Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and status report on the coho salmon (Interior Fraser population) in Canada

COSEWIC Status Report
on the
Coho salmon
Oncorhynchus kisutch
Interior Fraser Population
in Canada
2002

Species Information

Name and Classification

Coho salmon (Oncorhynchus kisutch Walbaum) (Fig. 1) is one of seven species of the genus Oncorhynchus native to North America. Other species are sockeye (O. nerka), chum (O. keta), pink (O. gorbuscha), and chinook (O. tshawytscha) salmon and steelhead (O. mykiss) and cutthroat (O. clarki) trout.

While the common name most frequently used for this species is coho, they are sometimes referred to as silver salmon, sea trout, hooknose, or bluebacks, the latter term usually referring to small coho caught early in their final marine year. The French common name is saumon coho.


Description

Coho and other Pacific salmon can be distinguished from trout and char by the presence of 12 or more rays in the anal fin. The anal fin of juvenile coho is sickle-shaped and its leading edge is longer than its base. Adult coho can be differentiated from other salmon by the presence of white gums at the base of the teeth in the lower jaw. As well, black spots, when present on the caudal fin, occur usually on the upper lobe only (Fig. 1a). Sexual dimorphism develops as coho salmon become sexually mature. Male coho become darker and often bright red, their upper jaw develops an elongated hooked snout, and their teeth become enlarged. Females are usually less brightly coloured and their upper jaw development is less extreme than males (Fig. 1b). Adult coho usually weigh from 2 - 5 kg (45 - 70 cm in length) and only rarely exceed 9 kg. Jacks (precocious males) are common in some populations, are usually less than 30 cm in length, and often superficially resemble small females. More detailed descriptions of coho salmon are provided in Scott and Crossman (1973), Hart (1973), Pollard et al. (1997), and Sandercock (1991).


Figure 1a: Adult Coho Salmon (marine phase)

Figure 1a: Adult coho salmon (marine phase).


Figure 1b: Adult Coho Salmon (male and female) Showing Spawning Morphology and Colouration

Figure 1b: Adult coho salmon (male and female) showing spawning morphology and colouration.

By H. Heine.


Nationally Significant Population

Coho salmon warrant more than one status designation. In the United States, the National Marine Fisheries Service proposed six evolutionarily significant units (ESUs) for coho salmon (Fig. 2) extending from central California to southern British Columbia (Weitkamp et al. 1995). An ESU is a population or group of populations that is substantially reproductively isolated from other populations and represents an important component of the evolutionary legacy of the species (Waples 1991).

Most of British Columbia (BC) was covered by ice 15 000 years ago (Fulton 1969), after which a period of global warming began (Roed 1995). During the period of glaciation, anadromous salmon were able to exist in several glacial refugia including the lower two-thirds of the Columbia River, which was ice-free. As the ice retreated, much of the Fraser River drained through the Okanagan watershed, entering the ocean via the Columbia River. At this time, the Fraser canyon was blocked with ice near Hell’s Gate (Fig. 3). It was during this period that coho salmon (and other species) colonized the interior Fraser/Thompson River watershed. Fish entered by postglacial lake connections in the Okanagan-Nicola areas and by upper mainstem Fraser/Columbia connections (Northcote and Larkin 1989). Coho in the Columbia are extinct upstream of the Deschutes River (Fig. 2) (Nehlsen 1997). In contrast to the inland dispersal pattern found for most interior Fraser fish populations, many fish now found in the lower Fraser River watershed, including coho salmon, colonized along the coast via the sea. The Fraser canyon remains a velocity barrier for many species of fish, resulting in a discontinuous distribution of many species and populations within species (McPhail and Lindsey 1986).


Figure 2: Coho Salmon Evolutionarily Significant Units

Figure 2: Coho salmon evolutionarily significant units.

From Weitkamp et al. 1995). Dark shaded areas in inset show locations of extinct populations in Washington, Oregon, and California (from Ecotrust 1999).


Figure 3: Approximate Distribution of 5 Subpopulations of Coho Salmon (North Thompson, South Thompson, Lower Thompson/Nicola, Fraser Canyon, and Upper Fraser) Within the Interior Fraser River Watershed

Figure 3: Approximate distribution of 5 subpopulations of coho salmon (North Thompson, South Thompson, Lower Thompson/Nicola, Fraser Canyon, and upper Fraser) within the interior Fraser River watershed.

Distribution of coho in the upper Fraser is not well known as indicated by the areas in the upper Fraser where coho are suspected to occur but have not been confirmed.

Results from earlier work documenting the genetic uniqueness of interior Fraser coho (Small et al. 1998a, 1998b, Shaklee et al. 1999) were confirmed by Beacham et al. (2001) and Irvine et al. (2000, 2001) who examined larger data sets. Co-ancestry coefficients (FST values)1 were used to produce a dendrogram illustrating the relatedness of coho from samples taken in the entire Fraser River watershed (Fig. 4). Interior Fraser coho were genetically distinct from fish in the lower Fraser (FST @0.02). Coho from the Fraser Canyon (Nahatlatch River) appeared to be more closely related to lower Fraser River coho than other interior Fraser coho, implying that some genetic exchange may have occurred between the canyon and the lower river. Samples taken in the major basins (Fig. 3, North Thompson, South Thompson, and lower Thompson/Nicola) grouped together. Fish from upper Fraser sites (Bridge and McKinley) did not pair with a recent sample from the Fraser Canyon. Irvine et al. (2000) describe the genetics of interior Fraser coho in more detail, and Beacham et al. (2001) discuss the population structure for BC coho salmon resulting from the analysis of ~28 000 coho salmon, mostly from sites in BC.

Since Fraser coho salmon that spawn upstream of the Fraser canyon are substantially reproductively isolated from other coho salmon, and they constitute an important component in the evolutionary legacy of the species by virtue of their Columbia River heritage, they constitute an ESU. Within the interior Fraser, there appear to be at least five separate subpopulations (North Thompson, South Thompson, lower Thompson/Nicola, Fraser canyon, and upper Fraser) which should perhaps be considered as separate conservation/management units. Genetic data suggest considerable genetic exchange among individual tributaries within these subpopulations, and less genetic exchange among subpopulations. Additional baseline sampling and analysis is required to finalize the delineation of subpopulations within the total interior Fraser coho population.

In summary, interior Fraser coho originated from populations that survived glaciation in Columbia River refugia. Coho in the mid-upper Columbia River watershed that may have been similar genetically to interior Fraser coho are now extinct. Interior Fraser River watershed coho salmon are genetically unique and can be readily distinguished from coho from the lower Fraser and other areas of Canada. The Fraser River canyon appears to be a natural boundary that separates many fish populations into upper and lower Fraser units. The Fraser is the largest river in BC draining over 220 000 km2, about one-quarter of the province (Northcote and Atagi 1997) and the interior Fraser constitutes most of this large drainage basin. Interior Fraser River (Southern Mountain Ecozone) coho are a nationally significant population that occupy ~25% of the natural freshwater range of coho salmon within Canada.


Figure 4: Neighbor Joining Dendrogram of Fraser River Coho Salmon Populations Based on FST Values Calculated from Six Microsatellite Loci and Two MHC Class I and Class II Loci

Figure 4: Neighbor joining dendrogram of Fraser River coho salmon populations based on Fst values calculated from six microsatellite loci and two MHC class I and class II loci.

From Irvine et al. 2001). Heavy line separates Fraser River populations into those from the interior Fraser and the lower Fraser. FST scale is shown on bottom left.




Footnotes

1 FST is the correlation of genes of different individuals in the same population. The higher the value (maximum 1), the more closely related individuals are to one another other than they are to individuals in other samples.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le saumon coho (population du Fraser intérieur) au Canada

Rapport de situation du COSEPAC
sur le
saumon coho
Oncorhynchus kisutch
Population du Fraser intérieur
au Canada
2002

Information sur l'espèce

Nom et classification

Le saumon coho (Oncorhynchus kisutch Walbaum) (figure 1) est l’une des sept espèces du genre Oncorhynchus indigènes de l’Amérique du Nord. Les autres espèces sont le saumon rouge (O. nerka), le saumon kéta (O. keta), le saumon rose (O. gorbuscha), le saumon quinnat (O. tshawytscha), le saumon arc-en-ciel (O. mykiss) et la truite fardée (O. clarki).

En français, on l’appelle saumon coho ou coho (et parfois aussi saumon argenté). En anglais, il porte plusieurs noms : coho, silver salmon, sea trout, hooknose ou encore blueback, qui désigne habituellement les petits cohos capturés au début de leur dernière année en mer.

Description

Le coho et les autres saumons du Pacifique peuvent être différenciés des truites et des ombles grâce à leur nageoire anale, qui compte au moins 12 rayons. La nageoire anale du jeune coho a la forme d’une faucille, et sa bordure antérieure est plus longue que sa base. On peut distinguer le coho adulte des autres saumons grâce à ses gencives blanches à la base des dents de sa mâchoire inférieure. Les taches noires qui sont parfois présentes sur la nageoire caudale n’en occupent habituellement que le lobe supérieur (figure 1a). Le dimorphisme sexuel se développe à mesure que le coho approche de la maturité sexuelle. Le mâle devient plus foncé et prend souvent une teinte rouge vif, sa mâchoire supérieure s’allonge en un bec crochu, et ses dents grossissent. La femelle, de couleur généralement moins vive, a la mâchoire supérieure moins développée (figure 1b). Le coho adulte pèse en général entre 2 et 5 kg (pour une longueur de 45 à 70 cm); son poids dépasse rarement 9 kg. Les jacks (mâles précoces), fréquents dans certaines populations, ont habituellement moins de 30 cm de longueur et ressemblent souvent à de petites femelles. On trouvera des descriptions plus détaillées du saumon coho dans Scott et Crossman (1973), Hart (1973), Pollard et al. (1997) et Sandercock (1991).


Figure 1a : Saumon coho adulte (phase marine)

Figure 1a : Saumon coho adulte (phase marine).


Figure 1b : Saumons cohos adultes (mâle et femelle) – Morphologie et couleur au moment de la fraye

Figure 1b : Saumons cohos adultes (mâle et femelle) – Morphologie et couleur au moment de la fraye (par H. Heine).

Par H. Heine.


Population importante à l’échelle nationale

Le saumon coho fait l’objet de plusieurs désignations de statut. Aux États-Unis, le National Marine Fisheries Service a proposé six unités évolutionnaires significatives (UES) pour ce poisson (figure 2), depuis le centre de la Californie jusqu'au Sud de la Colombie-Britannique (Weitkamp et al., 1995). L’UES est une population ou un groupe de populations sensiblement isolé des autres populations sur le plan de la reproduction, et qui constitue une importante composante du patrimoine évolutionnaire de l'espèce (Waples, 1991).

Il y a 15 000 ans, la majeure partie de la Colombie-Britannique était couverte de glace (Fulton, 1969), après quoi une période de réchauffement planétaire a débuté (Roed, 1995). Pendant la glaciation, les saumons anadromes sont arrivés à survivre dans plusieurs refuges glaciaires, notamment dans les deux tiers inférieurs du Columbia, qui étaient exempts de glace. Avec le retrait des glaces, une bonne partie des eaux du Fraser s'est drainée dans le bassin de l'Okanagan pour pénétrer dans l'océan par l’intermédiaire du Columbia. À l'époque, le canyon du Fraser était bloqué par la glace près de Hell’s Gate (figure 3). C'est pendant cette période que les saumons cohos (et d'autres espèces) ont colonisé le Fraser intérieur et le bassin versant de la rivière Thompson. Ils y ont pénétré par divers passages entre les lacs postglaciaires dans la région Okanagan-Nicola et par les passages entre le cours supérieur du Fraser et le Columbia (Northcote et Larkin, 1989). Les cohos ont disparu du Columbia en amont de la rivière Deschutes (figure 2) (Nehlsen, 1997). Contrairement au profil de dispersion continental observé pour la plupart des populations de poissons du Fraser intérieur, de nombreux poissons que l'on trouve aujourd'hui dans le bassin du bas Fraser, y compris le saumon coho, ont établi des colonies le long de la côte par l’intermédiaire de la mer. Le canyon du Fraser constitue une barrière hydrodynamique pour de nombreuses espèces de poisson, ce qui se traduit par une répartition discontinue d'un grand nombre d'espèces et de populations au sein des espèces (McPhail et Lindsey, 1986).


Figure 2 : Unités évolutionnaires significatives du saumon coho

Figure 2 : Unités évolutionnaires significatives du saumon coho.

Tiré de Weitkamp et al., 1995). Les zones plus foncées dans la carte en médaillon illustrent l'emplacement des populations disparues au dans l’État de Washington, en Oregon et en Californie (tiré d’Ecotrust, 1999).


Figure 3 : Répartition approximative de cinq sous-populations de cohos (Thompson Nord, Thompson Sud, cours inférieur des rivières Thompson et Nicola, canyon du Fraser et haut Fraser) dans le bassin versant du Fraser intérieur


Figure 3 : Répartition approximative de cinq sous-populations de cohos (Thompson Nord, Thompson Sud, cours inférieur des rivières Thompson et Nicola, canyon du Fraser et haut Fraser) dans le bassin versant du Fraser intérieur.

On connaît mal la répartition du coho dans le haut Fraser, comme en témoignent les zones où la présence du coho n’est que présumée, sans qu’on puisse la confirmer.

Les résultats de travaux antérieurs concernant le caractère unique des cohos du Fraser intérieur sur le plan génétique (Small et al., 1998a, 1998b; Shaklee et al., 1999) ont été confirmés par Beacham et al. (2001) et Irvine et al. (2000, 2001), qui ont examiné de plus vastes séries de données. On s'est servi des coefficients de parenté (valeurs FST)1 pour produire un dendrogramme illustrant le degré de parenté des cohos provenant d'échantillons prélevés dans l'ensemble du bassin versant du Fraser (figure 4). Les cohos du Fraser intérieur étaient génétiquement distincts de ceux du bas Fraser (FST @ 0,02). Ceux du canyon du Fraser (rivière Nahatlatch) semblaient plus proches des cohos du bas Fraser que de ceux du Fraser intérieur, ce qui donne à penser que certains échanges génétiques pourraient avoir eu lieu entre le canyon et le cours inférieur du fleuve. Les échantillons prélevés dans les principaux bassins (figure 3, Thompson Nord, Thompson Sud et cours inférieur des rivières Thompson et Nicola) ont été regroupés. Les poissons des sites du haut Fraser (Bridge et McKinley) ne s'appariaient pas à ceux d'un échantillon récent provenant du canyon du Fraser. Irvine et al. (2000) décrivent plus en détail les caractéristiques génétiques des cohos du Fraser intérieur, et Beacham et al. (2001) examinent la structure de la population des cohos de la Colombie-Britannique établie après analyse de ~28 000 saumons cohos provenant en majorité de sites situés dans la province.

Comme les cohos du Fraser qui frayent en amont du canyon du Fraser sont sensiblement isolés des autres cohos sur le plan de la reproduction et qu'ils représentent une importante composante du patrimoine évolutionnaire de l'espèce du fait qu’une partie de leur patrimoine est issue du Columbia, ils constituent une UES. Dans le Fraser intérieur, il semble y avoir au moins cinq sous-populations distinctes (Thompson Nord, Thompson Sud, cours inférieur des rivières Thompson et Nicola, canyon du Fraser, et haut Fraser) qu’il faudrait peut-être considérer comme des unités de conservation et de gestion distinctes. D'après les données génétiques, il semble y avoir d’importants échanges génétiques entre affluents individuels au sein de ces sous-populations, alors que ces échanges sont moindres entre les sous-populations. Il faudra procéder à d'autres échantillonnages de base et à d'autres analyses pour rendre définitif le profil des sous-populations au sein de l'ensemble de la population des cohos du Fraser intérieur.

En bref, les cohos du Fraser intérieur sont issus des populations qui ont survécu à la glaciation dans les refuges du Columbia. Les cohos du cours moyen-supérieur du bassin du Columbia qui pourraient avoir été semblables à ceux du Fraser intérieur sur le plan génétique sont aujourd'hui disparus. Les cohos du Fraser intérieur sont donc uniques sur le plan génétique et peuvent facilement être différenciés des cohos du bas Fraser et des autres régions du Canada. Le canyon du Fraser semble constituer une limite naturelle séparant un grand nombre de populations de poissons entre les unités du haut et du bas Fraser. Premier fleuve de la Colombie-Britannique, le Fraser draine un terriroite de plus de 220 000 km2, soit environ le quart de la province (Northcote et Atagi, 1997), et le Fraser intérieur forme la plus grande partie de ce vaste bassin hydrographique. Les cohos du Fraser intérieur (écozone des montagnes du Sud) sont une population importante à l’échelle nationale qui occupe ~25 p. 100 de l'aire de répartition naturelle en eau douce du coho au Canada.


Figure 4 : Dendrogramme de voisinage génétique des populations de cohos du Fraser d'après les valeurs de Fst calculées à partir de six loci microsatellitaires et de deux loci CMH de classe I et de classe II

Figure 4 : Dendrogramme de voisinage génétique des populations de cohos du Fraser d'après les valeurs de Fst calculées à partir de six loci microsatellitaires et de deux loci CMH de classe I et de classe II.

Tiré de Irvine et al., 2001). La ligne horizontale (canyon du Fraser) sépare les populations du Fraser en populations du Fraser intérieur et populations du bas Fraser. L'échelle FST apparaît en bas à gauche.




Notes de bas de page

1 FST est la corrélation des gènes entre individus de la même population.