Skip booklet index and go to page content

Sockeye Salmon (Oncorhynchus Nerka)

Distribution

Sakinaw sockeye salmon reproduce only in SakinawLake, situated on the Sechelt Peninsula in the Strait of Georgia, British Columbia, and thus, can be considered endemic to Canada. However, they share marine migration corridors and foraging habitat in the north Pacific Ocean with many other sockeye salmon populations. The following summary is included to provide perspective on the distribution and trends in distribution of sockeye salmon at the species level.


Global Range

Typically, sockeye salmon are an anadromous species occurring naturally throughout the north Pacific Ocean and in accessible rivers north of 40°N. In North America they occur naturally in the Columbia River (Oregon, Washington, and Idaho), north through British Columbia, the Yukon, southeast and western Alaska as far north as Kotzebue Sound (Figure 3); in Asia they occur from the southern Kuril Islands and Komandorskiy Island to the northwest coast of the Sea of Okhotsk, throughout Kamchatka and north to the Anadyr River (Foerster 1968, Burgner 1991). Both the overall abundance and geographic density of these populations are highest in Kamchatka, western Alaska and British Columbia.


Figure 3: Natural Range of Sockeye Salmon and Kokanee Within North America (highlighted area, after Wood 1995)

Figure 3: Natural range of sockeye salmon and kokanee within North America(highlighted area, after Wood 1995).

The heavy box indicates the area included in Figure 7.

Anadromous sockeye salmon have generally declined in abundance in the southernparts of their range (Ricker 1982, Gresh et al. 2000). They no longer occur naturally in Hokkaido and California, although some populations persist as non-anadromous kokanee. Dams now preclude anadromous runs to large areas of the Columbia River and other smaller drainages in the contiguous United States and British Columbia. Several summary articles (Konkel and McIntyre 1987, Nehlsen et al. 1991, Wilderness Society 1993, Botkin et al. 1995; Slaney et al. 1996) suggest that numerous local populations of sockeye salmon in the Pacific Northwest have become extinct, and that the abundance of many others is depressed.


Canadian Range

In Canada, anadromous sockeye salmon occur in many rivers accessible from the Pacific Ocean, from the Fraser River to the Alsek River, and in headwaters of the Columbia River (Okanagan). On occasion, they have also been reported in the Arctic Ocean and MacKenzie River (D. Chiperzak, DFO, unpubl. data). Non-anadromous populations (kokanee) are widespread in Pacific drainages, especially in the Fraser River and coastal lakes that have become inaccessible to anadromous sockeye through isostatic rebound following deglaciation. Kokanee are also known to occur in a few locations in the Arctic drainage adjacent to the Fraser drainage (the Liard and Peace rivers, C.J. Foote, Malaspina University College, pers. comm.).

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Saumon sockeye (saumon rouge) (Oncorhynchus nerka)

Répartition

Le saumon rouge du lac Sakinaw se reproduit uniquement dans ce lac de la péninsule Sechelt, située dans le détroit de Géorgie (Colombie-Britannique), et peut donc être considéré comme endémique au Canada. Cependant, il partage avec de nombreuses autres populations de saumons rouges ses corridors de migration en mer et ses aires d’alimentation dans le Pacifique Nord. Nous donnons ci-dessous un aperçu de la répartition du saumon rouge à l’échelle de l’espèce ainsi que des tendances de sa répartition.


Répartition mondiale

En général, le saumon rouge est une espèce anadrome répandue naturellement dans tout le Pacifique Nord et les rivières accessibles au nord du 40e parallèle. En Amérique du Nord, son aire de répartition naturelle s’étend depuis le fleuve Columbia (Oregon, État de Washington et Idaho) jusqu’à la baie de Kotzebue, en passant par la Colombie-Britannique, le Yukon et le sud-est et l’ouest de l’Alaska (figure 3); en Asie, il est répandu depuis les îles Kouriles méridionales et les îles Komandorskie jusqu’au littoral Nord-Ouest de la mer d’Okhotsk, au Kamtchatka et vers le nord jusqu’à la rivière Anadyr (Foerster, 1968; Burgner, 1991). L’abondance globale et la densité géographique des populations sont le plus élevées au Kamtchatka, dans l’Ouest de l’Alaska et en Colombie-Britannique.


Figure 3 : Répartition naturelle du saumon rouge et du kokani en Amérique du Nord (zone surlignée, d’après Wood, 1995)

Figure 3 : Répartition naturelle du saumon rouge et du kokani en Amérique du Nord (zone surlignée, d’après Wood, 1995). Le carré délimité par un trait gras indique la zone correspondant à la figure 7.

Le carré délimité par un trait gras indique la zone correspondant à la figure 7.

 En général, les effectifs du saumon rouge anadrome ont diminué dans les parties méridionales de son aire de répartition (Ricker, 1982; Gresh et al., 2000). On ne le trouve plus à l’état sauvage dans l’île d’Hokkaido et en Californie, bien que ces endroits abritent encore certaines populations de kokanis (non anadromes). Des barrages empêchent maintenant les montaisons de saumons anadromes vers de grands secteurs du bassin du fleuve Columbia et d’autres petits bassins hydrographiques situés dans les États américains contigus ainsi qu’en Colombie-Britannique. Plusieurs documents de synthèse (Konkel et McIntyre, 1987; Nehlsen et al., 1991; Wilderness Society, 1993; Botkin et al., 1995; Slaney et al., 1996) laissent croire que de nombreuses populations locales de saumons rouges sont disparues au Washington et en Oregon, et que plusieurs autres sont en déclin.


Répartition canadienne

Au Canada, le saumon rouge anadrome est présent dans beaucoup de cours d’eau accessibles par l’océan Pacifique, depuis le fleuve Fraser à la rivière Alsek, ainsi que dans le cours supérieur du fleuve Columbia (Okanagan). On l’a également signalé à l’occasion dans l’océan Arctique et le fleuve MacKenzie (D. Chiperzak, MPO, données inédites). Des populations non anadromes (kokanis) sont répandues dans les bassins hydrographiques de la côte du Pacifique, en particulier dans le fleuve Fraser et les lacs côtiers qui sont devenus inaccessibles au saumon rouge anadrome à la suite d’un relèvement isostatique consécutif à la déglaciation. On sait aussi que des kokanis sont présents à quelques endroits du bassin de drainage de l’Arctique adjacents au bassin du Fraser (rivière Liard et rivière de la Paix, C.J. Foote, Malaspina University College, comm. pers.).