Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and status report on the Sockeye Salmon Oncorhynchus nerka Sakinaw population in Canada

Habitat

Habitat Requirements

Sakinaw sockeye salmon have the same general habitat requirements as sockeye salmon in other populations (described by Foerster 1968, Burgner 1991). Sakinaw sockeye require suitable spawning and rearing habitat within Sakinaw Lake to reproduce, and foraging habitat in the north Pacific Ocean to attain adult size. Like other anadromous populations, they also require unobstructed passage between these habitats. Seaward migrating “smolts” must pass through the Georgia and Johnstone straits to reach the north Pacific Ocean where they spend two summers before returning to Sakinaw Lake by the same route. In the ocean, sockeye salmon typically inhabit cool (2-7ºC) surface waters (less than 15 m) and those from British Columbia generally remain north of 48ºN and east of 160ºW (French et al. 1976). Their survival is affected by conditions in all these habitats, but maximum population size is probably limited by the availability of suitable spawning and rearing habitat within Sakinaw Lake.


Limnology of Sakinaw Lake

Sakinaw Lake has a surface area of only 6.9 km2 and a perimeter of 35 km (Shortreed et al. 2003). It has two distinct basins (Figure 4). The lower basin is the largest with a maximum depth of 140 m and a mean depth of 43 m. The upper basin is small and shallow with a maximum depth of only 40 m. Both basins are clear with a mean euphotic depth of just over 15 m (Shortreed et al. 2003). The overall drainage basin is only 64 km2 but includes a number of small streams and lakes of which Ruby Lake is the largest with a maximum depth of 112 m.


Figure 4: Sakinaw Lake, its Tributaries and Spawning Beaches

Figure 4: SakinawLake, its tributaries and spawning beaches. Beach 1 (Sharon’s Creek); Beach 2 (Haskins Creek); Beach 3 (Ruby Creek Bay); Beach 4 (Kokomo Creek Bay) and Beach 5 (unnamed) (from Murray and Wood 2002).

Beach 1 (Sharon’s Creek); Beach 2 (Haskins Creek); Beach 3 (Ruby Creek Bay); Beach 4 (Kokomo Creek Bay) and Beach 5 (unnamed) (from Murray and Wood 2002).

Chemical, temperature and salinity conditions are rare and unusual because Sakinaw Lake is meromictic with a 30-m freshwater layer overlying warm, anoxic salt water (Northcote and Johnson 1964); this prevents seasonal mixing and results in strong thermal stratification (Hutchinson 1957, Walker and Likens 1975). In summer, the epiliminion extends to 7 m depth and becomes too warm for sockeye, but between 7 m and 30 m there is cool, well-oxygenated habitat that is rich in zooplankton and very suitable for rearing juvenile sockeye (Shortreed et al. 2003). Overall primary productivity in Sakinaw Lake is higher than in other coastal BC lakes but lower than in most lakes of the Fraser River system including Cultus Lake (Shortreed et al. 2003). Total dissolved solid content ranges from 113 to 140‰. Temperature, salinity and conductivity all increase markedly with depth between 30 and 60 m. Temperature increases from 5°C to a maximum of 9°C at 60m. Salinity continues to increase slightly with depth attaining a maximum value slightly over 11‰. A strong smell of hydrogen sulfide is evident in water samples from below 30 m, and samples from below 60 m may froth when brought to the surface. There is no evidence of sea water intrusion into the upper basin.


Spawning Habitat in Sakinaw Lake

Unlike most sockeye salmon populations, Sakinaw sockeye spawn almost entirely on beaches within the lake itself, presumably because the water flow in tributary streams is either inadequate (many go dry at their mouths) or especially subject to scouring during heavy rain. Upwelling ground water is probably essential for beach spawning in Sakinaw Lake. Spawning has been observed to a depth of 25 m, apparently only near alluvial fans in places where the gravel is small enough to be readily dislodged by digging (G. McBain, DFO, pers. comm).

A survey of the lakeshore carried out in 1979 revealed that only a small portion of the shoreline was suitable for beach spawning. No large spawning sites were found in the lower (main) basin and subsequent investigation there has focussed on two small spawning areas. Spawning on all beaches was restricted to depths between 0.25 and 25 m with the greatest density of nests (redds) occurring between 3 and 10 m. All major beach-spawning areas occurred near creeks or other obvious sources of ground water. There was considerable evidence of habitat degradation as all spawning beaches were littered with forest debris and supported aquatic plants to a depth of 3 m. Most spawning sockeye were observed in the upper basin of the lake; of these, almost all (95%) were observed within the area that would have been most affected by a foreshore development proposal.

The most serious habitat degradation occurred prior to the diver survey in 1979, but degradation has continued. Dive surveys in 1999 and 2000 indicate that the sockeye are now using only 15% of the area of Beach 1 (900 versus 6000 m2). Beach 2 is no longer being used, and the suitable habitat there is only 25% of that available in 1979 (1500 versus 6000 m2). Old spawning areas not presently used by sockeye are covered with thick mud, organic debris and large logs. Visual surveys of other spawning areas in 2000 and 2001 that examined the bottom looking through the water surface, suggest that similar degradation had occurred to the spawning habitat at Beaches 3, 4 and 5. (G. McBain, DFO, pers. comm.)

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Saumon sockeye (saumon rouge) (Oncorhynchus nerka)

Habitat

Besoins en matière d’habitat

Les besoins du saumon rouge Sakinaw en matière d’habitat sont en général les mêmes que ceux des saumons rouges d’autres populations (voir Foerster, 1968; Burgner, 1991). Le saumon rouge Sakinaw a besoin d’un habitat approprié pour la fraye et la croissance des juvéniles dans le lac Sakinaw où il se reproduit, ainsi que d’un habitat dans le Nord de l’océan Pacifique où il peut s’alimenter et atteindre sa taille adulte. Comme les autres populations anadromes, il doit également disposer d’une voie de passage pour se déplacer librement entre ces deux habitats. Les smolts en migration vers la mer doivent traverser les détroits de Géorgie et de Johnstone pour atteindre le Pacifique Nord, où ils passeront deux étés avant de retourner au lac Sakinaw par le même chemin. Dans l’océan, les saumons rouges se tiennent en général dans les eaux fraîches (2 à 7 °C) de la surface (à moins de 15 m de profondeur), et ceux de la Colombie‑Britannique demeurent habituellement au nord de 48 °N et à l’est de 160 °O (French et al., 1976). Leur survie dépend des conditions existantes dans tous ces habitats, mais la taille maximale de la population est probablement limitée par la disponibilité d’habitats appropriés pour la fraye et la croissance dans le lac Sakinaw.


Caractéristiques limnologiques du lac Sakinaw

Le lac Sakinaw a une superficie de seulement 6,9 km2 et un périmètre de 35 km (Shortreed et al., 2003). Il comprend deux bassins distincts (figure 4). Le bassin inférieur, le plus grand, atteint une profondeur maximale de 140 m, sa profondeur moyenne étant de 43 m. Le bassin supérieur est petit et peu profond, avec une profondeur maximale de 40 m seulement. Dans les deux bassins, l’eau est claire, la zone euphotique s’étendant jusqu’à un peu plus de 15 m (Shortreed et al., 2003). Le bassin de drainage total est de seulement 64 km2, mais englobe un certain nombre de petits cours d’eau et de lacs, dont le plus grand, le lac Ruby, a une profondeur maximale de 112 m.


Figure 4 : Le lac Sakinaw, ses tributaires et les frayères littorales (numérotées) du saumon rouge

Figure 4 : Le lac Sakinaw, ses tributaires et les frayères littorales (numérotées) du saumon rouge : 1 (ruisseau Sharon’s); 2 (ruisseau Haskins); 3 (baie du ruisseau Ruby); 4 (baie du ruisseau Kokomo); 5 (sans nom) (tiré de Murray et Wood, 2002).

1 (ruisseau Sharon’s); 2 (ruisseau Haskins); 3 (baie du ruisseau Ruby); 4 (baie du ruisseau Kokomo); 5 (sans nom) (tiré de Murray et Wood, 2002).

Les conditions chimiques, la température et la salinité observées au lac Sakinaw sont rares et inhabituelles parce qu’il s’agit d’un plan d’eau méromictique dans lequel une couche d’eau douce de 30 m recouvre des eaux salées chaudes et anoxiques (Northcote et Johnson, 1964); cette configuration empêche le mélange saisonnier des eaux et crée une forte stratification thermique (Hutchinson, 1957; Walker et Likens, 1975). En été, l’épilimnion s’étend jusqu’à 7 m de profondeur et devient trop chaud pour le saumon rouge, mais entre 7 m et 30 m, une couche d’eau fraîche, bien oxygénée et riche en zooplancton, constitue un habitat très propice à la croissance des saumons rouges juvéniles (Shortreed et al., 2003). La productivité primaire totale dans le lac Sakinaw est plus élevée que dans d’autres lacs côtiers de la Colombie‑Britannique mais plus faible que dans la plupart des lacs du réseau du Fraser, y compris le lac Cultus (Shortreed et al., 2003). La concentration de matières totales dissoutes se situe entre 113 ‰ et 140 ‰. Entre 30 et 60 m, la température, la salinité et la conductivité augmentent toutes de façon marquée en fonction de la profondeur. La température passe de 5 °C à un maximum de 9 °C à 60 m. La salinité continue d’augmenter légèrement avec la profondeur jusqu’à une valeur maximale légèrement supérieure à 11 ‰. Une forte odeur de sulfure d’hydrogène se dégage dans les échantillons d’eau prélevés à plus de 30 m de profondeur, et les échantillons prélevés à plus de 60 m peuvent écumer lorsqu’on les ramène à la surface. Il ne semble pas y avoir intrusion d’eau de mer dans le bassin supérieur.


Habitat de fraye du lac Sakinaw

Contrairement à la plupart des populations de saumons rouges, le saumon rouge du lac Sakinaw fraye presque exclusivement dans le lac, probablement parce les tributaires ont un débit inadéquat (beaucoup s’assèchent à l’embouchure) ou sont particulièrement sujets à l’affouillement en période de fortes précipitations. Les remontées d’eaux souterraines sont probablement essentielles à la fraye en bordure du rivage dans le lac Sakinaw. La fraye a été observée jusqu’à une profondeur de 25 m, apparemment uniquement dans le voisinage de cônes alluviaux à des endroits où le gravier est suffisamment fin pour permettre l’aménagement des nids pour la ponte (G. McBain, MPO, comm. pers.).

D’après un relevé effectué sur le rivage du lac en 1979, seule une petite partie du rivage offre un habitat approprié pour la fraye. Aucune grande frayère n’a été repérée dans le bassin inférieur (principal) et les recherches subséquentes y ont été centrées sur deux petites aires de fraye. À toutes les frayères, la fraye se déroulait à des profondeurs allant de 0,25 m à 25 m, le plus grand nombre de nids se trouvant entre 3 et 10 m de profondeur. Toutes les frayères principales se trouvaient près de ruisseaux ou de sources évidentes d’eau souterraine. Il y avait de nettes indications de dégradation de l’habitat étant donné que toutes les frayères étaient jonchées de débris ligneux et que des plantes aquatiques y croissaient jusqu’à une profondeur de 3 m. La plupart des saumons rouges qui frayaient ont été observés dans le bassin supérieur du lac, et presque tous (95 p. 100) se trouvaient dans la région qui aurait été la plus touchée par un projet de développement riverain.

La dégradation de l’habitat a été le plus marquée avant le relevé effectué par des plongeurs en 1979, mais elle a continué. Des relevés effectués par des plongeurs en 1999 et en 2000 indiquent qu’actuellement, le saumon rouge n’utilise plus que 15 p. 100 de la frayère 1 (900 m2 comparativement à 6 000 m2). La frayère 2 n’est plus utilisée, et l’habitat propice y a été réduit des trois quarts depuis 1979 (1 500 m2 comparativement à 6 000 m2). D’anciennes frayères actuellement non utilisées par le saumon rouge sont couvertes d’une épaisse couche de boue, de débris organiques et de grumes. L’examen d’autres frayères depuis la surface réalisé en 2000 et en 2001 donne à penser qu’une dégradation similaire de l’habitat s’est produite aux frayères 3, 4 et 5 (G. McBain, MPO, comm. pers.).