Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and status report on the coho salmon (Interior Fraser population) in Canada

Biology

General

Most coho salmon return to freshwater in the fall and spawn during fall and early winter. All fish die after spawning. Fry emerge from the gravel the following spring and usually reside in freshwater for a year before migrating to sea as smolts. Most coho spend 18 months at sea before returning to freshwater and therefore have a 3-year life cycle. Variations on this general life cycle include juveniles that emigrate to sea immediately upon emergence, juveniles that emigrate as 2-year-old smolts, and precocious male coho that return to spawn after only 6 months at sea (jacks). More detailed general descriptions are provided in Scott and Crossman (1973) and Sandercock (1991).


Interior Fraser Coho

Biological characteristics were reviewed in Irvine et al. (1999a) and only a brief update and summary is provided here. Female coho are larger than males in most interior Fraser systems, but less abundant (~45% of returns), traits characteristic of many coho populations. Interior Fraser coho are smaller than most similar aged coho documented by Sandercock (1991) and Weitkamp et al. (1995). Mean post-orbital hypural lengths3 (cm) for coho from the North, South, and lower Thompson drainages (sample sizes in brackets) were 42.3 (7149), 45.7 (256), and 44.0 (1853) respectively. Temporal patterns in fish size have not been found for interior Fraser coho, although Weitkamp et al. (1995) documented declines in fish size over time for many populations of coho salmon. Fecundities for interior coho are highly variable, and generally less than for coho returning to the lower Fraser or provincial averages (Irvine et al. 1999a), as expected given the generally smaller sizes of coho in the interior Fraser.

Most (93%) interior Fraser coho went to sea in their second year (i.e. European age 1._), with a small proportion (7%) remaining in freshwater for one or two more years (n= 2274 adult coho aged with scale analysis). Almost all fish from this sample returned to freshwater after the normal 1 winter at sea; only 2 fish were aged as jacks and 6 as having spent more than 1 winter at sea.




Footnotes

3 Measured from the hind margin of the eye to the posterior end of the hypural plate.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le saumon coho (population du Fraser intérieur) au Canada

Biologie

Généralités

La plupart des saumons cohos reviennent en eau douce à l'automne pour y frayer jusqu'au début de l'hiver. Tous les poissons meurent après la fraye. Les alevins émergent du gravier au printemps suivant et restent habituellement en eau douce une année entière avant d'entamer leur migration vers la mer, où ils arrivent à l'état de smolts. La plupart passent 18 mois en mer avant de retourner en eau douce. Leur cycle de vie dure donc trois ans. Ce cycle peut varier lorsque des juvéniles migrent vers la mer dès leur émergence ou atteignent l'état de smolts à l’âge de deux ans, et lorsque les mâles précoces (jacks) reviennent frayer après avoir passé seulement six mois en mer. On trouvera une description plus détaillée dans Scott et Crossman (1973) ainsi que dans Sandercock (1991).

Cohos du Fraser intérieur

Irvine et al. (1999a) ont étudié les caractéristiques biologiques du coho; on ne trouvera ici qu'un bref résumé de cette étude. Dans la plupart des bassins versants du Fraser intérieur, la femelle est plus grosse que le mâle, mais moins abondante (~45 p. 100 des remontes), traits qui sont caractéristiques de nombreuses populations de cohos. Les cohos du Fraser intérieur sont plus petits que la plupart des cohos du même âge étudiés par Sandercock (1991) et Weitkamp et al. (1995). La longueur post-orbitale-hypurale moyenne3(cm) des cohos des bassins de la Thompson Nord, de la Thompson Sud et du cours inférieur de la Thompson (taille de l'échantillon entre parenthèses) s'élevait respectivement à 42,3 (7 149), 45,7 (256) et 44,0 (1 853). On n'a relevé aucune tendance temporelle de la taille chez les cohos du Fraser intérieur, bien que Weitkamp et al. (1995) fassent état de diminutions de taille dans le temps pour de nombreuses populations de cohos. Comme on pouvait s'y attendre vu leur taille généralement inférieure, la fécondité des cohos du Fraser intérieur varie énormément et est généralement inférieure à celle des cohos qui retournent dans le bas Fraser ou aux moyennes provinciales (Irvine et al., 1999a).

La plupart (93 p. 100) des cohos du Fraser intérieur vont en mer au cours de leur deuxième année (1+), une faible proportion (7 p. 100) demeurant en eau douce une ou deux années supplémentaires (n = 2 274 cohos adultes, âge déterminé par analyse des écailles). Presque tous les poissons de cet échantillon sont revenus en eau douce après la période normale d'un hiver en mer; deux seulement étaient des jacks et six avaient passé plus d'un hiver en mer.




Notes de bas de page

3 Mesure prise depuis le bord antérieur de l'œil jusqu'à l'extrémité postérieure de la plaque hypurale.