Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Status Report on the Southern Maidenhair Fern in Canada 2000

COSEWIC

Assessment and Update Status Report

on the

Southern Maidenhair Fern

Adiantum capillus-veneris

 

in Canada

 

Southern Maidenhair Fern


endangered 2000


COSEWIC logo

 

COSEWIC status reports are working documents used in assigning the status of wildlife species suspected of being at risk. This report may be cited as follows:

Please note: Persons wishing to cite data in the report should refer to the report (and cite the author(s)); persons wishing to cite the COSEWIC status will refer to the assessment (and cite COSEWIC). A production note will be provided if additional information on the status report history is required.

COSEWIC 2000. COSEWIC assessment and update status report on the Southern Maidenhair Fern Adiantum capillus-veneris in Canada. Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada. Ottawa. vi + 5 pp.

White, D.J., and G.W. Douglas. 1998. Update COSEWIC status report on the Southern Maidenhair Fern Adiantum capillus-veneris in Canada. Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada. Ottawa. 1-5 pp

Previous reports:

Brunton, D.F. 1984. COSEWIC status report on the Southern Maidenhair Fern Adiantum capillus-veneris in Canada. Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada. Ottawa. 33 pp.

 

For additional copies contact:


COSEWIC Secretariat
c/o Canadian Wildlife Service
Environment Canada
Ottawa, ON

K1A 0H3
Tel.: 819-953-3215
Fax: 819-994-3684
E-mail: COSEWIC/COSEPAC@ec.gc.ca
http://www.cosewic.gc.ca

 

Également disponible en français sous le titre Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le spatulaire (Polyodon spathula) au Canada – Mise à jour.

Cover illustration:
Southern Maidenhair Fern -- Adapted from an illustration courtesy of the British Columbia Conservation Data Centre.

©Minister of Public Works and Government Services Canada, 2002
Catalogue No. CW69-14/87-2002E-IN
ISBN 0-662-31693-2

Return to Table of Contents

Assessment Summary

 

Symbol

Assessment Summary – May 2000

Common name : Southern Maidenhair Fern

Scientific name : Adiantum capillus-veneris

Status : Endangered

Reason for designation : A fern known only from a single spring in south-eastern British Columbia where it is threatened by recreational activities and development.

Occurrence : British Columbia

Status history : Designated Endangered in April 1984.  Status re-examined and confirmed in April 1998 and in May 2000.  May 2000 assessment based on new quantitative criteria applied to information from the existing 1998 status report.

 

Return to Table of Contents

Executive Summary

Southern Maidenhair Fern
Adiantum capillus-veneris

Description

Southern Maidenhair Fern (Adiantum capillus-veneris) is a delicate fern spreading by a thin branched rhizome covered with slender, small, brown scales. Leaves arise scattered along the rhizome and are lax or drooping. The central axis of the blade is continuous with the purplish-black leaf stalk. Blades are commonly twice compound, with each leaf consisting of a series of 5-12 alternate pinnae per side of the leaf, each pinna has a central axis and bears up to about 6 pinnules. Each of these smallest leaf segments (pinnules) is broadly rounded at the end and incised into rounded teeth; the base tapers to a small delicate leaflet stalk. These pinnules are reminiscent of miniature ginkgo leaves. The spore sacs (in fertile leaves) are clustered on the lower pinnule surface within crescent-shaped protective flaps of tissue (indusia).

Distribution

The fern is a common and widely distributed species, found throughout the warmer southern portion of the U.S. and Mexico; it also occurs in South America, South Africa, Australia and warmer parts of Eurasia. In Canada, it is found at only one site in southeastern British Columbia, the Fairmont Hot Springs, about 1000 km north of its main range.

Habitat

In Canada, it is found on lime-rich, wet, porous rock formed from the mineral deposits of a hot spring. The warm water of the hot spring also produces a mild microclimate that promotes the growth of the fern.

General biology

Southern Maidenhair Fern is a delicate fern that is normally found in seepage areas and on wet cliffs in tropical or warm temperate climates. It is able to subsist at the Canadian locality because of the suitable microclimatic and substrate conditions provided by the hot springs. Due to the lack of adequate flow of spring water, the fern has decreased in vigour and now no longer reproduces by spores that produce the small plantlets that bear the sexual organs. Because of its delicate appearance, the fern is commonly grown as a greenhouse plant.

Population size and trends

The fern was relatively abundant around the hot springs over 50 years ago. By 1996 only 16 sterile leaves remained in one small patch.

Limiting factors and threats

The main limiting factor for this fern appears to be the lack of adequate hot spring water needed to maintain the warm microclimate and continued development of the wet mineralized rocky substrate needed by the fern.

Existing protection

No formal protection exists. It is a red-listed species in the province of British Columbia.


COSEWIC MANDATE

The Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) determines the national status of wild species, subspecies, varieties, and nationally significant populations that are considered to be at risk in Canada. Designations are made on all native species for the following taxonomic groups: mammals, birds, reptiles, amphibians, fish, lepidopterans, molluscs, vascular plants, lichens, and mosses.

COSEWIC MEMBERSHIP

COSEWIC comprises representatives from each provincial and territorial government wildlife agency, four federal agencies (Canadian Wildlife Service, Parks Canada Agency, Department of Fisheries and Oceans, and the Federal Biosystematic Partnership), three nonjurisdictional members and the co-chairs of the species specialist groups. The committee meets to consider status reports on candidate species.

DEFINITIONS

 

Species : Any indigenous species, subspecies, variety, or geographically defined population of wild fauna and flora.

Extinct (X) : A species that no longer exists.

Extirpated (XT) : A species no longer existing in the wild in Canada, but occurring elsewhere.

Endangered (E) : A species facing imminent extirpation or extinction.

Threatened (T) : A species likely to become endangered if limiting factors are not reversed.

Special Concern (SC)* : A species of special concern because of characteristics that make it particularly sensitive to human activities or natural events.

Not at Risk (NAR)* : A species that has been evaluated and found to be not at risk.

Data Deficient (DD)*** : A species for which there is insufficient scientific information to support status designation.

* : Formerly described as “Vulnerable” from 1990 to 1999, or “Rare” prior to 1990.

** : Formerly described as “Not In Any Category”, or “No Designation Required.”

*** : Formerly described as “Indeterminate” from 1994 to 1999 or “ISIBD” (insufficient scientific information on which to base a designation) prior to 1994.

The Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) was created in 1977 as a result of a recommendation at the Federal-Provincial Wildlife Conference held in 1976. It arose from the need for a single, official, scientifically sound, national listing of wildlife species at risk. In 1978, COSEWIC designated its first species and produced its first list of Canadian species at risk. Species designated at meetings of the full committee are added to the list.

Environment Canada          Environnement Canada

Canadian Wildlife Service          Service canadien de la faune

The Canadian Wildlife Service, Environment Canada, provides full administrative and financial support to the COSEWIC Secretariat.

Return to Table of Contents

Introduction

Adiantum capillus-veneris L. was designated as endangered in 1984 due to its decline at the only known Canadian station at the Fairmont Hot Springs in southeastern British Columbia (Brunton, 1984). Southern Maidenhair Fern is a tropical-subtropical species whose North American distribution is mainly in the southern United States. To survive at the disjunct British Columbia site--that is over 1000 km north of the main range of the species--the fern requires a humid, calcareous habitat that is warm year-round (Brunton, 1984). Suitable conditions occur at the Fairmont Hot Springs where warm, lime-rich, spring water flows over tufa--a rock that is mostly calcium carbonate precipitate (Brunton, 1984).

Return to Table of Contents

Distribution

Southern Maidenhair Fern occurs in the United States from central California across to Virginia and south to Florida and Mexico (Brunton, 1984). There is a small, disjunct population in South Dakota at a hot spring. The fern also occurs in South America and Eurasia. Its only Canadian occurrence is in southeastern British Columbia (Figure 1).

Figure 1.  Distribution of Southern Maidenhair Fern in British Columbia.

Figure 1.  Distribution of Southern Maidenhair Fern in British Columbia.

Return to Table of Contents

Protection

Since the designation of Southern Maidenhair Fern as an endangered species, no steps are known to have been taken to enhance the species’ chances of survival in Canada. The fern occurs on private property owned by the Fairmont Hot Springs resort.

Return to Table of Contents

Population Size and Trend

Southern Maidenhair Fern has been known at the Fairmont Hot Springs since 1888. As late as the 1940s the fern was noted as abundant around the resort at several sites (Brunton, 1984). Further resort development has caused the elimination of the species at all but one site and this remaining colony continues to decline. In 1974, the colony covered 3 m of rock ledge, but by 1982 the colony only occupied 0.4 m of ledge and consisted of 68 sterile fronds (Brunton, 1984). In 1996, only 16 sterile fronds remained on about four plants (G. Douglas, pers. obs., 1996) and the site’s status is extremely precarious.

Return to Table of Contents

Habitat

In British Columbia, Southern Maidenhair Fern is a long-range disjunct from the species’ main range in the southern United States. In order to survive more than 1000 km north of its main range, the fern requires a steady supply of hot spring water to provide a warm and very humid year-round climate (Brunton, 1984). The plant’s substrate is lime-rich, porous rock--such as the tufa deposits that are found at the Fairmont Hot Springs (Brunton, 1984).

Return to Table of Contents

Biology

Southern Maidenhair Fern is a very attractive plant (several forms are cultivated as greenhouse ornamentals) that could be desirable to would-be gardeners (Brunton, 1984). Since the colony is now so small, any plant removal could be catastrophic.

Return to Table of Contents

Limiting Factors

Adiantum capillus-veneris occurs in Canada only because of the presence of hot spring water that ameliorates the local microclimate. Without the hot water, the fern simply cannot survive at this latitude. Fern habitat loss has been due primarily to the redirecting of hot spring water by the owners of the Fairmont Hot Springs resort to the developed bathing pools. In 1982, the last known colony was surviving due to a leak in the pipe that transports hot water from the source to the resort pools (Brunton, 1984).

Due to the plant’s high profile as a very rare fern, the site has been visited by many natura-lists and fern enthusiasts. This could put the plant at some risk from inadvertent site damage.

Return to Table of Contents

Evaluation and Status Recommendation

When the status designation of endangered was assigned in 1984, Southern Maidenhair Fern was known from only one colony of about 68 sterile fronds. By 1996, it was still only known at the one site and the colony had declined to only 16 sterile fronds. Thus, there is no reason to change the designation of endangered status for Southern Maidenhair Fern.

Return to Table of Contents

Acknowledgements

Beth Rogers, British Columbia Conservation Data Centre, provided a listing of known Southern Maidenhair Fern specimens and records. Funding provided by the Canadian Wildlife Service, Environment Canada.

Return to Table of Contents

Literature Cited

Brunton, D. 1984. Status report on the Southern Maidenhair Fern (Adiantum capillus-veneris) in Canada. Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada. Canadian Wildlife Service, Ottawa. Unpublished report. 27 pp.

Return to Table of Contents

The Authors

David J. White has a B.Sc. in biology and has been conducting natural area inventories and evaluating the status and significance of rare plants for more than 25 years. He began doing field surveys in 1972 for the International Biological Program. From 1973 to 1983, David was employed by the Canadian Museum of Nature as a research technician. During that period he co-authored a number of publications on rare plants. From 1984 to the present, David has worked as a self-employed life science consultant. He has completed projects ranging from natural area inventories and evaluations to reports on invasive species. David has previously written COSEWIC status reports on Ginseng (Panax quinquefolius), Golden-seal (Hydrastis canadensis), and Branched Bartonia (Bartonia paniculata).

George W. Douglas has a Ph.D. in Plant Ecology and has worked with rare plants for over 15 years. He was senior author of The Rare Plants of the Yukon (1981) and  co‑authored The Rare Plants of British Columbia (1985). George was also chief editor of the manual, The Vascular Plants of British Columbia (1989‑1994). In 1991, George joined the British Columbia Conservation Data Centre, Ministry of Environment as the senior program botanist. Since then, he has been responsible for the documentation and tracking of the rare native vascular plants, bryophytes and lichens of the province. George has written or co‑written 15 COSEWIC status reports during this period.

Return to Table of Contents

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur l’adiante cheveux-de-Vénus au Canada - Mise à jour 2000

Mise à jour

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC

sur

l’adiante cheveux-de-Vénus

Adiantum capillus-veneris

au Canada

 


 l’adiante cheveux-de-Vénus


Espèce en voie de disparition 2000


COSEPAC logo

 

Les rapports de situation du COSEPAC sont des documents de travail servant à déterminer le statut des espèces sauvages que l’on croit en péril. On peut citer le présent rapport de la façon suivante :

Nota : Toute personne souhaitant citer l’information contenue dans le rapport doit indiquer le rapport comme source (et citer l’auteur); toute personne souhaitant citer le statut attribué par le COSEPAC doit indiquer l’évaluation comme source (et citer le COSEPAC). Une note de production sera fournie si des renseignements supplémentaires sur l’évolution du rapport de situation sont requis.

COSEPAC. 2000. Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur l’adiante cheveux-de-Vénus (Adiantum capillus-veneris) au Canada - Mise à jour. Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada. Ottawa. vi + 6 p.

WHITE, D.J., et G.W. DOUGLAS. 1998. Rapport du COSEPAC sur la situation de l’adiante cheveux-de-Vénus (Adiantum capillus-veneris) au Canada – Mise à jour. Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada. Ottawa. Pages 1-6.

Rapports précédents :

BRUNTON, D.F. 1984. COSEWIC status report on the Southern Maidenhair Fern Adiantum capillus-veneris in Canada. Comité sur le statut des espèces menacées de disparition au Canada. Ottawa. 33 p.

 

Pour obtenir des exemplaires supplémentaires, s’adresser au :


Secrétariat du COSEPAC
a/s Service canadien de la faune
Environment Canada
Ottawa, ON

K1A 0H3
Tel.: 819-953-3215
Fax: 819-994-3684
E-mail: COSEWIC/COSEPAC@ec.gc.ca
http://www.cosewic.gc.ca

 

Also available in English under the title COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Greater Sage-Grouse Centrocercus urophasianus, Phaios subspecies and Urophasianus subspecies, Centrocercus urophasianus urophasianus in Canada.

Illustration de la couverture :

Adiante cheveux-de-Vénus – Version modifiée d’un dessin fourni gracieusement par le British Columbia Conservation Data Centre.


©Ministre de Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada, 2002
No de catalogue CW69-14/87-2002F-IN
ISBN 0-662-86780-7

Retournez à la table des matières

Sommaire de l’évaluation

 

COSEPAC logo

Sommaire de l’évaluation – Mai 2000

Nom commun : Chimaphile maculée

Nom scientifique : Chimaphila maculata

Statut : Espèce en voie de disparition

Justification de la désignation : Aire de répartition limitée à deux petites zones où des populations historiques ont disparu et où les quelques petites populations qui restent subissent des menaces continues.

Répartition : Ontario

Historique du statut : Espèce désignée « en voie de disparition » en avril 1987. Réexamen et confirmation du statut en avril 1998 et en mai 2000. L’évaluation de mai 2000 est fondée sur de nouveaux critères quantitatifs, qui ont été appliqués aux données du rapport de situation 1998.

Retournez à la table des matières

Résumé

Adiante cheveux-de-Vénus
Adiantum capillus-veneris

Description

L’adiante cheveux-de-Vénus (Adiantum capillus-veneris) est une fougère délicate qui se propage par un rhizome mince et ramifié recouvert de petites écailles brunes effilées. Les feuilles (frondes), lâches ou retombantes, sont dispersées le long du rhizome. Dans chaque fronde, l’axe central du limbe prolonge de manière continue le pétiole qui est noir violacé. Le limbe est habituellement bipenné, comportant de chaque côté de son axe central de 5 à 12 segments primaires (pennes) alternes, chacun desquels comporte lui-même un axe central avec, de chaque côté, jusqu’à environ six segments secondaires (pinnules). Le sommet de chaque pinnule est large, arrondi et bordé de plusieurs dents arrondies, tandis que la base de la pinnule s’effile jusqu’à un pétiolule court et délicat. Les pinnules ressemblent ainsi à de minuscules feuilles de ginkgo. Dans le cas des frondes fertiles, les sporanges sont réunis à la surface inférieure des pinnules sous des replis protecteurs (indusies) ayant la forme de croissants.

Répartition

L’adiante cheveux-de-Vénus est une espèce commune et très répandue dans les régions chaudes du Sud des États-Unis ainsi qu’au Mexique. L’espèce est également présente en Amérique du Sud, en Afrique du Sud, en Australie et dans les régions chaudes d’Eurasie. Au Canada, l’adiante cheveux-de-Vénus a été trouvé dans un seul endroit, à la source thermale de Fairmont Hot Springs, dans le Sud-Est de la Colombie-Britannique, soit à un millier de kilomètres au nord de son aire principale.

Habitat

Au Canada, l’espèce pousse sur un substrat rocheux mouillé, poreux et riche en calcaire, constitué de dépôts minéraux produits par une source thermale. La chaleur de l’eau crée également un microclimat doux qui favorise la croissance de la fougère.

Biologie générale

L’adiante cheveux-de-Vénus est une fougère délicate qui pousse normalement dans les terrains suintants et sur les falaises humides, sous un climat tropical ou tempéré-chaud. La fougère arrive à survivre dans son site canadien grâce au microclimat et au substrat favorables créés par la source thermale. Cependant, à cause de l’apport insuffisant en eau de source dans le milieu, la fougère a perdu de sa vigueur et ne produit plus de spores (propagules produisant les petites plantes qui portent les organes sexuels de la fougère). Par ailleurs, en raison de son aspect délicat, l’espèce est souvent cultivée en serre.

Taille et tendances de la population

L’espèce était encore relativement abondante aux alentours de la source thermale il y a une cinquantaine d’années. En 1996, la population ne comptait plus qu’un petit groupe de 16 frondes stériles.

Facteurs limitatifs et menaces

Le principal facteur limitatif semble être l’apport insuffisant en eau de source chaude dans le milieu, qui ne permet plus de maintenir le microclimat doux ainsi que le substrat rocheux minéralisé et mouillé dont la fougère a besoin.

Protection actuelle

L’espèce ne jouit d’aucune protection officielle, mais figure sur la liste rouge provinciale établie par le gouvernement de la Colombie-Britannique.


MANDAT DU COSEPAC

Le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) détermine la situation, à l’échelle nationale, des espèces, sous-espèces, variétés et populations (importantes à l’échelle nationale) sauvages jugées en péril au Canada. Les désignations peuvent être attribuées aux espèces indigènes des groupes taxinomiques suivants : mammifères, oiseaux, amphibiens, reptiles, poissons, mollusques, lépidoptères, plantes vasculaires, lichens et mousses.

COMPOSITION DU COSEPAC

Le COSEPAC est formé de représentants des organismes provinciaux et territoriaux responsables des espèces sauvages, de quatre organismes fédéraux (Service canadien de la faune, Agence Parcs Canada, ministère des Pêches et des Océans et Partenariat fédéral en biosystématique) et de trois organismes non gouvernementaux, ainsi que des coprésidents des groupes de spécialistes des espèces. Le comité se réunit pour examiner les rapports sur la situation des espèces candidates.

DÉFINITIONS

 

Espèce : Toute espèce, sous-espèce, variété ou population indigène de faune ou de flore sauvage géographiquement définie.

Espèce disparue (D) : Toute espèce qui n’existe plus.

Espèce disparue du Canada (DC) : Toute espèce qui n’est plus présente au Canada à l'état sauvage, mais qui est présente ailleurs.

Espèce en voie de disparition (VD)* : Toute espèce exposée à une disparition ou à une extinction imminente.

Espèce menacée (M) : Toute espèce susceptible de devenir en voie de disparition si les facteurs limitatifs auxquels elle est exposée ne sont pas renversés.

Espèce préoccupante (P)** : Toute espèce qui est préoccupante à cause de caractéristiques qui la rendent particulièrement sensible aux activités humaines ou à certains phénomènes naturels.

Espèce non en péril (NEP)*** : Toute espèce qui, après évaluation, est jugée non en péril.

Données insuffisantes (DI)**** : Toute espèce dont le statut ne peut être précisé à cause d’un manque de données scientifiques.

* : Appelée « espèce en danger de disparition » jusqu’en 2000.

** : Appelée « espèce rare » jusqu’en 1990, puis « espèce vulnérable » de 1990 à 1999.

*** : Autrefois « aucune catégorie » ou « aucune désignation nécessaire ».

**** : Catégorie « DSIDD » (données insuffisantes pour donner une désignation) jusqu’en 1994, puis « indéterminé » de 1994 à 1999.

Le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) a été créé en 1977, à la suite d’une recommandation faite en 1976 lors de la Conférence fédérale-provinciale sur la faune. Le comité avait pour mandat de réunir les espèces sauvages en péril sur une seule liste nationale officielle, selon des critères scientifiques. En 1978, le COSEPAC (alors appelé CSEMDC) désignait ses premières espèces et produisait sa première liste des espèces en péril au Canada. Les espèces qui se voient attribuer une désignation lors des réunions du comité plénier sont ajoutées à la liste.

Environment Canada         Environnement Canada

Canadian Wildlife Service          Service canadien de la faune

Le Service canadien de la faune d’Environnement Canada assure un appui administratif et financier complet au Secrétariat du COSEPAC.

Retournez à la table des matières

Introduction

L’adiante cheveux-de-Vénus (Adiantum capillus-veneris L.) a été désigné espèce en voie de disparition en 1984 à cause du déclin de son seul site canadien connu, situé à la source thermale de Fairmont Hot Springs, dans le Sud-Est de la Colombie-Britannique (Brunton, 1984). L’adiante cheveux-de-Vénus est une espèce tropicale-subtropicale dont l’aire de répartition principale en Amérique du Nord se situe dans le Sud des États-Unis. Le site canadien constitue donc pour l’espèce un endroit disjoint, situé à plus de 1 000 km au nord de l’aire principale. La fougère, qui a besoin d’un milieu humide et calcaire demeurant chaud toute l’année (Brunton, 1984), arrive à survivre à la source thermale de Fairmont Hot Springs parce que celle-ci lui procure un tel milieu. En effet, l’eau de la source, chaude et riche en calcaire, s’écoule sur une surface de tuf calcaire, roche principalement constituée d’un dépôt de carbonate de calcium (Brunton, 1984).

Retournez à la table des matières

Répartition

Au sud de la frontière canado-américaine, l’adiante cheveux-de-Vénus est présent depuis le centre de la Californie jusqu’à la Virginie et, vers le sud, jusqu’à la Floride et au Mexique (Brunton, 1984). Il en existe aussi une petite population disjointe au Dakota du Sud, près d’une source thermale. L’espèce est également présente en Amérique du Sud et en Eurasie. Le seul site canadien de l’espèce se trouve dans le Sud-Est de la Colombie-Britannique (figure 1).

Figure 1. Répartition de l’adiante cheveux-de-Vénus en Colombie-Britannique.

Figure 1. Répartition de l’adiante cheveux-de-Vénus en Colombie-Britannique.

Retournez à la table des matières

Protection

À notre connaissance, depuis que l’adiante cheveux-de-Vénus a été désigné espèce en voie de disparition, aucune mesure n’a été prise pour en améliorer les chances de survie au Canada. La fougère pousse sur un terrain privé qui appartient à l’établissement de villégiature exploitant la source thermale de Fairmont Hot Springs.

Retournez à la table des matières

Taille et tendances de la population

On sait depuis 1888 que l’adiante cheveux-de-Vénus est présent à la source thermale de Fairmont Hot Springs. Durant les années 1940, on signalait encore que l’espèce était abondante et comptait plusieurs sites aux alentours de l’établissement de villégiature (Brunton, 1984). Par la suite, l’expansion de cet établissement a causé la destruction de tous les sites, sauf un, et ce dernier est toujours en déclin. En 1974, la population occupait une corniche rocheuse sur une longueur de 3 m. En 1982, elle n’en occupait plus que 0,4 m et comptait 68 frondes, toutes stériles (Brunton, 1984). En 1996, il ne restait plus que 16 frondes, stériles, produites par environ quatre sujets (G. Douglas, obs. pers., 1996). La situation du site demeure donc extrêmement précaire.

Retournez à la table des matières

Habitat

Le seul endroit en Colombie-Britannique où pousse l’adiante cheveux-de-Vénus est très disjointe par rapport à l’aire principale de l’espèce sur le continent, située dans le Sud des États-Unis. Pour pouvoir ainsi survivre à une distance de plus de 1 000 km de cette aire, la fougère doit compter sur un apport constant d’eau de source chaude, qui maintient toute l’année un microclimat chaud et très humide (Brunton, 1984). Par ailleurs, la plante a besoin d’un substrat rocheux poreux et riche en calcaire, que lui procurent les dépôts de tuf calcaire présents à la source thermale de Fairmont Hot Springs (Brunton, 1984).

Retournez à la table des matières

Biologie

L’adiante cheveux-de-Vénus est une très jolie plante dont plusieurs formes sont cultivées en serre à des fins ornementales. Certaines personnes pourraient donc être tentées d’en prélever des spécimens pour les cultiver (Brunton, 1984). Or, la population actuelle est si petite que tout prélèvement serait catastrophique.

Retournez à la table des matières

Facteurs limitatifs

L’Adiantum capillus-veneris doit sa présence au Canada à une source thermale qui améliore localement le microclimat. À une telle latitude, l’espèce ne pourrait simplement pas survivre sans la présence de cette eau chaude. La principale cause de perte d’habitat a été le détournement de l’eau de la source, par les propriétaires de l’établissement de villégiature, vers les piscines aménagées pour le bain. En 1982, la dernière population connue ne survivait qu’à la faveur d’une fuite dans le tuyau amenant l’eau chaude à ces piscines (Brunton, 1984).

Par ailleurs, la notoriété de l’espèce à titre de fougère très rare attire de nombreux naturalistes et amateurs de fougères, ce qui expose le site à un certain risque d’être endommagé par mégarde.

Retournez à la table des matières

Évaluation et statut proposé

En 1984, lorsque le statut d’espèce en voie de disparition a été attribué à l’adiante cheveux-de-Vénus, l’espèce ne comptait plus qu’un site connu au Canada, comptant environ 68 frondes stériles. En 1996, ce site était toujours le seul connu et ne comptait plus que 16 frondes stériles. Il semble donc qu’il n’y ait pas lieu de modifier le statut d’espèce en voie de disparition déjà attribué à l’adiante cheveux-de-Vénus.

Retournez à la table des matières

Remerciements

Beth Rogers, du British Columbia Conservation Data Centre, nous a fourni une liste des spécimens et des mentions connus de l’adiante cheveux-de-Vénus. Le présent rapport a été financé par le Service canadien de la faune d’Environnement Canada.

Retournez à la table des matières

Ouvrages cités

Brunton, D. 1984. Status report on the Southern Maidenhair Fern (Adiantum capillus-veneris) in Canada. Comité sur le statut des espèces menacées de disparition au Canada. Service canadien de la faune, Ottawa. Rapport inédit. 27 p.

Retournez à la table des matières

Les auteurs

David J. White détient un B.Sc. en biologie et travaille depuis plus de 25 ans à répertorier les zones naturelles ainsi qu’à évaluer la situation et l’importance des plantes rares. Il a effectué ses premiers relevés en 1972, dans le cadre du Programme biologique international. De 1973 à 1983, M. White a occupé le poste de technicien de recherche au Musée canadien de la nature. Durant cette période, il a été coauteur d’un certain nombre de publications sur les plantes rares, dont l’Atlas des plantes vasculaires rares de l’Ontario. Depuis 1984, il travaille à son propre compte à titre de consultant en sciences biologiques dans divers domaines, allant d’inventaires et d’évaluations des zones naturelles à des rapports sur les espèces envahissantes. M. White a déjà rédigé des rapports du COSEPAC sur la situation du ginseng à cinq folioles (Panax quinquefolius), de l’hydraste du Canada (Hydrastis canadensis) et de la bartonie paniculée (Bartonia paniculata).

George W. Douglas détient un doctorat en écologie végétale et étudie les plantes rares depuis plus de 15 ans. Il est l’auteur principal de l’ouvrage Les plantes vasculaires rares du Yukon (1981) ainsi qu’un des auteurs de The Rare Vascular Plants of British Columbia (1985). M. Douglas a également dirigé la rédaction du manuel The Vascular Plants of British Columbia (1989-1994). En 1991, il s’est joint au British Columbia Conservation Data Centre du Ministry of Environment de la Colombie-Britannique. Depuis, à titre de botaniste principal du programme, il est chargé de tenir un dossier et d’assurer un suivi sur les espèces rares de plantes vasculaires, bryophytes et lichens indigènes de la province. Au cours de la même période, M. Douglas a rédigé ou co-rédigé 15 rapports de situation du COSEPAC.

Retournez à la table des matières