Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Prothonotary Warbler (Protonotaria citrea) in Canada [Proposed]

Declaration

This recovery strategy has been prepared in cooperation with the jurisdictions responsible for the Prothonotary Warbler. Environment Canada has reviewed and accepts this document as its recovery strategy for the Prothonotary Warbler, as required under the Species at Risk Act. This recovery strategy also constitutes advice to other jurisdictions and organizations that may be involved in recovering the species.

The goals, objectives and recovery approaches identified in the strategy are based on the best existing knowledge and are subject to modifications resulting from new findings and revised objectives.

This recovery strategy will be the basis for one or more action plans that will provide details on specific recovery measures to be taken to support conservation and recovery of the species. The Minister of the Environment will report on progress within five years.

Success in the recovery of this species depends on the commitment and cooperation of many different constituencies that will be involved in implementing the directions set out in this strategy and will not be achieved by Environment Canada or any other jurisdiction alone. In the spirit of the Accord for the Protection of Species at Risk, the Minister of the Environment invites all responsible jurisdictions and Canadians to join Environment Canada in supporting and implementing this strategy for the benefit of the Prothonotary Warbler and Canadian society as a whole.

 

Responsible Jurisdictions

Environment Canada, Canadian Wildlife Service – Ontario

Parks Canada Agency

Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources

 

Authors

Jon McCracken – Bird Studies Canada
Sandy Dobbyn – Ontario Parks
Lyle Friesen – Canadian Wildlife Service
Jeff Robinson – Canadian Wildlife Service
Allen Woodliffe – Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources
Dan Lebedyk – Essex Region Conservation Authority
Dean Ware – Private Consultant
Don Wills – Private Consultant

Acknowledgements

The recovery strategy benefited from comments and suggestions provided by Environment Canada (Madeline Austen, Martin Damus, Robert Décarie, Wendy Dunford, Maggie Galloway, Kate Hayes, Rick Pratt, Ken Tuininga, Mary Vallianatos, and Christine Vance) and the Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources (Bill Crins, Brian Huis, Kate MacIntyre, Tim Marchand, Chris Risley, and Sue Russell). Funding for the strategy’s development was provided by the Canadian Wildlife Service – Ontario Region, with support from Bird Studies Canada, Essex Region Conservation Authority, and the Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources. Thanks are extended to Judie Shore for the cover drawing.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement de la Paruline orangée au Canada [Proposition] 2007

Déclaration

Le présent programme de rétablissement a été préparé en collaboration avec les compétences responsables de la Paruline orangée. Environnement Canada a revu le document et l’accepte comme son programme de rétablissement de la Paruline orangée tel que l’exige la Loi sur les espèces en péril. Ce programme de rétablissement représente également un avis à l’intention des autres compétences et organisations qui pourraient participer au rétablissement de l’espèce.

Les buts, objectifs et approches de rétablissement présentés dans ce programme sont fondés sur les meilleures connaissances existantes et peuvent faire l’objet de modifications découlant de nouveaux résultats et d’objectifs révisés.

Le présent programme de rétablissement constituera la base d’un ou de plusieurs plans d’action qui présenteront en détail les mesures de rétablissement précises qui doivent être prises pour appuyer la conservation et le rétablissement de l’espèce. Le ministre de l’Environnement rendra compte des progrès réalisés d’ici cinq ans.

La réussite du rétablissement de l’espèce dépendra de l’engagement et de la collaboration d’un grand nombre de parties concernées qui participeront à la mise en œuvre des recommandations formulées dans le présent programme. Cette réussite ne pourra reposer seulement sur Environnement Canada ou toute autre compétence. Dans l’esprit de l’Accord pour la protection des espèces en péril, le ministre de l’Environnement invite toutes les compétences responsables ainsi que les Canadiennes et les Canadiens à se joindre à Environnement Canada pour appuyer le programme et le mettre en œuvre, pour le bien de la Paruline orangée et de l’ensemble de la société canadienne. 

Compétences Responsables

Environnement Canada, Service canadien de la faune, Région de l’Ontario

Agence Parcs Canada

Ministère des Richesses naturelles de l’Ontario 

Auteurs

Jon McCracken – Études d’Oiseaux Canada
Sandy Dobbyn – Parcs Ontario
Lyle Friesen – Service canadien de la faune
Jeff Robinson – Service canadien de la faune
Allen Woodliffe – Ministère des Richesses naturelles de l’Ontario
Dan Lebedyk – Office de protection de la nature de la région d’Essex
Dean Ware – Consultant privé
Don Wills – Consultant privé

Remerciements

Le présent programme de rétablissement a mis à profit les observations et suggestions de membres du personnel d’Environnement Canada (Madeline Austen, Martin Damus, Robert Décarie, Wendy Dunford, Maggie Galloway, Kate Hayes, Rick Pratt, Ken Tuininga, Mary Vallianatos et Christine Vance) et du ministère des Richesses naturelles de l’Ontario (Bill Crins, Brian Huis, Kate MacIntyre, Tim Marchand, Chris Risley et Sue Russell). Il a été financé par le Service canadien de la faune, Région de l’Ontario, avec le soutien d’Études d’Oiseaux Canada, de l’Office de protection de la nature de la région d’Essex et du ministère des Richesses naturelles de l’Ontario. Merci également à Judie Shore pour l’illustration de la page couverture.