Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and status report on the coho salmon (Interior Fraser population) in Canada

Habitat

Since coho salmon spawn in freshwater and juveniles normally spend one full year in freshwater before migrating to the sea, their survival depends on having adequate habitat in freshwater as well as the ocean. The distribution of spawning habitat for coho salmon is usually clumped within watersheds, often at the heads of riffles in small streams, and in side channels of larger rivers. Females generally construct nests in shallow (30-cm) areas where the gravel is less than 15-cm diameter and has good circulation of well-oxygenated water (Sandercock 1991). Low or high flows, freezing temperatures, siltation, predation, and disease can reduce egg survival. Major episodes of fry dispersal include spring movements away from spawning sites (Chapman 1962; Gribanov 1948) and pre-winter movements into small tributaries and off-channel habitat. Juvenile densities are generally higher in pools than riffles, although as the fish grow they will occupy areas of faster moving water. Juvenile coho tend to cluster in areas of suitable habitat, most frequently in streams with gradients less than 3%. Structurally complex habitats (large organic debris and large substrate), and habitats with slow moving water are both necessary to ensure high overwinter survival of young coho. Coho utilize lakes for rearing less frequently than streams, and are usually restricted to the littoral regions of lakes. Productivity (food abundance), as well as habitat, plays a role in regulating densities in streams (Chapman 1966).

The Thompson River watershed supports most of the coho salmon of the interior Fraser and the habitat is far from pristine. Many valley bottoms were logged, and subsequently used for agriculture (mainly livestock, dairy, and animal feed crops) for at least 50 years (Burt and Wallis 1997). In some cases, riparian vegetation has been removed, livestock have destabilized stream banks, and off-channel habitats and wetlands have been destroyed or isolated by dikeing. In most non-agricultural areas the old-growth timber on the valley floors has been removed, and logging is now occurring in the headwaters of many watersheds. In addition, much of the southern and western part of the Thompson drainage is in a semi-arid area, and high rates of water withdrawal in summer for irrigation cause low flows and high water temperatures (Rood and Hamilton 1995). Specific freshwater habitat concerns, by watershed, have been collated in a series of Fraser River Action Plan (FRAP) reports (e.g., Harding et al. 1994, DFO 1998a, b).

Juvenile coho salmon from the interior migrate down the Fraser River, live for an unknown time in the highly developed and constrained estuary of the Fraser River at Vancouver (Fig. 3), and usually spend the majority of their oceanic residence near the coast in southern BC. Over two million people live along the lower Fraser River and, as a consequence, riverine and estuarine habitats have been severely impacted. For instance, most of the streams in the lower Fraser River valley are classified as threatened or endangered due to landscape alterations in watersheds, riparian zone degradation, and pollution (FRAP 1998). Fortunately, it appears that habitat loss may have slowed in recent years with the release by DFO of its national “no net loss” habitat policy in 1986 (Langer et al. 2000, Levings 2000). Interior Fraser coho salmon leave the estuary and share a marine environment with other coho salmon and myriad other species. Although marine areas used by Fraser coho are less developed than the Fraser estuary is, these fish still face a variety of habitat issues within the ocean. Coho generally remain closer to the coast than most other salmon and they have to deal with impacts resulting from a rapidly increasing human population. Effects from pulp mills, sewage effluent, and fish farms, however, are difficult to quantify.

Climate related changes have had a major influence on the ability of the marine environment to support coho salmon and other species of salmon (Beamish et al. 1999b). A shift to a lower productivity regime in 1989/90 coincided with substantial reductions in the marine survival of coho salmon (Noakes et al. 2000).

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le saumon coho (population du Fraser intérieur) au Canada

Habitat

Comme les cohos frayent en eau douce, où les juvéniles passent normalement une année entière avant de migrer vers la mer, leur survie dépend de la qualité de l'habitat aussi bien en eau douce qu'en mer. Dans les bassins hydrographiques, l'habitat de fraye des cohos est habituellement regroupé, souvent à la tête des radiers dans les ruisseaux, et dans les chenaux secondaires des cours d'eau plus importants. En général, les femelles aménagent leurs nids dans des secteurs peu profonds (30 cm) où les galets ont moins de 15 cm de diamètre et où l'eau, bien oxygénée, coule librement (Sandercock, 1991). Les débits d'étiage et de pointe, le gel, l'envasement, la prédation et la maladie sont autant de facteurs qui peuvent réduire la survie des œufs. Les principales périodes de dispersion des alevins sont la sortie des aires de fraye au printemps (Chapman, 1962; Gribanov, 1948) et l’installation pré-hivernale dans les petits affluents et les habitats hors du chenal principal. La densité des juvéniles est en général plus élevée dans les fosses que dans les radiers mais, à mesure qu'ils grandissent, les poissons fréquentent des secteurs à débit plus rapide. Les jeunes cohos se rassemblent habituellement là où l'habitat leur convient, soit le plus souvent dans les cours d'eau dont la pente est inférieure à 3 p. 100. Ils ont besoin de milieux à structure complexe (gros débris organiques et substrat à forte granulométrie) et où les eaux coulent lentement pour assurer un fort taux de survie hivernale. Les cohos occupent moins souvent les lacs que les cours d'eau pour le grossissement, et restent habituellement à proximité des berges dans les lacs. La productivité (abondance de nourriture) de même que l'habitat jouent un rôle dans la régulation de la densité dans les cours d'eau (Chapman, 1966).

C'est le bassin versant de la Thompson qui abrite la plupart des cohos du Fraser intérieur, et l'habitat est loin d'y être intact. De nombreux fonds de vallée ont été déboisés et utilisés par la suite pour l'agriculture (élevage bovin, production laitière et cultures fourragères) depuis au moins 50 ans (Burt et Wallis, 1997). Dans certains cas, la végétation riveraine a été détruite, le bétail a déstabilisé les berges, et les habitats hors du chenal principal et les milieux humides ont été détruits ou isolés par des digues. Dans la plupart des secteurs non agricoles, les vieilles forêts des vallées ont disparu, et on déboise aujourd’hui dans le cours supérieur de nombreux bassins. En outre, les secteurs sud et ouest du bassin de la Thompson se situent en grande partie dans une zone semi-aride où les forts prélèvements d'eau pour l'irrigation entraînent en été des chutes de débit et une hausse de la température des eaux (Rood et Hamilton, 1995). La dégradation des habitats dulcicoles fait l'objet d'une série de rapports, par bassin versant, rédigés dans le cadre du Plan d'action du Fraser (PAF) (p. ex. Harding et al., 1994; MPO, 1998a, b).

Les cohos juvéniles de l'intérieur descendent le Fraser et vivent pour une période indéterminée dans l'estuaire, densément urbanisée et soumis à diverses contraintes, qui traverse Vancouver (figure 3); ils passent habituellement le plus gros de leur séjour en mer près de la côte dans le Sud de la Colombie-Britannique. Comme près de deux millions de personnes vivent le long du cours inférieur du Fraser, l'impact sur les milieux riverains et estuariens est lourd. La plupart des cours d'eau de la vallée du bas Fraser sont ainsi considérés comme menacés ou en péril à cause des modifications qui ont été apportées au paysage dans les bassins versants, de la dégradation des zones riveraines et de la pollution (FRAP, 1998). Heureusement, il semble que la disparition de l'habitat ait été ralentie ces dernières années grâce à l'adoption de la politique nationale de gestion de l'habitat du poisson par le MPO en 1986, qui prône l'absence de toute perte nette d'habitat (Langer et al., 2000; Levings, 2000). Les cohos du Fraser intérieur quittent l'estuaire et partagent le milieu marin avec les autres cohos et une myriade d'autres espèces. Bien que les zones marines qu'ils fréquentent soient moins exploitées que l'estuaire, les cohos du Fraser y font quand même face à divers problèmes d'habitat. En effet, comme ils demeurent en général plus près de la côte que la plupart des autres saumons, ils sont confrontés aux effets de la rapide croissance de la population humaine. Les impacts des effluents des usines de pâtes à papier, des réseaux d'égouts et des piscicultures sont toutefois difficiles à quantifier.

Par ailleurs, les changements liés au climat ont une incidence majeure sur la capacité du milieu marin de soutenir les cohos et les autres espèces de saumons (Beamish et al., 1999b). La baisse soudaine de la productivité en 1989-1990 a coïncidé avec une réduction substantielle de la survie des cohos en mer (Noakes et al., 2000).