Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Shortnose Cisco (Coregonus reighardi) in Canada

5. Critical habitat

5.1 Identification of the species’ critical habitat

Under the Species at Risk Act (SARA), habitat for aquatic species is defined as:

“…spawning grounds and nursery, rearing, food supply, migration and any other areas on which aquatic species depend directly or indirectly in order to carry out their life processes, or areas where aquatic species formerly occurred and have the potential to be introduced” [s.2(1) SARA]

Critical habitat under SARA is defined as”

“… the habitat that is necessary for the survival or recovery of a listed wildlife species and that is identified as the species’ critical habitat in the recovery strategy or action plan for the species” [s.2(1) SARA]

Little is known about the habitat requirements of the Shortnose Cisco other than that the species occupied moderately deep waters of lakes Ontario (22m to 92m), Michigan (37m to 110m) and Huron (37 m to 92 m) (Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) 2005). Based on its diet, it must have occurred where it was able to feed on the freshwater crustaceans Mysis diluviana and Diporiea spp. (Parker 1988, COSEWIC 2005). Naumann and Crawford (2009) found that the identification of critical habitat for rare and taxonomically uncertain fish species, such as the closely related Shortjaw Cisco in Lake Huron, was not feasible due to rarity of occurrence and the need to consider other important physical and biological habitat factors other than water depth alone. The lack of species-specific information on the biology and life history requirements of the Shortnose Cisco would of itself preclude the identification of critical habitat at this time. Furthermore, the presumed extinction of the Shortnose Cisco suggests that the survival or recovery of the species is not possible and, consequently, critical habitat, as defined by SARA, is not an applicable concept.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement du cisco à museau court (Coregonus reighardi) au Canada

5. Habitat essentiel

5.1 Définition de l'habitat essentiel des espèces

La Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) définit l'habitat d'une espèce aquatique comme suit :

« … les frayères, aires d’alevinage, de croissance et d’alimentation et routes migratoires dont sa survie dépend, directement ou indirectement, ou aires où elle s’est déjà trouvée et où il est possible de la réintroduire. » [paragr. 2(1) de la LEP]

Toujours selon la LEP, l'habitat essentiel est défini comme suit :

« ... l’habitat nécessaire à la survie ou au rétablissement d’une espèce sauvage inscrite, qui est désigné comme tel dans un programme de rétablissement ou un plan d’action élaboré à l’égard de l’espèce. » [paragr. 2(1) de la LEP]

On en sait peu sur les exigences en matière d'habitat du cisco à museau court. Nous savons que l'espèce vivait dans les eaux modérément profondes des lacs Ontario (22 à 92 m), Michigan (37 à 110 m) et Huron (37 à 92 m) [Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) 2005]. Selon son régime alimentaire, il vivait là où il pouvait se nourrir de crustacés d'eaux douces du genre Mysis diluviana et Diporiea (Parker 1988, COSEPAC 2005). Naumann et Crawford (2009) ont conclu que définir l'habitat essentiel des espèces de poissons rares et dont la taxonomique est incertaine, comme le cisco à mâchoires égales du lac Huron qui est étroitement connexe, est impossible en raison de la rareté des apparitions et du besoin de considérer des facteurs importants au niveau physique et biologique autres que la profondeur des eaux. Le manque d'information propre à l'espèce sur les exigences biologiques et historiques du cisco à museau court aurait empêché l'identification de l'habitat essentiel à ce moment. De plus, l'extinction présumée du cisco à museau court porte à croire que la survie ou le rétablissement de l'espèce n'est pas possible, de sorte que la notion d'habitat essentiel au sens de la LEP est inopérante.