Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Atlantic Walrus in Canada

Existing Protection or Other Status Designations

Regulations on the hunting of walruses in Canada, and on the international trade in walrus parts, afford very limited protection for Atlantic walrus populations in Canada.


Canadian Harvest Quotas and Protection

Walrus hunting in Nunavut is co-managed by the Nunavut Wildlife Management Board (NWMB), which is charged under Bill C-133 with making all decisions about wildlife management in Nunavut. The board consists of four Inuit and four Government representatives, plus a Chairperson. Canada’s Department of Fisheries and Oceans (DFO) advises the NWMB and hunting communities on sustainable hunting levels and they in turn use this information to manage community hunts. Regional Wildlife Organizations and the local Hunters and Trappers Organizations also play a role in the management of walruses. While the NWMB is the main instrument of wildlife management and the main regulator of access to wildlife in the Nunavut Settlement Area (NSA), government retains ultimate responsibility for wildlife management. Hunting regulations are implemented under the Fisheries Act and the Marine Mammal Protection Regulations by DFO, which manages walrus in other jurisdictions in cooperation with other agencies.

Inuk and Indian natives of Canada can kill up to four walruses per year without a licence, except where community quotas limit annual catches. Non-natives require a licence under the Marine Mammal Regulations or Aboriginal Communal Fishing Licence Regulation to hunt walruses (DFO 2000; Hall 2003). Sport hunts are managed by limiting the number of licences approved annually. Since 1980, Coral Harbour has had an annual harvest quota of 60 walruses, Sanikiluaq 10, Arctic Bay 10, and Clyde River 20 (Strong 1989). In the other communities, it is the number of Inuit rather than the number of walruses that limits the harvest (Stewart 2002). This latter system of management is clearly contrary to sound population management practices, as it does not consider the ability of the population to sustain the potential kill.

In 2001, there were 1225 people of Aboriginal descent living in Igloolik and 585 in Hall Beach (Statistics Canada 2001 community profiles). Assuming that they were all of Inuk descent, and because the age and sex of an Inuk who is entitled to kill walruses is not defined, each of these people was entitled to land 4 walruses. If non-hunters assigned their harvest rights to a hunter, Inuk residents of the two communities could legally have landed 7240 walruses in 2001, perhaps the entire walrus population of Foxe Basin. The Nunavut Wildlife Management Board is considering new ways of managing the walrus hunt.

Within Canada, trade in edible walrus parts is prohibited except among Indians and Inuit in the Northwest Territories, Nunavut, Yukon Territory, Quebec and Newfoundland (Marine Mammal Regulations SOR/93-56). Beneficiaries of the Western Arctic (Inuvialuit) Claims Act and the James Bay and Northern Quebec Native Land Claims Settlement Act must conduct any trade in walrus parts in accordance with the agreement in which the beneficiary is enrolled. The regulations prohibit disturbing, killing ineffectually, hunting without equipment to retrieve, waste of edible parts, and abandoning a killed walrus without making a reasonable effort to retrieve it.

Live capture and tagging are permitted only with a licence. In Nunavut, the NWMB must approve such requests. The Board is currently developing a Live Capture Policy, in consultation with Nunavut hunters and their local and regional organizations (J. Galipeau, NWMB, pers. comm. 2004).

A Marine Mammal Transportation Licence from DFO is required to transport walrus parts within Canada, with the exception of Indians or Inuit who land the walrus in one jurisdiction and are returning to their home in another jurisdiction (Marine Mammal Regulations SOR/93-56).


International Trade and Cooperation

The Atlantic walrus is listed in Appendix III of the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species (CITES) (Richard and Campbell 1988; Hall 2003). Anyone wishing to export walrus parts or derivatives from Canada must obtain an export permit from the Canadian CITES administration. A total of 181 CITES export permits were issued from 1992 to 2001 (Hall 2003). Canada does not consider that additional protective measures are warranted for Atlantic walrus under CITES at the current level of international trade.

There is no formal management agreement between Canada and Greenland in the management of shared stocks of Atlantic walrus. An independent group of international experts on walrus from countries within the species’ range, The Walrus International Technical and Scientific (WITS) Committee, has convened several workshops to promote international cooperation among walrus managers and the exchange of scientific information (Stewart et al. (ed.) 1993). This group also includes walrus hunters.


Status Designations

The “Northwest Atlantic” or “maritime” population of Atlantic walruses in Canada was considered by COSEWIC to have been extirpated (Reeves 1978; Richard and Campbell 1988). Other Canadian populations of the subspecies were designated as Not at Risk in 1987.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le Morse de l'Atlantique au Canada – Mise à jour

Protection actuelle ou autres désignations de statut

La réglementation sur la chasse des morses au Canada ainsi que sur le commerce international des parties du morse offre très peu de protection aux populations de morses de l’Atlantique du Canada.


Quotas de chasse et protection au Canada

La chasse des morses au Nunavut est cogérée par le CGRFN, qui a la responsabilité, aux termes du projet de loi C-133, de prendre toutes les décisions concernant la gestion des espèces sauvages au Nunavut. Le conseil est constitué de quatre représentants des Inuits, de quatre représentants du gouvernement et d’un président. Le MPO conseille le CGRFN et les collectivités pratiquant la chasse en ce qui concerne les niveaux de chasse durable, et le CGRFN se fonde sur ces conseils pour gérer la chasse dans les collectivités. Les organisations régionales des ressources fauniques et les organisations locales de chasseurs et de trappeurs jouent également un rôle dans la gestion des morses. Bien que le CGRFN constitue le principal instrument de gestion des espèces sauvages et de contrôle de l’accès aux espèces sauvages dans la région du Nunavut, la responsabilité de la gestion des espèces sauvages revient en dernière instance au gouvernement. La réglementation de la chasse est appliquée en vertu de la Loi sur les pêches et du Règlement sur les mammifères marins par le MPO, qui gère les morses dans d’autres compétences de concert avec d’autres organisations.

Les Inuits et les Autochtones du Canada peuvent abattre jusqu’à quatre morses par année sans permis, sauf dans les cas où il y a un quota annuel dans une collectivité. Les non-Autochtones doivent obtenir un permis aux termes du Règlement sur les mammifères marins ou du Règlement sur les permis de pêche communautaires des Autochtones (MPO, 2000; Hall, 2003). La chasse sportive est contrôlée en limitant le nombre de permis délivrés annuellement. Depuis 1980, les quotas annuels de chasse sont de 60 morses à Coral Harbour, de 10 à Sanikiluaq, de 10 à Arctic Bay et de 20 à Clyde River (Strong, 1989). Dans les autres collectivités, la chasse est limitée en fonction du nombre d’Inuits plutôt qu’en fonction du nombre de morses (Stewart, 2002). Cette méthode de gestion va clairement à l’encontre de saines pratiques de gestion des populations, car elle ne tient pas compte de la capacité d’une population à soutenir les mortalités potentielles.

En 2001, 1 225 personnes d’origine autochtone vivaient à Igloolik et 585 à Hall Beach (profils des collectivités de 2001 de Statistique Canada). En présumant que ces personnes sont toutes d’origine inuite, et compte tenu du fait que l’âge et le sexe des Inuits ayant le droit d’abattre des morses ne sont pas définis, chacune de ces personnes avait le droit d’abattre quatre morses. Si des non-chasseurs avaient cédé leurs droits de chasse à des chasseurs, les résidents inuits de ces deux collectivités auraient débarqué en toute légalité 7 240 morses en 2001, c’est-à-dire peut-être l’entière population de morses du bassin Foxe. Le CGRFN envisage de nouvelles manières de gérer la chasse des morses.

Le commerce des parties comestibles du morse est interdit au Canada, sauf entre les Autochtones et les Inuits des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, du Nunavut, du Yukon, du Québec et de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador (Règlement sur les mammifères marins, DORS/93-56). Les bénéficiaires de la Loi sur le règlement des revendications des Inuvialuit de la région ouest de l’Arctique et de la Loi sur le règlement des revendications des autochtones de la Baie James et du Nord québécois sont tenus de mener tout commerce de parties du morse conformément à l’accord auquel ils sont assujettis. La réglementation connexe interdit de perturber les morses, de tenter de les abattre par des moyens inefficaces, de les chasser sans équipement pour récupérer leur carcasse, de gaspiller leurs parties comestibles et de les abandonner sans effectuer une tentative raisonnable de récupération après les avoir abattus.

La capture et le marquage d’individus vivants ne sont autorisés que sur délivrance d’un permis. Au Nunavut, le CGRFN doit approuver toute demande de cette nature. Le Conseil élabore actuellement une politique sur la capture d’individus vivants en consultation avec les chasseurs du Nunavut et leurs organisations locales et régionales (J. Galipeau, CGRFN, comm. pers., 2004).

Un permis de transport de mammifères marins délivré par le MPO est requis pour transporter des parties du morse à l’intérieur du Canada, sauf pour les Autochtones ou les Inuits qui ont abattu un morse dans un territoire et le ramènent à leur domicile dans un autre territoire (Règlement sur les mammifères marins, DORS/93-56).


Commerce international et coopération internationale

Le morse de l’Atlantique est inscrit à l’Annexe III de la Convention sur le commerce international des espèces de faune et de flore sauvages menacées d’extinction (CITES) (Richard et Campbell, 1988; Hall, 2003). Quiconque souhaite exporter des parties ou des produits dérivés du morse à l’extérieur du Canada doit obtenir un permis d’exportation auprès de l’administration canadienne de la CITES. Cent quatre-vingt-un permis d’exportation de la CITES ont été émis entre 1992 et 2001 (Hall, 2003). Le Canada estime qu’au niveau actuel de commerce international des mesures additionnelles de protection des morses de l’Atlantique dans le cadre de la CITES ne sont pas nécessaires.

Il n’existe aucune entente officielle entre le Canada et le Groenland pour la gestion des populations de morses de l’Atlantique qui chevauchent ces deux territoires. Un comité international et indépendant de spécialistes des morses provenant des pays touchant à l’aire de répartition de l’espèce, le Walrus International Technical and Scientific (WITS) Committee, a organisé plusieurs ateliers en vue de promouvoir la coopération internationale entre les gestionnaires des morses et l’échange d’information scientifique (Stewart et al. [dir. de publ.], 1993). Des chasseurs de morses font également partie de ce comité.


Désignations de statut

La population canadienne de morses de l’Atlantique appelée « population de l’Atlantique Nord-Ouest », ou « population des Maritimes », a été désignée disparue du pays par le COSEPAC (Reeves, 1978; Richard et Campbell, 1988). Les autres populations canadiennes de la sous-espèce ont été désignées non en péril en 1987.