct, separated by a major range disjunction, or biogeographically distinct (refer to Guidelines for Designatable Units Below the Species Level, Appendix F5). Justification for considering designatable units below the species level must be provided.

B)   Native species

COSEWIC would normally only consider native species. A native species is a wild species that occurs in Canada naturally, or that has expanded its range into Canada without human intervention from a region where it naturally occurred, has produced viable populations, and has persisted in Canada for at least 50 years.

C)   Regularity of occurrence

COSEWIC would normally only consider species which occur regularly in Canada, excluding vagrants.

D)   Requires habitat in Canada

COSEWIC considers species that are year-round residents in Canada. COSEWIC also considers a species which, although not a full time residents in Canada, meet the other eligibility criteria and require habitat in Canada for a key life history stage.

E) Special cases

Notwithstanding the above guidelines, a taxon may be considered eligible if there are clear conservation reasons for consideration (for example high risk of extinction). In particular, a species which does not meet the eligibility criteria but which is at risk in its primary range outside of Canada could be considered for designation.

Reasons for considering a special case must be presented and supporting information must be provided; this should normally be reviewed and agreed to by COSEWIC before a status report is prepared.

Table 2. COSEWIC quantitative criteria and guidelines for the status assessment of species.

 

COSEWIC's revised criteria to guide the status assessment of species. These were in use by COSEWIC by November 2001, and are based on the revised IUCN Red List categories[1] (IUCN 2001). An earlier version of the quantitative criteria was used by COSEWIC from October 1999 to May 2001. For definitions of terms marked in bold italics, see COSEWIC's Glossary of Definitions and Abbreviations (Appendix C).
 EndangeredThreatened
A. Declining Total Population     
Reduction in population size based on any of the following 4 options and specifying a-e as appropriate:
 ≥70%≥50%
(1) population size reduction that is observed, estimated, inferred, or suspected in the past 10 years or  3 generations, whichever is longer, where the causes of the reduction are clearly reversible AND understood AND ceased, based on (and specifying) one or more of a-e below.
 ≥50%≥30%
(2) population size reduction that is observed, estimated, inferred or suspected over the last 10 years or 3 generations, whichever is longer, where the reduction or its causes may not have ceased OR  may not be understood OR may not be reversible, based on (and specifying) one or more of  a-e below.
(3) population size reduction that is projected or suspected to be met within in the next 10 years or 3 generations, whichever is longer (up to a maximum of 100 years), based on (and specifying) one or more of b-e below.
(4) population size reduction that is observed, estimated, inferred, projected or suspected over any 10 year or 3 generation period, whichever is longer (up to a maximum of 100 years), where the time period includes both the past and the future, AND where the reduction or its causes may not have ceased OR may not be understood OR may not be reversible, based on (and specifying) one or more of a-e below.

 

a) direct observation   
b) an index of abundance appropriate for the taxon
c) a decline in area of occupancy, extent of occurrence and/or quality of habitat
d) actual or potential levels of exploitation
e) the effects of introduced taxa, hybridisation, pathogens, pollutants, competitors or parasites 

 

 EndangeredThreatened
B. Small Distribution, and Decline or Fluctuation   
1. Extent of occurrence    < 5,000 km< 20,000 km
or  
2. Area of occupancy   < 500 km< 2,000 km
For either of the above, specify at least two of a-c:
(a) either severely
fragmented or known to
exist at # locations    
≤5≤10
(b) continuing decline observed, inferred or projected in one or more of the following:
    i) extent of occurrence   
   ii) area of occupancy   
   iii) area, extent and/or quality of habitat   
   iv) number of locations or populations   
   v) number of mature individuals   
 
(c) extreme fluctuations in
one or more of the  following:   

> 1 order of magnitude   > 1 order of magnitude
    i) extent of occurrence   
   ii) area of occupancy   
   iii) number of locations or populations   
   iv) number of mature individuals   
 
C. Small Total Population Size and Decline    
Number of mature individuals  and 1 of the following 2:      < 2,500   < 10,000
(1) an estimated continuing
decline rate of at least
:   20% in 5 years or 2 generations (up to a maximum of 100 years in the future)   10% in 10 years or 3 generations (up to a maximum of 100 years in the future)
(2) continuing decline, observed, projected, or inferred, in numbers of mature individuals and at least one of the following (a-b):
(a) fragmentation--
population structure in
the form of one of the
following:    
(i) no population estimated to contain
>250 mature individuals   
(i) no population estimated to contain
>1,000 mature individuals

    (ii) at least 95 % of mature individuals in one population   (ii) all mature individuals are in one population
(b) extreme fluctuations in the number of mature individuals
D. Very Small Population or Restricted Distribution   
(1) # of mature individuals   < 250   < 1,000
Or  
(2) Applies only to threatened:Population with a very restricted area of occupancy (area of occupancy typically < 20 km²) or number of locations (typically 5 or fewer) such that it is prone to the effects of human activities or stochastic events within a very short time period in an uncertain future, and thus is capable of becoming highly endangered or even extinct in a very short time period.

E. Quantitative Analysis      
Indicating the probability of extinction in the wild to be
at least:   
20% in 20 years or 5 generations, whichever is longer (up to a maximum of 100 years)   10% in 100 years

 

Special Concern:

those species that are particularly sensitive to human activities or natural events but are not endangered or threatened species.

Species may be classified as being of Special Concern if:

(a)   the species has declined to a level of abundance at which its persistence is increasingly threatened by genetic, demographic or environmental stochasticity, but the decline is not sufficient to qualify the species as Threatened; or
(b)   the species is likely to become Threatened if factors suspected of negatively influencing the persistence of the species are neither reversed nor managed with demonstrable effectiveness; or
(c)   the species is near to qualifying, under any criterion, for Threatened status; or
(d)   the species qualifies for Threatened status but there is clear indication of rescue effect from extra-limital populations.

Examples of reasons why a species may qualify for "Special Concern":

  • A species that is particularly susceptible to a catastrophic event (e.g., a seabird population near an oil tanker route)
  • A species with very restricted habitat or food requirements for which a threat to that habitat or food supply has been identified (e.g., a bird that forages primarily in old-growth forest, a plant that grows primarily on undisturbed sand dunes, a fish that spawns primarily in estuaries, a snake that feeds primarily on a crayfish whose habitat is threatened by siltation
  • A recovering species no longer considered to be Threatened or Endangered but not yet clearly secure

Examples of reasons why a species may not qualify for "Special Concern":

  • A species existing at low density in the absence of recognized threat (e.g., a large predatory animal defending a large home range or territory)
  • A species existing at low density that does not qualify for Threatened status for which there is a clear indication of rescue effect

Guidelines for use of Extirpated
   
   A species may be assessed as extinct or extirpated from Canada if:

  • there exists no remaining habitat for the species and there have been no records of the species despite recent surveys, or
  • 50 years have passed since the last credible record of the species, despite surveys in the interim, or
  • there is sufficient information to document that no individuals of the species remain alive.

Guidelines for use of Data Deficient
   
   Data Deficient should be used for cases where the status report has fully investigated all best available information yet that information is insufficient to: a) satisfy any criteria or assign any status, or b) resolve the species' eligibility for assessment.
         
   Examples:

  • Records of occurrence are too infrequent or too widespread to make any conclusions about extent of occurrence, population size, threats, or trends.
  • Surveys to verify occurrences, when undertaken, have not been sufficiently intensive or extensive or have not been conducted at the appropriate time of the year or under suitable conditions to ensure the reliability of the conclusions drawn from the data gathered.
  • The species' occurrence in Canada cannot be confirmed or denied with assurance.

Data Deficient should not be used if: a) the choice between two status designations is difficult to resolve by COSEWIC, or b) the status report is inadequate and has not fully investigated all best available information (in which case the report should be rejected), or c) the information available is minimally sufficient to assign status but inadequate for recovery planning or other such use.

Table 3. Guidelines for modifying status assessment based on rescue effect.

Species whose geographic range extends beyond that of the COSEWIC unit being designated (e.g. across an international boundary or into another Population of National Significance within Canada) are first assessed at the regional level (i.e., the unit being designated) using the quantitative criteria in Table 2. The potential for "rescue" is then considered. The rescue effect is the immigration of gametes or individuals that have a high probability of reproducing successfully, such that extirpation or decline of a population, or some other Designatable Unit, can be mitigated. If the potential for rescue is high, the risk of extirpation may be reduced, and the status may be downgraded. COSEWIC addresses this by applying the following guidelines developed by IUCN for this purpose (Gardenfors et al. 1999 ).

Likelihood of propagule migration
Are there any conspecific populations outside the region within a distance from which propagules could reach the region? Are there any effective barriers preventing dispersal to and from neighbouring populations? Is the species capable of long-distance dispersal? Is it known to do so?If there are no conspecific populations in neighbouring regions or propagules are not able to disperse to the region, the regional population behaves as an endemic and the category should be left unchanged.
Evidence for the existence of local adaptations
Are there any known differences in local adaptation between regional and extra-regional populations, i.e. is it probable that individuals from extra-regional populations are adapted to survive within the region?If it is unlikely that individuals from extra-regional populations would be able to survive within the region, the category should be left unchanged.
Availability of suitable habitat
Are current conditions of habitats and/or other environmental (including climatological) requirements of the taxon in the region such that immigrating propagules are able to successfully establish themselves (i.e. are there inhabitable patches), or has the taxon disappeared from the region because conditions were not favourable?If there is not enough suitable habitat and current conservation measures are not leading to an improvement of the habitat within a foreseeable future, immigration from outside the region will not decrease extinction risk and the category should be left unchanged.
Status of extra-regional populations
How abundant is the taxon in neighbouring regions? Are the populations there stable, increasing or decreasing? Are there any important threats to those populations? Is it probable that they produce an appreciable amount of emigrants, and will continue to do so for the forseeable future?If the taxon is more or less common outside the region and there are no signs of population decline and the taxon is capable of dispersing to the region and there is (or soon will be) available habitat, downgrading the category is appropriate. If the taxon is currently decreasing in neighbouring regions the 'rescue effect' is less likely to occur, hence downgrading the category may not be appropriate.
Degree of dependence on extra-regional sources
Are extant regional populations self-sustaining (i.e. have they shown a positive reproductive rate over the years) or are they dependent on immigration for long-term survival (i.e. are the regional populations sinks)?      If there is evidence that a substantial number of propagules regularly reach the region and the population still has a poor survival, the regional population may be a sink. If so, and there are indications that the immigration will soon cease, upgrading the category may be appropriate.

 

Table 4: Policy for modifying status assessment based on quantitative criteria

COSEWIC, IUCN and other groups recognize the need for additional assessment tools. Specifically, there is a need to consider life history variation amongst species and other taxa. COSEWIC has developed the following guideline:

In addition to the quantitative guidelines, COSEWIC will base its assessment on the degree to which various life-history characteristics (e.g., age & size at maturity, dispersal strategy, longevity) affect extinction probability and the likelihood that the species is vulnerable to the Allee effects of density dependence.

All else being equal:

  • species with delayed age at maturity tend to be at greater risk of extinction than species with early age at maturity
  • for indeterminately growing organisms (species that continue to grow after attaining maturity), larger species tend to be at greater risk of extinction than smaller species
  • species with low dispersal tend to be at greater risk of extinction than species with high dispersal
  • species with non-overlapping generations tend to be at greater risk of extinction than species with overlapping generations.

Table 5. COSEWIC status categories.

Extinct (X) A wildlife species that no longer exists.
Extirpated (XT) A wildlife species no longer existing in the wild in Canada, but occurring elsewhere.
Endangered (E) A wildlife species facing imminent extirpation or extinction.
Threatened (T) A wildlife species likely to become endangered if limiting factors are not reversed.
Special Concern (SC) A wildlife species that may become a threatened or an endangered species because of a combination of biological characteristics and identified threats.
Data Deficient (DD) A wildlife species for which there is inadequate information to make a direct, or indirect, assessment of its risk of extinction.
Not At Risk (NAR) A wildlife species that has been evaluated and found to be not at risk of extinction given the current circumstances.



[1] IUCN 2001. IUCN Red List Categories and Criteria: Version 3.1. Prepared by the IUCN Species

Survival Commission. IUCN, Gland, Switzerland and Cambridge, UK.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Rapport annuel du COSEPAC - 2004

Annexe V

 

Processus d'évaluation du COSEPAC,

Catégories et lignes directrices

Revu et approuvé par le COSEPAC

en mai 2004


Tableau 1. Détermination de l'admissibilité des espèces à l'évaluation de la situation.

 

A) Validité taxinomique

Habituellement, le COSEPAC examine seulement les espèces et les sous espèces ou les variétés qui ont été jugées valide dans des ouvrages taxinomiques publiés ou dans des communications de spécialistes en taxinomie revues par des pairs. En règle générale, le COSEPAC n'examine pas les autres unités désignables à moins qu'elles soient génétiquement distinctes, séparées en raison de l'isolement de l'aire de répartition ou biogéographiquement distinctes (voir les Lignes directrices pour les unités désignables inférieures à l'espèce à l'annexe F5). Il faut fournir une justification pour qu'une unité désignable inférieure à l'espèce soit prise en considération.

B)   Espèces indigènes

Habituellement, le COSEPAC examine seulement les espèces indigènes. Il s'agit d'une espèce sauvage qui se trouve au Canada naturellement ou espèce qui a élargi son aire de répartition jusqu'au Canada sans intervention humaine à partir de la région où elle se trouvait naturellement, qui a produit des populations viables et qui a survécu au Canada depuis au moins 50 ans.

C)   Régularité d'occurrence

Habituellement, le COSEPAC examine seulement les espèces observées au Canada de façon régulière, excluant l es espèces erratiques.

D)   Besoin d'un habitat au Canada

Le COSEPAC examine les espèces qui résident au Canada durant toute l'année. Il examine également les espèces qui, bien qu'elles ne résident pas au Canada de façon permanente, répondent aux autres critères d'admissibilité et nécessitent un habitat au Canada pour un stade clé de leur cycle biologique.

E) Cas particuliers

Malgré les lignes directrices précédentes, un taxon peut être considéré admissible s'il existe des raisons évidentes en matière de conservation pour l'étudier (par exemple un risque élevé de disparition). Notamment, les espèces qui ne répondent pas aux critères d'admissibilité mais qui sont en péril dans leur aire de répartition principale à l'extérieur du Canada pourraient être considérées pour la désignation.

Pour qu'il soit pris en considération, un cas particulier doit être accompagné de justifications, et des renseignements à l'appui doivent être fournis; dans la plupart des cas, le COSEPAC devrait examiner et approuver ces derniers avant la préparation d'un rapport de situation.

 

Tableau 2. Critères quantitatifs et lignes directrices du COSEPAC pour l'évaluation de la situation des espèces.

 

Les critères du COSEPAC révisés servant à orienter l'évaluation de la situation des espèces. Ceux-ci sont utilisés par le COSEPAC depuis novembre 2001 et sont fondés sur les catégories révisées de la Liste rouge de l'UICN[1] (UICN, 2001). Le COSEPAC a utilisé une version précédente des critères quantitatifs d'octobre 1999 à mai 2001. Pour voir les définitions des termes en caractères gras et italiques, consultez les Définitions et abréviations du COSEPAC à l'annexe C.
 En voie de disparition   Menacée
A. Population totale en déclin     
Réduction de la taille de la population selon l'une ou l'autre des quatre options suivantes en précisant les éléments de à) à e) selon le cas :
 ≥70 p. 100≥50 p. 100

(1) une réduction de la taille de la population qui est contractée, estimée, induite ou suspectée au cours des 10 dernières années ou des 3 dernières générations, selon la période la plus longue, où les causes de la réduction sont clairement réversibles ET comprises ET arrêtées, selon toute combinaison (en précisant) de un ou plusieurs des éléments de a) à e) ci dessous.
 ≥50 p. 100≥30 %

(2) une réduction de la taille de la population qui est contractée, estimée, induite ou suspectée au cours des 10 dernières années ou des 3 dernières générations, selon la période la plus longue, où la réduction ou ses causes peuvent ne pas s'être arrêtées OU peuvent ne pas être comprises OU peuvent ne pas être réversibles selon toute combinaison (en précisant) de un ou plusieurs des éléments a) à e) ci-dessous.
(3) une réduction de la taille de la population qui est projetée ou suspectée être atteinte au cours des 10 prochaines années ou des 3 prochaines générations, selon la période la plus longue (jusqu'à un maximum de 100 ans), et selon toute combinaison (en précisant) de un ou plusieurs des éléments b) à e) ci dessous.
(4) une réduction de la taille de la population qui est contractée, estimée, induite, projetée ou suspectée au cours d'une période de 10 années ou de 3 générations, selon la période la plus longue, (jusqu'à un maximum de 100 ans), où la période de temps comprend le passé et l'avenir, ET où la réduction ou ses causes peuvent ne pas s'être arrêtées OU peuvent ne pas être comprises OU peuvent ne pas être réversibles selon tout élément (en précisant) un ou plusieurs des éléments a) à e) ci-dessous.

 

a) une observation directe   
b) un indice d'abondance approprié pour le taxon
c) une réduction de la zone d'occupation, de la zone d'occurrence et/ou de la qualité de l'habitat
d) niveaux d'exploitation actuels ou potentiels
e) les effets de taxons introduits, de l'hybridation, d'agents pathogènes, de substances polluantes, d'espèces concurrentes ou de parasites



 En voie de disparition Menacée
B. Faible répartition et déclin ou fluctuation  
1. Zone d'occurence    < 5 000 km2   < 20 000 km2

ou  
2. Zone d'occupation   < 500 km2   < 2 000 km2

Pour une catégorie ou l'autre ci-dessus, précisez au moins deux des éléments a) à c) :
(a) soit dangereusement fragmentée ou connue pour exister en divers sites    ≤5   ≤10
(b) déclin continu contracté, déduit ou prévu pour un ou plusieurs des éléments suivants:
 i) zone d'occurrence   
ii) zone d'occupation   
iii) zone d'occupation, zone d'occurence, et/ou qualité de l'habitat   
iv) nombre de sites ou de populations   
v) nombre d'individus matures   
(c) fluctuations extrêmes pour un ou plusieurs des éléments suivants :    > 1 ordre de grandeur   > 1 ordre de grandeur
 i) zone d'occurrence   
ii) zone d'occupation   
iii) nombre de sites ou de populations   
iv) nombre d'individus matures   
C. Taille et déclin d'une petite population totale   
Nombre d'individus matures   < 2 500   < 10 000
et 1 des 2 éléments
suivants :       
  
(1) un taux estimé de déclin continu d'au moins :   20 p. 100 en 5 ans ou 2 générations (jusqu'à un maximum de 100 ans dans l'avenir)   10 p. 100 en 10 ans ou 3 générations (jusqu'à un maximum de 100 ans dans l'avenir)
(2) déclin continu, contracté, prévu ou déduit du nombre d'individus matures et au moins un des éléments suivants (a ou b) :
(a) Fragmentation :
structure de la
population prenant
l'une des formes
suivantes :    
(i) aucune population n'est estimée contenir >250 individus matures   (i) aucune population n'est estimée contenir >1 000 individus matures
 (ii) au moins 95 p. 100 des individus matures dans une population   (ii) tous les individus matures sont dans une population
(b) Fluctuations extrêmes du nombre d'individus matures
D. Très petite population ou distribution limitée   
(1) nombre d'individus matures   < 250   < 1 000

(2) S'applique seulement à la catégorie « menacée » :population dont la zone d'occupation (zone d'occupation typiquement < 20 km²) ou le nombre d'emplacements (nombre typiquement < 5) est très limité de telle manière qu'elle est susceptible aux effets des activités humaines ou d'événements stochastiques dans une très courte période de temps dans un futur incertain et peut donc devenir gravement en voie de disparition ou même disparaître en très peu de temps.


E. Analyse quantitative      
Indication de la probabilité de disparition dans la nature étant d'au moins :   20 p. 100 en 20 ans ou 5 générations, selon la
période la plus longue (jusqu'à un maximum de 100 ans)   
10 p. 100 en 100 ans
Préoccupante : espèce particulièrement sensible aux activités humaines ou aux événements naturels, mais qui n'est toutefois pas en péril ou menacée.
L'espèce peut être classifiée dans la catégorie « préoccupante » si :
(a)   l'espèce a connu un déclin jusqu'à un niveau d'abondance qui menace sa longévité est de plus en plus à cause
de la stochasticité génétique, démographique ou environnementale, mais que ce déclin n'est pas assez prononcé pour que l'espèce soit classifiée « menacée »;
(b) l'espèce est susceptible de devenir « menacée » si les facteurs dont on craint l'influence négative sur sa longévité ne sont ni renversés, ni gérés de façon efficace;
(c)   l'espèce rencontre presque chaque critère de la catégorie « menacée »;
(d)   l'espèce est classifiée « menacée », mais qu'il existe un indice clair que des populations hors limites produiront un effet de sauvetage.


Voici des exemples de raisons pour lesquelles une espèce peut être classifiée « préoccupante » :

  • Une espèce particulièrement sensible aux catastrophes (p. ex. une population d'oiseaux marins vivant près du trajet d'un pétrolier);
  • Une espèce dont l'habitat ou les besoins alimentaires sont très limités et dont une menace éventuelle a été déterminée pour cet habitat ou pour ces vivres (p. ex. un oiseau qui cherche de la nourriture surtout dans les vieilles forêts, une plante qui pousse surtout sur des dunes sablonneuses non modifiées, un poisson qui fraie surtout dans les estuaires, un serpent qui se nourrit surtout d'écrevisses dont l'habitat est menacé par l'envasement);
  • Une espèce en rétablissement qui n'est plus considérée « menacée » ou « en voie de disparition » mais qui n'est pas encore hors de tout danger.

Voici des exemples de raisons pour lesquelles une espèce peut ne pas être classifiée « préoccupante » :

  • Une espèce qui existe en faible densité mais sur laquelle aucune menace reconnue ne pèse (p. ex. un grand animal prédateur qui défend un domaine vital ou un territoire important);
  • Une espèce qui existe en faible densité mais qui n'est pas classifiée « menacée » et pour laquelle un effet de sauvetage est évident.

Lignes directrices devant être utilisées pour désignée une espèce comme « disparue du pays »

Une espèce peut être classifiée dans la catégorie « disparue » ou « disparue du pays » si :

  • il n'existe aucun habitat restant pour l'espèce et aucun enregistrement de l'espèce malgré des recensements récents;
  • 50 années ont passées depuis le dernier enregistrement crédible de l'espèce, malgré des recensements ont eu lieu dans l'intérim;
  • des renseignements suffisants existent pour prouver qu'il n'existe aucun individu vivant de l'espèce.

Lignes directrices devant être utilisées les cas de « données insuffisantes »

Le terme « données insuffisantes » devrait être utilisé pour les cas où, dans le cadre du rapport de situation, il y a eu des recherches approfondies pour obtenir la meilleure information disponible et que l'information est insuffisante pour : a) répondre à tout critère ou attribuer un statut; b) résoudre la question de l'admissibilité de l'espèce relativement à l'évaluation.
      
Exemples :

  • les enregistrements relatifs à l'occurrence sont trop peu fréquents ou trop répandus pour tirer des conclusions sur la zone d'occurrence, la taille de la population, les menaces ou les tendances;
  • les recensements pour vérifier l'occurrence, lorsque entrepris, n'ont pas été assez approfondis ou exhaustifs ou ils n'ont pas eu lieu au moment approprié de l'année ou dans des conditions propices afin d'assurer la fiabilité des conclusions tirées des données obtenues;
  • l'occurrence de l'espèce au Canada ne peut pas être confirmée ou niée avec certitude.

Le terme « données insuffisantes » ne devrait pas être utilisé si : a) le COSEPAC a de la difficulté à choisir entre deux désignations; b) le rapport de situation est inadéquat et que des recherches approfondies pour obtenir la meilleure information disponible n'ont pas été effectuées (cas dans lequel le rapport devrait être rejeté); c) l'information disponible est à peine suffisante pour attribuer un statut, mais insuffisante pour la planification du rétablissement ou d'autres utilisations semblables.

Tableau 3. Lignes directrices pour la modification de l'évaluation de la situation d'après une immigration de source externe.

Les espèces ou les populations d'importance nationale dont les aires de répartition géographiques s'étendent au-delà de celles de l'unité désignée par le COSEPAC (p. ex. au-delà d'une frontière internationale ou dans une autre population d'importance nationale au Canada) sont les premières à être évaluées à l'échelle régionale (c.-à-d. l'unité qui est désignée) à l'aide des critères quantitatifs du tableau 2. Par la suite, les possibilités d'une « immigration de source externe » sont envisagées. L'immigration de source externe est l'immigration de gamètes ou d'individus ayant une possibilité élevée de réussir à se reproduire de telle sorte que la disparition ou le déclin d'une population ou d'une autre unité désignable peut être atténué et que l'espèce peut être inscrite à une catégorie de moindre risque. Le COSEPAC traite cet enjeu en appliquant les lignes directrices suivantes, qui ont été élaborées par l'UICN à cet effet (Gardenfors et coll., 1999).

 

Probabilité de migration de propagules 
Existe-t-il des populations conspécifiques à l'extérieur de la région à une distance que les propagules pourraient franchir pour atteindre la région? Des barrières efficaces pour contrer la dispersion vers les populations avoisinantes et en provenance de celle-ci? Les espèces sont-elles capables de se disperser sur une longue distance? En ont-elles la réputation?S'il n'y a pas de populations conspécifiques dans les régions avoisinantes ou si les propagules ne sont pas capables de se disperser vers la région, la population régionale se comporte comme une population endémique, et la catégorie devrait rester inchangée.

Preuve de l'existence d'adaptations locales
Y a-t-il des différences connues dans l'adaptation locale entre les populations régionales et les populations extra régionales, c.-à-d. est-il probable que des individus des populations extra régionales soient adaptés pour survivre dans la région?S'il est improbable que les individus de populations extra-régionales puissent être capables de survivre dans la région, la catégorie devrait rester inchangée.
Disponibilité d'habitat convenable
Les conditions actuelles des habitats ou les autres exigences environnementales (notamment climatiques) du taxon dans la région font-elles en sorte que les propagules immigrants sont capables de réussir à s'établir (c.-à-d. y a-t-il des zones inhabitables?) ou le taxon a-t-il disparu de la région parce que les conditions n'étaient pas favorables?S'il n'y a pas d'habitat assez convenable et que les mesures de conservation actuelles ne mènent pas à l'amélioration de l'habitat dans un avenir prévisible, l'immigration en provenance de l'extérieur de la région ne diminuera pas le risque de disparition, et la catégorie devrait rester inchangée.
Situation de populations extra-régionales
Les taxons sont-ils nombreux dans les régions avoisinantes? Les populations y sont elles stables, en augmentation ou en diminution? Une menace majeure pèse t elle sur ces populations? Est-il possible qu'elles produisent un nombre important d'émigrants et qu'elles continuent de le faire dans un avenir prévisible?Si le taxon est plus ou moins fréquent à l'extérieur de la région, s'il n'y a pas de signes de déclin de la population et si le taxon est capable de se disperser dans la région et qu'il y a (ou qu'il y aura bientôt) un habitat disponible, l'amélioration du statut est indiquée. Si le taxon est actuellement en diminution dans les régions avoisinantes, l' « effet d'une immigration de source externe » risque moins de se produire; l'amélioration de la catégorie ne serait donc pas approprié.
Degré de dépendance aux sources extra-régionales
Les populations régionales existantes sont-elles autosuffisantes (c.-à-d. ont-ils présenté un taux de reproduction positif au fil des ans) ou sont elles dépendantes de l'immigration pour leur survie à long terme (c.-à-d. est-ce que ce sont des populations régionales gouffres)?      S'il y a preuve qu'un nombre important de propagules atteint régulièrement la région et que la population a quand même un faible taux de survie, la population régionale pourrait être un gouffre. Dans ce cas, et que des indices prévoient que l'immigration cessera bientôt, il ne sera pas approprié de changer la classification à une catégorie de risque plus élevé.

 

Tableau 4. Politique relative à la modification de l'évaluation de la situation d'après des critères quantitatifs.

Le COSEPAC, l'UICN et d'autres groupes reconnaissent le besoin d'outils d'évaluation supplémentaires. Il serait plus particulièrement nécessaire de tenir compte des variations du cycle biologique entre les espèces et d'autres taxons. Le COSEPAC a mis au point les lignes directrices suivantes :

En plus des lignes directrices, le COSEPAC fondera ses évaluations sur le degré auquel les différentes caractéristiques du cycle biologique (p. ex. l'âge et la taille à la maturité, la stratégie de dispersion, la longévité) touchent la probabilité de disparition et les chances que l'espèce soit vulnérable aux effets d'Allee en ce qui a trait à la dépendance à la densité.

Tous les autres critères ont la même importance :

  • les espèces dont la maturité est tardive ont plus tendance à être plus grandement menacées de disparition que les espèces dont la maturité est précoce;
  • en ce qui concerne les organismes à croissance indéterminée (les espèces qui continuent de croître après avoir atteint la maturité), les espèces de plus grande taille ont tendance à être plus grandement menacées de disparition que les petites espèces;
  • les espèces dont la dispersion est restreinte ont tendance à être plus grandement menacées de disparition que celles dont la dispersion est plus vaste;
  • les espèces dont les générations ne se chevauchent pas ont tendance à être plus grandement menacées de disparition que celles dont les générations se chevauchent.

 

Tableau 5. Catégories de statut du COSEPAC.

Disparue (D): espèce sauvage qui n'existe plus.
Disparue du pays (DP) : espèce sauvage qui n'existe plus à l'état sauvage au Canada, mais qui est présente ailleurs.
En voie de disparition (VD) : espèce sauvage exposée à une disparition de la planète ou à une disparition du pays imminente.
Menacée (M): une espèce sauvage susceptible de devenir en voie de disparition si les facteurs limitants ne sont pas renversés.
Préoccupante (P): espèce sauvage qui peut devenir une espèce menacée ou en voie de disparition en raison de l'effet cumulatif de ses caractéristiques biologiques et des menaces reconnues qui pèsent sur elle.
Données insuffisantes (DI): espèce sauvage pour laquelle l'information est insuffisante pour évaluer directement ou indirectement son risque de disparition.
Non en péril (NEP): espèce sauvage qui a été évaluée et jugée comme ne risquant pas de disparaître étant donné les circonstances actuelles.

 



[1] UICN 2001. Catégories et Critères de l’UICN pour la Liste Rouge : version 3.1. Document

préparé par la Commission de la sauvegarde des espèces, UICN, Gland, Sweitzerland and

Cambridge, Grande-Bretagne.