Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Atlantic Walrus in Canada

Population Sizes and Trends

As the number of whales in the Canadian Arctic and Hudson Bay dwindled towards the end of the 19th century, whalers turned their efforts to hunting other species, including walruses (Low 1906; Degerbøl and Freuchen 1935). Commercial and sport hunting of walruses was banned in Canada in 1928 by an order in the Privy Council (P.C. 1036) (see Mansfield 1973). There are no estimates of the level of exploitation, but walrus populations in the eastern Canadian Arctic are apparently still much reduced (Manning 1946; Schwartz 1976; Reeves 1978; Davis et al. 1980; Richard and Campbell 1988; Born et al. 1995). There is no comprehensive compilation of historical harvest records that might be used to estimate initial levels of these populations. 

There are no complete or recent estimates of numbers for walrus populations in Nunavut (Stewart 2002) or Nunavik. There are index estimates for some populations but they have broad confidence intervals (Cosens et al. 1993), so that changes in population size would have to be very large to be detectable. These estimates cannot be corrected for animals that are submerged beyond view or for haul-out dynamics, which determine the proportion of a herd that is on land or ice or in the water at the time of the survey. Data on the number of walrus present in an area often consist simply of counts of animals hauled out at known areas of concentration, or opportunistic sightings, and cannot be used to estimate the total Canadian walrus population (Richard and Campbell 1988).

Greenland walrus populations--West Greenland, North Water, and East GreenlandFootnote 3--were recently assessed using a density-dependent population dynamics model with assumed life-history parameters, fitted by Bayesian methods to catch series extending back to the early 1900s or late 1800s, and a single survey estimate for each population (Witting and Born 2005). Conclusions from the analyses of the western Greenland populations (i.e. West Greenland and North Water) were that their pristine sizes had been very much larger, they were now overhunted, and further depletion or extinction was likely. Conclusions were dependent on the survey estimates and the assumptions about life-history parameters--and the data contained no information that could update the prior distributions of life history variables. A review of these assessments by NAMMCO in 2005 recognized that prior distributions of life history variables were not updated by the data. Concerns were also raised about the quality of the surveys. The likely connection between walruses in Hudson Strait and northern Hudson Bay stock with those in West Greenland was also not considered in the assessment by Witting and Born (2005). However, Witting and Born’s (2005) findings agreed with the general conclusion that these populations (West Greenland and North Water) are substantially depleted despite the reservations of the NAMMCO Scientific Committee concerning details of the assessment.


South and East Hudson Bay Population

A comprehensive survey of the walrus population in eastern and southern Hudson Bay and James Bay has not been conducted. In the spring of 1955, a herd estimated at over 1000 animals was seen hauled out on the sandspit at Cape Henrietta Maria (Clarke in Loughrey 1959) and in September 1955, the captain of the Fort Severn saw a herd off the coast at Winisk (Loughrey 1959). Born et al. (1995) have questioned the accuracy of the former estimate, which was told to Clarke, and cautioned against its use in determining population trend. The Ontario Department of Natural Resources (DNR) has recorded opportunistic observations of walruses at shoals off the mouth of the “Brant River” since 1957 (C. Chenier, DNR, pers. comm. 2003). Walruses have been seen on the shoals between 20 July and 18 October. The number of animals varies widely and no trend is apparent in the population. High counts recorded by Ontario DNR have ranged from 310 on 5 October 1978 (J.P. Prevett), to 204 on 9 September 1983 (K.F. Abraham) and from to 330 on 8 September 1986 (K.F. Abraham), to about 221 in August 1999 (C. Chenier).

In the late 1930s, Twomey and Herrick (1942) saw and hunted a herd they estimated at over 400 animals in the northern Sleeper Islands. Since then only smaller herds have been reported from the region. On 4 August 1971, Manning (1976) saw 75 walruses near the south end of the Sleeper Islands, and the next day saw 25 off the west coast of Kidney Island, largest of the Sleeper Islands. A herd of about 30 animals was seen at the Sleepers in October 1996; nine of these animals were harvested (Brooke 1997). In the summer of 1993, a herd of about 30 animals was seen in the Belchers directly north of Sanikiluaq during an aerial survey (J. Desrosier, pers. comm. 2003). Hunters report that there are fewer walruses near the community and on neighbouring islands now, than in the past (DFO 2000).

In the early 1990s, walrus were reportedly numerous along the Ontario coast of Hudson Bay west to the Winisk (Peawanuck) area, and have been seen in July near Fort Severn (Fleming and Newton 2003). This coastline may provide a refuge for the population, since Cree hunters do not have a strong tradition of hunting walruses and take few animals (Johnston 1961).

Richard and Campbell (1988) and Born et al. (1995) estimated the size of this population at 410+ and “500?” animals, respectively. Both of these estimates were tentative and based on a few sightings in a wide geographical area over a long period. Taking the largest direct counts of the past decade or so, as did Richard and Campbell (1988), yields an updated estimate of 270+ animals. The data are too few to assess whether a decline has occurred.


Northern Hudson Bay–Davis Strait Population

Aerial survey counts of walruses in the northern Coats Island, Walrus Island and southeast Southampton Island area of northern Hudson Bay were conducted in July or August of 1954 (Loughrey 1959), 1961 (Mansfield 1962), 1976-77 (Mansfield and St. Aubin 1991) and 1988-90 (Richard 1993). They produced maximum counts, respectively, of 2900 (Loughrey 1959: 80), 2650 (Mansfield 1959; 46), 2370 (Mansfield and St. Aubin 1991: 97), and 1376 (Richard 1993: 7) walruses. The real population size is likely greater, as these counts are not based on systematic surveys of the entire area and were not corrected for animals missed by the observers. While they suggest a declining trend, care must be taken in interpreting these data given differences in survey methods and ice coverage, and wide fluctuations in the numbers of animals hauled out at any particular time. Richard’s (1993) counts in 1988–90, for example, were above the average of the daily counts in 1976 and 1977. On Coats Island, Gaston and Ouelett (1997) counted about 600 animals at Cape Pembroke on 7 August 1992 and about 500 at Cape Prefontaine on 31 July 1995. Hunters from Coral Harbour have reported an increase in the number of walruses near their community over the past 10 years (DFO 2000).

Walruses were more common and numerous along the west coast of Hudson Bay between Arviat and Chesterfield Inlet in the past (Loughrey 1959; Born et al. 1995). They are now found mostly in the area north of Chesterfield Inlet. No counts are available for this region.

Cape Dorset hunters have reported walrus herds of between 500 and 1000 animals on the ice or at uglit along western Foxe Peninsula in summer, particularly between Cape Dorset and Cape Dorchester, with a similar number in the area between Salisbury and Nottingham islands (Orr and Rebizant 1987). They also report an increase in the number of walruses near the community over the past 30 years (DFO 2000). An aerial survey in August 1990 counted 461 walruses on Nottingham Island (Richard 1993).

Surveys of the southeast Baffin coast conducted in the summer and fall of 1977 through 1979 located a number of uglit (MacLaren Atlantic Limited 1978; MacLaren Marex Inc. 1979, 1980a+b; Smith et al. 1979). The number of walrus at each ugli was typically between a few and several hundred, with the exception of a small island near Lady Franklin Island, where 600 to 700 animals were seen on 15 August 1979 (McLaren Marex Inc. 1980b).

Currie (1963: 22) estimated the population of walruses that visited Akpatok Island in spring around 1960 as at least 1000 and perhaps over 2000. Indeed, before the 1950s hunters landed 800 animals there in one season, and during the 1950s there were annual harvests of 150 to 200 animals. Residents of the communities around Ungava Bay still hunt walruses each year at Akpatok Island (Olpinski 1990, 1993; Portnoff 1994; Brooke 1997) but the number of animals now present is unknown.

Richard and Campbell (1988) and Born et al. (1995) estimated the size of this population at 4850–5350 and 6000 animals, respectively. Both of these estimates were tentative and based on a few sightings in a wide geographical area over a long period. They have very wide uncertainty, but cannot be updated as there are no new data.


Foxe Basin Population

Because Foxe Basin was not a major whaling ground or shipping route its walrus population was not hunted intensively by whalers when larger prey became scarce. While its initial size is unknown the population is likely somewhat reduced by the substantial subsistence harvests. Orr et al. (1986) counted 2722 walruses during a reconnaissance helicopter survey of northern Foxe Basin in August 1983. In August 1988 and July 1989, systematic visual strip transect surveys were flown over central Foxe Basin (Richard 1993). In 1988, the number of animals at the surface was estimated at 5200 (95%CI 900-30500) based on a direct count of 440; in 1989 it was estimated at 5500 (95%CI 2700-11200), based on a direct count of 475. These surveys did not cover the whole of northern Foxe Basin or correct for animals that were submerged beyond view. They provide an index against which change can be measured rather than an overall estimate of the population.

Richard and Campbell (1988) estimated the size of this population at 2725+ animals based on direct counts by Orr et al. (1986); Born et al. (1995) based their estimate of 5500 animals on Richard’s (1993) survey data. The latter estimate has wide uncertainty limits but stands as the best available. It suggests a minimum population of well over 2700 animals in 1989. No trend in the population can be established from the data available.


Baffin Bay (High Arctic) Population

No comprehensive survey of the North Water and adjacent areas occupied by this population has been conducted, so only piecemeal information from different seasons and years is available for estimating the population size. Finley and Renaud (1980) counted about 700 walruses in the North Water in March 1979, but saw few during a survey the previous year. During a systematic survey of the area in late March 1993, Richard et al. (1998) saw 13 animals, widely dispersed. Davis et al. (1978) surveyed terrestrial haul-out sites and adjacent waters in the central Canadian High Arctic in 1977. Between 21 and 23 August they counted 303 animals in the Goose Fiord–Walrus Fiord area of southwest Ellesmere Island and Norfolk Inlet–Arthur Fiord areas of northern Devon Islands; 118 on the east side of Penny Strait, 281 in the Crozier Strait-Pullen Strait-Milne Inlet area, and 71 along the southwest coast of Devon Island. In the last area, a polar bear was present at one of the haul-outs and swimming animals were not counted. The distance that separates these areas and the brief counting period makes it unlikely that animals were double counted. Based on these counts at least 773 walruses were alive in the region in 1977.

These and other data were reviewed in detail by Born et al. (1995), who suggested that summering walruses might number: 100 in the Kane Basin region; 300 in the Buchanan Bay (78°58'N, 75°11' W) and Princess Marie Bay (79°20'N, 76°00' W); 300-600 in Jones Sound and along eastern Ellesmere Island south of Pim Island (78°44'N, 74°25' W); and 1000 in the Lancaster Sound area and along southern Devon Island. These numbers were educated guesses because the data were insufficient for an accurate, current assessment. Since then, late summer surveys of the coastal waters of Jones Sound and northern Lancaster Sound over 4 consecutive years (1998-2001) produced an average count of about 350 walruses (DFO 2000; R. Stewart, DFO pers. comm. 2004). This does not alter the estimates but confirms that at least 350 walruses were alive in the region in recent years.

An aerial survey was conducted in August 1999 along the coasts of eastern Ellesmere Island and in Jones Sound, south Devon Island and Cornwallis Island – Grinnell Peninsula. A total of 452 walruses were counted. Witting and Born (working paper cited in NAMMCO 2006) applied a correction factor to this count and estimated there were about 1000 animals in the surveyed area. They further assumed the unsurveyed areas contained about 500 animals. NAMMCO (2006) noted that the total estimate of 1500 for the North Water should not be used in assessments until further information is presented on the survey design and analysis.


Nova Scotia–Newfoundland–Gulf of St Lawrence (Maritime) Population

Originally, this population is believed to have numbered in the tens of thousands. There has been no evidence for the past 200 years of the population’s re-establishment.

Footnote 3

Note, however, that the West Greenland population is connected in some degree to the Canadian population defined here as the Northern Hudson Bay–Davis St population, while the North Water population is thought to be the same as at least the eastern-Jones-Sound part of the Baffin Bay population.

Return to footnote 3 referrer

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le Morse de l'Atlantique au Canada – Mise à jour

Taille et tendances des populations

À mesure que l’abondance des baleines dans l’Arctique canadien et la baie d’Hudson diminuait vers la fin du XIXe siècle, les baleiniers se sont tournés de plus en plus vers la chasse d’autres espèces, dont les morses (Low, 1906; Degerbøl et Freuchen, 1935). La chasse commerciale et la chasse sportive des morses ont été interdites au Canada en 1928 par décret du Conseil privé (C.P. 1036; voir Mansfield, 1973). Il n’existe aucune estimation du taux d’exploitation, mais les populations de morses de l’est de l’Arctique canadien semblent encore aujourd’hui considérablement réduites (Manning, 1946; Schwartz, 1976; Reeves, 1978; Davis et al., 1980; Richard et Campbell, 1988; Born et al., 1995). Il n’existe aucune compilation exhaustive des données historiques sur la chasse qui pourrait être utilisée pour estimer l’abondance initiale de ces populations.

On ne dispose d’aucune estimation complète ou récente de l’abondance des populations de morses au Nunavut (Stewart, 2002) et au Nunavik. Des indices ont été estimés pour certaines populations, mais ils ont de larges intervalles de confiance (Cosens et al., 1993), de sorte que seules de très grandes variations dans la taille de la population peuvent être détectées. Ces estimations ne peuvent être corrigées pour tenir compte des individus immergés indétectables ou de la dynamique des échoueries. Or, cette correction est nécessaire pour déterminer la proportion d’un troupeau qui se trouve sur la terre, sur la glace ou dans l’eau au moment des relevés. Les données sur l’abondance des morses dans un secteur se limitent souvent à un décompte des individus présents dans des échoueries connues ou à des observations non scientifiques, et ne peuvent être utilisées pour estimer la population totale de morses au Canada (Richard et Campbell, 1988).

Les populations de morses du Groenland – ouest du Groenland, eaux du Nord et est du GroenlandNote de bas de page 3– ont été récemment évaluées à l’aide d’un modèle de la dynamique des populations en fonction de la densité avec des paramètres prédéterminés liés au cycle vital. On a ajusté le modèle à l’aide de méthodes bayesiennes pour tenir compte des séries de données remontant jusqu’au début des années 1900 ou la fin des années 1800 ainsi que d’une estimation de chaque population fondée sur un seul inventaire (Witting et Born, 2005). Les analyses des populations de l’ouest du Groenland (ouest du Groenland et eaux du Nord) ont conclu que la taille initiale de ces populations était beaucoup plus grande, que les morses font actuellement l’objet d’une chasse excessive et qu’un déclin additionnel ou une disparition est probable. Ces conclusions sont fondées sur les estimations du relevé et sur les hypothèses concernant les paramètres du cycle vital (les données ne contenaient aucune information permettant d’actualiser les distributions antérieures des paramètres du cycle vital). Dans son examen de cette étude, la NAMMCO a reconnu en 2005 que les distributions antérieures des paramètres du cycle vital n’étaient pas actualisées par les données. La qualité des relevés a également été mise en doute. De plus, les interactions probables entre les morses du détroit d’Hudson et du nord de la baie d’Hudson et ceux de l’ouest du Groenland ont été ignorées dans l’étude de Witting et Born (2005). Cependant, les conclusions de Witting et Born (2005) soutiennent la conclusion générale voulant que ces populations (ouest du Groenland et eaux du Nord) subissent un important déclin, malgré les réserves formulées par le comité scientifique de la NAMMCO concernant les détails de l’évaluation.


Population du sud et de l’est de la baie d’Hudson

Aucun relevé complet de la population de morses de l’est et du sud de la baie d’Hudson et de la baie James n’a été effectué. Au printemps 1955, un troupeau estimé à plus de 1 000 individus a été aperçu dans une échouerie sur une flèche de sable au cap Henrietta Maria (Clarke cité dans Loughrey, 1959). En septembre 1955, le capitaine du Fort Severn a aperçu un troupeau au large de la côte, à Winisk (Loughrey, 1959). Born et al. (1995) ont remis en question la précision de cette première estimation, qui a été rapportée à Clarke, et ont recommandé de ne pas l’employer pour déterminer les tendances de la population. Le ministère des Richesses naturelles de l’Ontario (MRNO) enregistre les observations non scientifiques de morses dans les hauts-fonds au large de l’embouchure de la rivière Brant depuis 1957 (C. Chenier, MRNO, comm. pers., 2003). Des morses ont été signalés dans ces hauts-fonds entre le 20 juillet et le 18 octobre. Le nombre d’individus varie considérablement, et aucune tendance démographique ne se dégage. Les décomptes les plus élevés enregistrés par le MRNO s’élevaient à 310 le 5 octobre 1978 (J.P. Prevett), à 204 le 9 septembre 1983 (K.F. Abraham), à 330 le 8 septembre 1986 (K.F. Abraham) et à environ 221 en août 1999 (C. Chenier).

À la fin des années 1930, Twomey et Herrick (1942) ont observé et chassé un troupeau qu’ils estimaient à plus de 400 individus dans le nord des îles Sleeper. Depuis, seuls des troupeaux de plus petite taille sont signalés dans la région. Le 4 août 1971, Manning (1976) a aperçu 75 morses près de l’extrémité sud des îles Sleeper et, le jour suivant, il en a vu 25 au large de la côte ouest de l’île Kidney, la plus grande île de l’archipel. Un troupeau d’environ 30 morses a été observé dans les îles Sleeper en octobre 1996; 9 d’entre eux ont été abattus (Brooke, 1997). À l’été 1993, un troupeau d’environ 30 morses a été aperçu dans les îles Belcher, directement au nord de Sanikiluaq, lors d’un relevé aérien (J. Desrosier, comm. pers., 2003). Les chasseurs signalent qu’il y a moins de morses à proximité de la collectivité et dans les îles avoisinantes aujourd’hui que dans le passé (MPO, 2000).

Au début des années 1990, on signalait une abondance de morses le long de la côte ontarienne de la baie d’Hudson, à l’ouest de la région de Winisk (Peawanuck). On observe des individus en juillet près de Fort Severn (Fleming et Newton, 2003). Ce littoral offre peut‑être un refuge à la population, les Cris n’ayant pas une grande tradition de chasse au morse et capturant peu d’individus (Johnston, 1961).

Richard et Campbell (1988) et Born et al. (1995) ont estimé la taille de cette population à plus de 410 et à 500 individus respectivement. Ces deux estimations sont spéculatives et fondées sur quelques observations dans un vaste territoire réparties sur une longue période. En ne tenant compte que des plus grands dénombrements directs des dix dernières années environ, Richard et Campbell (1988) sont arrivés à une estimation de plus de 270 individus. Les données sont trop rares pour déterminer si un déclin s’est produit.


Population du nord de la baie d’Hudson et du détroit de Davis

Des relevés aériens de morses dans la région du nord de la baie d’Hudson qui englobent le nord de l’île Coats, l’île Walrus et le sud-est de l’île Southampton ont été menés en juillet ou août 1954 (Loughrey, 1959), 1961 (Mansfield, 1962), 1976-1977 (Mansfield et St. Aubin, 1991) et 1988-1990 (Richard, 1993). Les dénombrements maximaux de ces relevés étaient respectivement de 2 900 (Loughrey, 1959 : 80), de 2 650 (Mansfield, 1959 : 46), de 2 370 (Mansfield et St. Aubin, 1991 : 97) et de 1 376 (Richard, 1993 : 7) individus. La population est probablement de plus grande taille en réalité, car ces dénombrements ne sont pas fondés sur un relevé systématique de l’ensemble de la région et n’ont pas été corrigés pour tenir compte des individus ayant échappé aux observateurs. Bien que les données indiquent une tendance au déclin, on doit les interpréter avec prudence compte tenu des différences dans les méthodologies des relevés et dans la couverture des glaces. Il faut aussi considérer les grandes fluctuations dans le nombre de morses dans les échoueries selon la période. Les relevés de Richard (1993) menés en 1988-1990, par exemple, ont donné des résultats supérieurs aux dénombrements quotidiens moyens de 1976 et 1977. Sur l’île Coats, Gaston et Ouellet (1997) ont dénombré environ 600 morses au cap Pembroke le 7 août 1992 et environ 500 au cap Prefontaine le 31 juillet 1995. Les chasseurs de Coral Harbour ont signalé une augmentation de l’abondance des morses près de leur collectivité au cours des dix dernières années (MPO, 2000).

Les morses étaient plus communs et abondants dans le passé le long de la côte ouest de la baie d’Hudson, entre Arviat et Chesterfield Inlet (Loughrey, 1959; Born et al., 1995). Aujourd’hui, on les trouve principalement au nord de Chesterfield Inlet. Aucun dénombrement n’a été effectué dans cette région.

Les chasseurs de Cape Dorset ont signalé des troupeaux de morses comptant entre 500 et 1 000 individus sur la glace ou dans des uglit sur le littoral ouest de la péninsule Foxe en été, en particulier entre Cape Dorset et Cape Dorchester, et un nombre semblable de morses entre les îles Salisbury et Nottingham (Orr et Rebizant, 1987). Ils affirment également que le nombre de morses a augmenté à proximité de la collectivité au cours des 30 dernières années (MPO, 2000). Un relevé aérien mené en août 1990 a dénombré 461 morses sur l’île Nottingham (Richard, 1993).

Plusieurs uglit ont été localisés lors de relevés menés l’été et l’automne de 1977 à 1979 sur la côte sud-est de l’île de Baffin (MacLaren Atlantic Limited, 1978; MacLaren Marex Inc., 1979, 1980a,b; Smith et al., 1979). Le nombre de morses à chaque ugli variait entre quelques têtes et quelques centaines d’individus, sauf sur un îlot près de l’île Lady Franklin, où 600 à 700 morses ont été aperçus le 15 août 1979 (McLaren Marex Inc., 1980b).

Currie (1963 : 22) a estimé à au moins 1 000 et peut-être à plus de 2 000 individus la population de morses qui ont fréquenté l’île Akpatok le printemps de 1960. En effet, avant les années 1950, les chasseurs débarquaient 800 morses à cet endroit en une seule saison et, durant les années 1950, on capturait annuellement de 150 à 200 morses. Les résidents des collectivités de la baie d’Ungava chassent encore les morses chaque année à l’île Akpatok (Olpinski, 1990, 1993; Portnoff, 1994; Brooke, 1997), mais le nombre d’individus qui s’y trouvent aujourd’hui est inconnu.

Richard et Campbell (1988) et Born et al. (1995) ont estimé la taille de cette population à 4 850-5 350 et à 6 000 individus respectivement. Ces deux estimations sont de nature spéculative et fondées sur quelques observations dans un vaste territoire réparties sur une longue période. Elles font l’objet d’une grande incertitude et ne peuvent être mises à jour, car on ne dispose pas de nouvelles données.


Population du bassin Foxe

Le bassin Foxe n’a jamais été un important territoire de chasse à la baleine ni une grande voie maritime; par conséquent, sa population de morses n’a pas subi de chasse intensive par les baleiniers lorsque les baleines se sont faites rares. La taille initiale de la population est inconnue, mais elle a probablement été réduite par la pratique d’une importante chasse de subsistance. Orr et al. (1986) ont dénombré 2 722 morses durant un relevé de reconnaissance par hélicoptère dans le nord du bassin Foxe en août 1983. En août 1988 et juillet 1989, des relevés visuels systématiques ont été effectués par survol de transects au‑dessus du centre du bassin Foxe (Richard, 1993). En 1988, le nombre d’individus à la surface a été estimé à 5 200 (IC 95 p. 100 : 900-30 500) d’après un dénombrement direct de 440 morses; en 1989, celui-ci a été estimé à 5 500 (IC 95 p. 100 : 2 700-11 200), d’après un dénombrement direct de 475 morses. Ces relevés n’ont pas couvert l’ensemble du nord du bassin Foxe ni apporté de facteur de correction pour tenir compte des individus en plongée qui ont échappé aux observateurs. Ils fournissent un indice permettant de mesurer les fluctuations et non une estimation globale de la taille de la population.

Richard et Campbell (1988) ont estimé la taille de cette population à plus de 2 725 individus, d’après les dénombrements directs d’Orr et al. (1986); Born et al. (1995) ont pour leur part fondé leur estimation de 5 500 individus sur les relevés de Richard (1993). Cette dernière estimation a une incertitude élevée, mais représente la meilleure estimation disponible. Elle indique que la population minimale aurait compté beaucoup plus que 2 700 individus en 1989. Aucune tendance démographique ne peut être dégagée des données disponibles.


Population de la baie de Baffin (Extrême-Arctique)

Aucun relevé complet des eaux du Nord et des régions environnantes occupées par cette population n’a été mené; on ne dispose donc que de données partielles obtenues à des saisons et à des années différentes pour estimer la taille de la population. Finley et Renaud (1980) ont dénombré environ 700 morses dans les eaux du Nord en mars 1979, mais n’en ont aperçu qu’un petit nombre lors d’un relevé mené l’année précédente. Durant un relevé systématique de la région à la fin de mars 1993, Richard et al. (1998) ont aperçu 13 individus très dispersés. Davis et al. (1978) ont inventorié les échoueries terrestres et les eaux voisines dans le centre de l’Extrême-Arctique canadien en 1977. Entre le 21 et le 23 août, ils ont dénombré 303 individus dans la région de la baie Goose et de la baie Walrus, dans le sud-ouest de l’île d’Ellesmere, et dans la région de la baie Norfolk et de la baie Arthur, dans le nord de l’île Devon. Ils ont également dénombré 118 individus du côté oriental du détroit de Penny, 281 dans la région du détroit de Crozier, du détroit de Pullen et de la baie Milne et 71 le long de la côte sud-ouest de l’île Devon. Dans cette dernière région, un ours blanc était présent dans l’une des échoueries, et les individus dans l’eau n’ont pas été dénombrés. La distance séparant ces régions et la courte période durant laquelle les relevés ont été menés excluent presque toute probabilité que des individus aient été comptés deux fois. D’après ces dénombrements, au moins 773 morses se trouvaient dans la région en 1977.

Ces données et d’autres ont été examinées en détail par Born et al. (1995), qui estiment les abondances estivales de morses : à 100 dans la région du bassin Kane; à 300 dans la baie Buchanan (78°58’N, 75°11’O) et la baie Princess Marie (79°20’N, 76°00’O); à 300-600 dans le détroit de Jones et le long de la côte est de l’île d’Ellesmere, au sud de l’île Pim (78°44’N, 74°25’O); à 1 000 dans la région du détroit de Lancaster et le long de la côte sud de l’île Devon. Ces chiffres sont des conjectures puisque les données sont insuffisantes pour produire une évaluation précise et actualisée. Depuis, des relevés de fin d’été dans les eaux côtières du détroit de Jones et du nord du détroit de Lancaster menés quatre années consécutives (1998-2001) ont produit des dénombrements moyens d’environ 350 morses (MPO, 2000; R. Stewart, MPO, comm. pers., 2004). Ces chiffres n’infirment pas les estimations, mais confirment plutôt qu’au moins 350 morses vivaient dans la région ces dernières années.

Un relevé aérien a été mené en août 1999 le long de la côte est de l’île d’Ellesmere, dans le détroit de Jones, dans le sud de l’île Devon, dans l’île Cornwallis et dans la péninsule Grinnell. Un total de 452 morses ont été dénombrés. Witting et Born (document de travail cité dans NAMMCO, 2006) ont appliqué un facteur de correction à ce dénombrement et estimé qu’environ 1 000 individus étaient présents dans la région inventoriée. Ils ont également présumé que les régions non inventoriées abritaient environ 500 individus. La NAMMCO (2006) a indiqué que l’estimation totale de 1 500 individus pour les eaux du Nord ne doit pas être employée dans les évaluations tant que de l’information additionnelle sur la conception et l’analyse des relevés ne sera pas présentée.


Population de la Nouvelle-Écosse, de Terre-Neuve et du golfe du Saint-Laurent (Maritimes)

On estime que cette population comptait des dizaines de milliers d’individus à l’origine. Aucun signe de rétablissement de cette population n’a été observé au cours des 200 dernières années.

Note de bas de page 3

On doit noter cependant que la population de l’ouest du Groenland est reliée dans une certaine mesure à la population canadienne définie ici comme la population du nord de la baie d’Hudson et du détroit de Davis, alors que la population des eaux du Nord est réputée être la même, à tout le moins, que la partie de la population de la baie de Baffin qui se trouve dans le secteur est du détroit de Jones.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 3