Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Prothonotary Warbler (Protonotaria citrea) in Canada [Proposed]

Strategic Environmental Assessment

A strategic environmental assessment (SEA) is conducted on all SARA recovery planning documents, in accordance with the Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan and Program Proposals. The purpose of a SEA is to incorporate environmental considerations into the development of public policies, plans, and program proposals to support environmentally sound decision-making.

Recovery planning is intended to benefit species at risk and biodiversity in general. However, it is recognized that strategies may also inadvertently lead to environmental effects beyond the intended benefits. The planning process based on national guidelines directly incorporates consideration of all environmental effects, with a particular focus on possible impacts on non-target species or habitats. The results of the SEA are incorporated directly into the strategy itself, but are also summarized below.

This recovery strategy will clearly benefit the environment by promoting the recovery of the Prothonotary Warbler. The potential for the strategy to inadvertently lead to adverse effects on other species was considered. The SEA concluded that this strategy will clearly benefit the environment and will not entail any significant adverse effects. The reader should refer to the following sections of the document in particular: Recovery Goal; Recovery Objectives; Broad Approaches and Strategies Recommended to Meet Recovery Objectives; and Effects on Other Species.

Residence

SARA defines residence as: a dwelling-place, such as a den, nest or other similar area or place, that is occupied or habitually occupied by one or more individuals during all or part of their life cycles, including breeding, rearing, staging, wintering, feeding or hibernating [Subsection 2(1)].

Residence descriptions, or the rationale for why the residence concept does not apply to a given species, are posted on the SARA public registry: www.sararegistry.gc.ca/plans/residence_e.cfm

Preface

The Prothonotary Warbler is a migratory bird covered under the Migratory Birds Convention Act, 1994 and is under management jurisdiction of the federal government. The Species at Risk Act (SARA, Section 37) requires the competent minister to prepare recovery strategies for listed extirpated, endangered or threatened species. The Prothonotary Warbler was listed as Endangered under SARA in June 2003.

Canadian Wildlife Service – Ontario Region, Environment Canada, led the development of this recovery strategy in cooperation with Parks Canada Agency, the province of Ontario (Ministry of Natural Resources) and Bird Studies Canada. All responsible jurisdictions reviewed and acknowledged receipt of the strategy. The strategy meets SARA requirements in terms of content and process (Sections 39-41).

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement de la Paruline orangée au Canada [Proposition] 2007

Évaluation environnementale stratégique

Une évaluation environnementale stratégique (EES) est effectuée dans le cadre de tous les documents de planification du rétablissement en vertu de la LEP conformément à la Directive du Cabinet de 1999 sur l'évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes. L’objet de l’EES est d’incorporer les considérations environnementales à l’élaboration des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes publics pour appuyer une prise de décisions éclairées du point de vue de l’environnement.

La planification du rétablissement vise à favoriser les espèces en péril et la biodiversité en général. Il est cependant reconnu que des programmes peuvent, par inadvertance, produire des effets environnementaux qui dépassent les avantages prévus. Le processus de planification fondé sur des lignes directrices nationales tient directement compte de tous les effets environnementaux, notamment des incidences possibles sur les espèces ou les habitats non ciblés. Les résultats de l’EES sont directement inclus dans le programme lui-même, mais également résumés ci-dessous. 

Le présent programme de rétablissement favorisera clairement l’environnement en encourageant le rétablissement de la Paruline orangée. La possibilité que le programme produise par inadvertance des effets négatifs sur d’autres espèces a été envisagée. L’EES a permis de conclure que le présent programme sera clairement favorable à l’environnement et n’entraînera pas d’effets négatifs significatifs. Le lecteur devrait consulter plus particulièrement les sections suivantes du document : But du rétablissement; Objectifs du rétablissement; Approches et stratégies générales recommandées pour l’atteinte des objectifs du rétablissement; Effets sur les espèces non ciblées.

Résidence

La LEP définit la résidence comme suit : Gîte -- terrier, nid ou autre aire ou lieu semblable -- occupé ou habituellement occupé par un ou plusieurs individus pendant tout ou partie de leur vie, notamment pendant la reproduction, l’élevage, les haltes migratoires, l’hivernage, l’alimentation ou l’hibernation [Paragraphe 2(1)].

Les descriptions de la résidence ou les raisons pour lesquelles le concept de résidence ne s'applique pas à une espèce donnée sont publiées dans le Registre public de la LEP : www.registrelep.gc.ca/plans/residence_f.cfm.

Préface

La Paruline orangée est un oiseau migrateur visé par la Loi de 1994 sur la convention concernant les oiseaux migrateurs, et sa gestion relève de la compétence du gouvernement fédéral. En vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP, article 37), le ministre compétent est tenu d’élaborer des programmes de rétablissement à l’égard de toute espèce inscrite comme disparue du pays, en voie de disparition ou menacée. La Paruline orangée a été désignée espèce en voie de disparition sous le régime de la LEP en juin 2003.

Le Service canadien de la faune, Région de l’Ontario, Environnement Canada, a dirigé l’élaboration du présent programme de rétablissement en collaboration avec l’Agence Parcs Canada, la province de l’Ontario (ministère des Richesses naturelles) et Études d’Oiseaux Canada. Toutes les compétences responsables ont révisé le présent programme et en ont accusé réception. Le programme satisfait à toutes les exigences de la LEP en termes de contenu et de processus (articles 39 à 41).