Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and status report on the Chinook Salmon (Okanagan population) in Canada

Biographical Summary of the Report Writers

The primary authors of this report were Brent Phillips and Howie Wright.

Brent Phillips has a master’s degree in marine biology from the University of British Columbia (1994) and has been working as a consulting aquatic biologist for the past ten years, five of which have been in his current position as Senior Biologist with Summit Environmental Consultants Ltd., in Vernon, B.C.

Howie Wright is a registered professional biologist of British Columbia with the College of Applied Biology, a member of the Gitksan Nation, and is the lead biologist with the Okanagan Nation Alliance Fisheries Department. He graduated from the University of British Columbia (UBC) in 1995 with a Bachelor of Science in Ecology and Environmental Biology and recently completed his master’s degree at UBC (to be conferred May 2006). 


Collections Examined

The Royal BC Museum, the Canadian Museum of Nature, the University of British Columbia Department of Zoology, and the University of British Columbia Fish Museum were all consulted to determine if they had any specimens of Oncorhynchus tshawytscha from the Okanagan Basin. Contact names are listed above.

 

Page 15

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le saumon chinook population de l’Okanagan, au Canada

Sommaire biographique des rédacteurs du rapport

Brent Phillips et Howie Wright ont été les principaux rédacteurs du présent rapport.

Brent Phillips est titulaire d’une maîtrise en biologie marine de la University of British Columbia (1994) et il a travaillé comme biologiste de la vie aquatique et consultant au cours des dix dernières années, dont cinq à son poste actuel de biologiste principal au sein de Summit Environmental Consultants Ltd., à Vernon, en Colombie-Britannique.

Howie Wright, biologiste agréé de la Colombie-Britannique par le College of Applied Biology et membre de la nation Gitksan, est biologiste en chef du Fisheries Department de la Okanagan Nation Alliance. Il est titulaire d’un baccalauréat ès sciences avec spécialisation en écologie et en biologie environnementale de la University of British Columbia (1995) où il a obtenu récemment sa maîtrise (mai 2006).


Collections examinées

Le Royal BC Museum, le Musée canadien de la nature, le Department of Zoology de la University of British Columbia, et le Fish Museum de la University of British Columbia ont été consultés afin de déterminer si leurs collections contenaient des spécimens d’Oncorhynchus tshawytscha du bassin de l’Okanagan. Les noms des personnes ressources sont indiqués dans la liste ci-dessus.