Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Prothonotary Warbler (Protonotaria citrea) in Canada [Proposed]

Addendum to the Recovery Strategy for the Prothonotary Warbler (Protonotaria citrea) in Canada

Identification of Critical Habitat on Federal Lands

June 11, 2007

 

Introduction

This addendum has been prepared to augment the recovery strategy for Prothonotary Warbler (Protonotaria citrea) in Canada (hereinafter referred to as the "Prothonotary Warbler Recovery Strategy"). Section 41(1)(c) of SARA requires that recovery strategies include an identification of a species' critical habitat, to the extent possible, and examples of activities that are likely to result in its destruction. SARA also states in Section 45(1) that recovery strategies may be amended at any time, and that copies of the amendments must be included in the SARA Public Registry.

New information has been evaluated regarding critical habitat for Prothonotary Warbler since the Prothonotary Warbler Recovery Strategy received support from the cooperating jurisdictions. This addendum outlines the proposed criteria for critical habitat identification throughout the Prothonotary Warbler's Canadian range (Section 1), and applies these criteria to federal lands using information currently available (Section 2). This addendum identifies critical habitat at one location- the Hahn Unit of Big Creek National Wildlife Area (NWA) and identifies activities that are likely to result in the destruction of critical habitat within or in the vicinity of this NWA (Section 3).

The criteria used to identify critical habitat (Section 1) will be further evaluated, in consultation with migratory bird experts and cooperating jurisdictions, to better inform additional identification of critical habitat for the Prothonotary Warbler throughout its Canadian range. Consultations on these criteria, along with the approaches used to delineate critical habitat boundaries for this species, are still in progress.

1.0 Criteria Used to Identify Critical Habitat

SARA defines critical habitat as "...the habitat that is necessary for the survival or recovery of a listed wildlife species and that is identified as the species' critical habitat in the recovery strategy or in an action plan for the species."

For Prothonotary Warblers, critical habitat is characterized as, where individuals of the species carry out essential aspects of their breeding cycle (courtship, territory defence, feeding, nesting, and post-fledgling) in Canada. For Prothonotary Warbler, sites[2] where critical habitat is identified must meet two basic criteria regarding breeding evidence and site occupancy:

1) Basic Criterion of Breeding Evidence:

Confirmed breeding evidence for a minimum of one year

There must be observations of a functional nest[3] with confirmed breeding evidence (containing eggs and/or young, and/or adults carrying food, and/or adults carrying faecal sacs, and/or fledged young, and/or sightings of both an adult male and an adult female entering the same cavity in circumstances that strongly suggest that the pair nested) from reliable sources.

Natural nests or nest boxes where data are inconclusive to substantiate confirmed breeding do not meet the criteria for critical habitat identification. In accordance with the description of "residence" for Prothonotary Warbler in Canada, nests that are built in nest boxes specifically erected to attract the species (with landowner permission) are afforded the same level of protection as natural nest sites. As such, this criterion can apply to sites at which nest boxes have been occupied by the target species.

AND

2) Basic Criterion of Site Occupancy:

The site has been occupied by Prothonotary Warblers for at least 2 years during the breeding season since 1997.

Prothonotary Warblers will occasionally occupy small, isolated pockets of habitat for only one year and never return. Pairs that occupy sites for more than one year, however, indicate that the site is sufficiently suitable to warrant critical habitat identification. The benchmark year of 1997 was chosen because it coincides with the first year of systematic, annual surveys of the species in Canada.

Criteria for identifying critical habitat for areas where habitat creation, restoration and enhancement will take place (e.g. recovery habitat) will be developed through the schedule of studies. Criteria which will be considered to further delineate critical habitat at given locations in Canada include, but are not limited to, factors such as area delimitations around functional confirmed nests; habitats used by juveniles following fledging; and vegetation communities where the functional, confirmed nest location occurs (e.g., Community Series level within the Ontario Ecological Land Classification (ELC) Framework of Lee et al. (1998). It is expected that certain features will also be excluded from critical habitat (e.g. buildings and other human-made structures).

2.0 Application of the Basic Criteria and Identification of Critical Habitat on Federal Land

Based on the Basic Criteria above, it is possible to identify critical habitat on only one federal property within the range of the Canadian population of Prothonotary Warbler - the Hahn Unit of Big Creek National Wildlife Area (NWA).

As required by SARA, the description of critical habitat will be published in the Canada Gazette within 90 days of posting of the final addendum to the SARA public registry. The boundaries of critical habitat are contained within the boundaries of the Hahn Unit of Big Creek National Wildlife Area (legally described as: being all that parcel of land, in the regional municipality of Haldimand-Norfolk, in the township of Norfolk, formerly in the geographic township of South Walsingham, County of Norfolk, shown as Part 1 on a plan of survey deposited in the Land Registry Office for the Registry Division of Norfolk (Number 37) as Plan 37R 264, together with a right-of-way over Part 2 shown on said plan, said Part 1 containing 402.19 acres, more or less and said Part 2 containing 0.14 acres, more or less.).

No other federal lands meet the two Basic Criteria necessary for critical habitat identification. Additional critical habitat will be identified within sites across the range of the Canadian Prothonotary Warbler population that meet the Basic Criteria as additional information (e.g., habitat data, vegetation mapping and scientific analysis) is gathered.

The Action Plan, expected to be posted on the SARA Public Registry in June 2010, will identify additional critical habitat and outline monitoring methods proposed for the recovery of Prothonotary Warblers in Canada.

Examples of Activities within or in the Vicinity of Big Creek National Wildlife Area That are Likely To Result in the Destruction of Critical Habitat

Activities within or in the vicinity of identified critical habitat that are likely to result in the destruction of critical habitat include: radical or lasting alterations to normal hydrological regimes (e.g. wetland drainage, construction of dams, infilling of swampy lowlands and associated marshes); any reduction in the total areal extent of forest cover due to commercial forest practices or land clearing; expansion of existing residential developments; and industrial development.

Water level manipulation through diking and pumping for the purpose of maintaining wildlife habitat has occurred in Big Creek National Wildlife Area - Big Creek Unit since 1985. This activity does not result in the destruction of critical habitat at the Hahn Unit, as evidenced by the birds returning and successfully breeding at this location regularly since the late 1970's. Monitoring of Prothonotary Warblers will continue on the NWA to ensure the protection of critical habitat for Prothonotary Warblers.

References:

Lee, H., W. Bakowski, J. Riley, J. Bowles, M. Puddister, P. Uhlig, and S. McMurray. 1998. Ecological Land Classification for Southern Ontario: First Approximation and Its Application. Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources, Southcentral Science Section, Science Development and Transfer Branch. SCSS Field Guide FG-02.


 

[2] For the purposes of this addendum, a 'site' is the 10 x 10 km UTM grid square with two or more observations during the breeding season.

[3]A functional nest is a natural (e.g. a stump) or artificial (e.g. a nest box) location where there is confirmed breeding evidence for Prothonotary Warblers. 'Dummy nests' are not considered to be functional nests.

Page 8

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement de la Paruline orangée au Canada [Proposition] 2007

Addenda au programme de rétablissement de la Paruline orangée (protonotaria citrea) au Canada

Désignation de l'habitat essentiel sur le territoire domanial 

11 juin 2007


Introduction

Le présent addenda a été préparé afin de compléter le programme de rétablissement de la Paruline orangée (Protonotaria citrea) au Canada (ci-après appelé « programme de rétablissement de la Paruline orangée »). Conformément à l'alinéa 41(1)c) de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP), les programmes de rétablissement doivent inclure une désignation de l'habitat essentiel de l'espèce, dans la mesure du possible, et des exemples d’activités susceptibles d'entraîner sa destruction. Il est également précisé au paragraphe 45(1) de la LEP que les programmes de rétablissement peuvent être modifiés en tout temps et que des copies des modifications doivent être affichées au Registre public de la LEP.

De nouvelles données relatives à l'habitat essentiel de la Paruline orangée ont été évaluées depuis que les compétences coopérantes ont donné leur appui au programme de rétablissement de l'espèce. Le présent addenda donne un aperçu des critères proposés pour la désignation de l'habitat essentiel de la Paruline orangée dans toute son aire de répartition au Canada (section 1) et les applique au territoire domanial en utilisant l'information actuellement disponible (section 2). Le présent addenda désigne l'habitat essentiel à un emplacement, soit la partie marais Hahn de la réserve nationale de faune (RNF) du ruisseau Big Creek, et décrit les activités susceptibles de détruire l'habitat essentiel dans cette réserve ou à proximité (section 3).

Les critères utilisés pour désigner l'habitat essentiel (section 1) seront évalués de façon plus poussée en consultation avec des spécialistes des oiseaux migrateurs et les compétences coopérantes, afin de désigner l’habitat essentiel de façon plus éclairée sur d'autres sites dans l'aire de répartition canadienne de la Paruline orangée. Les consultations portant sur ces critères et sur les approches utilisées pour délimiter l'habitat essentiel pour cette espèce sont en cours.

1.0 Critères utilisés pour la désignation de l'habitat essentiel

Selon la LEP, l'habitat essentiel est « l'habitat nécessaire à la survie ou au rétablissement d'une espèce sauvage inscrite, qui est désigné comme tel dans un programme de rétablissement ou un plan d'action élaboré à l'égard de l'espèce ».

Pour la Paruline orangée, l’habitat essentiel est caractérisé comme étant l’endroit où des individus de l’espèce réalisent les aspects essentiels de leur cycle de reproduction (pariade, défense de territoire, alimentation, nidification et la période après l’envol) au Canada. Pour la Paruline orangée, les sites

[1] où l'habitat essentiel est désigné doivent satisfaire à deux critères de base ayant trait à la preuve de reproduction et à l'occupation du site :

1) Critère de base de la preuve de reproduction :

Preuve de reproduction confirmée pour au moins une année

Des personnes–ressources fiables doivent avoir observé un nid fonctionnel[2] exhibant des preuves confirmées de reproduction (des œufs et/ou des oisillons, et/ou des adultes transportant de la nourriture, et/ou des adultes transportant des sacs fécaux, et/ou des jeunes ayant pris leur envol, et/ou un mâle et une femelle adulte entrant dans une même cavité dans des circonstances suggérant fortement une nidification).

Les nids naturels ou les nichoirs où les données ne réussissent pas à justifier une confirmation de la reproduction ne satisfont pas aux critères de désignation de l'habitat essentiel. Conformément à la description de la « résidence » de la Paruline orangée au Canada, les nids construits dans des nichoirs mis en place spécialement pour attirer l'espèce (avec la permission des propriétaires fonciers) bénéficient du même niveau de protection que les sites des nids naturels. Par conséquent, ce critère peut s'appliquer aux sites où des nichoirs ont été occupés par l'espèce ciblée.

ET

2) Critère de base de l’occupation du site :

Le site a été occupé par la Paruline orangée pendant la saison de reproduction au moins deux années depuis 1997.

La Paruline orangée occupe occasionnellement des petits îlots d'habitat isolés pendant seulement une année sans jamais y revenir. La présence de couples occupant un site pendant plus d'une année indique cependant que ce site est suffisamment convenable pour justifier la désignation de l'habitat essentiel. L'année 1997 a été choisie comme point de référence car elle coïncide avec les premiers relevés annuels systématiques pour l'espèce au Canada.

Les critères qui serviront à la désignation de l'habitat essentiel aux emplacements où il y aura remise en état, amélioration et création d'habitat (c.-à-d. habitat de rétablissement) seront élaborés dans le cadre des études prévues au calendrier des études. Les critères qui seront considérés pour tracer plus précisément les limites de l'habitat essentiel dans des emplacements donnés au Canada, incluent, sans s’y limiter, les facteurs tels que le territoire autour des nids fonctionnels confirmés, les habitats utilisés par les juvéniles suivant l’envol et les communautés végétales où se trouvent les nids fonctionnels confirmés (p. ex. niveau des ensembles de communautés selon le cadre de classification écologique des terres de l'Ontario de Lee et al., 1998). Il est prévu que certains éléments particuliers seront également exclus de l’habitat essentiel (p. ex. bâtiments et autres structures d’origine anthropique).


2.0 Application des critères de base et désignation de l'habitat essentiel sur le territoire domanial

Selon les critères de base décrits ci-dessus, il n’est possible de désigner l'habitat essentiel que sur un seul territoire domanial de l'aire de répartition de la population canadienne de la Paruline orangée, soit la partie marais Hahn, de la réserve nationale de faune (RNF) du ruisseau Big Creek.

Comme l'exige la LEP, la description de l'habitat essentiel sera publiée dans la Gazette du Canada dans les 90 jours suivant l'affichage de la version finale de l'addenda au Registre public de la LEP. Les limites de l'habitat essentiel sont contenues à l’intérieur de celles de la partie marais Hahn de la réserve nationale de faune du ruisseau Big Creek (légalement décrite comme étant : toute la parcelle de terrain située dans la municipalité régionale de Haldimand-Norfolk, township de Norfolk, autrefois dans le township géographique de South-Walsingham, comté de Norfolk, représenté par la partie 1 d’un plan parcellaire déposé au Bureau d’enregistrement des terres, division de Norfolk (no 37), carte portant le numéro 37R 264, ainsi qu’une emprise dans la partie 2 indiquée sur le plan. Ladite partie 1 couvre 402,19 acres, plus ou moins, et la partie 2 couvre 0,14 acre, plus ou moins).

Aucun autre territoire domanial ne satisfait aux deux critères de base pour la désignation de l'habitat essentiel. De l'habitat essentiel supplémentaire sera désigné dans d'autres sites au sein de l’aire de répartition de la population canadienne de la Paruline orangée en utilisant les critères de base, au fur et à mesure que de nouvelles données seront réunies (p. ex. données sur l'habitat, cartographie de la végétation et analyses scientifiques).

Le plan d'action, dont l'affichage au Registre public de la LEP est prévu pour juin 2010, désignera de l’habitat essentiel supplémentaire et énumérera les méthodes de suivi proposées pour le rétablissement de la Paruline orangée au Canada.

 

3.0 Exemples d'activités se déroulant dans la réserve nationale de faune du ruisseau Big Creek ou à proximité et susceptibles de détruire l'habitat essentiel

Les activités se déroulant dans l'habitat essentiel désigné ou à proximité de celui-ci qui sont susceptibles de le détruire sont notamment : les modifications draconiennes ou permanentes des régimes hydrologiques normaux (p. ex. drainage des terres humides, construction de barrages et remplissage des basses terres marécageuses et des marais associés), toute réduction de la superficie totale du couvert forestier par des pratiques d'exploitation forestière commerciale ou le défrichement, l'expansion des lotissements résidentiels existants et le développement industriel.

Depuis 1985, le niveau de l'eau de la partie Big Creek de la réserve nationale de faune a été modifié artificiellement par endiguement et pompage dans le but de maintenir l’habitat pour les espèces sauvages. Ces activités ne détruisent pas l'habitat essentiel dans la partie marais Hahn, comme le prouve les oiseaux qui reviennent à cet emplacement et s'y reproduisent avec succès de façon régulière depuis la fin des années 1970. Le suivi de la Paruline orangée se poursuivra dans la réserve nationale de faune afin de garantir la protection de l'habitat essentiel de l'espèce.

 

Références :

Lee, H., W. Bakowski, J. Riley, J. Bowles, M. Puddister, P. Uhlig et S. McMurray. 1998. Ecological Land Classification for Southern Ontario: First Approximation and Its Application, Ministère des Richesses naturelles de l'Ontario, Section des sciences de la région Centre-Sud, Direction du développement et du transfert des connaissances scientifiques, Guide sur le terrain de la SSRCS FG-02.



[1] Aux fins du présent addenda, un site est un carré de 10 km sur 10 km du quadrillage MTU où au moins deux observations ont été faites au cours de la saison de reproduction.

[2]Un nid fonctionnel est un emplacement naturel (p. ex. une souche) ou artificiel (p. ex. un nichoir) où la reproduction de la Paruline orangée a été confirmée. Les nids incomplets ne sont pas considérés comme des nids fonctionnels.