Skip booklet index and go to page content

Sockeye Salmon (Oncorhynchus Nerka)

Biology

Life History Forms

As a species, sockeye salmon make greater use of lakes for juvenile rearing than do other Pacific salmon. With the exception of river-type and sea-type populations that are widespread but not abundant, the vast majority of sockeye salmon spawn in or near lakes. Sockeye salmon are typically anadromous, but non-anadromous forms of the species also occur, maturing, spawning and dying in fresh water without entering the ocean. These forms are called kokanee when they are genetically distinct from anadromous sockeye, or “residual sockeye” when they are the (mostly male) progeny of anadromous sockeye.A few non-anadromous males have been found in Sakinaw Lake, but it is not yet known whether these are residual sockeye or kokanee. Two specimens provided to the author in April 2002 had the mtDNA haplotype#5 that is predominant among anadromous sockeye. Thus, there is not yet evidence to argue that these non-anadromous individuals can persist without the anadromous form, or could rescue the sockeye population in Sakinaw Lake. Moreover, kokanee are known to be relatively abundant in Ruby Lake that flows into Sakinaw Lake and slippage of juveniles from Ruby into Sakinaw could occur from time to time (G. McBain, DFO, pers. comm.).


Reproduction

Sockeye salmon enter Sakinaw Lake throughout the summer from June to September with peak migration ranging from 20 July to 17 August over 40 years. Spawning does not occur until late fall, peaking in late November, with mean start and end times ranging from 20 October and 11 December over the same years. This behaviour of returning early, foregoing feeding opportunity in the ocean, and holding in the natal lake for three or four months before spawning is atypical of sockeye salmon but it is not uncommon in coastal lakes, apparently as an adaptation to prevailing temperature regimes (Hodgson and Quinn 2002).

Sockeye salmon have a high fecundity (2000 - 5200) and small egg size (5.3-6.6 mm in diameter) relative to other salmon of the same size (Burgner 1991). Fecundity in the Sakinaw Lake population is at the low end of the range for sockeye salmon, averaging 2517 in 69 females collected for broodstock in 1986, 1987, 2000 and 2001; egg size averaged 5.6 mm in diameter and 300 mg in 15 females sampled in 2001 (Murray and Wood 2002).

Sakinaw Lake sockeye salmon rely on incubation habitat within the nursery lake, typically along the shoreline in areas of upwelling water near alluvial fans. Choice of incubation habitat affects the availability of dissolved oxygen and the thermal regime (hence development rate) during incubation, as well as exposure to predation and access to the nursery lake. Experiments have confirmed that both the timing of spawning and fry orientation behaviour (rheotaxis) at emergence exist as genetic adaptations to local conditions in sockeye salmon (Raleigh 1967; Brannon 1967, 1972, 1987).

Peak fry emergence would occur around 6 May (157 days after the peak spawning date of 19 November) based on empirical relationships described by Murray (1980) and the in-gravel temperature regime measured at one spawning beach in 1999-2000. Although similar at fertilization (9° C), in-gravel temperature on the spawning beach was more stable during incubation than in adjacent Mixal Creek, remaining just above 6° C from January to April. In contrast, temperatures in Mixal Creek declined to 3° C by February, then increased to 12° C by April. Lower incubation temperatures will produce larger fry for a specified egg size (Beacham and Murray 1986).


Nutrition and Growth

Throughout the species’ range, sockeye salmon fry typically emerge free-swimming at 25-32 mm. They feed initially near the lake shoreline, subsequently shifting to the deeper waters of the limnetic zone. Juvenile sockeye are visual predators, feeding primarily on copepods (Cyclops, Epischura, and Diaptomus), cladocerans (Bosmia, Daphnia, and Diaphanosoma), and insect larvae (Burgner 1991). Growth is influenced by food supply, water temperature, stratification and the length of the growing season, lake turbidity and migratory movements to avoid predation (Goodlad et al. 1974, Burgner 1991). Food availability also depends greatly on the density of juvenile sockeye (Johnson 1961) and other limnetic fish, especially threespine sticklebacks (Gasterosteus aculeatus, O’Neill et al. 1987), peamouth chub (Mylocheilus caurinus) and sympatric populations of kokanee (Wood et al. 1999). Faster growth rates can increase the survival of sockeye salmon during lake residence and subsequently through increased smolt size (Ricker 1962, Koenings and Burkett 1987, Henderson and Cass 1991)

Sakinaw Lake sockeye smolts are larger (100-150 mm) than those produced in most other nursery lakes. They are similar in size to those produced in Lake Washington, a very productive nursery lake for sockeye salmon (Doble and Eggers 1978, Burgner 1991). Comparison of scales from adult fish reveal that freshwater growth in Sakinaw Lake exceeds that for all other sockeye populations in B.C. (Y. Yole, DFO, pers comm.). Most juvenile sockeye remain in Sakinaw Lake for only one winter (as free-swimming fish) before migrating to sea. Surprisingly, some (about 3%) remain for two winters and become even larger smolts. It is widely believed that smolt age in salmon is influenced primarily by growth rate but that size thresholds for smolting are heritable (e.g., Thorpe et al. 1982) and vary as adaptations among populations, presumably reflecting different tradeoffs in size-specific survival in the freshwater and marine environments. Smolts from coastal populations are typically smaller and younger (implying a lower smolt size threshold) than interior lakes of comparable productivity. From this perspective, the Sakinaw Lake population is atypical of coastal populations.

Most anadromous SakinawLakesockeye salmon mature and return to spawn at age 4 after spending two winters at sea. This life history is denoted age 1.2 reflecting the single freshwater (winter) annulus and two marine annuli on their scales; thus, the age at maturity is the total number of annuli plus one, because no annulus is formed during the first winter of embryonic development.Age composition, by brood year, averages 3% age 3 (1.1), 87% age 4 (1.2 and 2.1), and 10% age 5 (1.3 and 2.2). Despite their large size at smolting, Sakinaw Lake sockeye are small at maturity compared with other sockeye populations in Canada and the Pacific Northwest (Gustafson et al. 1997). The mean postorbital-hypural length of 10 spawners collected in 2001 was 445 mm (468 mm for males, n=5, SD=1.8; and 428 mm for females, n=5, SD=9.6). Mean weights for sockeye salmon passing through the Sakinaw fishway from 1957 to 1972 ranged from 1.81 kg (n=29) to 2.10 kg (n=15). By comparison, sockeye salmon of the corresponding age (2 winters at sea) average 2.73 kgin theFraser River and 2.56 kg in Bristol Bay (Burgner 1991).


Survival

Juvenile survival has not been investigated in the Sakinaw Lake population but juvenile sockeye in other populations are often exposed to intense predation by a variety of fish and bird species both during lake residence and during early seaward migration (Burgner 1991). In nearshore and open ocean environments, predation by fish, birds, and marine mammals, and competition for food resources with other fish species affects growth and survival of sockeye. Ocean growth and survival of Pacific salmon can be affected by periodic, warm water events (El Niño) in local waters, and by changes in ocean conditions in the North Pacific Ocean (e.g., Francis 1993; Beamish et al. 1997, Mueter et al. 2002a, 2002b).

Potential fish predators of juvenile sockeye in or near Sakinaw Lake include cutthroat trout (O. clarki), juvenile coho salmon and chinook salmon (O. tshawytscha), prickly sculpin (Cottus asper), and lampreys (Lampetra tridentata and L. ayresi). Round scars apparently inflicted by lampreys were observed on coho salmon smolts during a snorkel survey below the outlet dam on April 26, 2002 (Bates and August 1997). Numerous lamprey scars were also observed on spawning adult sockeye in 2002. These observations lend support to earlier reports (J.D. McPhail, UBC, pers. comm.) that a parasitic, non-anadromous form of L. tridentata inhabits Sakinaw Lake. Principal bird predators include the common loon (Gavia immer), red-necked grebe (Podiceps grisegena), common merganser (Mergus merganser), belted kingfisher (Megaceryle alcyon), osprey (Pandion haliaetus), bald eagle (Haliaeetus leucocephalus) and various gulls (Larus sp.). Mammalian predators of adults likely include river otters (Londra canadensis), harbour seals (Phoca vitulina), killer whales (Orca orcensis), American mink (Mustela vison) and black bears (Ursus americanus). Seals and river otters are common near the lake outlet and likely eat both smolts and adults within the small Sakinaw estuary and nearby Agamemnon Channel. About 10-15% of adult sockeye passing through the fishway between 1957 and 1987 were scarred. Most scarring is probably due to commercial gillnets or illegal fishing; seals (T.Gjernes DFO, pers comm.) and river otters (G. McBain, DFO , pers. comm.) have been observed chasing or feeding on salmon near the lake outlet and may also contribute to scarring.

Predation on migrating salmon is typically depensatory (e.g., Wood 1987) so its role in limiting smolt-to-adult survival could have increased as the abundance of Sakinaw Lake sockeye salmon declined. However, this would depend on trends in abundance of alternative prey including other salmonids. An aquaculture site established at Daniel Point (just south of Sakinaw) during the early 1990s may also have attracted mammalian predators and increased their abundance in proximity to fish migrating to and from Sakinaw Lake.


Migratory Behaviour

Smolt migration out of Sakinaw Lake begins during early April and extends to mid-June, peaking in early May. The migration period was similar during four years of smolt enumeration (1994-1997, Bates and August 1997) with slight shifts in peak migration, which were perhaps affected by changes in lake discharge, temperature and weather.

Adult Sakinaw sockeye are known to arrive in Johnstone Strait as early as 28 June based on a 1975 study of catch composition using scale pattern analysis (Henry 1961, Argue 1975). Tagging experiments by the IPSFC indicate that Fraser River sockeye salmon migrate from the western end of Johnstone Strait to Area 16 in 7 to 14 days at a swimming speed of 40 to 56 km per day (Verhoeven and Davidoff 1962). The only tagging data available for Sakinaw sockeye is for a single fish released on 10 August 1925 in Deepwater Bay (Area 13) and recovered eight days later in Sakinaw (recorded as Sauch-en-auch) Creek (Williamson 1927). These limited data on timing of arrival in Johnstone Strait (late June) and time required for migration through Johnstone and Georgia straits (7-14 days) are consistent with more extensive observations of the timing of arrival at Sakinaw Lake. During 34 years of visual enumeration at the fishway (commencing in late June) the mean date of first arrival was 7 July, ranging from 28 June to 15 July. The mean date of the last recorded arrival was 29 August ranging from 10 August to 28 September. The mean date of peak migration was 30 July ranging from 20 July to 17 August. The mean seasonal duration of the run was 53 days (range 33 to 88 days) with the longest duration and highest abundance occurring in 1975, a year that fishing mortality was minimal because of a general fishing strike in late July and August. Low water flow and high water temperature can delay or disrupt migration into Sakinaw Lake.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Saumon sockeye (saumon rouge) (Oncorhynchus nerka)

Biologie

Types de cycle biologique

Le saumon rouge utilise davantage les lacs que les autres espèces de saumons du Pacifique pour la croissance des juvéniles. À l’exception des populations de type lotique et de type océanique, qui sont répandues mais pas abondantes, la grande majorité des saumons rouges frayent dans des lacs ou à proximité. Le saumon rouge est une espèce typiquement anadrome, mais il existe aussi des formes non anadromes, qui se développent, frayent et meurent en eau douce sans jamais se rendre dans l’océan. Ces formes portent le nom de kokani lorsqu’elles sont génétiquement distinctes du saumon rouge anadrome, ou de saumon rouge résident lorsqu’il s’agit de la progéniture (surtout mâle) de saumons rouges anadromes. Quelques mâles non anadromes ont été trouvés dans le lac Sakinaw, mais on ne sait pas encore s’il s’agit de saumons résidents ou de kokanis. Deux spécimens fournis à l’auteur en avril 2002 possédaient l’haplotype 5 de l’ADNmt, qui est prédominant chez le saumon rouge anadrome. Il n’y a donc pas encore de preuve indiquant que ces individus non anadromes peuvent persister en l’absence de la forme anadrome, ou qu’ils pourraient contribuer à sauver la population de saumon rouge dans le lac Sakinaw. De plus, les kokanis sont reconnus comme étant relativement abondants dans le lac Ruby, qui se déverse dans le lac Sakinaw, et il se pourrait que des juvéniles du lac Ruby passent dans le lac Sakinaw de temps à autre (G. McBain, MPO, comm. pers.).


Reproduction

Le saumon rouge arrive dans le lac Sakinaw tout au long de l’été, de juin à septembre, le pic de la migration ayant été observé entre le 20 juillet et le 17 août sur une période de 40 ans. La fraye ne commence pas avant la fin de l’automne et atteint un sommet à la fin de novembre, et elle a commencé et s’est terminée en moyenne entre le 20 octobre et le 11 décembre durant cette même période. Ce comportement, caractérisé par une remonte hâtive, la privation de possibilités d’alimentation dans l’océan et un séjour de trois ou quatre mois dans le lac d’origine avant la fraye est atypique chez le saumon rouge, mais il n’est pas rare dans les lacs côtiers et semble correspondre à une adaptation aux régimes de température (Hodgson et Quinn, 2002).

Chez le saumon rouge, le taux de fécondité est élevé (2 000 à 5 200 oeufs) et les œufs sont de petite taille (5,3 à 6,6 mm de diamètre) comparativement à ceux des autres saumons de même taille (Burgner, 1991). Chez le saumon rouge Sakinaw, la fécondité se situe au bas de la fourchette pour le saumon rouge, avec une moyenne de 2 517 oeufs chez 69 femelles récoltées comme génitrices en 1986, 1987, 2000 et 2001; les œufs mesuraient en moyenne 5,6 mm de diamètre et pesaient 300 mg chez 15 femelles échantillonnées en 2001 (Murray et Wood, 2002).

Le saumon rouge du lac Sakinaw a besoin d’un habitat propice pour l’incubation dans le lac de séjour, situé en général le long du rivage dans les secteurs où l’on observe des remontées d’eaux souterraines près de cônes alluviaux. L’habitat choisi pour l’incubation a une incidence sur la disponibilité de l’oxygène dissous et le régime thermique (et par conséquent sur le taux de développement) pendant l’incubation, ainsi que sur l’exposition aux prédateurs et l’accès au lac de séjour. Des expériences ont confirmé que le moment de la fraye et le comportement d’orientation (rhéotaxie) des alevins au moment de l’émergence correspondent à des adaptations génétiques aux conditions locales chez le saumon rouge (Raleigh, 1967; Brannon, 1967, 1972, 1987).

La période d’émergence atteindrait un sommet aux environs du 6 mai (157 jours après la date du pic de fraye, soit le 19 novembre) d’après des relations empiriques décrites par Murray (1980) et le régime de température dans le gravier mesuré à une frayère en 1999-2000. Bien que similaire au moment de la fécondation (9 °C), la température dans le gravier de la frayère était plus stable pendant l’incubation que dans le ruisseau Mixal adjacent, se maintenant juste au-dessus de 6 °C de janvier à avril. Par contre, dans le ruisseau Mixal, les températures ont chuté jusqu’à 3 °C en février, puis elles ont augmenté pour atteindre 12 °C en avril. Des températures d’incubation plus basses produisent des alevins plus gros pour une taille d’œuf donnée (Beacham et Murray, 1986).


Alimentation et croissance

Dans toute l’aire de répartition de l’espèce, les alevins du saumon rouge émergent en général lorsqu’ils atteignent une longueur de 25 à 32 mm. Au début, les alevins nageants se nourrissent près du rivage et se déplacent ensuite vers les eaux plus profondes de la zone limnétique. Les saumons rouges juvéniles sont des prédateurs visuels qui consomment surtout des copépodes (Cyclops, Epischura et Diaptomus), des cladocères (Bosmia, Daphnia et Diaphanosoma) et des larves d’insectes (Burgner, 1991). Leur croissance dépend de plusieurs facteurs, dont les réserves de nourriture, la température de l’eau, la stratification du lac, la longueur de la saison de croissance, la turbidité de l’eau et l’évitement des prédateurs (Goodlad et al., 1974; Burgner, 1991). De plus, la disponibilité de la nourriture est largement liée à la densité des saumons rouges juvéniles (Johnson, 1961) et d’autres poissons de la zone limnétique, en particulier, des épinoches à trois épines (Gasterosteus aculeatus, O’Neill et al., 1987), des ménés deux-barres (Mylocheilus caurinus) et des populations sympatriques de kokanis (Wood et al., 1999). Un taux de croissance plus élevé peut accroître la survie du saumon rouge pendant son séjour dans le lac et aussi ultérieurement en favorisant la production de smolts de grande taille (Ricker, 1962; Koenings et Burkett, 1987; Henderson et Cass, 1991).

Les smolts du saumon rouge du lac Sakinaw sont plus grands (100 à 150 mm) que ceux qui sont produits dans la plupart des autres lacs de séjour. Ils sont d’une taille similaire à celle des smolts du lac Washington, lac de séjour très productif pour le saumon rouge (Doble et Eggers, 1978; Burgner, 1991). La comparaison d’écailles prélevées sur des adultes révèle que la croissance en eau douce dans le lac Sakinaw est supérieure à celle de toutes les autres populations de saumons rouges de la Colombie-Britannique (Y. Yole, MPO, comm. pers.). La plupart des saumons rouges juvéniles ne passent qu’un hiver dans le lac Sakinaw (à l’état de poisson nageant librement) avant de migrer vers la mer. Étonnamment, certains d’entre eux (environ 3 p. 100) y demeurent deux hivers et deviennent des smolts encore plus grands. Il est largement admis que l’âge des smolts chez le saumon est déterminé principalement par le taux de croissance, mais que la taille seuil déclenchant le processus de smoltification est un caractère héréditaire (voir par exemple, Thorpe et al., 1982) et varie selon les populations en tant qu’adaptation, reflétant peut-être différents compromis concernant la survie selon la taille en eau douce et en mer. Les smolts issus des populations côtières sont en général plus petits et plus jeunes (ce qui signifierait que la taille seuil déclenchant la smoltification serait plus faible) que ceux des lacs de l’intérieur présentant une productivité comparable. Ainsi, la population du lac Sakinaw est atypique par rapport aux autres populations côtières.

La plupart des saumons rouges anadromes du lac Sakinaw atteignent la maturité et reviennent frayer à l’âge de 4 ans après avoir passé deux hivers en mer. Cet âge correspond, en rapport avec le cycle vital, à la notation 1.2, qui indique la présence sur les écailles d’un annulus formé en eau douce (un hiver) et de deux annuli formés en mer; ainsi, l’âge à la maturité correspond au nombre total d’annuli plus un, parce qu’il n’y a aucun annulus formé pendant le premier hiver de développement embryonnaire. Lacomposition par âge du groupe de géniteurs d’une année de ponte s’établit en moyenne comme suit : 3 p. 100 d’individus de 3 ans (1.1), 87 p. 100 d’individus de 4 ans (1.2 et 2.1) et 10 p. 100 d’individus de 5 ans (1.3 et 2.2). Malgré leur grande taille au moment de la smoltification, les saumons rouges du lac Sakinaw sont petits à la maturité comparativement à ceux des autres populations de saumons rouges du Canada, du Washington et de l’Oregon (Gustafson et al., 1997). La longueur mesurée depuis la marge postérieure de l’orbite jusqu’à l’os hypural chez 10 géniteurs récoltés en 2001 était en moyenne de 445 mm (468 mm chez les mâles, n = 5, é.-t. = 1,8, et 428 mm chez les femelles, n = 5, é.-t. = 9,6). Le poids moyen des saumons rouges qui ont franchi la passe migratoire du lac Sakinaw de 1957 à 1972 se situait entre 1,81 kg (n = 29) et 2,10 kg (n = 15).Par comparaison, le saumon rouge du même âge (2 hivers en mer) pèse en moyenne 2,73 kg dans le fleuve Fraser et 2,56 kg dans la baie Bristol (Burgner, 1991).


Survie

La survie des juvéniles de la population du lac Sakinaw n’a pas fait l’objet de recherches, mais les saumons rouges juvéniles d’autres populations sont souvent exposés à une prédation intense par diverses espèces de poissons et d’oiseaux tant pendant leur séjour dans le lac que pendant leur migration hâtive vers la mer (Burgner, 1991). Dans l’océan, près du littoral et au large, la prédation effectuée par des poissons, des oiseaux et des mammifères marins ainsi que la compétition avec les autres espèces de poissons pour la nourriture a une incidence sur la croissance et la survie du saumon rouge. La croissance et la survie en mer du saumon du Pacifique peuvent être affectées par des épisodes périodiques (El Niño) de réchauffement des eaux à l’échelle locale et par des changements dans les conditions du milieu océanique dans le Pacifique Nord (voir par exemple Francis, 1993; Beamish et al., 1997; Mueter et al., 2002a, 2002b).

Parmi les prédateurs potentiels de saumons rouges juvéniles dans le lac Sakinaw ou à proximité, mentionnons les suivants : truite fardée (O. clarki), saumons cohos (O. kisutch) et saumons quinnats (O. tshawytscha) juvéniles, chabot piquant (Cottus asper) et lamproies (Lampetra tridentata et L. ayresi). Des cicatrices rondes, apparemment laissées par des lamproies, ont été observées sur des smolts de saumon coho pendant un relevé au schnorkel effectué en aval du barrage de l’émissaire le 26 avril 2002 (Bates et August, 1997). De nombreuses cicatrices de lamproies ont également été observées en 2002 sur des saumons rouges adultes en fraye. Ces observations appuient des rapports antérieurs (J.D. McPhail, UBC, comm. pers.) selon lesquels le lac Sakinaw abrite une forme parasite non anadrome du L. tridentata. Les principaux oiseaux prédateurs sont les suivants : Plongeon huard (Gavia immer), Grèbe jougris (Podiceps grisegena), Grand Harle (Mergus merganser), Martin-pêcheur d’Amérique (Megaceryle alcyon), Balbuzard pêcheur (Pandion haliaetus), Pygargue à tête blanche (Haliaeetus leucocephalus) et diverses espèces de Laridés (Larus spp.). Parmi les mammifères prédateurs qui consomment des adultes, on trouve probablement les espèces suivantes : loutre de rivière (Londra canadensis), phoque commun (Phoca vitulina), orque (Orca orcensis), vison d’Amérique (Mustela vison) et ours noir (Ursus americanus). Les phoques et les loutres de rivière sont communs près de l’émissaire du lac et consomment probablement tant des smolts que des adultes dans le petit estuaire du ruisseau Sakinaw et le chenal Agamemnon avoisinant. Environ 10 à 15 p. 100 des saumons rouges adultes qui ont franchi la passe migratoire entre 1957 et 1987 portaient des cicatrices. La plupart de ces cicatrices sont probablement attribuables à la pêche commerciale au filet maillant ou à la pêche illégale; des phoques (T. Gjernes, MPO, comm. pers.) et des loutres de rivière (G. McBain, MPO, comm. pers.) ont été aperçus poursuivant ou consommant du saumon près de l’émissaire du lac et peuvent aussi infliger des blessures.

La prédation sur le saumon en migration est en général dépensatoire (voir par exemple Wood, 1987), de sorte que son importance dans la limitation du taux de survie des smolts jusqu’à l’âge adulte peut avoir augmenté à mesure que l’abondance du saumon rouge du lac Sakinaw diminuait. Cependant, ce phénomène dépend des tendances des effectifs des autres proies, y compris des autres Salmonidés. Une exploitation aquicole établie à la pointe Daniel (juste au sud du lac Sakinaw) au début des années 1990 peut aussi avoir attiré des mammifères prédateurs et avoir augmenté leur nombre à proximité des poissons en migration quittant le lac Sakinaw et y revenant.


Comportement migratoire

La migration des smolts à partir du lac Sakinaw commence au début d’avril et se poursuit jusqu’à la mi-juin, le pic se produisant au début de mai. La période de migration a été similaire sur quatre années durant lesquelles on a recensé les smolts (1994 à 1997, Bates et August, 1997), avec de légères fluctuations temporelles du pic de migration, peut-être dues à des variations du débit sortant du lac, de la température et des conditions météorologiques.

Les saumons rouges adultes du lac Sakinaw arrivent dans le détroit de Johnstone dès le 28 juin, comme en témoigne une étude de la composition des prises menée en 1975 et fondée sur l’analyse des écailles (Henry, 1961; Argue, 1975). Des expériences de marquage menées par la Commission du saumon du Pacifique (CSP, à l’époque Commission internationale des pêcheries de saumon du Pacifique, CIPSP) indiquent que le saumon rouge du fleuve Fraser migre depuis l’extrémité ouest du détroit de Johnstone jusqu’à la zone 16 en 7 à 14 jours, en parcourant une distance de 40 à 56 km par jour (Verhoeven et Davidoff, 1962). Les seules données de marquage disponibles pour le saumon rouge du lac Sakinaw proviennent d’un seul poisson relâché le 10 août 1925 dans la baie Deepwater (zone 13) et récupéré huit jours plus tard dans le ruisseau Sakinaw (noté sous le nom de Sauch-en-auch) (Williamson, 1927). Ces données restreintes concernant le moment de l’arrivée dans le détroit de Johnstone (fin juin) et la durée de la traversée des détroits de Johnstone et de Géorgie (7 à 14 jours) sont compatibles avec les observations plus nombreuses concernant le moment de l’arrivée dans le lac Sakinaw. Dans 34 années où ont été effectués des dénombrements visuels à la passe migratoire (à partir de la fin de juin), la date moyenne de la première arrivée enregistrée a été le 7 juillet (fourchette : 28 juin au 15 juillet). La date moyenne de la dernière arrivée enregistrée a été le 29 août (10 août au 28 septembre). La date moyenne du pic migratoire a été le 30 juillet (20 juillet au 17 août). La durée moyenne de la montaison saisonnière a été de 53 jours (33 à 88 jours), la durée la plus longue et la remonte la plus forte ayant été enregistrées en 1975, année où la mortalité par pêche a été minimale à cause d’une grève générale dans le secteur des pêches à la fin de juillet et en août. Quand le débit des eaux est faible et que la température de l’eau est élevée, la migration vers le lac Sakinaw peut être retardée ou perturbée.