Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and status report on the Chinook Salmon (Okanagan population) in Canada

Population Sizes and Trends

Search Effort

The Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife has been conducting spawning ground surveys in the U.S. portion of the Okanagan basin for the Okanogan summer chinook population since 1956 (Miller 2004). These spawning ground surveys were conducted through aerial redd counts, plus float/walk surveys in some years (yearly since 1991 and sporadically prior to that). It is unknown if the methodology for the aerial surveys has changed throughout the survey years.

The Okanagan Nation Alliance Fisheries Department has enumerated spawning chinook during their Okanagan sockeye programs (when feasible) in the Okanagan River in each year since 2001 (Wright and Long, 2005; Long, 2002), and seined adult anadromous chinook in the river in 2003, 2004 (Wright and Long, 2005), and recently in 2005 (ONAFD unpublished files 2005). However, there are few formal records of Okanagan chinook observations in the river prior to this time. The best records are historic accounts of the major chinook fishery at Okanagan Falls (Ernst, 1999; Ernst and Vedan, 2000), the Gartrell observation of spawning chinook in May (DFO, unpublished SEDS files, 1936), chinook identified as present in correspondence files of DFO region 1920’s to 1999 (DFO, unpublished correspondence files, Kamloops, B.C.), seining of juveniles in Osoyoos Lake in 1971 (Northcote et al., 1972), and annual observations of spawners in the river during sockeye enumeration survey(s) from 1968-1999 (DFO, unpublished SEDS files).

 


Abundance, Fluctuations and Trends

The historic Okanagan chinook population in the Okanagan River was large enough to support an important food and commercial/economic trade fishery prior to non-native human settlement (Ernst and Vedan, 2000). However, by 1874 it was estimated that over one-half of the salmon run returning to the Upper Columbia (including the Okanagan) was harvested in the downstream commercial fishery. By the 1890s the runs to the Upper Columbia River basin were almost completely decimated (Moore et al., 2004), presumably including the Okanagan River.

Chinook have been sporadically documented as being present in the system since 1965 as a result of incidental observations made during monitoring of sockeye salmon escapement (Figure 6). Estimates of chinook escapement, based on counts of peak numbers of live and dead chinook adjusted by a standard expansion factor used by DFO, are shown for years for which the necessary data are available (Bailey 2004, personal communication). It appears that when studies have occurred in the system, chinook have been documented as present (Northcote et al. 1972, Wright and Long 2005). The only evidence of discontinuity in the presence of Okanagan chinook in the basin has been their absence from gillnetting samples in Osoyoos Lake in 1972 (Allen and Meekin, 1980). By contrast, Okanagan chinook were captured in gillnet sampling of Osoyoos Lake in 1971 by Northcote et al. (1972).


Figure 6: Presence Documentation and Escapement Estimates (where possible) of Chinook to the Canadian Okanagan River

Figure 6: Presence documentation and escapement estimates (where possible) of chinook to the Canadian Okanagan River.

The summer chinook population in the U.S. portion of the Okanagan basin appears to be closely related to the Canadian population. This population is considered to be “of special concern” or “depressed” by state fisheries agencies, with the primary identified threat being loss of habitat through habitat destruction or lack of access (Nehlsen et al., 1991; WDF et al., 1993). The Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife (WDFW) has been conducting aerial redd surveys since 1956, the results of which are summarized in Figure 7 (Miller 2004). In 2002 WDFW used a redd expansion factor of 2.3 to estimate adult escapement (Miller 2004), which is consistent with the expansion factor (2.2) used for interior Fraser populations (Bailey 2004, personal communication). Between 1956 and 1998 redd estimates have been relatively stable. However, since 1999 redd estimates have been increasing. This is thought to be due to years of high run-off during smolt migration and improved ocean survival in recent years (PSC Joint Chinook Technical Committee 2003). Hatchery contributions during this period (1999-2002) may also have contributed to increased population abundance, and have been estimated at 56% with a range of 20-70% (Todd Miller, 2004 personal communication). Murdock and Miller (1999) estimated a spawner escapement of about 1300 summer-run (ocean-type) chinook in 1998, with about 47% being of hatchery origin. Historical accounts of chinook in the U.S. portion of the Okanagan Basin do not include run size estimates, but local newspapers between the 1880s and 1930s regularly mentioned active food fisheries (Smith, 2003a, b).


Figure 7: Summary of Aerial Redd Surveys for Okanagan (U.S. portion below Osoyoos Lake) and Similkameen Rivers from 1956-2002

Figure 7: Summary of aerial redd surveys for Okanagan and Similkameen Rivers from 1956-2002.

Data adapted from Miller, 2004.


Rescue Effect

There is a long history of hatchery activity within the Upper Columbia ESU, starting with hatcheries on the Methow and Wenatchee Rivers in 1899. In the 20th century both local and, occasionally, lower Columbia chinook stocks were used for propagation (Mullan, 1987; Myers et al., 1998). In the past decade, between 300 000 and 1 million yearlings and sub-yearlings have been stocked annually in the U.S. portion of the Okanagan basin (FPC, 2004).

The summer chinook that have been out-planted from hatcheries are the progeny of broodstock collected either in the U.S. Okanogan River or at Wells Dam. The broodstock collected at Wells Dam is a mix of Okanogan and Methow River chinook populations.

There was a decades-long hiatus from stocking spring chinook in the Okanagan Basin until 1991. Between 1991 and 1993, a total of about 480 000 yearling or sub-yearling spring chinook were planted in the U.S. portion of the Okanagan River and its tributaries (FPC, 2004). All of the recent hatchery releases of spring chinook are Carson stock, which have been derived from a composite of Upper Columbia River spring chinook stocks collected during the Grand Coulee Fish Maintenance Program (GCFMP) (Busack and Marshall, 1995).

During the 2003 enumeration surveys in the Okanagan River upstream of Osoyoos Lake, half (four of eight) of the anadromous chinook that were captured on the spawning grounds were of hatchery origin (Wright and Long, 2005), suggesting that in some years a significant portion of the population of anadromous chinook salmon in the Canadian Okanagan River is comprised of strays from U.S. hatchery and, possibly, wild populations. However, none of the anadromous chinook observed in 2004 showed evidence of hatchery origin, and only 1 of 29 anadromous adults in 2005 showed evidence of hatchery origin (adipose clip). The hatchery-origin fish observed in 2003 were likely summer (ocean-type) chinook, as no spring (stream-type) chinook were stocked in the Okanagan basin during the appropriate brood years (C. Fisher, personal communication, 2005). None of the Okanagan chinook caught in Osoyoos Lake have had clips or other hatchery markings (Wright and Long, 2005). As only roughly half of chinook production in the U.S. Okanogan comes from hatcheries, the proportion of fish in the Canadian Okanagan River with hatchery marks represents a lower bound on the number of strays from the U.S. portion of the drainage.

There are plans for a new hatchery to be located at the base of Chief Joseph Dam (C. Fisher, personal communication, 2005). One of its goals is to increase production of Okanagan chinook to levels sufficient to sustain a food and sustenance harvest for the Colville Confederated Tribes (CCT). Additional acclimation ponds are proposed in the U.S. portion of the Okanagan River where currently there is only a long-term acclimation pond on the Similkameen. In their hatchery plan the CCT have expressed an interest in looking at potential hatchery options in Canada. Through their collaborative arrangements with the CCT, the Okanagan Nation Alliance have identified several unknowns that need to be addressed prior to the use of a hatchery in population restoration. Among the issues that must be considered are the genetic relationships between the Canadian and U.S. Columbia Basin chinook populations.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le saumon chinook population de l’Okanagan, au Canada

Taille et tendances de la population

Activités de recherche

Le Department of Fish and Wildlife de l’État de Washington a effectué des relevés des frayères dans la partie américaine du bassin de l’Okanagan pour la population de chinooks d’été de l’Okanagan depuis 1956 (Miller, 2004). Ces relevés ont été effectués par dénombrement aérien des nids, avec recherches par bateau et à pied certaines années (chaque année depuis 1991 et de façon sporadique avant cela). On ne sait pas si la méthodologie des relevés aériens a changé au fil des ans.

Le Fisheries Department de l’Okanagan Nation Alliance a dénombré les chinooks reproducteurs dans le cadre de ses programmes visant le saumon rouge de l’Okanagan (quand cela était possible) dans la rivière Okanagan chaque année depuis 2001 (Wright et Long, 2005; Long, 2002), et a capturé à la senne des chinooks adultes anadromes dans la rivière en 2003 et en 2004 (Wright et Long, 2005), et récemment en 2005 (FDONA, dossiers inédits, 2005). Cependant, on dispose de peu de données d’observations formelles du chinook de l’Okanagan dans la rivière avant cette période. Les meilleures données sont les comptes rendus historiques de l’importante pêche au chinook des chutes Okanagan (Ernst, 1999; Ernst et Vedan, 2000), l’observation par Gartrell des chinooks reproducteurs en mai (fichiers inédits de la base SEDS du MPO, 1936), les attestations de la présence de chinooks dans la région figurant dans les dossiers de correspondance du MPO des années 1920 à 1999 (MPO, dossiers de correspondance inédits, Kamloops, C.-B.), les données de capture à la senne de juvéniles dans le lac Osoyoos en 1971 (Northcote et al., 1972) et les observations annuelles de reproducteurs dans la rivière faites dans le cadre des relevés de dénombrement des saumons rouges de 1968 à 1999 (fichiers inédits de la base SEDS du MPO).


Abondance, fluctuations et tendances

La population ancienne de chinooks de l’Okanagan dans la rivière Okanagan était suffisamment grande pour soutenir une importante pêche de consommation et commerciale avant l’arrivée des peuples non-autochtones (Ernst et Vedan, 2000). Cependant, en 1874, on estimait que plus de la moitié de la remonte de saumons vers le haut Columbia (y compris l’Okanagan) était capturée par les pêcheurs commerciaux en aval. Dans les années 1890, les remontes vers le bassin du haut Columbia étaient presque complètement anéanties (Moore et al., 2004), y compris probablement celles de la rivière Okanagan.

Le chinook a été indiqué sporadiquement comme présent dans le bassin depuis 1965 à la suite des observations accessoires effectuées pendant la surveillance de l’échappée du saumon rouge (figure 6). On a estimé l’échappée du chinook, d’après les dénombrements où les nombres de poissons morts et de poissons vivants les plus élevés étaient ajustés selon un facteur d’extrapolation standard utilisé par le MPO, comme il a été montré au cours des années pour lesquelles les données nécessaires étaient disponibles (Bailey 2004, comm. pers.). Il semble que, lorsque des études ont été effectuées dans le bassin, le chinook était indiqué comme présent (Northcote et al., 1972; Wright et Long, 2005). La seule indication de discontinuité de la présence du chinook de l’Okanagan dans le bassin a été son absence dans les échantillons prélevés au filet maillant dans le lac Osoyoos en 1972 (Allen et Meekin, 1980). Par contre, des chinooks de l’Okanagan ont été capturés lors de l’échantillonnage au filet maillant effectué par Northcote et al. (1972) dans le lac Osoyoos en 1971.


Figure 6 : Attestation de la présence et estimation de l’échappée (lorsque cela était possible) de chinooks dans la partie canadienne de la rivière Okanagan

Figure 6 : Attestation de la présence et estimation de l’échappée (lorsque cela était possible) de chinooks dans la partie canadienne de la rivière Okanagan.

La population de chinooks d’été dans la partie américaine du bassin de l’Okanagan semble être étroitement liée à la population canadienne. Cette population est considérée comme préoccupante ou effondrée par les organismes responsables des pêches de l’État, la principale menace étant la perte d’habitat par la destruction de l’habitat ou le manque d’accès (Nehlsen et al., 1991; DFW et al., 1993). Le Department of Fish and Wildlife de l’État de Washington (DFWW) effectue des dénombrements aériens des nids de fraye depuis 1956, dont les résultats sont résumés à la figure 7 (Miller, 2004). En 2002, le DFWW a appliqué au nombre de nids relevés un facteur d’extrapolation de 2,3 pour évaluer l’échappée d’adultes (Miller, 2004), facteur similaire à celui utilisé (2,2) pour les populations du Fraser intérieur (Bailey, 2004, comm. pers.).  De 1956 à 1998, les estimations de nids ont été relativement stables. Cependant, depuis 1999, les estimations de nids ont augmenté. On pense que cela est dû aux années de fort ruissellement durant la migration des smolts et à une meilleure survie océanique ces dernières années (Pacific Salmon Commission Joint Chinook Technical Committee, 2003). Les contributions des écloseries durant cette période (de 1999 à 2002) ont peut-être aussi augmenté l’abondance de la population, et elles ont été estimées à 56 p. 100, avec une fourchette de 20 p. 100 à 70 p. 100 (Todd Miller, 2004, comm. pers.). Murdock et Miller (1999) ont estimé l’échappée de reproducteurs à environ 1 300 chinooks de la remonte d’été (type océanique) en 1998, dont environ 47 p. 100 provenaient des écloseries. Les comptes rendus anciens sur les chinooks dans la partie américaine du bassin de l’Okanagan ne donnent pas d’estimations des remontes, mais les journaux locaux mentionnaient régulièrement des années 1880 aux années 1930 des pêches de consommation importantes (Smith, 2003a; Idem, 2003b).


Figure 7 : Sommaire des dénombrements aériens des nids de fraye dans les rivières Okanagan (partie américaine en aval du lac Osoyoos) et Similkameen, de 1956 à 2002

Figure 7 : Sommaire des dénombrements aériens des nids de fraye dans les rivières Okanagan (partie américaine en aval du lac Osoyoos) et Similkameen, de 1956 à 2002.

Adaptation des données présentées par Miller, 2004.


Effet d’une immigration de source externe

L’activité des écloseries dans l’UES du haut Columbia a une longue histoire, qui a commencé avec les écloseries des rivières Methow et Wenatchee en 1899. Au XXe siècle, on utilisait les stocks de chinooks locaux et, parfois, ceux du bas Columbia pour la reproduction (Mullan, 1987; Myers et al., 1998). Au cours de la dernière décennie, de 300 000 à 1 million de poissons de 1 an et de moins d’un an ont été ensemencés chaque année dans la partie américaine du bassin de l’Okanagan (FPC, 2004).

Les chinooks d’été qui ont été ensemencés par les écloseries proviennent de stocks de géniteurs recueillis dans la partie américaine de la rivière Okanagan ou au barrage Wells. Le stock de géniteurs recueilli au barrage Wells est un mélange de chinooks des populations de l’Okanagan et de la rivière Methow.

Il y a eu un hiatus de plusieurs dizaines d’années dans l’ensemencement de chinooks de printemps dans le bassin de l’Okanagan jusqu’en 1991. De 1991 à 1993, un total d’environ 480 000 chinooks de printemps de 1 an ou de moins de 1 an ont été ensemencés dans la partie américaine de la rivière Okanagan et ses affluents (FPC, 2004). Tous les lâchers récents de chinooks de printemps d’écloserie proviennent du stock de Carson, qui est issu d’un mélange de chinooks de printemps de stocks du haut Columbia recueillis dans le cadre du Grand Coulee Fish Maintenance Program (GCFMP) (Busack et Marshall, 1995).

Durant les dénombrements de 2003 réalisés dans la rivière Okanagan en amont du lac Osoyoos, la moitié (4 sur 8) des chinooks anadromes qui ont été capturés dans les frayères avaient été produits en écloserie (Wright et Long, 2005), ce qui indique que, certaines années, une partie importante de la population de saumons chinooks anadromes de la partie canadienne de la rivière Okanagan se compose de poissons issus d’écloseries américaines et, peut-être, d’autres populations sauvages. Cependant, aucun des chinooks anadromes observés en 2004 ne semblait provenir d’une écloserie. De plus, un seul des 29 adultes anadromes de 2005 semblait provenir d’une écloserie (nageoire adipeuse coupée). Les poissons provenant d’écloseries observés en 2003 étaient probablement des chinooks d’été (type océanique), car aucun chinook de printemps (type dulcicole) n’avait été ensemencé dans le bassin de l’Okanagan durant les années de génération correspondantes (C. Fisher, comm. pers., 2005). Aucun des chinooks de l’Okanagan capturés dans le lac Osoyoos n’avait d’entailles ou d’autres marques d’écloserie (Wright et Long, 2005). Puisque seulement la moitié environ de la production de chinooks aux États-Unis provient d’écloseries, la proportion d’individus dans la partie canadienne de la rivière Okanagan portant des marques d’écloserie représenteune limite inférieure par rapport au nombre d’égarés provenant de la partie américaine du bassin.

On prévoit établir une nouvelle écloserie au pied du barrage Chief Joseph (C. Fisher, comm. pers., 2005). Un des objectifs serait d’augmenter la production de chinooks de l’Okanagan à des niveaux suffisants pour soutenir une pêche de consommation et de subsistance pour les Colville Confederated Tribes (CCT).  D’autres étangs d’acclimatation sont proposés dans la partie américaine de la rivière Okanagan où il n’y a actuellement qu’un étang d’acclimatation à long terme sur la Similkameen. Dans leur plan d’écloserie, les CCT se sont dites intéressées à examiner la possibilité d’établir des écloseries au Canada. Dans le cadre de ses mécanismes de collaboration avec les CCT, l’Okanagan Nation Alliance a relevé plusieurs incertitudes à examiner avant d’utiliser une écloserie pour rétablir la population. Parmi les questions à étudier, il y a celle des relations génétiques entre les populations de chinooks des parties canadienne et américaine du bassin du Columbia.