Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Atlantic Walrus in Canada

Logo of COSEWIC

COSEWIC
Executive Summary

Atlantic Walrus
Odobenus Rosmarus Rosmarus

Species Information

Walruses are large gregarious pinnipeds with front flippers that can support them upright, like otariids, hind flippers that are structured and function like phocid seal hind flippers, upper canine teeth that grow into long tusks, and a moustache of quill-like vibrissae. They are about 120 cm long and 55 kg at birth; males can grow to about 315 cm (~1100 kg) and females to about 277 cm (~800 kg). Their sparsely haired skin is cinnamon brown but can appear pink on a warm day or almost white after a long, cold dive. The Atlantic walrus, Odobenus rosmarus rosmarus (Linnaeus, 1758) is one of two extant subspecies of the walrus, the other being the Pacific walrus (O. r. divergens). The taxonomic status of walruses inhabiting the Laptev Sea is uncertain.

 

Distribution

The Atlantic walrus ranged historically from the central Canadian Arctic in the west to the Kara Sea in the east, north to Svalbard and south to Nova Scotia. Four populations have been identified in Canada: 1) South and East Hudson Bay, 2) Northern Hudson Bay-Davis Strait, 3) Foxe Basin, and 4) Baffin Bay (High Arctic). A fifth population--the “Southeast Gulf of St. Lawrence and Scotian Shelf” or “Maritime” population--was abundant along the Atlantic coast of Canada but has been extirpated. The Baffin Bay population is shared by Canada and Greenland. There may also be exchange between the Northern Hudson Bay–Davis Strait and Central West Greenland populations. The four Canadian populations are distinguished by geographical distribution, changes in abundance, contaminants, and lead isotope ratios and signatures but the degree of genetic interchange between them is uncertain. Moreover, each may consist of sub-units that mix little or not at all. Wintering areas at polynyas in pack ice or at ice edges have been documented within the range of each of the putative populations. Walrus distribution appears to have shifted to areas that are less accessible to people.

 

Habitat

Atlantic walruses occupy a large area but relatively narrow ecological niche. In the absence of humans, they probably require large areas of shallow water (80 m or less) with bottom substrates that support a productive bivalve community, the reliable presence of open water over these feeding areas, and suitable ice or land nearby upon which to haul out. Little protection is afforded to walrus habitat by existing National Parks, Wildlife Areas, Bird Sanctuaries, or other federal lands.

 

Biology

Walruses haul out on ice and land, sometimes in large herds. They can travel long distances by swimming or by riding ice floes but their seasonal movements are poorly understood. They feed predominantly on bivalve molluscs, for which they may compete with bearded seals (Erignathus barbatus). Little is known of their physiological requirements or ability to adapt to changes in food availability or environmental conditions.

Walruses are polygynous. Males compete intensely for females on the ice or in the water from February through April. The stability of the sea ice may be an important determinant of breeding behaviour. Implantation of the embryo is delayed until late June or early July, and gestation is active for about 11 months. Most young are born in late May and early June; some suckle for 25–27 months. Females mature between the ages of 5 and 10 years and give birth to a single calf about once every three years until they reach reproductive senescence. The resulting birth rate is about 0.30 calves per fecund female per year and an annual gross production rate of about 10%. Generation time may be about 21 years. From counts of growth layers in the teeth, walruses may live over 35 years.

Rates of mortality from predation by humans, polar bears (Ursus maritimus) and killer whales (Orcinus orca) are unknown. Fighting during the breeding season and selective hunting may increase male mortality. Little is known of diseases of walruses or of their response to pathogens.

 

Population Sizes and Trends

Five populations ranging from Nova Scotia to the high Arctic are recognized for managing hunting based on geographical distributions, genetics and lead isotope data.

South and East Hudson Bay population. Opportunistic counts suggested there were 270+ animals in the late 1990s, which was lower than earlier estimates of “410+” in 1988 and "500“ in 1995. Data are insufficient to assess whether the population really declined.

NorthernHudson Bay-Davis Straitpopulation. The most recent reconnaissance survey (August 1990) counted 1376 animals in the Coats Island–Southampton Island area and 461 in the Nottingham Island-Salisbury Island area. The number of animals present was roughly estimated in 1988 at 4850–5350 animals, and in 1995 at 6000 animals, based on a few sightings in a wide geographical area over a long period.

Foxe Basinpopulation. In August 1983, 2722 walruses were counted during a helicopter reconnaissance of northern Foxe Basin. In July 1989, a systematic visual aerial survey of central Foxe Basin counted 475 walruses and estimated that 5500 (95%CI 2700-11200) animals were present. These surveys did not cover all of northern Foxe Basin or correct for animals that were submerged beyond view. They provide indices against which change can be measured rather than estimates of the overall population. The 1989 data also provide the best available estimate of abundance.

Baffin Bay (High Arctic) population. In the 1970s and 1980s, 1700–2000 walruses from the Baffin Bay population may have summered in Canadian waters. This estimate was based on data from different seasons and years, most over 20 years old.  An aerial survey in 1999 combined with best guesses for areas not counted suggest the population may have numbered about 1500 animals.

Nova Scotia–Newfoundland–Gulf of St Lawrence (Maritime) population. This--formerly numerous--population used land haul-outs in Newfoundland, the Gulf of St Lawrence; Sable I. off Nova Scotia was also frequented. Heavy harvesting, especially in the 17th and 18th centuries extirpated this population. Occasional recent sightings are not considered a sign of its re-establishment.

 

Limiting Factors and Threats

Atlantic walrus populations in Canada may be limited or threatened by hunting activities, noise disturbance, and industrial activities. Their narrow ecological niche and restricted seasonal distribution make walruses relatively easy to hunt and vulnerable to environmental changes. Hunting is the cause of most known mortality among Atlantic walruses. It probably poses the most consistent limiting factor and threat to populations in Canada. Managers do not know the size or structure, survival rate, sustainable harvest rate, or rate of removal for any of the currently defined Canadian populations.

The ability of these populations to sustain the existing harvest is unknown. Data on the landed harvests of walruses in Canada are incomplete and vary widely in quality. Total removals may be underestimated by as much as 32%. Average annual Canadian takes since 1989–90 are believed to be 15 from the South and East Hudson Bay population (slight drop in take from 1977 to 1990), 247 from the Northern Hudson Bay–Davis Strait population (abrupt decline in kills, mostly in Nunavut, between 1997 and 2002), 276 from the Foxe Basin population (modest drop from 1977 to 1990), and 24 from the Baffin Bay Population (abrupt decline from 1997 to 2002). It is not known whether the decreases in takes are due to less effort, lower hunter success, or uneven reporting. The contribution of changes in the quality of the harvest data and of uneven reporting are also unknown. The Canadian Baffin Bay population may be vulnerable to hunting in Greenland waters, but this is also not well known. There is a pressing need to obtain better estimates of the walrus populations and removals to ensure that declines in recorded harvests do not signal population depletion.

Human disturbances that cause walruses to leave their haul-outs may impact population dynamics by causing stampedes, interfering with feeding and increasing energy expenditures--particularly among calves--masking communications, impairing thermoregulation and increasing stress levels. Prolonged or repeated disturbances may cause walruses to abandon their haul-outs. Their ability to recolonize areas and to adapt to non-threatening disturbances is unknown. The rarity of animals along the Atlantic coast of Canada since that population was extirpated suggests that re-colonization is at best very slow.

Threats posed to walruses in Canadian waters by industrial activities are low at present. Commercial fisheries could affect them by competing directly for food, damaging areas of seabed where walruses feed, and causing audio and visual disturbances; however, scallop fisheries that might have posed the most direct threat have been tried, and have proved non-viable. Machine noise, particularly from aircraft, disturbs walruses and can cause stampedes into the water. Climatic warming or cooling may expose walruses to greater hunting pressure. The effects of chemical contaminants on walruses are unknown but tissue levels are typically low, except for cadmium and lead from natural sources and organochlorines in animals that eat seals. The vulnerability of the species to disease is unknown.

 

Special Significance of the Species

Walruses traditionally provided important staples in the subsistence economy of the eastern Canadian Arctic and Greenland. The hunt and the sharing of its proceeds continue to be of great social and cultural significance, and the economic value of the meat and ivory is substantial. Ecologically, the walrus is important as the only species in its genus and a key link in the Arctic food chain between bivalve molluscs and humans.

 

Existing Protection or Other Status Designations

Atlantic walruses in Canada are afforded limited protection by regulations that manage the hunting, movement, and sale of walrus products (Fisheries Act, Marine Mammal Regulations SOR/93-56, Registered 4 February 1993). Hunts in Nunavut are co-managed by the Nunavut Wildlife Management Board with scientific advice and support from the Department of Fisheries and Oceans (DFO), which manages walrus in other jurisdictions in cooperation with other agencies. Four settlements in the Canadian Arctic have community quotas: Coral Harbour 60/yr, Sanikiluaq 10, Arctic Bay 10, and Clyde River 20. Elsewhere, Inuit and Indian natives of Canada can kill up to four walruses per year without a licence; non‑natives require a licence. Trade in edible walrus parts is prohibited in Canada, except among Indians and Inuit, and a DFO permit is required to transport walrus parts within Canada, except for Indians or Inuit who are returning home after the hunt. The regulations prohibit disturbing, killing ineffectually, hunting without equipment to retrieve, waste of edible parts, and abandoning a killed walrus without making a reasonable effort to retrieve it. Invasive research, such as tagging, and live capture are permitted only under licence.

The Atlantic walrus is listed on Appendix III of the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species (CITES). Anyone wishing to export walrus parts or derivatives from Canada must obtain an export permit from the Canadian CITES administration.

There is no formal cooperation between Canada and Greenland in the management of shared Atlantic walrus populations.

The Atlantic walrus was previously assessed by COSEWIC in 1987 and given two designations: the "Northwest Atlantic" or "maritime" population of Atlantic walruses in Canada was considered extirpated and the Arctic population was designated as not at risk.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le Morse de l'Atlantique au Canada – Mise à jour

logo du COSEPAC

COSEPAC
Résumé

Morse de l'Atlantique
Odobenus rosmarus rosmarus

Information sur l’espèce

Les morses sont des Pinnipèdes grégaires de grande taille. Ils sont dotés de nageoires avant sur lesquelles ils peuvent se dresser, comme les Otariidés, et de nageoires arrière dont la structure et la fonction sont similaires à celles des phoques de la famille des Phocidés. Les canines supérieures se développent en de longues défenses. La moustache est formée de vibrisses en forme d’aiguillons. À la naissance, les morses mesurent 120 cm de long et pèsent environ 55 kg. Les mâles peuvent atteindre 315 cm (~ 1 100 kg), et les femelles, environ 277 cm (~ 800 kg). La peau couverte de poils épars est brun cannelle, mais peut prendre une teinte rose les journées chaudes ou presque blanche après une longue plongée en eau froide. Le morse de l’Atlantique [Odobenus rosmarus rosmarus (Linné, 1758)] est l’une des deux sous-espèces existantes du morse, l’autre étant le morse du Pacifique (O. r. divergens). La classification taxinomique des morses qui vivent dans la mer de Laptev est incertaine.

 

Répartition

L’aire de répartition historique du morse de l’Atlantique s’étendait historiquement depuis le centre de l’Arctique canadien jusqu’à la mer de Kara et depuis Svalbard jusqu’en Nouvelle-Écosse. Quatre populations ont été identifiées au Canada : 1) la population du sud et de l’est de la baie d’Hudson; 2) la population du nord de la baie d’Hudson et du détroit de Davis; 3) la population du bassin Foxe; 4) la population de la baie de Baffin (Extrême-Arctique). Une cinquième population,–la population du sud-est du golfe du Saint-Laurent et de la plate-forme Néo‑Écossaise, ou population des Maritimes,–était autrefois abondante le long de la côte atlantique du Canada, mais elle est aujourd’hui disparue. La population de la baie de Baffin fréquente le Canada et le Groenland. Il y a peut‑être également des échanges entre la population du nord de la baie d’Hudson et du détroit de Davis et celle du centre-ouest du Groenland. Les quatre populations canadiennes se distinguent par leur répartition géographique, les variations dans leur abondance, les teneurs en contaminants et les rapports et signatures des isotopes du plomb, mais le degré des échanges génétiques entre elles est incertain. En outre, chaque population pourrait être constituée de sous-unités entièrement ou presque indépendantes. Des aires d’hivernage dans des polynies de la banquise ou en bordure des glaces ont été documentées à l’intérieur de l’aire de répartition de chacune des populations présumées. Les morses semblent s’être répartis vers des zones moins accessibles à l’humain.

 

Habitat

Les morses de l’Atlantique occupent un vaste territoire, mais leur niche écologique est relativement étroite. En l’absence d’humains, ils ont probablement besoin de grandes étendues d’eaux peu profondes (80 m ou moins) dont le substrat de fond renferme une communauté productive de bivalves, d’eaux généralement libres à la surface de ces aires d’alimentation et d’échoueries sur la glace ou la terre ferme à proximité. Les parcs nationaux, réserves de faune, refuges d’oiseaux et autres terres fédérales offrent peu de protection à l’habitat des morses.

 

Biologie

Les échoueries se trouvent sur la glace ou la terre ferme, et les morses s’y réunissent parfois en grands troupeaux. Ils peuvent parcourir de grandes distances à la nage ou en dérivant sur des floes (plaques de glace détachées de la banquise), mais leurs déplacements saisonniers sont méconnus. Ils se nourrissent principalement de mollusques bivalves, qu’ils se disputent parfois avec les phoques barbus (Erignathus barbatus). On sait peu de choses sur leurs besoins physiologiques et leur capacité d’adaptation à des changements dans l’abondance de la nourriture ou les conditions environnementales.

Les morses sont polygynes. Les mâles se disputent farouchement les femelles sur la glace ou dans l’eau de février à avril. La stabilité de la banquise peut jouer un rôle important dans le comportement reproducteur. L’implantation de l’embryon est retardée jusqu’à la fin de juin ou le début de juillet, et la gestation active dure environ 11 mois. La plupart des mises bas ont lieu à la fin de mai et au début de juin. Certains petits sont allaités jusqu’à l’âge de 25 à 27 mois. Les femelles atteignent la maturité entre l’âge de 5 et 10 ans et mettent bas à un unique rejeton tous les 3 ans environ jusqu’à ce qu’elles atteignent la sénescence sexuelle. Le taux de mise bas est donc d’environ 0,30 nouveau-né par femelle fertile par année, pour un taux annuel brut de production d’environ 10 p. 100. La durée d’une génération est d’environ 21 ans. D’après le décompte des couches de croissance des dents, les morses peuvent vivre plus de 35 ans.

Les taux de mortalité attribuables à la prédation par l’humain, l’ours blanc (Ursus maritimus) et l’épaulard (Orcinus orca) sont inconnus. Les combats durant la saison de reproduction ainsi que la chasse sélective peuvent accroître la mortalité chez les mâles. Les maladies affectant les morses et les réactions de ces derniers aux pathogènes sont méconnues.

 

Taille et tendances des populations

Cinq populations, réparties de la Nouvelle-Écosse jusqu’à l’Extrême-Arctique, sont reconnues pour la gestion de la chasse d’après la répartition géographique, les caractéristiques génétiques et les isotopes du plomb.

Population du sud et de l’est de la baie d’Hudson. Des dénombrements non scientifiques suggèrent que cette population comptait 270 individus ou plus à la fin des années 1990, soit une abondance inférieure aux estimations de 1988 (410 individus ou plus) et de 1995 (500 individus). Les données sont insuffisantes pour déterminer si la population a réellement subi un déclin.

Population du nord de la baie d’Hudson et du détroit de Davis. Le relevé de reconnaissance le plus récent (août 1990) a dénombré 1 376 individus dans la région des îles Coats et Southampton et 461 individus dans la région des îles Nottingham et Salisbury. D’après quelques observations effectuées dans un grand territoire et étalées sur une longue période, le nombre d’individus présents a été grossièrement estimé à 4 850 à 5 350 individus en 1988 et à 6 000 individus en 1995.

Population du bassin Foxe. En août 1983, 2 722 morses ont été dénombrés lors d’un survol de reconnaissance par hélicoptère dans le nord du bassin Foxe. En juillet 1989, un relevé aérien visuel systématique du centre du bassin Foxe a permis de dénombrer 475 morses et d’estimer que 5 500 individus étaient présents (IC 95 p. 100 : 2 700-11 200). Ces relevés n’ont pas couvert l’ensemble de la partie nord du bassin Foxe ni apporté de facteur de correction pour tenir compte des individus submergés impossibles à apercevoir. Ces chiffres sont seulement des indicateurs permettant de mesurer les changements démographiques et non des estimations de la population globale. Les données de 1989 offrent la meilleure estimation de l’abondance.

Population de la baie de Baffin (Extrême-Arctique). Dans les années 1970 et 1980, 1 700 à 2 000 morses de la population de la baie de Baffin auraient estivé dans les eaux canadiennes. Cette estimation est fondée sur des données provenant de différentes saisons et années, la plupart remontant à plus de 20 ans. Un relevé aérien de 1999 combiné à la meilleure estimation possible des zones non inventoriées indique que la population aurait pu compter environ 1 500 individus.

Population de la Nouvelle-Écosse, de Terre-Neuve et du golfe du Saint-Laurent (Maritimes). Cette population, anciennement très abondante, fréquentait des échoueries terrestres à Terre-Neuve, dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent et sur l’île de Sable, au large de la Nouvelle-Écosse. Une chasse intensive, surtout au XVIIe et au XVIIIe siècle, a exterminé cette population. Les observations occasionnelles signalées récemment ne sont pas considérées comme un signe de rétablissement de l’espèce.

 

Facteurs limitatifs et menaces

La chasse, les perturbations par le bruit et les activités industrielles peuvent représenter des facteurs limitatifs ou des menaces pour les populations canadiennes de morses de l’Atlantique. Par leur niche écologique étroite et leur répartition saisonnière restreinte, les morses sont relativement faciles à chasser, en plus d’être vulnérables aux changements environnementaux. La plupart des mortalités connues de morses de l’Atlantique sont attribuables à la chasse. Celle-ci représente probablement le facteur limitatif et la menace les plus constants pour les populations du Canada. On ignore la taille, la structure, le taux de survie, le taux viable de chasse et le taux de prélèvement des populations canadiennes.

La capacité de ces populations à se maintenir au taux de chasse actuel est inconnue. Les données sur la chasse des morses au Canada sont incomplètes et de qualité très variable. Le total des prises pourrait être sous-estimé par un facteur de 32 p. 100. On estime que les prises moyennes annuelles au Canada depuis 1989-1990 sont les suivantes : 15 chez la population du sud et de l’est de la baie d’Hudson (légère baisse entre 1977 et 1990), 247 chez la population du nord de la baie d’Hudson et du détroit de Davis (déclin abrupt de la chasse, principalement au Nunavut, entre 1997 et 2002), 276 chez la population du bassin Foxe (légère baisse entre 1977 et 1990) et 24 chez la population de la baie de Baffin (déclin abrupt entre 1997 et 2002). On ignore si la baisse du nombre de prises est due à une chasse moins intensive, à une diminution du succès de la chasse ou à un manque d’uniformité dans le signalement des prises. On ignore également dans quelle mesure les variations dans la qualité des données sur la chasse et le signalement non uniforme des prises ont une influence sur ces statistiques. La population canadienne de la baie de Baffin pourrait être vulnérable à la chasse dans les eaux du Groenland, mais ce phénomène est également peu connu. Il y a un besoin urgent d’obtenir de meilleures estimations des populations et des prises de morses pour vérifier si la baisse du nombre de prises est le résultat d’un déclin de la population.

Les perturbations humaines incitant les morses à abandonner leurs échoueries peuvent influer sur la dynamique des populations en causant des mouvements de panique, en interrompant la recherche de nourriture, en accroissant les dépenses énergétiques (en particulier chez les petits), en masquant les communications, en nuisant à la thermorégulation et en accroissant le niveau de stress. Les morses peuvent abandonner leurs échoueries si les perturbations sont prolongées ou répétitives. Leur capacité à recoloniser des échoueries et à s’adapter à des perturbations inoffensives est inconnue. La rareté des morses le long de la côte atlantique du Canada depuis que la population y a été exterminée suggère que la recolonisation est, au mieux, extrêmement lente.

Les activités industrielles représentent, à l’heure actuelle, une faible menace pour les morses dans les eaux canadiennes. La pêche commerciale peut nuire à l’espèce en accaparant directement de la nourriture, en endommageant des parties du fond océanique où les morses se nourrissent et en causant des perturbations auditives et visuelles. La pêche des pétoncles, qui aurait représenté la menace la plus directe pour l’espèce, a été tentée sans succès. Le bruit des moteurs, en particulier des avions, dérange les morses et peut provoquer des ruées vers la mer. Un réchauffement ou un refroidissement climatique peut exposer les morses à une chasse plus intensive. Les effets des contaminants chimiques sur les morses sont inconnus, mais les teneurs tissulaires en contaminants sont généralement faibles, excepté le cadmium et le plomb de source naturelle ainsi que les organochlorés chez les morses qui se nourrissent de phoques. La vulnérabilité de l’espèce aux maladies est inconnue.

 

Importance de l’espèce

Traditionnellement, les morses constituaient une source de nourriture importante dans l’économie de subsistance de l’est de l’Arctique canadien et du Groenland. La chasse et le partage de ses produits ont encore aujourd’hui une grande importance sociale et culturelle, et la viande et l’ivoire de morse présentent une grande valeur économique. Sur le plan écologique, l’importance du morse repose sur le fait qu’il est la seule espèce de son genre et qu’il est un intermédiaire clé dans la chaîne trophique de l’Arctique entre les mollusques bivalves et les humains.

 

Protection actuelle ou autres désignations de statut

Au Canada, les morses de l’Atlantique bénéficient d’une protection limitée aux termes de la règlementation sur la chasse au morse et le transport et la vente des produits du morse (Loi sur les pêches, Règlement sur les mammifères marins, DORS/93-56, enregistré le 4 février 1993). Au Nunavut, la chasse est cogérée par le Conseil de gestion des ressources fauniques du Nunavut, avec les conseils scientifiques et le soutien du ministère des Pêches et des Océans (MPO), qui gère les morses dans d’autres compétences, de concert avec d’autres organismes. Quatre collectivités de l’Arctique canadien ont des quotas de prises : Coral Harbour (60 par an); Sanikiluaq (10 par an); Arctic Bay (10 par an); Clyde River (20 par an). Ailleurs, les Inuits et autres Autochtones du Canada peuvent abattre jusqu’à quatre morses par année sans permis; les non-Autochtones doivent détenir un permis. Le commerce des parties comestibles du morse est interdit au Canada, sauf entre les Autochtones et les Inuits, et un permis du MPO est requis pour transporter les parties du morse à l’intérieur du Canada, sauf pour les Autochtones ou les Inuits qui retournent à leur domicile après la chasse. La réglementation interdit les perturbations, les méthodes d’abattage inefficaces, la chasse sans équipement adéquat pour récupérer l’individu le gaspillage de parties comestibles et l’abandon d’un morse abattu sans faire d’efforts raisonnables pour le récupérer. Les méthodes de recherche invasives telles que le marquage et la capture d’individus vivants ne sont autorisées que sur délivrance d’un permis.

Le morse de l’Atlantique figure à l’Annexe III de la Convention sur le commerce international des espèces de faune et de flore sauvages menacées d’extinction (CITES). Quiconque souhaite exporter du Canada des parties ou des produits dérivés du morse doit obtenir un permis d’exportation auprès de l’administration canadienne de la CITES.

Il n’y a aucune coopération formelle entre le Canada et le Groenland pour la gestion des populations de morses de l’Atlantique qui fréquentent les deux territoires.

Le COSEPAC a évalué le morse de l’Atlantique en 1987 et lui a accordé deux statuts : la population de l’Atlantique Nord-Ouest (ou des Maritimes) a été désignée disparue du pays, et la population de l’Arctique, non en péril.