Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and status report on the Chinook Salmon (Okanagan population) in Canada

Distribution

Global Range

Spawning populations of chinook salmon are distributed from northern Hokkaido (Japan) to the Anadyr River (Russia) on the Asian coast, and from central California to Kotzebue Sound (Alaska) on the North American coast (Figure 3). Spawning occurs from near tidewater to over 3,200 km upstream in the headwaters of the Yukon River (Major et al., 1978 cited in Healey, 1991). Spawning stream-type and ocean-type chinook populations are geographically separated to a considerable degree: whereas Asian and Alaskan chinook populations are mainly stream-type, those in the remainder of the North American populations are predominantly ocean-type (Healey, 1983, Healey, 1991). Where stream- and ocean-type populations are found in the same river, stream-type fish tend to be found in headwater spawning areas and ocean-type in downstream spawning areas (Myers et al., 1998; Healey and Jordan, 1982), although these behavioural “types” may simply be a continuum of temperature-driven behaviour (Brannon et al. 2004). While ocean-type chinook tend not to disperse more than 1000 km from their natal river or far from shore (Healey, 1983), stream-type chinook tend to disperse more broadly and further offshore (Healey, 1991).


Figure 3: Map of the North Pacific Ocean and Bering Sea, showing the distribution of chinook spawning populations (stippled)

Figure 3: Map of the North Pacific Ocean and Bering Sea, showing the distribution of chinook spawning populations.

Used with permission from M.C. Healey, Fisheries and Oceans Canada.


Canadian Range

Chinook salmon are native to rivers along the entire west coast of Canada, and may also be found in rivers on the Arctic coast (Healey, 1983). In addition, naturally spawning populations may have become established from transplants in the Laurentian Great Lakes (Carl, 1984).

In the Okanagan Basin (Figure 4), First Nations have reported that chinook were once heavily fished at Okanagan Falls (i.e., outlet of Skaha Lake), and that chinook were able to reach both Skaha and Okanagan Lakes (Ernst, 1999; Ernst and Vedan, 2000). Corroboration of these claims is found in the reports of Clemens et al. (1939), Gartrell (DFO, unpublished files, December 1919 and April 1920), and Kelowna Fish and Game Association (DFO, unpublished files, August 1924). Chinook cannot currently reach either Okanagan Falls or any of the lakes upstream of Osoyoos Lake due to the presence of McIntyre dam at the outlet of Vaseaux Lake.


Figure 4: Map of Okanagan Basin in Relation to British Columbia and Washington State

Figure 4: Map of Okanagan Basin in relation to British Columbia and Washington State.

Map reprinted with permission of Paul Rankin, DFO.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le saumon chinook population de l’Okanagan, au Canada

Répartition

Aire de répartition mondiale

Les populations reproductrices de saumons chinooks sont réparties du nord de l’île d’Hokkaido (Japon) jusqu’au fleuve Anadyr (Russie), sur la côte asiatique, et du centre de la Californie à la baie de Kotzebue (Alaska), sur la côte de l’Amérique du Nord (figure 3). La fraye se produit depuis non loin des eaux à marée jusqu’à plus de 3 200 km en amont, aux sources du fleuve Yukon (Major et al., 1978, cité dans Healey, 1991). Les populations de chinooks reproducteurs de type dulcicole et de type océanique sont séparées géographiquement à un degré considérable : alors que les populations de chinooks de l’Asie et de l’Alaska sont principalement de type dulcicole, celles du reste de l’Amérique du Nord sont surtout de type océanique (Healey, 1983; Healey, 1991). Lorsque des populations de type dulcicole et de type océanique se trouvent dans le même cours d’eau, les poissons de type dulcicole ont tendance à occuper les frayères d’amont et ceux de type océanique, les frayères d’aval (Myers et al., 1998; Healey et Jordan, 1982), mais il se pourrait que ces types comportementaux soient simplement conditionnés par le continuum de température (Brannon et al., 2004). Bien que le chinook de type océanique ait tendance à ne pas se disperser à plus de 1 000 km de sa rivière natale ou loin de la côte (Healey, 1983), le chinook de type dulcicole a tendance à se disperser plus largement et en haute mer (Healey, 1991).


Figure 3 : Carte du nord du Pacifique et de la mer de Béring indiquant la répartition des populations reproductrices de chinooks (en pointillé)

Figure 3 : Carte du nord du Pacifique et de la mer de Béring indiquant la répartition des populations reproductrices de chinooks (en pointillé).

.

Reproduction autorisée par M.C. Healey, de Pêches et Océans Canada).


Aire de répartition canadienne

Le saumon chinook est indigène des cours d’eau situés le long de toute la côte ouest du Canada et peut également se trouver dans les rivières de la côte arctique (Healey, 1983). De plus, des populations qui se reproduisent naturellement pourraient s’être établies à partir d’individus transplantés dans les Grands Lacs laurentiens (Carl, 1984).

Dans le bassin de l’Okanagan (figure 4), les Premières Nations ont indiqué que le chinook faisait autrefois l’objet d’une pêche importante aux chutes Okanagan (décharge du lac Skaha), et qu’il pouvait atteindre les lacs Skaha et Okanagan (Ernst, 1999; Ernst et Vedan, 2000). Ces allégations sont corroborées dans les rapports de Clemens et al. (1939), Gartrell (MPO, dossiers inédits, décembre 1919 et avril 1920), et de la Kelowna Fish and Game Association (MPO, dossiers inédits, août 1924). Actuellement, le chinook ne peut atteindre ni les chutes Okanagan ni aucun des lacs en amont du lac Osoyoos en raison de la présence du barrage McIntyre à la décharge du lac Vaseux.


Figure 4 : Cartes du bassin de l’Okanagan en Colombie-Britannique et dans l’État de Washington

Figure 4.    Cartes du bassin de l’Okanagan en Colombie-Britannique et dans l’État de Washington. La carte est reproduite avec l’autorisation de Paul Rankin, de Pêches et Océans Canada.

La carte est reproduite avec l’autorisation de Paul Rankin, de Pêches et Océans Canada.