Skip booklet index and go to page content

Sockeye Salmon (Oncorhynchus Nerka)

COSEWIC Status Report
on the
Sockeye Salmon
Oncorhynchus nerka
Sakinaw population
in Canada
2003

Species Information

Name and Classification

Sockeye salmon, Oncorhynchus nerka Walbaum 1792, is in the order Salmoniformes, family Salmonidae, and is one of seven Canadian species in the genus Oncorhynchus, of which five are Pacific salmon and two are trout (Smith and Stearley 1989, Stearley and Smith 1993). Common names include “blueback salmon”, “red salmon”, and “saumon rouge” or “saumon nerka” when anadromous, and “kokanee” or “little redfish”, among others, when non-anadromous (Scott and Crossman 1973).


Description

Oncorhynchus species are distinct from other salmonids in having 12 or more rays in their anal fin. Sockeye salmon are unique from other Oncorhychus salmonids by having 28 to 40 long, slender, closely spaced gill rakers on the first arch, relatively few (45-115) pyloric caeca, and fine black speckling on their back (Hart 1973, Mecklenburg et al 2002). At sea, both sexes are metallic dark blue to greenish blue on the head and back, with silver sides fading to white below. At spawning, they become red with olive green heads. Males are more brilliantly coloured and develop elongate hooked jaws and humped backs at maturity (Figure 1). Sockeye salmon can reach a total length of 84 cm and weigh up to 7 kg, but their spawning size varies with age of maturity; both age of maturity and size at age vary widely among populations (Foerster 1968). Precocious males (“jacks”), which spend only one winter at sea, are common in some populations (Burgner 1991). Kokanee typically mature at a smaller size and may lack brilliant colouration because they feed on small freshwater zooplankton throughout their life.

Figure 1: Mature Sockeye Salmon (female above, male below)

Figure 1: Mature sockeye salmon (female above, male below) (reprinted from Scott and Crossman 1973).

Reprinted from Scott and Crossman 1973.


Nationally Significant Populations

Like most salmon, sockeye salmon exist as reproductively isolated populations; however, sockeye salmon populations are discrete at a much smaller geographical scale than most other salmon (Wood 1995). This is because juvenile sockeye salmon typically rear in nursery lakes, which by their nature are discontinuous and geographically isolated, and often very different in physical and biotic characteristics (e.g., temperature and water flow regimes, nutrients, light penetration and primary productivity, competitors and predators, parasites and diseases, and factors that challenge anadromous migration). Reproductive isolation among sockeye salmon populations inhabiting different lake environments promotes the evolution of unique adaptations to the local freshwater environment. Consequently, sockeye populations can differ considerably in life history traits and phenotypic characters (reviewed by Foerster 1968, Burgner 1991). The special significance of fine scale population structure and local adaptation in sockeye salmon is reflected in decisions by the US National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS) that individual nursery lakes may be Evolutionarily Significant Units (ESUs): e.g., Redfish Lake (Snake River), Osoyoos Lake (Okanogan River), Lake Wenatchee, Quinault Lake, Ozette Lake, Baker Lake (Baker River), and Lake Pleasant (Gustafson et al. 1997). Two of these, Redfish Lake and Ozette Lake, have been listed under the US Endangered Species Act as Endangered and Threatened, respectively.

The sockeye population in Sakinaw Lake (henceforth Sakinaw sockeye) warrants similar designation as an ESU (or Nationally Significant Population). An ESU is defined as a population or group of populations that (1) is substantially reproductively isolated from other conspecific population units, and (2) represents an important component of the evolutionary legacy of the species (Waples 1991). As described by Gustafson et al. (1997), designation of an ESU follows a two-part test: reproduction isolation, and local adaptation (evolutionary legacy). Sakinaw Lake sockeye qualify under both parts of this test.

Evidence for Sakinaw sockeye reproductive isolation -- Several surveys of genetic variation in allozymes (Wood et al. 1994), microsatellite DNA (msatDNA, Nelson et al. 2003) and mitochondrial DNA (mtDNA, Murray and Wood 2002, Wood unpubl. data) demonstrate significant reproductive isolation between Sakinaw sockeye and other anadromous sockeye populations in the region (Figure 2). Pairwise-FST statistics1 based on comparisons of allele frequencies at 10 msatDNA loci between Sakinaw Lake sockeye and the nearest other sockeye populations range from 0.06 (Koeye Lake, Area 9) to 0.13 (Heydon Lake, Area 13 and Nimpkish River (Woss Lake) in Area 12) (Table 1, above diagonal; some of these lakes are shown in Figure 7). These values (0.06 – 0.13) are large relative to those observed in other species over comparable distances and suggest that successful reproduction following immigration into Sakinaw Lake from other populations has been very rare; estimates of historical gene flow are less than 4 and 2 successful migrants per generation, respectively, under the usual assumptions for calculating gene flow based on allele frequencies at equilibrium between genetic drift and migration (Wright 1951).

Figure 2: Principal Components Analysis of Cavalli-Sforza and Edwards' Genetic Distance Between Central Coast Sockeye Populations Based on Differentiation at 10 Microsatellite DNA Loci (from Nelson et al. 2003).

Figure 2: Principal components analysis of Cavalli-Sforza and Edwards' genetic distance between central coast sockeye populations based on differentiation at 10 microsatellite DNA loci (from Nelson et al. 2003).

Pie diagrams indicate relative frequencies of mitochondrial DNA haplotypes (haplotype #1 is shown as white, haplotype #5 as grey, all others as black). Fraser River populations are included for comparison because they were the source of attempted transplants to Sakinaw Lake (from Murray and Wood 2002).

With one exception, pairwise-FST statistics based on comparisons of mtDNA haplotype frequencies (Table 1, below diagonal) range from 0.33 (Atnarko river system, Area 8) to 0.60 (Heydon Lake), indicating even lower rates of gene flow (0.5 to 0.2 female migrants per generation) than those based on allele frequencies in nuclear DNA. The exception is Kimsquit Lake which is indistinguishable using mtDNA; however, a very large difference in allele frequency (16% versus 66%) at the PGM-1 locus, and smaller differences at two other allozyme loci (Wood et al. 1994), together with the msatDNA differences in Table 1 (FST =0.09), confirm that this is a coincidental result of random genetic drift rather than continuing gene flow between Kimsquit and Sakinaw lakes.

Evidence for local adaptation -- Sakinaw sockeye are distinct from other sockeye populations in the Pacific Northwest (data summarized by Gustafson et al. 1997) in terms of their early and protracted river-entry timing, extended lake residence prior to spawning, small body size and low fecundity at spawning, large size at smolting and unusual incidence of age 2+ smolts despite large size at age 1+. These characteristics are described further in the ‘Biology’ section.

Table 1 (populations 1 to 10): Pairwise Fst Statistics for Mitochondrial DNA (below diagonal, from Murray and Wood 2002) and Microsatellite DNA (above diagonal, from Nelson et al. 2003)

PopulationSample sizePopulation number
No.NamemtDNAmsatDNA12345678910
1Upper Fraser158--0------------------
2Shuswap19--0.060----------------
3Birkenhead River25--0.360.390--------------
4Weaver Creek23--0.250.040.450------------
5Harrison Rapids25--0.220.070.180.100----------
6Cultus25--0.360.240.480.150.250--------
7Pitt (Widgeon)13--0.530.400.840.200.430.520------
8Sakinaw271130.510.560.790.550.610.600.8600.130.13
9Heydon24340.100.110.600.220.350.300.600.6000.14
10Nimpkish24500.170.030.470.040.180.230.320.470.110
11Long2551-0.010.090.420.280.240.360.650.560.130.18
12Owikeno591040.200.050.380.030.140.200.250.380.160.02
13Koeye--80--------------------
14Atnarko River79520.260.090.440.060.190.250.220.330.210.04
15Kimsquit13620.410.390.720.420.490.480.810.000.430.31
16Tankeeah--78--------------------
17Lagoon--50--------------------
18Canoona--79--------------------
19Kitlope15410.020.040.360.180.150.270.590.450.130.10
20Mikado--62--------------------
21Devon--100--------------------

 

Table 1 (populations 11 to 21): Pairwise Fst Statistics for Mitochondrial DNA (below diagonal, from Murray and Wood 2002) and Microsatellite DNA (above diagonal, from Nelson et al. 2003)

PopulationSample sizePopulation number
No.NamemtDNAmsatDNA1112131415161718192021
1Upper Fraser158------------------------
2Shuswap19------------------------
3Birkenhead River25------------------------
4Weaver Creek23------------------------
5Harrison Rapids25------------------------
6Cultus25------------------------
7Pitt (Widgeon)13------------------------
8Sakinaw271130.080.090.060.120.090.110.100.130.110.100.09
9Heydon24340.110.120.130.170.150.150.090.160.110.110.12
10Nimpkish24500.060.030.080.100.110.110.080.110.040.100.10
11Long255100.040.060.080.060.070.050.100.050.080.08
12Owikeno591040.2000.060.080.090.060.050.060.040.090.09
13Koeye--80----00.090.090.070.070.100.070.080.08
14Atnarko River79520.260.040.0000.150.110.080.090.080.120.11
15Kimsquit13620.390.270.24--00.150.080.120.070.120.14
16Tankeeah--78----------00.060.120.120.110.10
17Lagoon--50------------00.090.070.080.09
18Canoona--79--------------00.080.140.15
19Kitlope1541-0.020.110.16--0.25------00.100.11
20Mikado--62------------------00.00
21Devon--100--------------------0

 

Local adaptation accounts for the widespread failure of attempts to transplant sockeye salmon runs from one lake system to another (Withler 1982, Wood 1995) or of restoring wild salmon populations in modified habitat (Williams 1987). Mitochondrial DNA data reported by Murray and Wood (2002, Table 1) provide compelling evidence that all five attempts (each year from 1902-1906) to transplant sockeye fry to Sakinaw Lake from various locations in the lower Fraser River and from Shuswap Lake have failed. Only two mtDNA haplotypes (distinct maternal lineages) were found in adult sockeye spawning in Sakinaw Lake in 1988, 2000, and 2001. These are designated haplotype#5 and haplotype#1. Haplotype#5 was predominant in Sakinaw Lake sockeye at a frequency of 88% (±12% 19 times out of 20). But haplotype#5 was absent in samples from the Fraser River, including samples from all of the original donor lake systems. Except for haplotype#1, none of the haplotypes observed in the donor lake systems (#1, 2, 3, 4 and 6) were observed in Sakinaw Lake. Haplotype#1 is almost ubiquitous throughout the whole Asian and North American range.

To save the hypothesis that transplanted sockeye may have survived in Sakinaw Lake, it would be necessary to assert that the mtDNA samples are not representative, for reasons not yet understood, and that more extensive sampling would change these conclusions; or that haplotype composition has changed such that the Fraser River donor populations once had a very high proportion of fish carrying haplotype#5 and that these have died out; or that only a minority of transplanted fish (those carrying haplotype#1) survived in Sakinaw Lake. Because the haplotypes differ only in a few redundant nucleotides (third base pairs), they are almost certainly not expressed phenotypically and are considered "invisible" (neutral) to natural selection. Thus, such postulated changes in haplotype composition could only occur by chance (genetic drift) and would be extremely unlikely given the sample size of introduced fish (380 000 fry over five years).

In conclusion, Sakinaw sockeye warrant designation as an Evolutionarily Significant Unit or COSEWIC Nationally Significant Population based on the two-part test developed to define salmonid “species” under the US Endangered Species Act. Protein electrophoresis and molecular DNA analyses indicate that Sakinaw sockeye are substantially reproductively isolated from other populations. Their distinctive life history characteristics (early river-entry timing, protracted adult run timing, extended lake residence prior to spawning, small body size, low fecundity and large smolt size) suggest that they are also evolutionarily distinct from other sockeye populations in North America. The evidence for very restricted gene flow between Sakinaw and other populations, and the distance to the nearest extant sockeye population both confirm that there is virtually no possibility of natural rescue from neighbouring sockeye populations. All previous attempts to transplant sockeye to Sakinaw Lake have almost certainly failed. Consequently, we cannot be optimistic about prospects for re-establishing a sockeye run to Sakinaw Lake if the native population were to become extinct.




Footnotes

1 FST statistics are a measure of genetic differentiation among populations commonly used to infer gene flow.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le saumon sockeye (saumon rouge) (Oncorhynchus nerka) (population Sakinaw) au Canada

Rapport de situation du COSEPAC
sur le
Saumon sockeye (saumon rouge)
Oncorhynchus nerka
population Sakinaw
au Canada
2003

Information sur l'espèce

Nom et classification

Le saumon rouge, Oncorhynchus nerka Walbaum 1792, fait partie de l’ordre des Salmoniformes, famille des Salmonidés, et c’est l’une des sept espèces du genre Oncorhynchus au Canada, dont cinq sont des saumons du Pacifique et deux, des truites (Smith et Stearley, 1989; Stearley et Smith, 1993). Parmi ses noms communs, mentionnons les suivants : pour la forme anadrome, saumon rouge, saumon sockeye et saumon nerka, et, en anglais, sockeye, blueback salmon et red salmon; pour la forme non anadrome, kokani et, en anglais, little redfish et kokanee (Scott et Crossman, 1974).


Description

Les espèces du genre Oncorhynchus se distinguent des autres Salmonidés par leur nageoire anale pourvue de 12 rayons ou plus. Le saumon rouge est la seule espèce de Salmonidé du genre Oncorhychus à posséder 28 à 40 branchicténies longues, minces et très rapprochées sur le premier arc branchial, un nombre relativement peu élevé (45 à 115) de caeca pyloriques et de fines mouchetures noires sur le dos (Hart, 1973; Mecklenburg et al., 2002). En mer, les individus des deux sexes présentent une coloration allant du bleu métallique foncé au bleu verdâtre sur la tête et le dos, les flancs argentés devenant blancs vers le ventre. Au moment de la reproduction, ils deviennent rouges avec une tête vert olive. Les mâles sont plus brillamment colorés et, à maturité, leur mâchoire est allongée et recourbée en forme de crochet et leur dos est bossu (figure 1). Le saumon rouge peut atteindre une longueur totale de 84 cm et peser jusqu’à 7 kg, mais la taille à la reproduction varie selon l’âge où il atteint la maturité; tant l’âge à la maturité que la taille atteinte aux différents âges varient largement d’une population à l’autre (Foerster, 1968). Les mâles précoces (jacks), qui passent un seul hiver en mer, sont communs dans certaines populations (Burgner, 1991). Par ailleurs, les kokanis sont en général plus petits à la maturité et ne sont pas toujours brillamment colorés parce qu’ils se nourrissent de petits organismes zooplanctoniques d’eau douce tout au long de leur vie.


Figure 1 : Saumons rouges adultes (femelle en haut, mâle en bas)

 Figure 1 : Saumons rouges adultes (femelle en haut, mâle en bas) (tiré de Scott et Crossman, 1974).

Tiré de Scott et Crossman, 1974.


Populations importantes à l’échelle nationale

À l’instar de la plupart des saumons, le saumon rouge forme des populations isolées sur le plan reproductif; cependant, les populations de saumons rouges sont distinctes à une échelle géographique beaucoup plus petite que la plupart des autres espèces de saumons (Wood, 1995). Cette situation est due au fait que les saumons rouges juvéniles croissent en général dans des lacs de séjour, qui sont par leur nature même des endroits séparés et géographiquement isolés, souvent très différents du point de vue de leurs caractéristiques physiques et biotiques (p. ex. température, régimes hydriques, éléments nutritifs, pénétration de la lumière et productivité primaire, compétiteurs et prédateurs, parasites et maladies, et facteurs influant sur la migration anadrome). L’isolement reproductif entre les populations de saumons rouges habitant des milieux lacustres différents favorise l’évolution d’adaptations uniques aux écosystèmes d’eau douce locaux. Par conséquent, les populations de saumons rouges peuvent différer considérablement par leurs caractéristiques biologiques et phénotypiques (question traitée dans Foerster, 1968, et Burgner, 1991). L’importance particulière de la structure à petite échelle de la population et de l’adaptation locale chez le saumon rouge se reflète dans les décisions prises par le National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS) des États-Unis, qui considère que chaque lac de séjour peut abriter une unité évolutionnaire significative (UES); c’est notamment le cas des lacs Redfish (rivière Snake), Osoyoos (rivière Okanogan), Wenatchee, Quinault, Ozette, Baker (rivière Baker) et Pleasant (Gustafson et al., 1997). Deux populations de ces lacs, celles des lacs Redfish et Ozette, ont été inscrites à la liste en vertu de la Endangered Species Act des États-Unis comme espèces en voie de disparition et menacées, respectivement.

La population de saumons rouges du lac Sakinaw (ou saumon rouge Sakinaw) constitue aussi une unité évolutionnaire significative (ou population importante à l’échelle nationale). Une UES se définit comme une population qui : 1) montre un isolement reproductif substantiel par rapport aux autres populations de son espèce et 2) représente une composante importante de patrimoine évolutionnaire de l’espèce (Waples, 1991). Comme l’ont décrit Gustafson et al. (1997), la désignation d’une UES repose sur deux critères : isolement reproductif et adaptation locale (patrimoine évolutionnaire). Le saumon rouge du lac Sakinaw répond à ces deux critères.

Preuves de l’isolement reproductif du saumon rouge Sakinaw -- Plusieurs études des variations génétiques dans les alloenzymes (Wood et al., 1994), l’ADN microsatellite (ADNmsat; Nelson et al., 2003) et l’ADN mitochondrial (ADNmt; Murray et Wood, 2002; Wood, données inédites) ont démontré la présence d’un isolement reproductif important entre le saumon rouge du lac Sakinaw et d’autres populations de saumons rouges anadromes de la région (figure 2). L’indice FST1 par paire fondé sur la comparaison entre les fréquences des allèles à 10 loci d’ADNmsat observées chez le saumon rouge du lac Sakinaw et celles observées chez les populations de saumons rouges les plus proches s’échelonne entre 0,06 (lac Koeye, zone 9) et 0,13 (lac Heydon, zone 13 et rivière Nimpkish [lac Woss] dans la zone 12) (tableau 1, au-dessus de la diagonale; certains de ces lacs sont représentés à la figure 7). Ces valeurs (0,06 à 0,13) sont élevées comparativement à celles observées chez d’autres espèces pour des distances géographiques comparables et elles donnent à penser que les individus issus d’autres populations ayant migré dans le lac Sakinaw ont très rarement réussi à se reproduire; les estimations concernant le flux génique dans le passé donnent respectivement moins de 4 et de 2 migrants ayant réussi à se reproduire par génération, selon les hypothèses habituelle utilisées pour calculer le flux génique à partir des fréquences alléliques au point d’équilibre entre la dérive génétique et la migration (Wright, 1951).


Figure 2 : Analyse par composantes principales (CP) de la distance génétique de Cavalli-Sforza et Edwards entre populations de saumons rouges de la partie centrale de la côte, fondée sur la différenciation à 10 loci d’ADN microsatellite (tiré de Nelson et al., 2003).

Figure 2 : Analyse par composantes principales (CP) de la distance génétique de Cavalli-Sforza et Edwards entre populations de saumons rouges de la partie centrale de la côte, fondée sur la différenciation à 10 loci d’ADN microsatellite (tiré de Nelson et al., 2003).

Les diagrammes circulaires indiquent les fréquences relatives des haplotypes de l’ADN mitochondrial (haplotype 1 représenté en blanc, haplotype 5 en gris, tous les autres haplotypes en noir). Les populations du fleuve Fraser sont inclues dans la comparaison parce qu’elles ont fourni les individus utilisés dans les tentatives de transplantation dans le lac Sakinaw (tiré de Murray et Wood, 2002).

À une exception près, l’indice FST par paire fondé sur la comparaison des fréquences d’haplotypes de l’ADNmt (tableau 1, sous la diagonale) s’échelonne de 0,33 (réseau de la rivière Atnarko, zone 8) à 0,60 (lac Heydon), ce qui donne des flux géniques (0,5 à 0,2 femelles migrantes par génération) qui sont même inférieurs à ceux fondés sur les fréquences alléliques dans l’ADN nucléaire. L’exception est la population du lac Kimsquit, que l’on ne peut pas différencier sur la base de l’ADNmt; cependant, une très grande différence dans les fréquences alléliques (16 p. 100 contre 66 p. 100) au locus PGM-1, et des différences plus petites à deux autres loci d’alloenzymes (Wood et al., 1994), combinées aux différences dans l’ADNmsat figurant au tableau 1 (FST = 0,09), confirment que l’absence de différenciation dans l’ADNmt résulte d’une coïncidence dans la dérive génétique aléatoire plutôt que d’un flux génique continu entre les lacs Kimsquit et Sakinaw.

Tableau 1 (populations de 1 à 10) : Indice Fst par paire pour l’ADN mitochondrial (sous la diagonale, tiré de Murray et Wood, 2002) et l’ADN microsatellite (au-dessus de la diagonale, tiré de Nelson et al., 2003)

PopulationTaille de l'échantillonNuméro de la population
NoNomADNmtADNµsat12345678910
1Haut Fraser158--0------------------
2Shuswap19--0,060----------------
3Rivière Birkenhead25--0,360,390--------------
4Ruisseau Weaver23--0,250,040,450------------
5Rapides Harrison25--0,220,070,180,100----------
6Cultus25--0,360,240,480,150,250--------
7Pitt (Widgeon)13--0,530,400,840,200,430,520------
8Sakinaw271130,510,560,790,550,610,600,8600,130,13
9Heydon24340,100,110,600,220,350,300,600,6000,14
10Nimpkish24500,170,030,470,040,180,230,320,470,110
11Long2551-0,010,090,420,280,240,360,650,560,130,18
12Owikeno591040,200,050,380,030,140,200,250,380,160,02
13Koeye--80--------------------
14Rivière Atnarko79520,260,090,440,060,190,250,220,330,210,04
15Kimsquit13620,410,390,720,420,490,480,810,000,430,31
16Tankeeah--78--------------------
17Lagoon--50--------------------
18Canoona--79--------------------
19Kitlope15410,020,040,360,180,150,270,590,450,130,10
20Mikado--62--------------------
21Devon--100--------------------

 

Tableau 1 (populations de 11 à 21) : Indice Fst par paire pour l’ADN mitochondrial (sous la diagonale, tiré de Murray et Wood, 2002) et l’ADN microsatellite (au-dessus de la diagonale, tiré de Nelson et al., 2003)

PopulationTaille de l'échantillonNuméro de la population
NoNomADNmtADNµsat1112131415161718192021
1Haut Fraser158------------------------
2Shuswap19------------------------
3Rivière Birkenhead25------------------------
4Ruisseau Weaver23------------------------
5Rapides Harrison25------------------------
6Cultus25------------------------
7Pitt (Widgeon)13------------------------
8Sakinaw271130,080,090,060,120,090,110,100,130,110,100,09
9Heydon24340,110,120,130,170,150,150,090,160,110,110,12
10Nimpkish24500,060,030,080,100,110,110,080,110,040,100,10
11Long255100,040,060,080,060,070,050,100,050,080,08
12Owikeno591040,2000,060,080,090,060,050,060,040,090,09
13Koeye--80----00,090,090,070,070,100,070,080,08
14Rivière Atnarko79520,260,040,0000,150,110,080,090,080,120,11
15Kimsquit13620,390,270,24--00,150,080,120,070,120,14
16Tankeeah--78----------00,060,120,120,110,10
17Lagoon--50------------00,090,070,080,09
18Canoona--79--------------00,080,140,15
19Kitlope1541-0,020,110,16--0,25------00,100,11
20Mikado--62------------------00,00
21Devon--100--------------------0

 

Preuves de l’adaptation locale -- Le saumon rouge du lac Sakinaw forme une population distincte des populations du Washington et de l’Oregon (données résumées par Gustafson et al., 1997) par les caractéristiques suivantes : entrée dans la rivière hâtive et sur une longue période, résidence prolongée dans le lac avant la fraye, petite taille corporelle et faible fécondité au moment de la fraye, grande taille au moment de la smoltification et proportion inhabituelle de smolts d’âge 2+ malgré la grande taille des smolts d’âge 1+. Ces caractéristiques sont décrites en détail dans la section « Biologie ».

L’adaptation locale explique l’échec général des tentatives de transplantation de saumons rouges d’un système lacustre à un autre (Withler, 1982; Wood, 1995) ou de rétablissement de populations sauvages dans un habitat modifié (Williams, 1987). Les données sur l’ADN mitochondrial présentées par Murray et Wood (2002, tableau 1) fournissent une preuve solide de l’échec des cinq tentatives (chaque année de 1902 à 1906) de transplantation dans le lac Sakinaw d’alevins de saumons rouges provenant de divers endroits du cours inférieur du fleuve Fraser ainsi que du lac Shuswap. Seulement deux haplotypes d’ADNmt (lignées maternelles distinctes) ont été répertoriés chez le saumon rouge adulte se reproduisant dans le lac Sakinaw en 1988, 2000 et 2001. Ces deux haplotypes ont été nommés haplotype 5 et haplotype 1. L’haplotype 5 était prédominant chez le saumon rouge du lac Sakinaw à une fréquence de 88 p. 100 (±12 p. 100 19 fois sur 20), mais il était absent dans les échantillons provenant du fleuve Fraser, y compris les échantillons provenant de tous les systèmes lacustres d’où provenaient les alevins transplantés. Sauf dans le cas de l’haplotype 1, aucun des haplotypes observés dans les systèmes lacustres d’où provenaient ces alevins (haplotypes 1, 2, 3, 4 et 6) n’a été observé dans le lac Sakinaw. L’haplotype 1 est observé pratiquement partout dans l’aire de répartition asiatique et nord-américaine de l’espèce.

Pour maintenir l’hypothèse que le saumon rouge transplanté dans le lac Sakinaw pourrait avoir survécu, il faudrait envisager que les échantillons d’ADNmt ne seraient pas représentatifs, pour des raisons encore incomprises, et qu’un échantillonnage plus complet pourrait modifier les conclusions, ou encore que les populations du Fraser ayant fourni les alevins, qui auraient renfermé jadis une très forte proportion d’individus porteurs de l’haplotype 5, auraient vu ces derniers disparaître, ou encore que seule une minorité des poissons transplantés (ceux qui étaient porteurs de l’haplotype 1) auraient survécu dans le lac Sakinaw. Étant donné que les haplotypes ne diffèrent que pour quelques nucléotides redondants (troisièmes paires de bases), il est presque certain qu’ils ne sont pas exprimés dans le phénotype et seraient donc considérés comme « invisibles » (neutres) pour la sélection naturelle. Ces changements présumés dans les proportions des haplotypes ne pourraient donc être dus qu’au hasard (dérive génétique) et seraient extrêmement peu probables compte tenu du nombre de poissons transplantés (380 000 alevins sur cinq ans).

En conclusion, le saumon rouge du lac Sakinaw mérite d’être considéré comme une unité évolutionnaire significative ou une population importante à l’échelle nationale au sens du COSEPAC, d’après les deux critères établis dans le but de définir les « espèces » de Salmonidés aux termes de la Endangered Species Act des États-Unis. L’électrophorèse des protéines et les analyses moléculaires de l’ADN indiquent qu’il existe un isolement reproductif important entre le saumon rouge du lac Sakinaw et les autres populations. Les caractéristiques biologiques distinctes des saumons rouges Sakinaw (entrée hâtive dans la rivière, remonte prolongée des adultes, résidence prolongée dans le lac avant la fraye, petite taille, faible fécondité et grande taille des smolts) laissent penser qu’ils sont également distincts des autres populations de l’Amérique du Nord du point de vue évolutionnaire. Le flux génique apparemment très restreint entre le saumon rouge du lac Sakinaw et les autres populations de même que la distance qui le sépare de la population existante la plus proche confirment qu’il n’existe pratiquement aucune possibilité de sauvetage naturel à partir des populations de saumons rouges avoisinantes. Il est presque certain que toutes les tentatives passées de transplantation de saumons rouges dans le lac Sakinaw ont échoué. Par conséquent, nous ne pouvons pas nous montrer optimistes quant aux perspectives de rétablissement d’une remonte de saumons rouges dans le lac Sakinaw si la population indigène venait à y disparaître.




Notes de bas de page

1 L’indice FST est une mesure de la différenciation génétique entre populations communément utilisée pour évaluer le flux génique.