Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Ancient Murrelet in Canada

Update
COSEWIC Status Report
on the
Ancient Murrelet
Synthliboramphus antiquus
in Canada
2004

Species Information

Name and Classification

The Ancient Murrelet (Synthliboramphus antiquus) belongs to the family Alcidae or the auks. The Ancient Murrelet is also known as ‘Guillemot à cou blanc’ in French and as ‘skinkana’ by the Haida of the Queen Charlotte Islands (Gaston 1992).

There are four species in the genus Synthliboramphus. The Ancient Murrelet’s closest relative is the Japanese Murrelet, S. wumizusume. The two other species are the Xantus’s Murrelet (S. hypoleucus) and Craveri’s Murrelet (S. craveri), both of which breed in the Baja California region (Gaston and Jones 1998). Of these four species, only the Ancient Murrelet breeds in Canada (Gaston 1994a).


Description

The Ancient Murrelet is a small auk, about 25 cm long and weighing from 200 to 250 g (Gaston 1994a). The males and females look very similar, both having a yellow-tipped bill, black head, chin, nape and throat, with fine black-and-white lines where the black of the head meets the gray of the body. They have a white underbelly and their flight feathers are dark slate.

During the breeding season, the back, upper wing and upper tail coverts are dove gray; the head, throat, and sides are black, with the rest of the underparts white, except a sooty brown line dividing belly from underwing. A fringe of long, filamentous, white feathers, forming a slight crest (Gaston 1994a) rings the crown.

In the fall, Ancient Murrelets undergo a full moult into non-breeding plumage, similar to breeding plumage except that the throat is white with sooty smudges on the chin, the tonsure of white feathers is reduced and the mantle is greyer (Gaston 1992). This plumage does not last long; as early as December the birds have moulted back to their breeding plumage (Gaston and Jones 1998).

In the summer, the Ancient Murrelet can be distinguished from Cassin’s Auklet (Ptychoramphus aleuticus) and the Marbled Murrelet (Brachyramphus marmoratus) by its black head and throat (Gaston 1994a). Immatures are similar to non-breeding adults (Gaston 1994a) except that they have no head streaks and have a white throat (National Geographic Society 1987; Gaston 1994).

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur la situation du Guillemot à cou blanc au Canada – Mise à jour

Mise à jour
Rapport de situation du COSEPAC
sur le
Guillemot à cou blanc
Synthliboramphus antiquus
au Canada
2004

Information sur l'espèce

Nom et classification

Le Guillemot à cou blanc (Synthliboramphus antiquus) appartient à la famille des Alcidés. On l’appelle « Ancient Murrelet » en anglais et « skinkana » dans la langue du peuple haïda des îles de la Reine-Charlotte (Gaston, 1992).

Le genre Synthliboramphus regroupe quatre espèces. Le plus proche parent du Guillemot à cou blanc est le Guillemot du Japon (S. wumizusume). Les deux autres espèces qui constituent le genre sont le Guillemot de Xantus (S. hypoleucus) et le Guillemot de Craveri (S. craveri), qui se reproduisent en Basse-Californie (Gaston et Jones, 1998). Le Guillemot à cou blanc est le seul de ces quatre oiseaux qui se reproduit au Canada (Gaston, 1994a).


Description

Le Guillemot à cou blanc est un petit Alcidé mesurant environ 25 cm et pesant entre 200 et 250 g (Gaston, 1994a). Le mâle et la femelle se ressemblent beaucoup : ils ont tous deux l’extrémité du bec jaune, la tête, le menton, la nuque et la gorge noirs, et de fines lignes noires et blanches à la jonction de la tête et du corps gris. Le ventre et la poitrine sont blancs et les rémiges sont de couleur ardoise foncé.

Pendant la période de reproduction, les tectrices du dos et du dessus des ailes et de la queue sont gris perle. La tête, la gorge et les côtés sont noirs et le reste de la face ventrale du corps est blanc, à l’exception d’une ligne d’un brun fuligineux qui sépare le ventre du dessous de l’aile. De longues plumes blanches filamenteuses forment une petite huppe (Gaston, 1994a) qui ceinture la tête.

À l’automne, le Guillemot à cou blanc mue complètement et prend sa livrée non nuptiale, semblable au plumage nuptial à ceci près que la gorge est blanche, le menton est parsemé de taches noirâtres, la huppe de plumes blanches est réduite et le manteau est d’un gris plus foncé (Gaston, 1992). Ce plumage ne dure pas longtemps; dès décembre, les oiseaux ont de nouveau mué et repris leur plumage nuptial (Gaston et Jones, 1998).

En été, la tête et la gorge noires du Guillemot à cou blanc permettent de le distinguer du Starique de Cassin (Ptychoramphus aleuticus) et du Guillemot marbré (Brachyramphus marmoratus) (Gaston, 1994a). Les oiseaux immatures ressemblent aux adultes non reproducteurs (Gaston, 1994a) sauf qu’ils n’ont pas de rayures sur la tête et que leur gorge est blanche (National Geographic Society, 1987; Gaston, 1994).