Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Round Hickorynut (Obovaria subrotunda, Rafinesque 1820) and Kidneyshell (Ptychobranchus fasciolaris, Rafinesque 1820) in Canada [Proposed]


Executive Summary

Freshwater mussels (Unionidae) are amongst the world's most imperiled taxa with declines reported at global, continental and national scales. Nearly 75% of North America's approximately 300 freshwater mussel species are facing varying degrees of extinction risk. Southern Ontario is home to the largest and most diverse mussel communities in Canada as three quarters of the nation's mussel species can be found in the lower Great Lakes drainage. Three of the largest mussel rivers in this region, the Thames, Grand and Sydenham rivers, have all shown significant declines during the latter half of the last century with species declines totaling 29%, 26% and 12% respectively. Eight species, all with distributions restricted to this region of southwestern Ontario and with current or historic distributions which include these three drainages, have been listed as Endangered by the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC). Two of these species, the Round Hickorynut (Obovaria subrotunda) and the Kidneyshell (Ptychobranchus fasciolaris) share common current and historic distributions and are facing similar threats to their continued existence. These two species are considered here in a multispecies recovery strategy developed by the Ontario Freshwater Mussel Recovery Team to facilitate the protection and recovery of both species in Canada.

The Round Hickorynut is a small mussel reaching a maximum size of 60 - 65 mm in Canada. The mussel is readily recognized by its round shape and prominent centrally located, inward curving beaks that are elevated well above the hinge line. The Canadian distribution of this species has always been restricted to southwestern Ontario where it was once found in the Welland, Grand, Sydenham, Thames, St. Clair and Detroit Rivers as well as the waters of Lake St. Clair and western Lake Erie. Declining water quality and the introduction of dreissenid mussels have resulted in a sharp decline in the Canadian distribution of the Round Hickorynut and it is now only found in the waters of the Lake St. Clair delta and a small portion of the East Sydenham River.

The Kidneyshell is a medium to large freshwater mussel that is readily distinguished by its elongate, elliptical shell and yellowish-brown periostracum with wide, interrupted green rays that look like squarish spots. The Kidneyshell has also always had a Canadian distribution limited to southwestern Ontario where it was once found in lakes St. Clair and Erie, as well as the Detroit, Sydenham, Thames, Ausable, Grand, Welland and Niagara rivers. Recent surveys have shown that this distribution has been severely reduced and the Kidneyshell is now limited to the Sydenham and Ausable rivers with a few specimens in the Lake St. Clair delta (COSEWIC 2003b).

Threats to the Round Hickorynut and Kidneyshell are many and varied although they can be separated into two major groups: those affecting lake populations (i.e. Great Lakes and connecting channels) and those affecting in-land riverine populations. The main reason for the declines in lake populations, and the major current threat to the Lake St. Clair populations of the Round Hickorynut and the Kidneyshell, is the presence of exotic dreissenid mussels. Dreissenid mussels (zebra and quagga mussels) attach to the shells of native mussels and act to inhibit feeding, respiration, excretion and locomotion. The near complete loss of freshwater mussels from the Great Lakes and their connecting channels can be attributed to the detrimental effects of these invasive mussels. As the largest remaining population of the Round Hickorynut is the St. Clair delta population, dreissenid mussels should be seen as the most significant threat to the continued existence of the Round Hickorynut in Canada.

Riverine populations of both mussel species are subject to different threats than the lake populations with the primary threats being declining water quality and a general disappearance of suitable habitat. The two watersheds where these species can still be found are predominantly agricultural with high nutrient and sediment inputs to the watercourse from the adjacent lands. Waters with high sediment loads, particularly when composed of fine sediments like those associated with agricultural run-off, have been shown to cause clogging of the gill structures which can interfere with feeding, respiration and reproduction.

The obligate parasitic nature of the reproductive cycle of these mussels necessitates a consideration of threats to the host fish species as well as the direct threats to the mussel.

This Recovery Strategy was assembled by the Ontario Freshwater Mussel Recovery Team consisting of members from Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Environment Canada, Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources, University of Guelph, University of Toronto, McMaster University, Ausable-Bayfield Conservation Authority, Grand River Conservation Authority, Maitland Valley Conservation Authority, St. Clair Region Conservation Authority, Upper Thames River Conservation Authority, Lower Thames Valley Conservation Authority and the Walpole Island Heritage Centre.

The long-term goals of this recovery strategy are:

  1. to prevent the extirpation of the Round Hickorynut and Kidneyshell in Canada;
  2. to return healthy self-sustaining populations of Round Hickorynut to the Sydenham River and Lake St. Clair delta and;
  3. to maintain healthy self-sustaining Kidneyshell populations in the Ausable and Sydenham rivers while returning the Lake St. Clair delta population to a self-sustaining level.
  4. to re-establish populations in historically occupied habitats.

These populations can only be considered recovered when they have returned to historically estimated ranges and/or population densities and are showing signs of reproduction and recruitment.

The following specific short term objectives have been identified to assist with meeting the long term goal:

  1. Determine extent, abundance and population demographics of existing populations.
  2. Determine fish hosts and their distributions and abundances.
  3. Define key habitat requirements to identify critical habitat.
  4. Establish a long-term monitoring program for Round Hickorynut and Kidneyshell populations, their hosts and the habitat of both.
  5. Identify threats, evaluate their relative importance and implement remedial actions to minimize their impacts.
  6. Examine the feasibility of relocations, reintroductions and the establishment of managed refuge sites.
  7. Increase awareness about the distribution, threats and recovery of these species.

The Recovery Team has identified a variety of approaches that are necessary to meet the recovery objectives. These approaches have been broadly organized into four categories: Research and Monitoring, Management, Stewardship and Awareness.

This Recovery Strategy represents one component of a multi-faceted approach to preserve these endangered mussels. Because of the sedentary nature of mussels and their filter-feeding behaviour, they have a value beyond basic biodiversity in their role as indicators of ecosystem health. Threats that have been indicated as affecting riverine populations may, in most cases, be considered as threats to the aquatic ecosystem in general. Correspondingly, activities directed at mitigating threats to mussels will benefit the aquatic ecosystem as a whole and general ecosystem recovery actions like those proposed in the Sydenham and Ausable river ecosystem recovery strategies (Dextrase et al. 2003; ARRT 2004) will assist with the recovery of the Round Hickorynut and Kidneyshell.

In addition to the ecosystem recovery planning efforts a number of ongoing research programs will assist with achieving the objectives outlined in this strategy. A team at the University of Guelph has established a research facility to investigate mussel-host relationships and juvenile rearing and has already succeeded in identifying hosts for the Kidneyshell in Canada. A laboratory at the University of Toronto/ Royal Ontario Museum has recently begun to examine the conservation genetics of mussel species at risk. Researchers from the National Water Research Institute of Environment Canada are conducting ongoing surveys for mussel species at risk in southwestern Ontario as well as examining the feasibility of establishing managed refuge sites in the St. Clair delta region. A permanent, long-term monitoring network to track changes in mussels and their habitat has been established in the Sydenham and Thames rivers and will be expanded to the Ausable River. Ongoing stewardship activities have been established through local conservation authorities throughout the ranges of both the Round Hickorynut and Kidneyshell.

The Round Hickorynut prefers sand and gravel substrates with steady, moderate flows at depths of up to 2 m. Currently occupied habitat for the Round Hickorynut consists of a 12 km² region of the Canadian waters of the St. Clair delta and a 60 km reach of the east Sydenham River from just upstream of Alvinston downstream to Dawn Mills. Historically occupied habitat would include the Thames River from London to Chatham and the Grand River near Dunville. If the impacts of dreissenid mussels can be mitigated then historically occupied areas in the Detroit, St. Clair and Welland rivers as well as the open waters of western Lake Erie and Lake St. Clair may also function as suitable habitat for recovery. The Kidneyshell prefers shallow areas with clear, swift-flowing water and substrates of firmly packed coarse gravel and sand. Currently occupied habitat for this species includes areas that fit this description in the coastal margin of the Lake St. Clair delta, 60 km of the East Sydenham River from Alvinston to Dawn Mills, and approximately 50 km of the Ausable River from Huron Park to Arkona Gorge. Historically occupied habitat for the Kidneyshell includes 50 km of the Lower Grand River from Caledonia to Port Maitland, a small portion of the Welland River, and locations within the Thames River between London and Chatham. Areas in Lake Erie, Lake St. Clair and the Niagara River may also function as future habitat if the influence of dreissenid mussels can be reduced.

The Recovery Team believes that the approaches outlined in this strategy to achieve recovery of the Round Hickorynut and Kidneyshell are best accomplished through cooperation with the existing ecosystem recovery teams. In watersheds with existing ecosystem teams, implementation of recovery actions should be coordinated to confirm that activities are beneficial to all species at risk and to eliminate the possible duplication of efforts. Where ecosystem teams are absent, Recovery Implementation Groups may be struck to facilitate the carrying out of recovery actions. Evaluation of the success of recovery actions will be achieved primarily through the routine monitoring programs established to track changes in population demographics and habitat, however, RIGs will also incorporate specific milestones into Recovery Action Plans. The entire Recovery Strategy will be reassessed after 5 years to evaluate the progress towards achieving the goals and objectives and to incorporate new information.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Stratégie de rétablissement de l'obovarie ronde (Obovaria subrotunda, Rafinesque 1820) et du ptychobranche réniforme (Ptychobranchus fasciolaris, Rafinesque 1820) au Canada [Proposition]


Sommaire

Les moules d'eau douce (unionidés) sont parmi les espèces les plus en danger du monde, les déclins étant signalés à l'échelle mondiale, continentale et nationale. Près de 75 % des 300 (environ) espèces de moules d'eau douce d'Amérique du Nord se retrouvent devant un risque de disparition à divers degrés. Le sud de l'Ontario est le lieu des communautés de moules les plus importantes et diverses au Canada, car les trois quarts des espèces de moules du pays se trouvent dans le drainage des Grands Lacs inférieurs. Trois des plus importantes rivières à moules de cette région, les rivières Thames, Grand et Sydenham, ont montré des diminutions importantes durant la dernière moitié du siècle dernier avec des déclins des espèces s'élevant à 29 %, 26 % et 12 %, respectivement. Huit espèces, toutes ayant des répartitions limitées à cette région du sud-ouest de l'Ontario et avec des répartitions actuelles ou historiques comprenant ces trois drainages ont été inscrites comme étant en voie de disparition par le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC). Deux de ces espèces, l'obovarie ronde (Obovaria subrotunda) et le ptychobranche réniforme (Ptychobranchus fasciolaris) partagent des répartitions actuelles et historiques communes et font face à des menaces semblables à leur survie. Ces deux espèces sont considérées ici dans une stratégie de rétablissement visant plusieurs espèces établie par l'Ontario Freshwater Mussel Recovery Team (équipe de rétablissement des moules d'eau douce de l'Ontario) pour faciliter la protection et le rétablissement des deux espèces au Canada.

L'obovarie ronde est une petite moule atteignant une taille maximale de 60 à 65 mm au Canada. La moule est reconnue facilement par sa forme ronde et située centralement de façon proéminente, ses becs incurvés qui sont élevés bien au-dessus de la charnière. La répartition canadienne de l'espèce a toujours été limitée au sud-ouest de l'Ontario où elle se trouvait autrefois dans les rivières Welland, Grand, Sydenham, Thames, St. Clair et Detroit ainsi que dans les eaux du lac St. Clair et à l'ouest du lac Érié. La dégradation de la qualité de l'eau et l'introduction des moules dreissenas ont entraîné un déclin prononcé de la répartition canadienne de l'obovarie ronde et elle se retrouve maintenant seulement dans les eaux du delta du lac St. Clair et une petite portion de la rivière Sydenham est.

Le ptychobranche réniforme est une moule d'eau douce de taille moyenne à grande qui se distingue facilement par son coquillage elliptique allongé et son periostracum brun-jaunâtre avec de larges stries vertes interrompues qui ressemblent à des marques quasi carrées. Le ptychobranche réniforme a toujours eu une répartition canadienne limitée au sud-ouest de l'Ontario où on le trouvait autrefois dans les lacs St. Clair et Érié ainsi que dans les rivières Detroit, Sydenham, Thames, Ausable, Grand, Welland et Niagara. De récents relevés montrent que cette répartition s'est réduite considérablement et le ptychobranche réniforme est maintenant limité aux rivières Sydenham et Ausable, avec quelques individus dans le delta du lac St. Clair (COSEPAC 2003b).

Les menaces pour l'obovarie ronde et le ptychobranche réniforme sont nombreuses et variées, bien qu'on puisse les distinguer en deux groupes principaux : celles affectant les populations des lacs (Grands Lacs et canaux de liaison) et celles affectant les populations riveraines intérieures. La principale raison du déclin des populations des lacs, et la grande menace actuelle pour les population d'Obovarie ronde et de ptychobranche réniforme du lac St. Clair, est la présence de moules dreissenas exotiques. Les moules dreissenas (moule zébrée et moule quagga) s'attachent au coquillage des moules indigènes et agissent pour inhiber l'alimentation, la respiration, l'excrétion et la locomotion. La perte presque complète des moules d'eau douce des Grands Lacs et de leurs canaux de liaison peut être attribuée aux effets nuisibles de ces moules envahissantes. Comme la plus importante population restante d'obovarie ronde est celle du delta du lac St. Clair, les moules dreissenas doivent être considérées comme la menace la plus importante pour la survie de l'obovarie ronde au Canada.

Les populations riveraines des deux espèces de moules font l'objet de menaces différentes de celles des populations des lacs, les principales menaces étant la dégradation de la qualité de l'eau et la disparition générale de l'habitat approprié. Les deux bassins versants où ces espèces se trouvent encore sont surtout agricoles, avec un important apport de nutriments et de sédiments dans les cours d'eau des terres adjacentes. Les eaux présentant d'importantes charges de sédiments, particulièrement lorsqu'elles sont composées de sédiments fins comme ceux associés à l'écoulement agricole causent le colmatage des structures des branchies qui peut interférer avec l'alimentation, la respiration et la reproduction.

La nature parasitique obligée du cycle de reproduction de ces moules nécessite une considération des menaces aux espèces de poissons hôtes ainsi que des menaces directes aux moules.

Cette stratégie de rétablissement a été préparée par l'Ontario Freshwater Mussel Recovery Team (équipe de rétablissement des moules d'eau douce de l'Ontario) composée de membres de Pêches et Océans Canada, d'Environnement Canada, du ministère des Ressources naturelles de l'Ontario, de l'Université de Guelph, de l'Université de Toronto, de l'Université McMaster, de l'Ausable-Bayfield Conservation Authority, de la Grand River Conservation Authority, de la Maitland Valley Conservation Authority, de la St. Clair Region Conservation Authority, de l'Upper Thames River Conservation Authority, de la Lower Thames Valley Conservation Authority et du Walpole Island Heritage Centre.

Voici les objectifs à long terme de cette stratégie de rétablissement :

  • Prévenir la disparition de l'obovarie ronde et du ptychobranche réniforme au Canada;
  • Ramener les populations saines stables d'obovarie ronde dans la rivière Sydenham et le delta du lac St. Clair;
  • Maintenir les populations saines stables de ptychobranche réniforme dans les rivières Ausable et Sydenham tout en ramenant la population du lac St. Clair à un niveau de stabilité;
  • Rétablir les populations dans les habitats occupés historiquement.

Ces populations ne peuvent être considérées rétablies que lorsqu'elles sont revenues aux aires et aux densités estimatives historiquement et montrent des signes de reproduction et de recrutement.

Les objectifs à court terme suivants ont été retenus pour aider à atteindre l'objectif à long terme :

  • Déterminer l'étendue, l'abondance et la démographie des populations existantes;
  • Déterminer les poissons hôtes et leur répartition et leur abondance.
  • Définir les principaux besoins d'habitat pour déterminer l'habitat essentiel;
  • Établir un programme de surveillance à long terme des populations l'obovarie ronde et de ptychobranche réniforme, leurs hôtes et l'habitat des deux;
  • Identifier les menaces, évaluer leur importance relative et mettre en œuvre des mesures correctives pour minimiser leurs impacts;
  • Examiner la faisabilité des réinstallations, des réintroductions et de l'établissement de sites de refuge gérés;
  • Accroître la sensibilisation à la répartition, aux menaces et au rétablissement de ces espèces.

L'équipe de rétablissement a déterminé diverses approches nécessaires pour réaliser les objectifs du rétablissement. Ces approches ont été organisées généralement en quatre catégories : recherche et surveillance, gestion, intendance et sensibilisation.

Cette stratégie de rétablissement représente un élément d'une approche à multiples facettes pour préserver ces moules en voie de disparition. En raison de la nature sédentaire des moules et de leur comportement de coquillages filtreurs, elles ont une valeur au-delà de la biodiversité de base quant à leur rôle comme indicateurs de la santé de l'écosystème. Les menaces qui ont été indiquées comme affectant les populations riveraines peuvent, dans la plupart des cas, être considérées comme des menaces à l'écosystème aquatique en général. De façon correspondante, les activités visant à atténuer les menaces aux moules bénéficieront à l'ensemble de l'écosystème aquatique et aux mesures de rétablissement général de l'écosystème comme celles proposées dans les stratégies de rétablissement de l'écosystème des rivières Sydenham et Ausable (Dextrase et al. 2003; ARRT 2004) et aideront au rétablissement de l'obovarie ronde et du ptychobranche réniforme.

En plus des efforts de planification du rétablissement de l'écosystème, plusieurs programmes de recherche en cours aideront à réaliser les objectifs de cette stratégie. Une équipe de l'Université de Guelph a établi une installation de recherche pour étudier les relations moule-hôte et l'élevage des jeunes, et a déjà réussi à identifier les hôtes pour le ptychobranche réniforme au Canada. Un laboratoire de l'Université de Toronto/Royal Ontario Museum a commencé récemment à examiner la génétique de conservation des espèces de moules en péril. Des chercheurs de l'Institut national de recherche sur les eaux d'Environnement Canada entreprend des relevés constants des espèces de moules en péril dans le sud-ouest de l'Ontario et examine la faisabilité d'établir des sites de refuge gérés dans la région du delta du lac St. Clair. Un réseau de surveillance à long terme permanent pour suivre les changements chez les moules et leur habitat a été établi dans les rivières Sydenham et Thames et s'étendra à la rivière Ausable. Des activités d'intendance ont été établies par des office de protection de la nature locaux dans toute l'aire des deux moules.

L'obovarie ronde préfère les substrats de sable et de gravier avec des débits réguliers modérés à des profondeurs pouvant aller jusqu'à 2 mètres. L'habitat occupé actuellement par l'obovarie ronde consiste en une région de 12 km² des eaux canadiennes du delta du lac St. Clair et un segment de 60 km de la rivière Sydenham est de l'amont d'Alvinston à l'aval de London à Chatham et de la Grand River près de Dunville. Si les impacts des moules dreissenas peuvent être atténués, les aires occupées historiquement dans les rivières Detroit, St. Clair et Welland ainsi que dans les eaux libres de l'ouest du lac Érié et du lac St. Clair peuvent aussi fonctionner comme un habitat approprié pour le rétablissement. Le ptychobranche réniforme préfère les aires peu profondes avec une eau claire au courant rapide et des substrats de gravier et de sable fermement compactés. L'habitat occupé actuellement par cette espèce comprend des aires qui correspondent à cette description dans la marge côtière du delta du lac St. Clair, à 60 km de la rivière Sydenham est d'Alvinston à Dawn Mills, et environ 50 km de la rivière Ausable, du parc Huron à Arkona Gorge. L'habitat occupé historiquement du ptychobranche réniforme comprend 50 km de la rivière Grand inférieure de Caledonia à Port Maitland, une petite portion de la rivière Welland et des endroits de la rivière Thames entre London et Chatham. Les aires du lac Érié, du lac St. Clair et de la rivière Niagara peuvent également fonctionner comme habitat dans l'avenir si l'influence des moules dreissenas peut être réduite.

L'équipe de rétablissement croit que les approches soulignées dans cette stratégie pour arriver au rétablissement de l'obovarie ronde et du ptychobranche réniforme sont réalisables par la coopération avec les équipes actuelles de rétablissement de l'écosystème. Dans les bassins versants où il y a des équipes de rétablissement de l'écosystème, la mise en œuvre des mesures de rétablissement devraient être coordonnées pour confirmer que les activités sont bénéfiques pour toutes les espèces en péril et éliminer le dédoublement possible des efforts. Lorsqu'il n'existe pas d'équipe de rétablissement de l'écosystème, des groupes de mise en œuvre du rétablissement peuvent être formés pour faciliter les mesures de rétablissement. L'évaluation du succès des mesures de rétablissement se fera principalement par des programmes de surveillance régulière établis pour suivre les changements dans la démographie et l'habitat, mais ces groupes intégreront également des étapes spécifiques dans les plans d'action du rétablissement. L'ensemble de la stratégie de rétablissement sera réévalué après 5 ans pour évaluer les progrès réalisés en vue des buts et objectifs et intégrer la nouvelle information.