Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Ancient Murrelet in Canada

Limiting Factors and Threats

The populations of Ancient Murrelets in Canada continue to be under pressure for many reasons. Major factors responsible are outlined below.


Introduced Predators

The main factor limiting populations in the past century has been the introduction of mammalian predators to island colonies including rats and raccoons in British Columbia. In Canada, rats are considered an important predator of Ancient Murrelets (Drever and Harestad 1998). They have been recorded on 18 islands in the Queen Charlotte Islands (Bertram and Nagorsen 1995) including four with breeding populations of Ancient Murrelets: Kunghit, Lyell, Langara, and Murchison islands (Bertram and Nagorsen 1995). Rats are responsible for declines or extirpation of colonies on Kunghit, Lyell, Langara, Cox, Lucy, Murchison and Bischof islands (Harfenist and Kaiser 1997). For example, in 1992, 50% of occupied burrows on Lyell showed evidence of rat predation (Lemon 1993a) and the 90% decline in the murrelet population on Langara is thought to be the result of rat predation (Bertram 1995). Although rats have now been eradicated on Langara, with none detected since 1996 (Taylor et al. 2000), recolonisation could occur through commercial and pleasure boats (Bertram and Nagorsen 1995).

Another threat to Ancient Murrelets is raccoons. Raccoons have been previously reported from several of the islands with breeding colonies (Helgesen, Limestone, Ramsay, Skincuttle, Saunders and George), but are now found only on Alder islands (Bertram and Nagorsen 1995; Harfenist and Kaiser 1997; Harfenist 2002; Harfenist unpublished data, A. Gaston, pers. comm.; Hipfner 2004, pers.comm.). Raccoons can cause substantial losses to seabird colonies and are likely responsible for declines recorded on Limestone, Saunders and Helgesen islands. For example, in 1991, three adult raccoons on East Limestone Island killed at least 11% of the breeding population of Ancient Murrelets and reduced the number of chicks leaving the colony by 35% (Gaston 1991; Gaston 1992). Following the removal of raccoons during in 1992, the numbers of Ancient Murrelet chicks produced increased by 20%, and adult mortality decreased by nearly 80% (Gaston and Lawrence 1993). Similarly, the population of Ancient Murrelets on Helgesen Island declined by 80% over 7 years when 8-12 raccoons were present (Gaston and Masselink 1997).

Although raccoons have been eradicated from a number of the islands (Helgesen, Little Helgeson, Saunders, E. and W. Limestone) about half of the colonies in the Queen Charlotte Island are vulnerable to invasion (Lemon and Gaston 1999; Hipfner 2004, pers.comm.).


Oceanographic Changes

There is some evidence that oceanographic changes could have long-term impacts on Ancient Murrelet populations. A recent comparison between changes in oceanographic conditions and inter-annual changes in breeding biology of Ancient Murrelets in Hecate Strait between 1983 and 1999 showed that long-term changes in ocean conditions could have an impact on the health of the population (Gaston and Smith 2001). Correlations were found between sea-surface temperature and Southern Oscillations as well as mean number of chicks departing per breeding pair and chick departure mass.


Oil Exploration

The recent decision by the Federal government (initiated by a request from the BC provincial government) to review the moratorium on offshore oil and gas exploration in the Queen Charlotte Basin, specifically in Hecate Strait, is a potential threat to the Ancient Murrelet. If lifted, the exploratory drilling and eventual increase in shipping activity and oil transport (tanker or pipeline) will significantly increase the possibility of catastrophic oil spills in the region. There may also be an increase in nighttime mortalities due to collisions with lines near oil platform lights (Montevecchi et al. 1999). Ancient Murrelets have been heavily impacted by spills in other regions (Harfenist 2003) because oil spills are a particular threat to species that congregate in one area (Harfenist et al. 2002). This might also increase what is a continual threat to these birds--small, low-level spills from ships moving through the region (Harfenist and Kaiser 1997). 


Commercial Fisheries

By-catch of seabirds continues to be a threat to populations in the Queen Charlotte Islands. Estimates suggest that 25,000 seabirds may be killed annually in fishing gear off the British Columbia coast (Morgan et al. 1999). Ancient Murrelets have been caught in gill nets near Langara Island. Fisheries may have been the cause of the large, early decline in this population in the 1950s and 1960s, and may continue to play a part in the health of Ancient Murrelets on Langara (Bertram 1995). Overfishing of Ancient Murrelet prey species may also have a negative impact on this species (Harfenist et al. 2002).


Disturbance

Disturbance of nesting or feeding birds by tourists or other human activity in the region where Ancient Murrelets are found is a continual concern. Recreational boating and camping can damage habitat or injure chicks or adults (Harfenist et al. 2002). Lights around campsites and on boats are known to disorient birds during nights with low overcast and fog (Harfenist et al. 2002, A. Gaston, pers. comm.).


Logging

Forestry activities could directly affect Ancient Murrelet breeding activities by reducing habitat quality, both through removal of the forest canopy preferred by the birds and through compaction of soil, making burrowing difficult. Logging has been suggested as a confounding variable in the lack of recovery at the Langara Island colony (M. Chutter, pers. comm. 2004).

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur la situation du Guillemot à cou blanc au Canada – Mise à jour

Facteurs limitatifs et menaces

Les populations canadiennes de Guillemots à cou blanc continuent d’être menacées par divers facteurs. Les principaux sont brièvement présentés ci-dessous.


Prédateurs introduits

L’introduction de mammifères prédateurs, comme les rats et les ratons laveurs, dans les colonies des îles de la Colombie-Britannique est le principal facteur ayant limité les populations au cours du siècle dernier. Au Canada, le rat est considéré comme un important prédateur du Guillemot à cou blanc (Drever et Harestad, 1998). Sa présence a été détectée sur 18 îles de l’archipel de la Reine-Charlotte (Bertram et Nagorsen, 1995), dont quatre (Kunghit, Lyell, Langara et Murchison) accueillent des populations reproductrices de Guillemots à cou blanc (Bertram et Nagorsen, 1995). Les rats sont à l’origine du déclin ou de la disparition des colonies des îles Kunghit, Lyell, Langara, Cox, Lucy, Murchison et Bischof (Harfenist et Kaiser, 1997). Par exemple, en 1992, dans la moitié des terriers occupés sur l’île Lyell, on a trouvé des traces de prédation par les rats (Lemon, 1993a). En outre, le déclin de 90 p. 100 subi par la population de l’île Langara est attribué à la prédation par les rats (Bertram, 1995); même si les rats y ont été exterminés et qu’aucun n’a été détecté depuis 1996 (Taylor et al., 2000), des bateaux commerciaux ou des bateaux de plaisance pourraient y réintroduire ce rongeur (Bertram et Nagorsen, 1995).

Les ratons laveurs constituent une autre menace pour le Guillemot à cou blanc. La présence de ratons laveurs a été signalée sur plusieurs îles qui accueillent des colonies de nidification (Helgesen, Limestone, Ramsay, Skincuttle, Saunders et George), mais on n’en trouve aujourd’hui que sur les îles Alder (Bertram et Nagorsen, 1995; Harfenist et Kaiser, 1997; Harfenist, 2002; Harfenist, données inédites; A. Gaston, comm. pers.; Hipfner, comm. pers., 2004). Les ratons laveurs peuvent occasionner des pertes considérables aux colonies d’oiseaux marins, et ils sont vraisemblablement responsables du déclin des populations des îles Limestone, Saunders et Helgesen. Par exemple, en 1991, trois ratons laveurs adultes de Limestone Est ont tué au moins 11 p. 100 de la population reproductrice de Guillemots à cou blanc et ont fait baisser le nombre d’oisillons quittant la colonie de 35 p. 100 (Gaston, 1991; Gaston, 1992). Par suite de l’élimination des ratons laveurs en 1992, le nombre d’oisillons produits a augmenté de 20 p. 100 et la mortalité des adultes a diminué de presque 80 p. 100 (Gaston et Lawrence, 1993). Par ailleurs, la population de Guillemots à cou blanc de l’île Helgesen a chuté de 80 p. 100 sur une période de sept ans alors que huit à douze ratons laveurs étaient présents (Gaston et Masselink, 1997).

Bien que les ratons laveurs aient été éliminés d’un certain nombre d’îles (Helgesen, Little Helgeson, Saunders, Limestone Est et Limestone Ouest), environ la moitié des colonies de l’archipel de la Reine-Charlotte risquent de subir une invasion de ratons laveurs (Lemon et Gaston, 1999; Hipfner, comm. pers., 2004).


Changements océanographiques

Certains indices portent à croire que les changements océanographiques pourraient avoir des répercussions à long terme sur les populations de Guillemots à cou blanc. Une comparaison récente entre des changements dans les conditions océanographiques et des changements interannuels dans la biologie de la reproduction des Guillemots à cou blanc présents dans le détroit d’Hécate entre 1983 et 1999 a montré que les changements à long terme dans les conditions océaniques peuvent avoir un impact sur la santé de la population (Gaston et Smith, 2001). Des corrélations ont été établies entre la température de la surface de la mer, les oscillations australes, le nombre moyen d’oisillons quittant la colonie par couple et la masse des oisillons au moment de quitter la colonie.


Exploration pétrolière

La décision récente du gouvernement fédéral (faisant suite à une requête présentée par le gouvernement de Colombie-Britannique) de réexaminer le moratoire sur l’exploration pétrolière et gazière en mer dans le bassin de la Reine-Charlotte, plus précisément dans le détroit d’Hécate, représente une menace potentielle pour le Guillemot à cou blanc. Si le moratoire était levé, le forage exploratoire et l’accroissement des activités de navigation et de transport d’hydrocarbures (par navire ou par oléoduc) qui en découleraient feraient considérablement augmenter le risque de déversements catastrophiques dans la zone. Le taux de mortalité nocturne pourrait augmenter en raison des collisions avec les fils se trouvant à proximité des plates-formes illuminées (Montevecchi et al., 1999). Dans d’autres régions, les marées noires ont eu des conséquences tragiques pour le Guillemot à cou blanc (Harfenist, 2003), les déversements constituant particulièrement un danger pour les espèces qui ont l’habitude de se rassembler à un seul endroit (Harfenist et al., 2002). De plus, la menace permanente de petits déversements par les navires qui circulent dans la région pourrait s’intensifier (Harfenist et Kaiser, 1997).


Pêche commerciale

Les prises accidentelles constituent toujours une menace pour les populations des îles de la Reine-Charlotte. Selon les estimations, 25 000 oiseaux de mer seraient tués chaque année par des engins de pêche dans les eaux de la Colombie-Britannique (Morgan et al., 1999). Des Guillemots à cou blanc ont été pris dans des filets maillants près de l’île Langara. La pêche pourrait avoir été la cause du déclin important de la population de cette île dans les années 1950 et 1960 et pourrait continuer d’avoir une incidence sur elle (Bertram, 1995). La surpêche des proies du Guillemot à cou blanc peut également avoir un impact négatif sur l’espèce (Harfenist et al., 2002).


Perturbations

Les perturbations des Guillemots à cou blanc en train de nidifier ou de se nourrir associées au tourisme et à d’autres activités humaines sont une source de préoccupation constante. La navigation de plaisance et le camping peuvent endommager les habitats ou causer des blessures aux oisillons et aux adultes (Harfenist et al., 2002; A. Gaston, comm. pers.). La nuit, les lumières près des camps et sur les bateaux désorientent les oiseaux lorsque le ciel est bas et qu’il y a de la brume (Harfenist et al., 2002; A. Gaston, comm. pers.).


Exploitation forestière

Les activités forestières peuvent avoir une incidence directe sur les activités de reproduction du Guillemot à cou blanc en détériorant la qualité de son habitat par l’enlèvement du couvert forestier, que recherche de préférence l’espèce, et par le compactage du sol, qui complique le creusage des terriers. On a pointé I’exploitation forestière comme variable confusionnelle relativement au non-rétablissement de la colonie de l’île Langara (M. Chutter, comm. pers., 2004).