Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and status report on the Chinook Salmon (Okanagan population) in Canada

COSEWIC Status Report
on the
Chinook salmon
Oncorhynchus tshawytscha
Okanagan population
in Canada
2006

Species Information

Name and Classification

Chinook salmon (Salmonidae: Oncorhynchus tshawytscha Walbaum) is one of seven species of the genus Oncorhynchus native to North America (Healey 1991). Other common names include spring salmon, king salmon, tyee, and quinnat (Scott and Crossman, 1973). There are two names for chinook salmon in the Okanagan River basin that are used by aboriginal Okanagan peoples: Ntitiyix, meaning “king salmon”, and Sk’elwis, meaning “old king salmon”, which was used to refer to spawners later in the year (Vedan, 2002). The common name in French is saumon chinook.


Morphological Description

Chinook salmon (Figure 1) adults are distinguished from other Oncorhynchus species by their large size (up to 45 kg), and by: (1) the presence of small black spots on both lobes of the caudal fin; (2) black gums at the base of the teeth in the lower jaw; and (3) the large number of pyloric caeca (>100) (McPhail and Lindsey, 1970 cited in Healey, 1991; McPhail and Carveth, 1994).

Chinook fry and parr are distinguished by the presence of parr marks extending well below the lateral line, the deepest of which are deeper than the vertical eye diameter (McPhail and Carveth, 1994). The adipose fin is normally unpigmented in the centre, but edged with black. The anal fin is usually only slightly falcate, and the leading rays do not reach past the posterior insertion of the fin when folded against the body. The anal fin has a white leading edge, but the adjacent dark line present in coho salmon (O. kisutch) is absent. However, juvenile characteristics are highly variable, so proper identification often requires meristic and pyloric caeca counts (Healey, 1991).


Figure 1: Chinook Salmon Female from the Okanagan River Basin (2002 spawning season)

Figure 1: Chinook salmon female from the Okanagan River Basin (2002 spawning season).


Genetic Description

The life history of chinook salmon, especially its anadromy and homing to natal streams for reproduction, results in reproductive isolation, genetic differentiation, and the development of local adaptations. Healey (1991) provides a description of chinook life histories, some of which is summarized here.

The chinook salmon life history includes two largely discrete behavioural forms: “stream-type” and “ocean-type”. The stream-type form is typical of Asian populations and of northern and headwater populations in North America (Healey, 1991). In many areas, stream-type chinook are referred to as “spring chinook” because of the timing of their re-entry to freshwater. Stream-type chinook spend one or more years rearing in freshwater as juveniles before migrating to the ocean, where they exhibit extensive offshore migrations for one or more years before re-entering freshwater in the spring or summer (i.e., many months before spawning in their natal habitat). Occasionally some males (and, more rarely, females) of this form do not migrate, but rear entirely in their natal freshwater habitat (Healey, 1991). For the purposes of this document, chinook salmon in the Okanagan River Basin that are the offspring of anadromous parents but rear entirely in their natal freshwater habitat are referred to as “residuals”, whereas those whose parents were not anadromous but reared entirely in their natal freshwater habitat are referred to as “residents”. The ocean-type chinook form is typical of North American populations south of Alaska. Juveniles of this form usually migrate to the ocean during their first year following emergence, normally within the first three months. Ocean-type chinook spend nearly their entire life in the ocean, re-entering freshwater in the summer or fall, a few days or weeks before spawning (Healey, 1991). Depending on the timing of their spawning migration, ocean-type chinook are commonly referred to as “summer chinook” or “fall chinook”, although there is considerable variability and overlap between the migration timing of spring, summer and fall chinook (Chapman et al., 1995; Fish and Hanavan, 1948).

The following description of genetic relationships among North American chinook populations is mainly derived from a summary of extensive analyses and discussion presented by Myers et al. (1998). Populations in south-central and northwestern Alaska are genetically distinct from populations in southeastern Alaska, which are most similar to stream-type populations in northern B.C. Ocean-type chinook salmon populations from Vancouver Island, the lower Fraser River, and southern B.C. form a genetically distinct, though diverse, group. Populations in Puget Sound and along the Washington Coast also form distinct groups. Within the Columbia River basin there appear to be two large genetic groups: ocean-type and stream-type chinook. All populations south of the Columbia River appear to consist of ocean-type chinook. Genetic groupings in this southern area include the northern Oregon Coast, southern Oregon Coast to the lower Klamath River in northern California, a California coastal group, and the Sacramento and San Joaquin River populations.

Within these broad population groups there may be several sub-groupings based on genetic, geographic, or behavioural considerations. For example, within the Columbia River basin, the National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS) has identified seven evolutionarily significant units (ESUs) of chinook: four ocean type and three stream-type (Myers et al., 1998). An ESU is a population or group of populations that is substantially reproductively isolated from other populations and represents an important component of the evolutionary legacy of the species (Waples, 1991). The genetic basis for designating ESUs within the U.S. has relied on frequencies of protein variants (allozymes), or of naturally occurring mutations in minisatellite and microsatellite loci and mitochondrial DNA (Myers et al., 1998). The degree of reproductive isolation is inferred from an analysis of the pattern of genetic distances between populations (Myers et al., 1998). In addition to this research in the U.S., Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO 1999a, b) proposed recognizing five or six distinct units of chinook salmon within the Fraser River basin (Candy et al., 2002).


Designatable Unit: Okanagan chinook

The case for recognizing Okanagan chinook as a COSEWIC Designatable Unit (DU) is based on this population’s: (1) genetic differentiation from other Canadian chinook salmon populations; (2) geographic and reproductive isolation; and (3) unusual life history characteristics. These aspects of the Okanagan chinook population are described in the following paragraphs. This unique population of chinook salmon in Canada will be referred to as “Okanagan chinook."

Genetics

The Okanagan chinook is genetically differentiated from all other Canadian chinook salmon populations. Chinook populations in North America have been grouped into ESUs (or equivalents) (e.g., Waknitz et al., 1995; Myers et al., 1998, Teel et al., 1999; Candy et al., 2002), with the units in the Columbia River basin found to be genetically distinct from those in the Fraser basin (or elsewhere in Canada), likely because of different glacial histories (Myers et al., 1998). The Canadian Okanagan chinook population is the only remaining Columbia River basin chinook population in Canada.

Examination of genetic relationships between the Okanagan chinook and other populations in the Columbia River basin has only recently begun. Beginning in 2000, tissue samples have been collected from a total of 36 unclipped (i.e., not hatchery marked) chinook captured in the Okanagan River or Osoyoos Lake. A single fish was sampled in each of 2000, 2002, and 2003, while three were sampled in 2004 and the remaining 28 in 2005. In addition, a tissue sample was collected from one fin-clipped (i.e., hatchery origin) chinook in 2005; although this sample was not included with the unclipped fish when compared to other populations (Anonymous 2006).

As detailed in Anonymous 2006, Okanagan chinook clustered with upper Columbia summer and fall run chinook salmon populations. The longer dendrogram branch length associated with the Okanagan River sample reflects the larger (Cavalli-Sforza Edward chord) distances between it and the other samples in the group (Figure 2).


Figure 2: Dendrogram of Cavalli-Sforza and Edwards (1967) Chord Distances Based on 12 Microsatellite Loci for Chinook Salmon Populations in the Columbia and Okanagan Basins

Figure 2: Dendrogram of Cavalli-Sforza and Edwards (1967) chord distances based on 12 microsatellite loci for chinook salmon populations in the Columbia and Okanagan Basins.

Reproduced from DFO MGL (2006). See Candy et al. (2002) for methods.

However, this distinctiveness of the Okanagan sample is attributable in part to the small sample size relative to both the Similkameen (N= 92) and Wenatchee (N=93) samples, and especially to the close familial relationships between the sampled fish in 2005 (DFO MGL 2006). Of the 28 fish sampled in 2005, 21 were closely related, either full or half siblings, to at least one other fish. The whole group of 28 chinook was the offspring of 11 fish of one sex and 18 fish of the other. Estimates of FST (a measure of genetic differentiation) between the Okanagan River sample and the Similkameen and Wenatchee Rivers were relatively low (mean FST = 0.016) despite the fact that the FST value was likely inflated by the presence of closely related fish in the Okanagan sample. Finally, in spite of the small numbers of spawners observed and their high degree of inter-relatedness in 2005 the allelic richness of the Okanagan sample (AR = 12.6) was comparable to other, larger populations in the Columbia River basin (mean AR = 11.9). Collectively, the genetic data indicate that the Okanagan River population is closely related to and likely derived at least in part from stray spawners from other populations in U.S. portions of the upper Columbia River drainage, a conclusion consistent with the presence of adipose-clipped chinook salmon in the river.

Nonetheless, an important implication of the close familial relationship between the chinook sampled on the spawning grounds in 2005 is that it provides strong evidence of successful out-migration, return and survival to spawning of Okanagan-produced chinook.

Geographic/Reproductive Isolation

The Canadian Okanagan chinook population is geographically and reproductively isolated from other Canadian chinook populations. The Okanagan River in British Columbia is the only portion of the Columbia River basin in Canada that is currently accessible to anadromous salmonids. Historically, prior to the construction of Grand Coulee Dam (completed in 1939), large numbers of salmon spawned as far upstream as the outlet to Lake Windermere, British Columbia (Fulton, 1968; Scholz et al., 1985; Chapman et al., 1995). The spawning grounds for the Canadian Okanagan chinook population are nearly 1000 km from the mouth of the Columbia River, and about 1400 km, by water, from the closest chinook salmon populations along the coast of BC. Although only a few kilometres would have separated the Okanagan and South Thompson (Fraser basin) chinook salmon (prior to the exclusion of chinook salmon from Okanagan Lake), this separation is believed to have existed since late in the last ice age. Presumably straying rates for all Columbia River basin chinook salmon populations (and those elsewhere) are very low, since Columbia River basin chinook salmon are in different ESUs than those in immediately adjacent coastal areas. Hatchery-produced chinook have been observed on the spawning grounds in the Okanagan River so clearly the Okanagan chinook population is influenced by chinook from neighbouring populations.

Life History Characteristics

The Okanagan chinook exhibits unusual life history characteristics when compared to chinook salmon in the U.S. portion of the Okanagan basin (Similkameen). The principal difference is the extended period of freshwater rearing by juveniles, with the additional possibility of freshwater maturation. The evidence of freshwater maturation is that: (1) seven young (mostly aged 1+) chinook captured in Osoyoos Lake in September 2003 were resorbing scales, consistent with scale resorption prior to reproduction in older anadromous salmon (ONAFD, unpublished data, 2005): (2) the stomach samples of six of these seven chinook contained sockeye fry, indicating piscivory (an adult characteristic), and the six also exhibited additional internal features of sexual maturation (ONAFD, unpublished data, 2005); and (3) in the 2005 Okanagan River samples, 4 of 17 female chinook were fully reproductively mature at three years of age, earlier than known for anadromous females.

Additional field assessment is required to determine whether these freshwater-rearing chinook salmon spawn in the Okanagan River. If they do spawn, these residuals/residents may have retained some of the population’s historic genetic lineage, bridging the period when the Grand Coulee Fish Maintenance Program (GCFMP) excluded anadromous fish from the Okanagan River. Under the GCFMP, most upstream migrating anadromous fish from the Upper Columbia River were captured in the fishway at Rock Island Dam for five years (1939-1943). The fish were then used as hatchery broodstock or were transported to major rivers upstream of Rock Island Dam (excluding the Okanagan) to spawn naturally. Hatchery out-plants were also released into selected rivers upstream of Rock Island Dam, with sockeye being the only anadromous salmon released directly into the Okanagan River. By 1944, it is possible that many of the returning runs of chinook to the Upper Columbia were the progeny of the mixed-stock hatchery and relocated stocks (Fish and Hanavan, 1948); however, some wild 6-year-old chinook may have returned to their natal streams in 1944 (Mullan, 1987) and continued existing lineages. It is also not known if any Okanagan chinook that were released upstream of the dam found their way to the Okanagan River.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le saumon chinook population de l’Okanagan, au Canada

Rapport de situation du COSEPAC
sur le
Saumon chinook
Oncorhynchus tshawytscha
population de l'Okanagan
au Canada
2006

Information sur l'espèce

Nom et classification

Le saumon chinook (Salmonidés : Oncorhynchus tshawytscha Walbaum) est l’une de sept espèces du genre Oncorhynchus indigènes de l’Amérique du Nord (Healey, 1991). On l’appelle aussi quinnat (Scott et Crossman, 1973). Les peuples autochtones de l’Okanagan utilisent deux noms pour le saumon chinook du bassin de la rivière Okanagan : ntitiyix, qui signifie « saumon royal », et sk’elwis, qui signifie « vieux saumon royal », que l’on utilisait pour désigner les reproducteurs, plus tard dans l’année (Vedan, 2002). Le nom commun anglais est chinook salmon.


Description morphologique

Le saumon chinook (figure 1) adulte se distingue des autres espèces d’Oncorhynchus par sa grande taille (jusqu’à 45 kg) et par : 1) la présence de petites taches noires sur les deux lobes de la nageoire caudale; 2) des gencives noires à la base des dents de la mâchoire inférieure; 3) le grand nombre de caeca pyloriques (> 100) (McPhail et Lindsey, 1970, cité dans Healey, 1991; McPhail et Carveth, 1994). 

Les alevins et tacons de chinook se distinguent par la présence de taches latérales (marques de tacon) qui descendent bien en dessous de la ligne latérale, la longueur des plus longues étant supérieure au diamètre vertical de l’œil (McPhail et Carveth, 1994). La nageoire adipeuse est normalement non pigmentée au centre, mais est bordée de noir. La nageoire anale n’est habituellement que légèrement falquée, et les rayons antérieurs ne dépassent pas l’insertion postérieure de la nageoire quand on les replie contre le corps. Le bord antérieur de la nageoire anale est blanc, mais la ligne sombre adjacente présente chez le saumon coho (O. kisutch) est absente. Cependant, comme les caractéristiques des juvéniles sont très variables, une identification exacte exige souvent le dénombrement des caeca pyloriques et l’examen d’autres valeurs méristiques (Healey, 1991).


Figure 1 : Saumon chinook femelle du bassin de la rivière Okanagan (saison de fraye 2002).

Figure 1.  Saumon chinook femelle du bassin de la rivière Okanagan


Description génétique

Le cycle de vie du saumon chinook, notamment son anadromie et son retour au cours d’eau natal pour la reproduction, se traduit par un isolement reproductif, une différenciation génétique et le développement d’adaptations locales. Healey (1991) fournit une description des cycles de vie du chinook, que nous résumons ici.

Le cycle de vie du saumon chinook comprend deux formes comportementales en grande partie distinctes : le « type dulcicole » et le « type océanique ». La forme dulcicole est typique des populations asiatiques et des populations nordiques et des eaux d’amont en Amérique du Nord (Healey, 1991). Dans de nombreuses régions, le chinook de type dulcicole est appelé « chinook de printemps » en raison du moment de son retour en eau douce. Les chinooks de type dulcicole passent une ou plusieurs années à grossir en eau douce comme juvéniles avant de migrer vers l’océan, où ils effectuent de grandes migrations en pleine mer durant une ou plusieurs années avant de revenir en eau douce au printemps ou à l’été (soit de nombreux mois avant la fraye dans leur habitat natal). Parfois, certains mâles (et, plus rarement, des femelles) de cette forme ne migrent pas et se développent entièrement dans leur habitat d’eau douce natal (Healey, 1991). Pour les fins du présent document, les saumons chinooks du bassin de la rivière Okanagan qui sont la progéniture de parents anadromes, mais qui se développent entièrement dans leur habitat d’eau douce natal sont appelés « résiduels », alors que ceux dont les parents n’étaient pas anadromes et qui se développent eux aussi entièrement dans leur habitat d’eau douce natal sont appelés « résidents ». La forme océanique du chinook est typique des populations de l’Amérique du Nord situées au sud de l’Alaska. Les juvéniles de cette forme migrent habituellement vers l’océan durant leur première année après l’émergence, normalement au cours des trois premiers mois. Les chinooks de type océanique passent presque toute leur vie dans l’océan et reviennent en eau douce à l’été ou à l’automne, quelques jours ou quelques semaines avant la fraye (Healey, 1991). Selon le moment de leur migration de reproduction, les chinooks de type océanique sont communément appelés « chinooks d’été » ou « chinooks d’automne », mais il y a beaucoup de variabilité à ce chapitre ainsi qu’un fort chevauchement entre les périodes de montaison des chinooks de printemps, d’été et d’automne (Chapman et al., 1995; Fish et Hanavan, 1948).

La description suivante des relations génétiques entre les populations de chinooks de l’Amérique du Nord provient principalement d’un résumé d’analyses approfondies présentées par Myers et al. (1998). Les populations du centre-sud et du nord-ouest de l’Alaska sont génétiquement distinctes des populations du sud-est de l’Alaska, qui ressemblent beaucoup aux populations de type dulcicole du nord de la Colombie-Britannique. Les populations de saumon chinook de type océanique de l’île de Vancouver, du bas Fraser et du sud de la Colombie-Britannique forment un groupe génétiquement distinct, bien que diversifié. Les populations du Puget Sound et de la côte de l’État de Washington forment également des groupes distincts. Dans le bassin du fleuve Columbia, il semble y avoir deux grands groupes génétiques : les chinooks de type océanique et de type dulcicole. Toutes les populations qui se trouvent au sud du Columbia semblent être composées de chinook de type océanique. Les groupes génétiques de cette région du sud sont les suivants : côte nord de l’Oregon, côte sud de l’Oregon jusqu’au cours inférieur de la rivière Klamath (nord de la Californie), un groupe côtier de la Californie, et les populations de la rivière Sacramento et du fleuve San Joaquin.

Dans ces grands groupes de populations, il peut y avoir plusieurs sous-groupes basés sur des considérations génétiques, géographiques ou comportementales. Par exemple, dans le bassin du fleuve Columbia, le National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS) a identifié sept unités évolutionnaires significatives (UES) de chinook : quatre de type océanique et trois de type dulcicole (Myers et al., 1998). Une UES est une population ou un groupe de populations qui est en grande partie isolée sur le plan reproductif d’autres populations et qui représente une composante importante du patrimoine évolutionnaire de l’espèce (Waples, 1991). La justification génétique de la désignation des UES aux États-Unis se base sur les fréquences de variantes protéiques (alloenzymes) ou de mutations naturelles dans les loci minisatellites et microsatellites et l’ADN mitochondrial (Myers et al., 1998). Le degré d’isolement reproductif est indiqué par une analyse des distances génétiques entre les populations (Myers et al., 1998). En plus de cette recherche américaine, le ministère des Pêches et des Océans (MPO, 1999a; idem, 1999b) a proposé de reconnaître cinq ou six unités distinctes de saumon chinook dans le bassin du Fraser (Candy et al., 2002).   


Unité désignable : chinook de l’Okanagan

Les arguments pour reconnaître le chinook de l’Okanagan comme unité désignable du COSEPAC se basent sur : 1) sa différentiation génétique par rapport à d’autres populations canadiennes de saumon chinook; 2) son isolement géographique et reproductif; 3) les caractéristiques inhabituelles de son cycle de vie. Ces aspects de la population de chinook de l’Okanagan sont décrits dans les paragraphes suivants. Nous appellerons cette population unique de saumons chinooks du Canada « chinook de l’Okanagan ».

Génétique

Le chinook de l’Okanagan est génétiquement différencié par rapport à toutes les autres populations canadiennes de saumons chinooks. Les populations de chinooks de l’Amérique du Nord ont été regroupées en UES (ou l’équivalent) (voir, p. ex., Waknitz et al. [1995], Myers et al. [1998], Teel et al. [1999], Candy et al. [2002]), les unités du bassin du fleuve Columbia s’étant avérées génétiquement distinctes de celles du bassin du Fraser (ou d’ailleurs au Canada), probablement en raison d’histoires glaciaires différentes (Myers et al., 1998). La population canadienne de chinooks de l’Okanagan est la seule population restante de chinooks du bassin du fleuve Columbia au Canada. 

La comparaison génétique du chinook de l’Okanagan avec d’autres populations du bassin du fleuve Columbia n’a commencé que récemment. À partir de 2000, des échantillons de tissus ont été prélevés sur un total de 36 chinooks sans nageoire coupée (c.-à-d. non marqués en écloserie) capturés dans la rivière Okanagan ou le lac Osoyoos. Un seul poisson a été échantillonné en 2000, en 2002 et en 2003, 3, en 2004, et les 28 restants, en 2005. De plus, un échantillon de tissu a été prélevé sur un chinook à nageoire marquée (c.-à-d. provenant d’une écloserie) en 2005; toutefois, cet échantillon n’a pas été pris en compte pour la comparaison avec d’autres populations (anonyme, 2006). 

Tel qu’il a été indiqué dans un document consulté (anonyme, 2006), au terme de l’analyse génétique présentée, les chinooks de l’Okanagan se sont trouvés regroupés avec des populations de saumons chinooks du haut Columbia effectuant leur montaison en été et en automne. La plus grande longueur de la branche du dendrogramme associée à l’échantillon de la rivière Okanagan indique qu’il est le plus distant (distance génétique de Cavalli-Sforza et Edwards) parmi les échantillons du groupe (figure 2). Cependant, le caractère fortement distinct de l’échantillon de l’Okanagan est attribuable, en partie à la petite taille des échantillons des rivières Similkameen (N = 92) et Wenatchee (N = 93) et surtout aux liens de parenté étroits entre les poissons échantillonnés en 2005 (LGM du MPO, 2006). Des 28 poissons échantillonnés en 2005, 21 étaient étroitement apparentés, soit frères ou sœurs ou demi-frères ou demi-sœurs, à au moins un autre poisson. L’ensemble du groupe de 28 chinooks était la progéniture de 11 poissons d’un sexe et de 18 poissons de l’autre sexe. Les estimés de l’indice FST (une mesure de la différenciation génétique) entre l’échantillon de la rivière Okanagan et ceux des rivières Similkameen et Wenatchee ont été relativement bas (soit FST = 0,016), même si l’indice FST a été probablement surévalué en raison de la présence de poissons aux liens de parenté étroits dans l’échantillon de la rivière Okanagan. En définitive, malgré le faible nombre de reproducteurs observés et leur degré élevé de parenté en 2005, la diversité allélique de l’échantillon de l’Okanagan (AR = 12,6) a été comparable aux autres populations plus importantes du bassin du fleuve Columbia (soit AR = 11,9). Collectivement, les données génétiques indiquent que la population de la rivière Okanagan est notablement influencée par des reproducteurs égarés d’autres populations des parties américaines du bassin supérieur du fleuve Columbia ou, du moins, vraisemblablement égarés de celles-ci, une conclusion compatible avec la présence dans la rivière de saumons chinooks dont la nageoire adipeuse a été coupée.

Néanmoins, une implication importante de la parenté étroite constatée entre les chinooks échantillonnés dans les frayères en 2005 démontre clairement la réussite de la migration de sortie, du retour et de la survie jusqu’à la fraye des chinooks produits dans l’Okanagan.

Isolement géographique et reproductif

La population canadienne de chinooks de l’Okanagan est isolée sur le plan géographique et reproductif des autres populations canadiennes de chinooks. La rivière Okanagan en Colombie-Britannique est la seule partie du bassin du fleuve Columbia au Canada qui est actuellement accessible aux salmonidés anadromes. Anciennement, avant la construction du barrage de Grand Coulee (terminé en 1939), de grands nombres de saumons frayaient en amont jusqu’à la décharge du lac Windermere, en Colombie-Britannique (Fulton, 1968; Scholz et al., 1985; Chapman et al., 1995). Les frayères de la population canadienne de chinooks de l’Okanagan se trouvent à près de 1 000 km de l’embouchure du fleuve Columbia et à environ 1 400 km, par voie d’eau, des populations de saumons chinooks les plus proches le long de la côte de la Colombie-Britannique. Bien que seulement quelques kilomètres auraient séparé les saumons chinooks de l’Okanagan et de la Thompson Sud (bassin du Fraser) (avant l’exclusion des saumons chinooks du lac Okanagan), on croit que cette séparation existe depuis la fin de la dernière période glaciaire. Le taux de dispersion de l’ensemble des populations de saumons chinooks du bassin du fleuve Columbia (et de celles d’ailleurs) est probablement très faible, car les saumons chinooks du bassin du fleuve Columbia se trouvent dans des UES différentes de ceux des zones côtières immédiatement adjacentes. Par ailleurs, on a observé des chinooks produits en écloserie dans les frayères de la rivière Okanagan; il est donc évident que la population de chinooks de l’Okanagan est influencée par les chinooks des populations voisines.

Caractéristiques du cycle biologique

Le cycle biologique du chinook de l’Okanagan présente des caractéristiques inhabituelles par rapport à celui du saumon chinook de la partie américaine du bassin de l’Okanagan (Similkameen). La principale différence est la longue période de grossissement en eau douce des juvéniles, et la possibilité supplémentaire de maturation en eau douce. Les preuves de maturation en eau douce sont les suivantes : 1) sept jeunes chinooks (la plupart âgés de plus d’un an) capturés dans le lac Osoyoos en septembre 2003 avaient des écailles résorbées, caractéristique observée avant la reproduction chez les saumons anadromes âgés (FDONA, données inédites, 2005); 2) les échantillons stomacaux de six de ces sept chinooks contenaient des alevins de saumon rouge, ce qui indique des habitudes piscivores (une caractéristique des adultes), et les six montraient également des caractéristiques de maturation sexuelle (FDONA, données inédites, 2005); 3) dans les échantillons de 2005 de la rivière Okanagan, 4 des 17 chinooks femelles avaient atteint une maturité reproductive complète à l’âge de trois ans, soit à un âge plus précoce que celui connu pour les femelles anadromes.


Figure 2 : Dendrogramme des distances génétiques de Cavalli-Sforza et Edwards (1967) basé sur 12 loci microsatellites pour des populations de saumons chinooks des bassins du Columbia et de l’Okanagan

Figure 2 : Dendrogramme des distances génétiques de Cavalli-Sforza et Edwards (1967) basé sur 12 loci microsatellites pour des populations de saumons chinooks des bassins du Columbia et de l’Okanagan. Figure tirée d’un document anonyme.

Figure tirée d’un document anonyme (LGM du MPO, 2006). Voir Candy et al. (2002) pour les méthodesutilisées.

D’autres études sur le terrain sont nécessaires pour déterminer si les saumons chinooks qui se développent entièrement en eau douce frayent dans la rivière Okanagan. Si c’est le cas, ces saumons résiduels/résidents pourraient avoir conservé une partie du patrimoine génétique de la lignée de la population, une continuité ayant ainsi pu être assurée durant la période dans laquelle le Grand Coulee Fish Maintenance Program (GCFMP) a empêché les poissons anadromes d’atteindre la rivière Okanagan. Dans le cadre du GCFMP, la plupart des poissons anadromes en montaison dans le haut Columbia ont été capturés à l’échelle à poissons du barrage Rock Island durant cinq ans (de 1939 à 1943). Les poissons avaient alors été utilisés comme géniteurs d’écloserie ou relâchés dans de grandes rivières en amont du barrage Rock Island (mais pas dans l’Okanagan) pour se reproduire naturellement. Des poissons produits en écloserie ont également été lâchés dans certaines rivières en amont du barrage Rock Island, le saumon rouge étant le seul saumon anadrome lâché directement dans la rivière Okanagan. En 1944, il est possible qu’un bon nombre des chinooks qui remontaient jusque dans le haut Columbia étaient la progéniture des stocks mélangés d’écloserie et des stocks relocalisés (Fish et Hanavan, 1948); cependant, des chinooks sauvages âgés de six ans peuvent être revenus dans leur cours d’eau natal en 1944 (Mullan, 1987) et avoir ainsi assuré la continuité de leurs lignées. On ne sait pas non plus si des chinooks de l’Okanagan qui avaient été mis à l’eau en amont du barrage ont pu retrouver la rivière Okanagan.