Skip booklet index and go to page content

Sockeye Salmon (Oncorhynchus Nerka)

Logo of COSEWIC

COSEWIC
Executive Summary

Sockeye Salmon
Oncorhynchus Nerka

Species Information

Sockeye salmon is one of seven species of the genus Oncorhynchus native to North America. In the ocean, adults have a slender, streamlined, silvery body and grow to an average of 3 kg. They undergo a distinctive transformation of external colour and body shape during their migration from the ocean back to the freshwater ecosystem from which they originated. The head becomes pale green in colour and the body becomes scarlet. Males also develop a hump, teeth and a sharply hooked jaw. The adults die soon after spawning but their progeny remain for several years in the freshwater environment (usually a lake) before migrating to the ocean. Dependence on nursery lake habitat, which is discontinuous by its nature, requires precise homing that divides the sockeye salmon species into isolated populations. The isolated populations typically evolve unique migratory, spawning and rearing behaviours as adaptations that improve survival in the natal freshwater environment. This differentiation into finely tuned, locally adapted populations accounts for the high productivity and commercial importance of the species; it also means that these populations would be very difficult, if not impossible to replace should they be lost.

This status report evaluates the distinct population of sockeye that inhabits Sakinaw Lake, British Columbia (henceforth called Sakinaw sockeye). Protein electrophoresis and molecular DNA analyses indicate that Sakinaw sockeye are genetically distinct and substantially reproductively isolated from other BC sockeye salmon populations. Sakinaw sockeye also have different life history characteristics including early, but protracted, timing of river-entry, extended lake residence prior to spawning, small body size, low fecundity and large smolt size, indicating that Sakinaw sockeye are evolutionarily distinct from other sockeye populations.

Distribution

Sakinaw sockeye are endemic to Canada, in the sense that they reproduce and rear for two or three years (over half their life) exclusively within Sakinaw Lake, situated on the Sechelt Peninsula in Georgia Strait, British Columbia (BC). Because they are anadromous, they also share marine migration corridors and foraging habitat in the north Pacific Ocean with many other sockeye salmon populations. A few non-anadromous individuals have been found in Sakinaw Lake, but it is not yet known whether these are male progeny of anadromous females (i.e., “residual sockeye”, and part of the anadromous gene pool) or members of a genetically distinct, self-perpetuating population of smaller bodied, exclusively freshwater sockeye (called “kokanee”). As a species, sockeye salmon occur in North America from the Columbia River (Oregon, Washington, and Idaho) north to Kotzebue Sound, Alaska, and in Asia, from the southern Kuril Islands north to the Anadyr River. Populations have declined in abundance or become extinct in the southern parts of their range on both sides of the Pacific Ocean. Migratory (anadromous) sockeye no longer occur naturally in California or Japan, although non-migratory kokanee populations exist.

Habitat

Sakinaw sockeye require suitable spawning and juvenile rearing habitat within Sakinaw Lake, and foraging habitat for smolt and immatures in the north Pacific Ocean to attain adult size. Like other anadromous populations, they also require unobstructed passage between these habitats. Sakinaw Lake has a surface area of only 6.9 km2, a mean depth of 43 m and a mean euphotic zone depth of just over 15 m. Chemical, temperature and salinity conditions are rare and unusual because Sakinaw Lake is meromictic with a 30-m freshwater layer overlying warm, anoxic salt water; this prevents seasonal mixing and results in strong thermal stratification. In summer, the epiliminion extends to 7 m depth and becomes too warm for sockeye, but below this there is cool, well-oxygenated habitat that is rich in zooplankton and very suitable for rearing juvenile sockeye. Primary productivity in Sakinaw Lake is higher than in other coastal BC lakes but lower than in most lakes of the Fraser River system including Cultus Lake.

The availability of suitable spawning habitat probably constrains maximum population size more than the availability of lake rearing habitat. Unlike most sockeye salmon populations, Sakinaw sockeye spawn almost entirely within the lake itself on five beaches near creeks or other sources of ground water. The shoreline perimeter is 35 km but most is unsuitable for spawning because eggs and alevins require clean, well-oxygenated, gravel substrates during their development until they emerge as fry.

Sakinaw Lake has an elevation of only 5 m and drains directly into Georgia Strait by a short stream. A dam on the outlet controls water storage and adult sockeye gain access to the lake through a fishway. Seaward migrating “smolts” must pass through the Georgia and Johnstone straits to reach the north Pacific Ocean where they spend two summers before returning to Sakinaw Lake by the same route. In the ocean, sockeye salmon typically inhabit cool (2-7ºC) surface waters (less than 15 m) and those from British Columbia generally remain north of 48ºN and east of 160ºW.

Biology

Most Sakinaw sockeye spawn in late November; all die after spawning and their carcasses are eaten or decompose in the lake. The females construct nests(called “redds”) in gravel substrate and bury their eggs immediately after fertilization. Eggs and alevins remain buried during the winter. Free-swimming fry emerge in early May and move to limnetic habitat where they feed primarily on zooplankton. The timing of fry emergence is likely synchronized with spring plankton blooms. Synchronization requires that for each lake, the spawning time and/or embryonic development rate be genetically adapted to ambient temperature regimes in the spawning environment.

As with fry emergence, each sockeye salmon population usually has its own life history adaptations that determine the age (size) and seasonal timing for smolting, a physiological adaptation to the saline marine environment and seaward migration. Most Sakinaw sockeye become smolts in April of their second year, and exit the lake via a short (<500 m) creek into Georgia Strait. Although Sakinaw sockeye smolts are large (100 –150 mm) at age 1+ relative to other sockeye populations, some remain in the lake for another winter and become even larger smolts, migrating at age 2+. It is presumed that Sakinaw sockeye smolts migrate northwest through Johnstone Strait into the Gulf of Alaska, together with smolts from other sockeye populations in the Fraser River. The timing of sea entry can greatly determine the mortality imposed by seasonally migrating (warm-water) marine predators.

Most Sakinaw sockeye mature at age 4 after spending two winters at sea. During the return migration, individuals migrate southeast through Johnstone and Georgia straits, but are thought to turn northeast at the end of Sabine Channel to reach Sakinaw Lake. They enter Sakinaw Lake in June through September even though peak spawning does not occur until late November. As a result, they are small at maturity compared with other sockeye populations in Canada, and their fecundity is at the low end of the species’ range, averaging only 2500 eggs.

Population Sizes and Trends

Sakinaw sockeye abundance has declined dramatically since 1987. From 1947 (when records began) to 1987, the estimated number of (maturing) adults entering Sakinaw Lake averaged about 5 000 individuals (range 750 to 16 000) with no declining trend. From 1987 to 2002, numbers declined, averaging just over 1000 adults per year between 1988 and 1992, less than 200 between 1993 and 1996, and less than 50 between 1997 and 2001 (between 1999-2002, less than 80).  In 2002, adult sockeye were carefully enumerated; only 78 were counted entering the lake, and only 44 were observed on the spawning grounds.

A statistically robust estimate of decline rate from regression analysis using 1‑generation smoothed estimates of mature abundance (based on annual counts of mature adults between 1988 and 2002, and smoothed to 1990-2001) reveals a decline rate of 33% per year, which implies a reduction of 99% over 3 generations. Using only endpoints, there has been an 87% or larger reduction in the number of adult Sakinaw sockeye estimated to enter the lake over the last 3 generations (1991-2002; 4 years per generation).

Limiting Factors and Threats

The persistence of the Sakinaw sockeye population is threatened by two primary factors: mortality from fisheries, and degradation of freshwater habitat. At present, fishing mortality is probably the single greatest threat. Sakinaw sockeye continue to be killed in fisheries, and given their very low abundance, even modest fishing mortality may jeopardize the viability of the population. Over-fishing can also be considered the proximate cause of decline in the sense that fishing effort was not reduced significantly until 1998 despite the observed decline in spawning escapements to Sakinaw Lake that began in 1987. Sakinaw sockeye are captured during their migration to Sakinaw Lake through Johnstone and Georgia straits together with sockeye and pink salmon from more productive salmon populations, in what are termed ‘mixed-stock fisheries’. The fact that Sakinaw sockeye are vulnerable to these fisheries, and that escapements decreased rapidly during a short period of consistently high fishing effort, strongly suggests that fishing mortality was excessive.

The vulnerability of Sakinaw sockeye to overfishing likely increased as their productivity was eroded by habitat degradation within Sakinaw Lake. The most significant degradation of habitat within Sakinaw Lake was probably due to logging activities in the first half of the 20th century. The lake was used as a log dump, millpond and booming ground. To assist in transporting logs to the ocean, the lake’s outlet was dammed sporadically to raise water level, and this likely reduced the access for migrating sockeye. These practices largely ended by 1952 when a permanent dam with a fishway was built. Residential development and recreational boating subsequently increased. Stream flows were diverted to prevent flooding and a boat ramp was constructed through the middle of one of the major spawning beaches. Again, most of this degradation occurred prior to 1987. The BC Fish and Wildlife Branch attempted to augment the natural population of sea-run cutthroat trout in Sakinaw Lake by stocking a quarter million juveniles between 1965 and 1989. The consequences for Sakinaw sockeye are unknown but cutthroat trout are predators of juvenile sockeye. Sockeye migration into the lake may also have been adversely affected by reduced summer flows resulting from increased human utilization of water throughout the drainage.

There is little possibility that neighbouring sockeye populations could rescue Sakinaw sockeye naturally, within a human lifetime or perhaps longer, given the extremely restricted gene flow and the degree of local adapation. It is also doubtful that humans could successfully transplant sockeye into Sakinaw Lake should Sakinaw sockeye go extinct. Several previous attempts to plant sockeye from other populations into Sakinaw Lake have almost certainly failed because there is no genetic signature of the donor populations. Thus, the extinction of Sakinaw sockeye should be considered irreversible.

Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) is taking several conservation actions. Fishing effort has been reduced significantly since 1995 in Georgia Strait and since 1998 in Johnstone Strait following fleet reduction and fishing restrictions imposed for conservation reasons. Area 16 (including Sabine Channel adjacent to Sakinaw Lake) was closed to commercial fishing in 2002 to protect Sakinaw sockeye; this closure did not reduce food and ceremonial fishing by First Nations however. DFO is also co-ordinating habitat restoration activities including the clearing of logging debris from spawning beaches, modifications to the fishway to improve water flow for migrating adults, and increased surveillance to discourage poaching and natural predation at the fishway where adults are most vulnerable. Hatchery supplementation was also initiated in 2000. However, it is not known whether hatchery supplementation can restore an endangered salmon population, and thus, contributions by naturally breeding adults remain a prudent component of any recovery plan.

Special Significance of the Species

Sockeye salmon are economically the most important species of Pacific salmon, contributing to commercial, recreational, and aboriginal catches along the Pacific coast of North America. The number of extant populations has declined in the southern parts of the species’ range. Currently, ESUs of North American sockeye salmon are considered endangered in four locations: two in Canada (Sakinaw Lake and Cultus Lake, BC) and two in the United States (Ozette Lake, Washington and Snake River, Idaho). The Sakinaw Lake population is one of only two anadromous lake-type sockeye salmon populations situated in the 200-km length of Georgia Strait (the other is Village Bay Lake on Quadra Island, 100 km distant at the extreme northern end of the strait). The conservation of Sakinaw sockeye is a high priority for the Sechelt Indian Band because these fish return to reproduce within the band’s traditional territory. Sockeye salmon may also play a significant role in maintaining the productivity of the Sakinaw Lake ecosystem, including a variety of animal and plant life, by importing marine-derived nutrients. The juveniles contribute to the complexity of the lake’s food web, consuming invertebrates and serving as prey for native fish, birds and mammals. Returning adults are consumed by many species, including river otters, bears and lampreys, and the carcasses provide food for bald eagles and other species. Thus, Sakinaw sockeye play a significant role in the ecology of the Sakinaw Lake ecosystem.

Existing Protection or Other Status Designations

The federal Fisheries Act has long required that DFO authorize proposed alterations to habitat. In addition, provincial and municipal governments regulate many land and water use activities that can affect fish populations. DFO is mandated to manage fisheries to conserve the resource for the benefit of all Canadians. To date, none of these protections have prevented the collapse of Sakinaw sockeye. However, mixed stock fishing effort was significantly reduced in 1998 and DFO has recently assigned a recovery team to co-ordinate restoration activities. These actions are consistent with the federal Oceans Act (1997) that requires DFO to manage Canada’s marine resources to conserve biological diversity and natural habitats. In fall 2002, COSEWIC conducted an Emergency Assessment and listed Sakinaw sockeye as Endangered (25 October 2002). NatureServe lists sockeye salmon as Secure (G5) as a species, but Critically Imperiled in Idaho (S1), Imperiled in Washington State (S2), Apparently Secure (S4) in Oregon, Secure in Alaska (S5) and Under Review in California and British Columbia.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Saumon sockeye (saumon rouge) (Oncorhynchus nerka)

logo du COSEPAC

COSEPAC
Résumé

Saumon sockeye (saumon rouge)
Oncorhynchus nerka

Information sur l’espèce

Le saumon rouge est l’une des sept espèces du genre Oncorhynchus indigènes de l’Amérique du Nord. Dans l’océan, l’adulte possède un corps mince, argenté et fusiforme et il atteint en moyenne 3 kg. Il se produit une nette transformation de la coloration externe et de la forme du corps pendant la migration qui le ramène de l’océan vers l’écosystème d’eau douce d’où il vient. La tête devient vert pâle et le corps prend une teinte écarlate. Le mâle développe aussi une bosse, des dents et un crochet sur le museau. L’adulte meurt peu après la fraye, mais sa progéniture demeure plusieurs années en eau douce (habituellement dans un lac) avant de migrer vers l’océan. La dépendance des saumons rouges à l’égard de l’habitat de leur lac de séjour, qui est discontinue du fait qu’il s’agit d’une espèce anadrome, fait que les poissons doivent y revenir pour frayer, ce qui se traduit par une séparation du saumon rouge en populations isolées. Sur le plan de la migration, de la reproduction et de la croissance, ces populations isolées acquièrent en général des comportements uniques constituant des adaptations qui améliorent leur survie dans leur milieu d’eau douce d’origine. Cette différenciation en populations adaptées de façon très spécifique aux milieux locaux explique la forte productivité et donc l’importance commerciale de l’espèce; elle signifie également que ces populations seraient très difficiles, sinon impossibles, à remplacer en cas de disparition.

Le présent rapport de situation évalue la population distincte de saumons rouges qui occupe le lac Sakinaw (Colombie‑Britannique) (ou saumon rouge Sakinaw). L’électrophorèse des protéines et les analyses moléculaires de l’ADN indiquent que le saumon rouge Sakinaw forme une population génétiquement distincte et fortement isolée sur le plan reproductif par rapport aux autres populations de saumons rouges de la Colombie‑Britannique. Le saumon rouge Sakinaw montre également des caractéristiques biologiques différentes, notamment une entrée dans la rivière hâtive et sur une longue période, une résidence prolongée dans le lac avant la fraye, une petite taille, une faible fécondité et des smolts de grande taille, ce qui indique que le saumon rouge du lac Sakinaw constitue une population distincte des autres populations du point de vue évolutionnaire.

Répartition

Le saumon rouge du lac Sakinaw est endémique au Canada. Il se reproduit et grossit pendant deux ou trois ans (près de la moitié de sa vie) exclusivement dans le lac Sakinaw, situé dans la péninsule Sechelt, dans le détroit de Géorgie en Colombie‑Britannique. Étant donné qu’il s’agit d’une espèce anadrome, il partage aussi des corridors de migration et des aires d’alimentation en mer, dans le Pacifique Nord, avec de nombreuses autres populations de saumons rouges. Quelques individus non anadromes ont été découverts dans le lac Sakinaw, mais on n’a pas encore déterminé si ces individus sont des mâles issus de femelles anadromes (c.-à-d. des saumons rouges « résidents » partageant le fonds génétique des saumons anadromes) ou des saumons rouges d’eau douce de plus petite taille (appelés « kokanis ») appartenant à une population génétiquement distincte et se reproduisant de façon autonome. Le saumon rouge est réparti en Amérique du Nord depuis le fleuve Columbia (Oregon, Washington et Idaho) jusqu’à la baie Kotzebue en Alaska, et en Asie, depuis les îles Kouriles méridionales jusqu’au fleuve Anadyr. Les populations ont décliné ou sont disparues dans les parties méridionales de l’aire de répartition de l’espèce des deux côtés de l’océan Pacifique. Le saumon rouge migrateur (anadrome) n’est plus présent à l’état sauvage en Californie et au Japon, mais on y trouve encore des populations de kokanis, non migrateurs.

Habitat

Le saumon rouge Sakinaw a besoin d’un habitat approprié à la fraye et à la croissance des juvéniles dans le lac Sakinaw et d’un habitat d’alimentation dans le Pacifique Nord, où les smolts et les immatures pourront atteindre leur taille adulte. À l’instar de toutes les autres populations anadromes, ils doivent aussi disposer de voies de passage pour se déplacer entre ces habitats. Le lac Sakinaw est un plan d’eau de seulement 6,9 km2 dont la profondeur moyenne est de 43 m, sa zone euphotique atteint en moyenne un peu plus de 15 m de profondeur. Ses caractéristiques chimiques et thermiques et sa salinité en font un habitat rare et inhabituel : il s’agit d’un lac méromictique dans lequel une couche d’eau douce de 30 m d’épaisseur recouvre des eaux salées chaudes et anoxiques, ce qui empêche le mélange saisonnier des eaux et se traduit par une forte stratification thermique. En été, l’épilimnion s’étend jusqu’à une profondeur de 7 m et devient trop chaud pour le saumon rouge, mais la couche d’eau sous‑jacente constitue un habitat frais, bien oxygéné, riche en zooplancton et très appropriée à la croissance des saumons rouges juvéniles. Dans le lac Sakinaw, la productivité est plus élevée que dans les autres lacs côtiers de la Colombie‑Britannique, mais moins élevée que dans la plupart des lacs du réseau du fleuve Fraser, y compris le lac Cultus.

La disponibilité de frayères limite probablement davantage la taille de la population que la disponibilité d’habitats favorables à la croissance dans le lac. Contrairement à la plupart des populations de saumons rouges, la population du lac Sakinaw fraye presque entièrement dans le milieu lacustre; elle y utilise cinq frayères avoisinant des ruisseaux ou des sources d’eaux souterraines. Le périmètre du lac est de 35 km, mais la majeure partie du littoral ne convient pas à la fraye parce que les œufs et les alevins vésiculés ont besoin d’un gravier propre et bien oxygéné pour leur développement jusqu’à l’émergence au stade d’alevins nageants.

Le lac Sakinaw est situé à une altitude de seulement 5 m et se déverse directement dans le détroit de Géorgie par un court ruisseau. Un barrage de retenue a été construit sur l’émissaire et le saumon rouge adulte accède au lac par une passe migratoire. Les smolts qui migrent vers la mer doivent traverser les détroits de Géorgie et de Johnstone pour atteindre le Pacifique Nord où ils passent deux étés avant de retourner au lac Sakinaw par le même chemin. Dans l’océan, les saumons rouges se tiennent en général dans les eaux fraîches (2 à 7 °C) de la surface (à moins de 15 m de profondeur), et ceux de la Colombie‑Britannique demeurent généralement au nord de 48 °N et à l’est de 160 °O.

Biologie

La plupart des saumons rouges Sakinaw frayent à la fin de novembre; tous meurent après la fraye et leurs carcasses sont dévorées ou se décomposent dans le lac. Les femelles creusent leurs nids dans le gravier et recouvrent leurs œufs immédiatement après la fécondation. Les œufs et les alevins vésiculés demeurent dans le gravier jusqu’à l’émergence, au début de mai, des alevins nageants, qui gagnent la zone limnétique où ils se nourrissent principalement de zooplancton. Le moment de l’émergence des alevins est probablement synchronisé avec la prolifération printanière du plancton. Pour assurer la synchronisation, il faut que dans chaque lac le moment de la fraye et la vitesse du développement embryonnaire soient génétiquement adaptés aux régimes de température du milieu de fraye.

Comme pour l’émergence des alevins, chaque population de saumons rouges possède habituellement ses propres adaptations biologiques quant à l’âge (taille) et au moment de la saison où se produira la smoltification, adaptation physiologique pour la migration vers la mer et la vie en eau salée. La plupart des saumons rouges Sakinaw deviennent des smolts en avril de leur deuxième année et quittent le lac par un court ruisseau (< 500 m) qui se jette dans le détroit de Géorgie. Comparativement aux smolts d’autres populations de saumons rouges, les smolts du saumon rouge Sakinaw sont gros (100 à 150 mm) à l’âge 1+, mais certains demeurent dans le lac un hiver de plus et deviennent des smolts encore plus gros, qui migrent à l’âge 2+. On suppose que les smolts du saumon rouge Sakinaw migrent vers le nord‑ouest en traversant le détroit de Johnstone pour atteindre le golfe d’Alaska, en même temps que les smolts de certaines populations de saumons rouges du fleuve Fraser. Le moment de l’arrivée en mer peut influer grandement sur la mortalité attribuable à la migration saisonnière (eau chaude) de certains prédateurs marins.

La plupart des saumons rouges Sakinaw atteignent la maturité à l’âge de 4 ans, après avoir passé deux hivers en mer. Pendant la migration de retour, les migrants se dirigent vers le sud‑est dans les détroits de Johnstone et de Géorgie, mais on pense qu’ils tournent vers le nord‑est au bout du chenal Sabine pour atteindre le lac Sakinaw. Ils arrivent au lac Sakinaw de juin à septembre même si la fraye n’a principalement lieu qu’à la fin de novembre. Par conséquent, ils sont petits à maturité comparativement aux adultes des autres populations de saumons rouges du Canada, et leur fécondité se situe dans la partie inférieure de la fourchette pour cette espèce, avec seulement 2 500 œufs en moyenne.

Taille et tendances de la population

L’abondance du saumon rouge du lac Sakinaw a diminué considérablement depuis 1987. De 1947 (date du début des dénombrements) à 1987, les estimations du nombre d’adultes (en cours de maturation) entrant dans le lac Sakinaw se situaient en moyenne à 5 000 individus (fourchette de 750 à 16 000), sans tendance à la baisse. De 1987 à 2002, les effectifs ont diminué, avec une moyenne d’à peine plus de 1 000 adultes par année de 1988 à1992, de moins de 200 de 1993 à 1996, et de moins de 50 de 1997 à 2001 (de 1999 à 2002, moins de 80). En 2002, on a recensé avec soin les saumons rouges; on n’en a compté que 78 à l’arrivée dans le lac et seulement 44 dans les frayères.

Une estimation statistique robuste du taux de déclin obtenue à partir d’une analyse de régression utilisant des abondances estimatives des individus matures lissées sur une génération (estimation fondée sur les dénombrements annuels des adultes matures effectués entre 1988 et 2002, et couvrant la période 1990 à 2001 après lissage) révèle un taux de déclin de 33 p. 100 par année, ce qui signifie une réduction de 99 p.  100 sur 3 générations. Si l’on compare uniquement les estimations pour les années de début et de fin de période, on obtient une réduction du nombre de saumons rouges adultes entrés dans le lac au cours des trois dernières générations d’au moins 87 p. 100 (de 1991 à 2002; 4 ans par génération).

Facteurs limitatifs et menaces

La pérennité de la population de saumons rouges du lac Sakinaw est menacée par deux facteurs principaux : la mortalité due à la pêche et la dégradation de l’habitat d’eau douce. Pour le moment, la mortalité par pêche est probablement la menace la plus importante. Les saumons rouges Sakinaw continuent d’être capturés dans les pêches, et compte tenu de leur très faible abondance, même une mortalité modeste attribuable à la pêche peut compromettre la viabilité de la population. La surpêche peut aussi être considérée comme la cause immédiate du déclin, l’effort de pêche n’ayant pas été réduit de façon importante avant 1998, malgré le déclin observé à partir de 1987 dans les échappées de géniteurs entrant dans le lac Sakinaw. Lorsqu’ils migrent vers le lac en traversant les détroits de Johnstone et de Géorgie, les saumons rouges Sakinaw sont capturés en même temps que d’autres saumons rouges et des saumons roses appartenant à des populations plus productives dans ce qu’on appelle des pêches de stocks mélangés. Le fait que le saumon rouge du lac Sakinaw est exposé à ce type de pêche et que les échappées ont diminué rapidement sur une courte période marquée par un effort de pêche constamment élevé laisse fortement penser que la mortalité par pêche a été excessive.

Le risque que présente la surpêche pour le saumon rouge Sakinaw s’est probablement accru du fait que la dégradation de son habitat dans le lac Sakinaw a réduit sa productivité. La dégradation la plus importante de l’habitat dans le lac Sakinaw est probablement attribuable aux activités d’exploitation forestière de la première moitié du XXe siècle. Le lac a été utilisé comme jetée, bassin de flottage et aire d’estacades. Pour aider au transport des grumes vers l’océan, on a établi sporadiquement des barrages sur l’émissaire du lac pour hausser le niveau de l’eau; ces barrages ont probablement réduit l’accès des saumons au lac. Ces pratiques ont cessé largement vers 1952 lorsqu’on a construit un barrage permanent muni d’une passe migratoire. L’aménagement résidentiel et la navigation de plaisance ont par la suite augmenté. On a détourné des cours d’eaux pour prévenir les inondations et une rampe de mise à l’eau des bateaux a été construite au beau milieu d’une des principales frayères. Là encore, la majeure partie de cette dégradation est antérieure à 1987. La Fish and Wildlife Branch de la Colombie‑Britannique a tenté d’accroître la population naturelle de truite fardée anadrome dans le lac Sakinaw en y introduisant un quart de million de juvéniles entre 1965 et 1989. Les répercussions de cette activité sur le saumon rouge du lac Sakinaw sont inconnues, mais la truite fardée est un prédateur de saumons rouges juvéniles. La migration du saumon rouge dans le lac peut aussi avoir été entravée par une réduction des débits en été, due à une utilisation accrue de l’eau par les humains dans tout le bassin de drainage.

Il est improbable que les populations de saumons rouges voisines puissent contribuer naturellement au rétablissement du saumon rouge du lac Sakinaw pendant la durée d’une vie humaine, ou même sur une plus longue période, compte tenu du flux génique extrêmement restreint et du degré d’adaptation locale. Il est également douteux que les humains puissent réussir à transplanter de nouveaux saumons rouges dans le lac Sakinaw si la population actuelle venait à disparaître. Il est presque certains que plusieurs tentatives antérieures de transplantation dans le lac Sakinaw de saumons rouges provenant d’autres populations se sont soldées par un échec parce qu’on y trouve pas de traces génétiques des populations sources. Par conséquent, l’éventuelle extinction du saumon rouge dans le lac Sakinaw devrait être considérée comme irréversible.

Le ministère des Pêches et des Océans (MPO) applique plusieurs mesures de conservation. L’effort de pêche a diminué de façon importante dans le détroit de Géorgie depuis 1995 et dans le détroit de Johnstone depuis 1998 à la suite d’une réduction de la flottille de pêche et de restrictions sur la pêche imposées à des fins de conservation. La zone 16 (incluant le chenal Sabine, jouxtant le lac Sakinaw) a été fermée à la pêche commerciale en 2002 dans le but de protéger le saumon rouge du lac Sakinaw; toutefois, cette fermeture n’a pas réduit la pêche pratiquée à des fins alimentaires et cérémonielles par les Autochtones. Le MPO coordonne également des activités d’amélioration de l’habitat, notamment le nettoyage des débris laissés par l’exploitation forestière dans les frayères, la modification de la passe migratoire pour améliorer le débit de l’eau pour les adultes en migration et une surveillance accrue pour décourager le braconnage et limiter la prédation naturelle à la passe migratoire, endroit où les adultes sont les plus vulnérables. Des travaux de repeuplement par propagation artificielle ont également été entrepris en 2000. Cependant, on ne sait pas si la propagation artificielle peut permettre le rétablissement d’une population de saumon en voie de disparition, de sorte que dans tout plan de rétablissement, on devrait assurer un apport d’adultes se reproduisant naturellement.

Importance de l’espèce

Du point de vue économique, le saumon rouge, qui entre dans les prises des pêches commerciale, récréative et autochtone de la côte du Pacifique, est l’espèce de saumon du Pacifique la plus importante. Le nombre de populations a diminué dans les parties méridionales de l’aire de répartition de l’espèce. Actuellement, quatre unités évolutionnaires significatives du saumon rouge sont considérées comme en voie de disparition, deux au Canada (lac Sakinaw et lac Cultus, en Colombie‑Britannique) et deux aux États-Unis (lac Ozette, au Washington, et rivière Snake, en Idaho). La population du lac Sakinaw est l’une des deux seules populations de saumons rouges anadromes de type lacustre sur les 200 km du détroit de Géorgie (l’autre est celle du lac Village Bay dans l’île Quadra, située à une distance de 100 km à l’extrémité septentrionale du détroit). La conservation du saumon rouge du lac Sakinaw est hautement prioritaire pour la bande indienne sechelte, parce qu’il se reproduit dans le territoire traditionnel de la bande. Le saumon rouge peut aussi jouer un rôle important dans le maintien de la productivité de l’écosystème du lac Sakinaw parce qu’il y apporte des nutriments provenant de la mer. Les juvéniles contribuent à la complexité du réseau trophique du lac parce qu’ils consomment des invertébrés et qu’ils servent de proies à certaines espèces de poissons, d’oiseaux et de mammifères. Les adultes nourrissent divers animaux, dont des loutres de rivière, des ours et des lamproies, leurs carcasses fournissant également de la nourriture au Pygargue à tête blanche et à d’autres espèces. Ainsi, le saumon rouge du lac Sakinaw joue un rôle important dans l’écologie de l’écosystème du lac.

Protection actuelle et autres désignations

En vertu de la Loi sur les pêches du gouvernement fédéral, le MPO est depuis longtemps tenu d’autoriser les projets susceptibles d’altérer l’habitat du poisson. De plus, les gouvernements provinciaux et les administrations municipales réglementent de nombreuses activités d’utilisation des terres et de l’eau qui peuvent avoir une incidence sur les populations de poissons. Le MPO a pour mandat de gérer les pêches en veillant à conserver la ressource au profit de tous les Canadiens. Jusqu’à présent, aucune de ces protections n’a empêché l’effondrement de la population de saumons rouges du lac Sakinaw. Cependant, l’effort de pêche visant les stocks mélangés a été réduit de façon importante en 1998 et le MPO a récemment créé une équipe de rétablissement chargée de coordonner les activités de restauration. Ces mesures sont conformes aux dispositions de la Loi sur les océans (1997), loi fédérale en vertu de laquelle le MPO est tenu de gérer les ressources marines du Canada de façon à préserver la diversité biologique et les habitats naturels. À l’automne 2002, le COSEPAC a mené une évaluation d’urgence et placé le saumon rouge du lac Sakinaw sur la liste des espèces en voie de disparition (25 octobre 2002). NatureServe considère le saumon rouge comme non en danger à l’échelle de l’espèce (secure) (G5), mais comme en danger critique d’extinction (critically imperiled) dans l’Idaho (S1), en danger (imperiled) dans l’État de Washington (S2), apparemment non en danger (apparently secure) (S4) en Oregon, et non en danger (secure) en Alaska (S5); sa situation est en cours d’évaluation (under review) en Californie et en Colombie‑Britannique.