Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Ancient Murrelet in Canada

Existing Protection or Other Status

The adult, nests and eggs of Ancient Murrelets, are protected by the Migratory Birds Convention Act (1994). However, members of the Haida can still legally hunt murrelets, as the bird was a traditional food source. Under the Canada National Marine Conservation Areas Act (2002), the Ancient Murrelet is protected in its “sea space” and has listed status. It is also protected from killing and wounding, taking and transporting under the BC Wildlife Act.

Eleven breeding colonies are currently protected as Wildlife Habitat Areas under the Forest and Range Practices Act of BC. Also, the Haida Nation is working with Parks Canada on management issues in the Queen Charlotte Islands, including those involving the Ancient Murrelet (G. Goulet, 2003, pers. comm.; Captain Gold, Archipelago Management Board, 2003, pers. comm.).

Globally, the Ancient Murrelet has a Global Heritage Status rank of G4, or ‘globally secure’. It is not listed under CITES, nor is it listed in the IUCN Red book. In the United States, the Ancient Murrelet has a National Heritage Status rank of N4B, N4N (apparently secure). It is ranked in Alaska as S4 (apparently secure and in Washington as S3S.

In Canada, it has a National Heritage Status Rank of N3 or vulnerable. It has a Heritage Status Rank in BC of S2S3B, S4N and is also Blue-listed (of special concern) by the BC Provincial government.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur la situation du Guillemot à cou blanc au Canada – Mise à jour

Protection actuelle ou autres désignations

Le Guillemot à cou blanc adulte, son nid et ses œufs sont protégés en vertu de la Loi de 1994 sur la convention concernant les oiseaux migrateurs. Toutefois, la loi autorise les Haïdas à chasser l’espèce, qui constitue pour eux un aliment traditionnel. La Loi sur les aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada (2002) protège l’« espace marin » du Guillemot à cou blanc et l’espèce est inscrite sur la liste de cette loi. En outre, la Wildlife Act de la Colombie-Britannique interdit de tuer, de blesser, de capturer et de transporter des Guillemots à cou blanc.

Onze colonies de nidification sont actuellement protégées à titre de zones d’habitat faunique en vertu de la Forest and Range Practices Act de la Colombie-Britannique. De plus, la nation haïda travaille en collaboration avec Parcs Canada sur des questions de gestion relatives aux îles de la Reine-Charlotte, y compris celles touchant le Guillemot à cou blanc (G. Goulet, comm. pers., 2003; capitaine Gold, Archipelago Management Board, comm. pers., 2003).

La cote mondiale (Global Heritage Status Rank) du Guillemot à cou blanc est G4 (non en péril à l’échelle mondiale). L’espèce ne figure pas sur la liste de la CITES ni dans le Livre rouge de l’UICN. Aux États-Unis, la cote nationale (National Heritage Status Rank) de l’espèce est N4B, N4N (apparemment non en péril). Sa cote est S4 (apparemment non en péril) en Alaska et S3S dans l’État de Washington.

Au Canada, la cote nationale (National Heritage Status Rank) du Guillemot à cou blanc est N3 (vulnérable). En Colombie-Britannique, il a reçu la cote S2S3B, S4N et a été inscrit sur la liste bleue (espèce préoccupante) du gouvernement provincial.