Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and status report on the Chinook Salmon (Okanagan population) in Canada

Habitat

Habitat Requirements

Chinook salmon rearing occurs in streams, as well as lakes, estuaries, and the ocean. Maturing adults migrate to spawn in their natal streams, whereupon the adults die. However, precociously maturing fish, especially sub-yearling males, may be able to recover from spawning and spawn again in a subsequent year (Mullan et al., 1992).

While chinook spawning habitat includes a broad range of water depths, water velocities, and substrates (e.g., Scott and Crossman, 1973; Healey, 1991), it is often patchily distributed within apparently uniform habitats, suggesting that other factors, such as intra-gravel flow, may be most critical (M. Healey, personal communication, 2004). In some cases, however, water velocity and substrate have been found to be useful predictors of preferred chinook spawning habitat (Gallagher and Gard, 1999). Spawning habitat characteristics for Okanagan chinook, based on measurements taken at 18 redds in 2002 and 2003, have been documented (Table 1; Phillips and Wright 2005).

Table 1: Chinook Spawning Habitat Characteristics in the Okanagan River
 Depth (m)Mean Velocity (m/s)Substrate Size D90 (m)Substrate Size D50 (m)
Mean0.490.650.100.05
Std Dev.0.160.190.030.02
Minimum0.200.340.050.03
Maximum0.751.140.140.10

Phillips and Wright (2005) estimated that there could be spawning habitat for between 1260 and 4340 spawning pairs of Okanagan chinook between Osoyoos Lake and McIntyre Dam. The upper end of the habitat availability range is based on the above factors and is a likely over-estimate; however, the lower end of the range also considers areas of groundwater inflow in the river and observed redd associations with instream bars and islands.

Estimates of the area of the Okanagan River and Osoyoos Lake that are available for spawning and juvenile rearing suggest that the geographic extent of occurrence (EO) of Okanagan chinook is roughly 16 km2, and that the area of occupancy (AO) is only slightly less at perhaps 15 km2 in Canadian freshwaters. Anadromous individuals also use the Columbia River as a migration corridor, and the Pacific Ocean for growth to adulthood (neither of which are included in calculations of EO and AO).


Habitat Trends

Stream Habitat

As in the United States, chinook salmon in Canada have been adversely affected by numerous factors, including water withdrawals, construction of dams (for power generation or water diversion) that limit fish passage or entrain/harm migrating fish, and degradation of habitat through industrial, agricultural and urban usage (Raymond, 1988; Myers et al., 1998). Habitat loss/degradation might be inferred, in part, from the historical decline in chinook salmon abundance in the Upper Columbia River (i.e., hundreds of thousands of chinook salmon in the Upper Columbia River in the mid-1800s vs. about 58,000 in the same area in recent years; Myers et al., 1998).

Loss of habitat (or access to habitat) for spawning, rearing and holding has had an unknown impact on the Okanagan chinook population. Had access been restricted while the run was still strong, the impacts would likely have been profound. However, the run was probably already depressed, possibly by factors outside the basin, by the time the mainstem dams in Canada were constructed. Historical reports and Okanagan traditional knowledge indicate that chinook had originally had access to Okanagan Lake (Clemens et al. 1939, Ernst 1999, Vedan 2002).

The long history of major mainstem channel modifications in the Canadian Okanagan basin began in about 1910, with modifications to the outlet of Okanagan Lake (Symonds, 2000). Since that time, dams have been constructed at the outlets to Okanagan Lake (Penticton Dam), Skaha Lake (Okanagan Falls Dam), Vaseaux Lake (McIntyre Dam), and Osoyoos Lake (Zosel Dam in the U.S.). Only Zosel Dam at the outlet to Osoyoos Lake is regularly passable to upstream migrating fish. While McIntyre Dam can be managed to permit passage of adult salmonids at some times of year (Summit and ONFC, 2002), this is not the usual practice. At present, all anadromous salmonids spawn downstream of McIntyre Dam, unless a few are permitted to pass the dam.

In addition to loss of access to habitat, there have been major direct losses of spawning and rearing habitat in the Canadian Okanagan River. Most of the river between Okanagan and Osoyoos Lakes has been straightened and channeled (Symonds, 2000). Where there once was over 10 km of channel (about 80 000 m2) between Okanagan and Skaha Lakes that was suitable for use by spawning sockeye (and presumably chinook), there is now only about 3 km of channel suitable for spawning (Anonymous, 1909; Summit, 2003). Similar or greater habitat losses have occurred throughout the mainstem Okanagan River in Canada wherever the river has been channeled (Hourston 1954): one estimate puts the loss of natural accessible river channel at 91% (Bull 1999). However, this does not necessarily mean that there has been an equivalent reduction in suitable habitat for spawning salmonids. The amount of summer rearing habitat in the river (i.e., groundwater-fed side channels) that has been lost is unknown. However, it is likely that little usable summer habitat remains in the dyked sections of channel due to the absence of side channels and other areas where groundwater inflow may have a significant temperature-moderating effect.

At present, the Okanagan River is used by spawning Okanagan chinook and may be used by rearing juveniles for a period ranging from days to months or longer. High water temperatures in the river limit the period when mature Okanagan chinook can enter the river, both for migration and spawning, and limit the area available for rearing juveniles. During the summer months, water temperatures in the river are often in the lethal range for chinook salmon, except in groundwater-fed side channels (ONA, 2003). Juvenile salmonids have been observed in side channels of the river when temperatures in the rest of the river were 24 °C (Alexis et al. 2003). Water temperatures in the river prior to construction of the mainstem dams and other channel modifications are not known.

Following the last major channel modifications in the 1950s, fish habitat in the river has remained relatively unchanged until the past five years. Stream channel habitat conditions do not appear to have degenerated in the past 50 years. In fact, water quality in the river has probably improved in the past 20 years in response to widespread improvements to sewage treatment in upstream areas. Other habitat improvements include the addition of fish screens to many water intakes on the river and the experimental addition of rock riffles (to increase habitat diversity and improve fish passage) in a channeled section of river. Another major improvement is a water management initiative directed at improving decision-making for the benefit of fish in the mainstem river and lakes (COBTWG, 2004). The water management initiative is expected to significantly improve sockeye--and presumably chinook--smolt production (COBTWG, 2004). Lastly, there are conceptual plans to re-naturalize the Okanagan River to its fullest extent, with measures including re-oxbowing, set-back dyking, riparian restoration, and construction of instream riffles (Gaboury et al. 2000). Implementation of this concept has begun with an area along the Okanagan River purchased and identified for set-back dyke restoration.

Lake Habitat

Due to historical dam construction and current dam management practices Osoyoos Lake provides the only lake-rearing habitat available to anadromous salmon in the Okanagan basin. Adult Okanagan chinook hold in the lake for weeks or months prior to spawning, and juveniles rear in the lake for a period ranging from weeks to years. Most of the detailed observations on rearing conditions in Osoyoos Lake have been focused on sockeye salmon, but much of this information also applies to Okanagan chinook.

Osoyoos Lake consists of a series of three basins, with the southern-most basin spanning the Canada-United States international boundary. The lake has a mean depth of 15 m and a water residency time of about 0.7 years (Pinsent et al. 1974). It is classified as a mesotrophic lake, with phosphorus as a limiting nutrient (Wright 2002). There has been no paleolimnological work conducted on Osoyoos Lake, so historical information is lacking. However, phosphorus reduction measures were implemented (as in the other mainstem Okanagan lakes) in the early 1970s due to water quality issues (Pinsent et al. 1974). Jensen and Epp (2001) note that water quality has improved in terms of phosphorus reduction: where spring phosphorus loading in the early 1970s was about 25-30 µg/L, today it averages 15-20 µg/L.

Osoyoos Lake has a high percentage of littoral area (23%) compared to Skaha and Okanagan Lakes (15%) (Wright, 2002). However, high epilimnetic water temperatures likely limit littoral habitat usage by chinook during the growing season (April to November). In addition, exotic Eurasian milfoil (Myriophyllum spicatum) has spread rapidly in Okanagan littoral areas and would provide additional habitat for exotic “ambush” predator species such as largemouth bass (Wright et al. 2002). Beach seining for sockeye in the north basin of Osoyoos Lake in 2002 found that fry were present in low abundance in littoral areas until water temperatures exceeded 17 °C (mid-June), at which time they move offshore (ONAFD, unpublished data, 2005). In addition, rearing habitat in the lake may be further constrained in late summer and fall by high water temperatures in the epilimnion and low dissolved oxygen levels in the hypolimnion (Wright 2002; Wright and Lawrence 2003). This habitat squeeze between high water temperatures in the epilimnion and low dissolved oxygen levels in the hypolimnion is particularly severe in the two southern basins of the lake, such that all sockeye (and likely Okanagan chinook) production in Osoyoos Lake is from the northern basin (Hyatt & Rankin, 1999). However, in spite of habitat limitations, sockeye smolts in Osoyoos Lake are among the largest in the world (Hyatt & Rankin 1999), testament to the abundance of food in the lake. Okanagan chinook rearing in the lake may exhibit similarly high growth rates, which may contribute to the anomalous extended freshwater rearing (Brannon et al. 2004).

An additional constraint of unknown severity results from the introduction of an exotic shrimp, Mysis relicta, into the Okanagan basin. M. relicta has been present in the lake since at least 1998 (Hyatt and Rankin 1999), having invaded from upstream lakes where it is well established. There is usually a downward trend in limnetic fish populations after M. relicta invasion (Lasenby et al. 1986), and this has already been documented for kokanee salmon populations in Okanagan Lake. While chinook are more often found in littoral areas and feed less on zooplankton (i.e., less competition with mysids), this behaviour has not been established for Osoyoos Lake, where the littoral zone is likely inaccessible through much of the growing season due to high water temperatures (ONAFD, unpublished data 2005).

In summary, high water temperatures in the Okanagan River constrain the timing of Okanagan chinook adult migration and spawning, and restrict juvenile rearing habitat to groundwater-fed side channels during much of the summer. Construction of dams has reduced accessible Okanagan chinook habitat to a fraction of its former size, eliminating access to the mainstem river, lakes and tributaries upstream of McIntyre dam (i.e., the outlet of Vaseaux Lake). In addition, approximately 90% of the mainstem Okanagan River in Canada has been modified, resulting in a major loss of spawning and rearing habitat. Salmon rearing habitat in Osoyoos Lake is largely limited to the north basin. Okanagan chinook may rear in littoral areas early in the growing season, but are soon constrained by high epilimnetic water temperatures. Rearing habitat is further constrained by low hypolimnetic dissolved oxygen levels in the late summer and fall. In addition, Okanagan chinook rearing in the lake may have to compete with mysids for food (at least until they become piscivorous), especially when littoral areas are inaccessible, and may be subject to predation by exotic species when rearing in littoral areas. However, in spite of these constraints, Osoyoos Lake does provide a productive environment for salmon rearing, as evidenced by the growth rate and smolt sizes of sockeye salmon.


Habitat Protection and Ownership

The main chinook spawning area in the Okanagan River is between Oliver and McIntyre Dam. Nearly the entire accessible spawning area in Canada is dyked, and thus the channel is either actively managed by the B.C. Ministry of Water, Land and Air Protection or is within the boundaries of Osoyoos Indian Band reserve lands. There is very little development along the river channel where it passes through the Indian Reserve.

In the Canadian portion of the Okanagan and Similkameen watersheds, provincial parks account for 14.5% of land ownership. Indian Reserve lands comprise an additional 4%, and 50.2% is municipal or privately owned land. The remaining land base (approximately 30%) is designated as Crown lands. In addition, 31.8% of the land base (distributed throughout these designations) is held in the Agricultural Land Reserve.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le saumon chinook population de l’Okanagan, au Canada

Habitat

Besoins en matière d’habitat

Le grossissement des saumons chinooks s’effectue dans les cours d’eau, les lacs, les estuaires et l’océan. Les adultes en maturation migrent pour se reproduire dans leurs cours d’eau natals, après quoi les adultes meurent. Cependant, les poissons à maturation précoce, notamment les mâles de moins d’un an, pourraient être capables de survivre à la fraye et de frayer à nouveau une année subséquente(Mullan et al., 1992).

Bien que les habitats de fraye du chinook comprennent une grande variété de profondeurs d’eau, de vitesses d’écoulement et de substrats (voir, p. ex., Scott et Crossman [1973], Healey [1991]), le chinook se répartit souvent de façon discontinue dans des habitats apparemment uniformes, ce qui laisse entendre que d’autres facteurs, comme la circulation de l’eau dans le gravier, peuvent être déterminants (M. Healey, comm. pers., 2004). Cependant, dans certains cas, la vitesse de l’eau et le substrat se sont avérés des indicateurs utiles de l’habitat de fraye préféré des chinooks (Gallagher et Gard, 1999). Les caractéristiques des habitats de fraye des chinooks de l’Okanagan, basées sur des mesures prises à 18 nids de fraye en 2002 et en 2003, ont été décrites (tableau 1; Phillips et Wright, 2005).

Tableau 1 : Caractéristiques des habitats de fraye des chinooks dans la rivière Okanagan
 Profondeur (m)Vitesse moyenne (m/s)Granulométrie d90 (m)Granulométrie d50 (m)
Moyenne0,490,650,100,05
Écart-type0,160,190,030,02
Minimum0,200,340,050,03
Maximum0,751,140,140,10

Phillips et Wright (2005) ont estimé qu’il y aurait de l’habitat de fraye propice pour 1 260 à 4 340 couples reproducteurs de chinooks de l’Okanagan entre le lac Osoyoos et le barrage McIntyre. La limite supérieure de cette fourchette est fondée sur les facteurs ci-dessus et est probablement trop élevée; par ailleurs, la limite inférieure tient aussi compte des zones avec apport d’eau souterraine et des associations observées des nids de fraye avec les barres et les îles présentes dans les cours d’eau.

Les estimations de la superficie de la rivière Okanagan et du lac Osoyoos disponible pour la fraye et le grossissement des juvéniles laissent penser que la zone d’occurrence du chinook de l’Okanagan est d’environ 16 km2 et que la zone d’occupation n’est que légèrement inférieure, avec peut-être 15 km2 dans les eaux douces canadiennes. Les individus anadromes utilisent également le fleuve Columbia comme corridor de migration et le Pacifique pour la croissance jusqu’à l’âge adulte (aucun des deux n’est inclus dans les calculs de la zone d’occurrence et de la zone d’occupation).


Tendances en matière d’habitat

Habitat lotique

Comme aux États-Unis, le saumon chinook du Canada subit les atteintes de nombreux facteurs, dont les prélèvements d’eau, la construction de barrages (pour la production d’énergie ou le détournement des eaux) qui entravent le passage des poissons ou entraînent et blessent les poissons en migration, et la dégradation de l’habitat par les utilisations industrielles, agricoles et urbaines (Raymond, 1988; Myers et al., 1998). L’existence d’une destruction ou d’une dégradation de l’habitat pourrait être inférée, en partie, par le déclin de l’abondance du saumon chinook dans le haut Columbia (il y avait des centaines de milliers de saumons chinooks dans le haut Columbia au milieu du XIXe siècle alors qu’il n’y en avait plus qu’environ 58 000 il y a quelques années; Myers et al., 1998). 

La perte d’habitat (ou d’accès à l’habitat) de fraye, de grossissement et de halte a eu un impact inconnu sur la population de chinooks de l’Okanagan. Si l’accès avait été restreint pendant que les remontes étaient encore fortes, l’impact aurait probablement déjà été important. Cependant, les remontes étaient probablement déjà réduites, peut-être par des facteurs extérieurs au bassin, au moment où ont été construits les barrages sur le cours principal au Canada. Les observations historiques et les connaissances traditionnelles des peuples autochtones de l’Okanagan indiquent que le chinook avait accès au lac Okanagan dans le passé (Clemens et al., 1939; Ernst, 1999; Vedan, 2002).

La longue histoire des grandes modifications du cours principal dans le bassin canadien de l’Okanagan a commencé vers 1910 par des modifications à la décharge du lac Okanagan (Symonds, 2000). Depuis ce temps, des barrages ont été construits aux décharges du lac Okanagan (barrage Penticton), du lac Skaha (barrage des chutes Okanagan), du lac Vaseux (barrage McIntyre) et du lac Osoyoos (barrage Zosel, aux États-Unis). Seul le barrage Zosel, à la décharge du lac Osoyoos, permet régulièrement le passage des poissons qui migrent en amont. Bien que le barrage McIntyre puisse être géré de façon à permettre le passage des salmonidés adultes à certaines périodes de l’année (Summit et ONFC, 2002), ce n’est pas la pratique habituelle. Actuellement, tous les salmonidés anadromes frayent en aval du barrage McIntyre, à moins qu’on en laisse quelques-uns passer le barrage. 

En plus d’une perte d’accès à l’habitat, il y a eu de grandes pertes directes d’habitat de fraye et de grossissement dans la rivière Okanagan au Canada. La plus grande partie de la rivière entre les lacs Okanagan et Osoyoos a été redressée et canalisée (Symonds, 2000). Il y avait autrefois plus de 10 km de chenal (environ 80 000 m2) entre les lacs Okanagan et Skaha qui convenaient aux saumons rouges (et probablement aux chinooks) reproducteurs, mais il n’y a plus qu’environ 3 km de chenal qui conviennent à la fraye (anonyme, 1909; Summit, 2003). Des pertes d’habitat similaires ou plus importantes se sont produites tout le long du cours principal de la rivière Okanagan au Canada partout où la rivière a été canalisée (Hourston, 1954) : une estimation évalue la perte de chenal de rivière naturel accessible à 91 p. 100 (Bull, 1999). Cependant, cela ne signifie pas nécessairement qu’il y a eu une réduction équivalente de l’habitat approprié pour les salmonidés reproducteurs. On ne connaît pas la quantité d’habitat de grossissement d’été dans la rivière (c.-à-d. les chenaux secondaires alimentés par des eaux souterraines) qui a été perdue. Cependant, il est probable qu’il reste peu d’habitat d’été utilisable dans les sections endiguées du chenal en raison de l’absence de chenaux secondaires et d’autres zones où l’apport d’eau souterraine pourrait avoir un effet important de modération de la température.

Actuellement, la rivière Okanagan est utilisée par les chinooks de l’Okanagan reproducteurs et peut être utilisée par des juvéniles en développement pendant une période allant de quelques jours à quelques mois ou plus. Des températures d’eau élevées dans la rivière limitent la période pendant laquelle les chinooks de l’Okanagan matures peuvent entrer dans la rivière, tant pour la migration que pour la fraye, et limitent la zone disponible pour les juvéniles en développement. Durant les mois d’été, les températures de l’eau dans la rivière sont souvent à des niveaux létaux pour le saumon chinook, sauf dans des chenaux secondaires alimentés par les eaux souterraines (ONA, 2003). On a observé des salmonidés juvéniles dans des chenaux secondaires de la rivière quand les températures dans le reste de la rivière étaient de 24 °C (Alexis et al., 2003). On ne sait pas quelles étaient les températures de l’eau dans la rivière avant la construction des barrages sur le cours principal et les autres modifications du chenal. 

Après les dernières grandes modifications du chenal dans les années 1950, l’habitat des poissons de la rivière est demeuré relativement inchangé jusqu’aux 5 dernières années. Les conditions d’habitat du chenal de la rivière ne semblent pas s’être détériorées durant les 50 dernières années. En fait, la qualité de l’eau dans la rivière s’est probablement améliorée au cours des 20 dernières années grâce à des améliorations généralisées du traitement des eaux usées dans des zones en amont. Les autres améliorations de l’habitat comprennent l’ajout de grillages bloquant les poissons à de nombreuses prises d’eau sur la rivière et l’aménagement expérimental de radiers (pour accroître la diversité de l’habitat et améliorer le passage des poissons) dans une section canalisée de la rivière. Une autre amélioration importante est une initiative de gestion de l’eau visant à améliorer la prise de décisions concernant les poissons fréquentant le cours principal de la rivière et les lacs (COBTWG, 2004). Cette initiative devrait améliorer de façon importante la production de smolts chez le saumon rouge, et probablement chez le chinook (COBTWG, 2004). Enfin, il existe des plans conceptuels visant à remettre le plus possible à l’état naturel la rivière Okanagan par des mesures comprenant la reconstitution de méandres, la construction de digues en retrait, la remise en état des rives et l’aménagement de radiers dans le cours de la rivière (Gaboury et al., 2000). La mise en œuvre de ces plans a commencé avec l’achat d’une zone le long de la rivière Okanagan en vue de l’aménagement de digues en retrait.

Habitat lacustre

En raison de la construction des barrages et de la manière dont ils sont exploités, le lac Osoyoos fournit le seul habitat lacustre de grossissement dont disposent les saumons anadromes dans le bassin de l’Okanagan. Les chinooks de l’Okanagan adultes demeurent dans le lac durant des semaines ou des mois avant de frayer, et les juvéniles grossissent dans le lac durant une période allant de quelques semaines à plusieurs années. La plupart des observations détaillées des conditions de grossissement dans le lac Osoyoos portent sur le saumon rouge, mais une bonne partie de cette information s’applique également au chinook de l’Okanagan.

Le lac Osoyoos se compose d’une série de trois bassins, dont le plus au sud chevauche la frontière canado-américaine. Le lac a une profondeur moyenne de 15 m, et le temps de séjour de l’eau est d’environ 0,7 an (Pinsent et al., 1974). Il est classé comme lac mésotrophe, le phosphore étant le nutriant limitant (Wright, 2002). Aucune étude paléolimnologique n’a été effectuée sur le lac Osoyoos; on ne dispose donc pas de données historiques. Cependant, des mesures de réduction du phosphore ont été prises (comme pour les autres lacs du cours principal de l’Okanagan) au début des années 1970 en raison de problèmes de qualité de l’eau (Pinsent et al., 1974). Jensen et Epp (2001) indiquent que la qualité de l’eau s’est améliorée en ce qui concerne le phosphore : alors que la charge de phosphore au printemps au début des années 1970 était d’environ 25-30 µg/L, elle est aujourd’hui en moyenne de 15-20 µg/L.

Le lac Osoyoos présente un pourcentage élevé de superficie littorale (23 p. 100) par rapport aux lacs Skaha et Okanagan (15 p. 100) (Wright, 2002). Cependant, les températures élevées des eaux épilimnétiques limitent probablement l’utilisation de l’habitat littoral par le chinook durant la saison de croissance (avril à novembre). De plus, le myriophylle à épi (Myriophyllum spicatum), plante exotique, s’est répandu rapidement dans les zones littorales de l’Okanagan et fournirait un habitat supplémentaire pour des espèces prédatrices exotiques chassant à l’affût, comme l’achigan à grande bouche (Wright et al., 2002). La pêche au saumon rouge à la senne de plage dans le bassin nord du lac Osoyoos en 2002 a révélé une faible abondance d’alevins dans les zones littorales jusqu’à ce que les températures de l’eau dépassent 17 °C (mi-juin), moment auquel ils s’en vont vers le large (FDONA, données inédites, 2005). De plus, l’habitat de grossissement du lac peut être également restreint à la fin de l’été et à l’automne par des températures de l’eau élevées dans l’épilimnion et des faibles concentrations d’oxygène dissous dans l’hypolimnion (Wright, 2002; Wright et Lawrence, 2003). Cette restriction de l’habitat par des températures de l’eau élevées dans l’épilimnion et de faibles concentrations d’oxygène dissous dans l’hypolimnion est particulièrement marquée dans les deux bassins du sud du lac, de sorte que toute la production de saumon rouge (et probablement de chinook de l’Okanagan) du lac Osoyoos provient du bassin nord (Hyatt et Rankin, 1999). Cependant, malgré les limitations de l’habitat, les smolts de saumon rouge du lac Osoyoos sont parmi les plus gros du monde (Hyatt et Rankin, 1999), ce qui atteste de l’abondance de nourriture dans le lac. Les chinooks de l’Okanagan qui grossissent dans le lac peuvent présenter des taux de croissance élevés similaires, ce qui pourrait être associé à la période de grossissement anormalement longue en eau douce (Brannon et al., 2004).

   L’introduction d’une crevette exotique, le Mysis relicta, dans le bassin de l’Okanagan représente une autre contrainte, de gravité inconnue. Le M. relicta est présent dans le lac au moins depuis 1998 (Hyatt et Rankin, 1999) et provient des lacs d’amont, où il est bien établi. Il y a habituellement une tendance à la baisse des populations de poissons limnétiques après envahissement des eaux par le M. relicta (Lasenby et al., 1986), ce qui a déjà été établi pour les populations de kokanis dans le lac Okanagan. Bien que les chinooks se trouvent plus souvent dans les zones littorales et se nourrissent moins de zooplancton (d’où une moins forte compétition avec les mysidés), ce comportement n’a pas été établi pour le lac Osoyoos, où la zone littorale est probablement inaccessible durant une bonne partie de la saison de croissance en raison des températures élevées de l’eau (FDONA, données inédites, 2005).

En résumé, des températures de l’eau élevées dans la rivière Okanagan retardent le moment de la migration et de la fraye des chinooks de l’Okanagan adultes, et limitent l’habitat de grossissement des juvéniles aux chenaux secondaires alimentés par les eaux souterraines durant une bonne partie de l’été. La construction de barrages a réduit l’habitat accessible du chinook de l’Okanagan à une fraction de sa taille antérieure, supprimant l’accès au cours principal de la rivière, aux lacs et aux affluents en amont du barrage McIntyre (décharge du lac Vaseaux). De plus, environ 90 p. 100 du cours principal de la rivière Okanagan au Canada a été modifié, entraînant une perte importante d’habitat de fraye et de grossissement. L’habitat de grossissement du saumon dans le lac Osoyoos est en grande partie limité au bassin nord. Le chinook de l’Okanagan peut grossir dans des zones littorales au début de la saison de croissance, mais est vite limité par les températures élevées des eaux épilimnétiques. L’habitat de grossissement est de plus limité par les faibles concentrations d’oxygène dissous dans l’hypolimnion à la fin de l’été et à l’automne. De plus, le chinook de l’Okanagan qui grossit dans le lac peut se trouver en compétition avec les mysidés pour la nourriture (au moins jusqu’à ce qu’ils deviennent piscivores), en particulier quand les zones littorales sont inaccessibles, et peut être sujet à la prédation par des espèces exotiques quand il grossit dans des zones littorales. Cependant, malgré ces contraintes, le lac Osoyoos fournit un environnement productif pour le grossissement des saumons, comme le démontrent le taux de croissance et la taille des smolts chez le saumon rouge.


Protection et propriété

La principale zone de reproduction pour le chinook dans la rivière Okanagan s’étend de Oliver au barrage McIntyre. Presque toute la zone de fraye accessible au Canada est endiguée, les différentes parties du chenal faisant l’objet d’une gestion active par le Ministry of Water, Land and Air Protection de la Colombie-Britannique, ou se trouvant dans les limites des terres de la réserve de la bande indienne Osoyoos. Il y a très peu de développement le long du chenal de la rivière sur la partie qui passe dans la réserve indienne.

Dans la partie canadienne des bassins hydrographiques de l’Okanagan et de la Similkameen, les parcs provinciaux comptent pour 14,5 p. 100 des propriétés foncières. Les terres de réserve indienne comptent pour 4 p. 100, et les terres municipales ou privées pour 50,2 p. 100. Les terres restantes (environ 30 p. 100) sont des terres de la Couronne. De plus, 31,8 p. 100 des terres (réparties dans ces différentes catégories) font partie de la réserve de terres agricoles.