Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Ancient Murrelet in Canada

Distribution

Global Range

Ancient Murrelets breed in a thin arc about 9000 km in length around the northern rim of the Pacific Ocean (Fig. 1). The species becomes progressively more abundant from China to British Columbia. Udvardy (1963) defined their distribution as “subboreal, pan-Pacific”, similar to the Rhinoceros Auklet, Cerorhinca monocerata, and the Tufted Puffin, Fratercula cirrhata, which breed south to California in the eastern Pacific. In winter, the species spreads south as far as California and Taiwan (Gaston 1992).

Figure 1: Global Distribution of the Ancient Murrelet

Figure 1: Global distribution of the Ancient Murrelet

In Asia, information about distribution and numbers of Ancient Murrelets is limited by the absence of survey work. Based on previous data collected, populations in China, Korea and Japan may be in danger of extirpation (Springer et al. 1993; Gaston 1994). There are probably no more than a few hundred pairs of Ancient Murrelets breeding in China, a few thousand on the Korean Peninsula, and a similar number around the coasts of the Sea of Japan. Approximately, 25 000 - 35 000 individuals breed in the Northern Sea of Okhotsk (Kondratyev et al. 2000), 13 000 individuals in Kamchatka (Kondratyev et al. 2000) and less than 2 000 in the Commander Islands (Kondratyev et al. 2000). 

Ancient Murrelets also breed on several islands in Peter the Great Bay off Vladivostok, in discrete nesting areas. Shibaev (1987) estimated 500 pairs on Verkhovskii Island and in the same area, the species has been recorded breeding on Russkii, Karamzin (100 pairs in the 1960s) and Klykov islands, with an estimated the total population of 1200 pairs (Litvinenko and Shibaev 1991).

The largest estimated Ancient Murrelet colony in the Asian part of the North Pacific is on Talan Island in Tauyskaya Bay where there are approximately 22 000 individuals (USFWS 2003). There is also an estimated population of 13 000 birds on Starichkov Island (USFWS 2003).

In Alaska, the species is common in the Aleutian Islands, Gulf of Alaska and the Alaskan Peninsula, though population estimates are incomplete. The population of this entire region is estimated at around 200 000 (USFWS 2003). The largest colony is at Forrester Island, SE Alaska, with approximately 60 000 individuals present in 1976. Other large colonies include Castle Rock in the Shumagins with 30 000 individuals in 1976. Several other islands in this vicinity are estimated to have over approximately 500 individuals. Hunt Island (1978), Koniuji Island (1982) and Buldir Island (1976) all have approximately 10 000 individuals (USFWS 2003). Chagaluk and Egg Island each had approximately 5000 individuals in 1982 and 1980, respectively. The only other colony of any size is on St. Lazaria Island (1,500 birds in 1981) (USFWS 2003). During the winter, Ancient Murrelets disperse as far as California, arriving in late October (Ainley 1976).

Outside the Queen Charlotte Islands, there are only two definite records of Ancient Murrelets breeding in North America south of Alaska. Hoffman (1924) found a nest with eggs on Carroll Island, Washington, and a nest was reported in 1970 on an island in the Moore Group off the mainland coast of Hecate Strait, BC (Campbell et al. 1990). There have been no subsequent records from Washington, but small numbers are seen offshore and a fledgling was recorded in 1978. A very small breeding population may still exist there (Speich and Wahl 1989).


Canadian Range

An estimated 256,000 pairs of Ancient Murrelets, about half the world breeding population, occur on 31 islands in the Queen Charlotte Islands (Rodway 1991; Gaston 1992; Vermeer et al. 1997, Fig. 2). Canada remains the only part of the species breeding range where population estimates are accurate to within orders of magnitude (Gaston 1994b). They are concentrated in two areas: off the west coast of Graham Island in the north, and off the east coast of Moresby Island in the south. The four colonies off Graham Island support approximately 49% of the breeding population, while the 17 colonies along the east coast of Moresby Island, mostly within Gwaii Haanas National Park Reserve, support about 44% of the breeding population (Lemon and Gaston 1999). There are also 10 colonies on the remote and rugged west coast of Moresby Island, which account for the remaining 7% (Rodway 1991).

The colonies off Graham Island have been known since the early 1900s, but no attempt was made to census them until 1981, although Spencer Sealy made a retrospective estimate of the size of the Langara Island colony for 1970-1971. Before that, only general statements such as “astronomical” (Beebe 1960), “immense numbers” or “thousands” (Drent and Guiguet 1961) were available. We have an even shorter record of the South Moresby colonies, which were unknown to outsiders until the 1960s, although familiar to the local Haida. For most Ancient Murrelet colonies in the archipelago, even orders of magnitude were uncertain until the 1980s.


Figure 2: Locations and Relative Sizes of Breeding Colonies of Ancient Murrelets in the Queen Charlotte Islands

Figure 2: Locations and relative sizes of breeding colonies of Ancient Murrelets in the Queen Charlotte Islands.

From Harfenist et al. 2002; data from Rodway 1988; Rodway et al. 1988, 1990; Harfenist 1994; Lemon 1997; Gaston and Masselink 1997; Gray 1999; Lemon and Gaston 1999.

Small numbers are also seen off the northern part of the west coast of Vancouver Island in summer and breeding may occur but remains unconfirmed. Family groups, including small chicks, are also sometimes seen in the southern part of the Queen Charlotte Islands (Smith and French 2000), because dispersal away from the breeding sites is very rapid (Duncan and Gaston 1990).

On Boulder and Sea-Pigeon Islands, in the inner part of the Skincuttle Inlet, Bristol Foster reported eggshells and the remains of dead adults in 1960 (Drent and Guiguet 1961), but by 1971 there was no sign of breeding (Summers 1974). Introduced raccoons are sometimes present on Boulder and Sea-Pigeon Islands (Rodway et al. 1988) and may have been responsible for the disappearance of Ancient Murrelets.

In 1971, Summers (1974) found abundant burrowing on Arichika Island and the Bischof Islands, and estimated 500 pairs were present at each location. This estimate was based on a combination of field records of abundance of burrows and proportions of islands covered by burrows, and sometimes by the amount of nocturnal activity. In 1985, Rodway et al. (1988) found no trace of these colonies.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur la situation du Guillemot à cou blanc au Canada – Mise à jour

Répartition

Aire de répartition mondiale

Le Guillemot à cou blanc se reproduit dans un mince arc de cercle d’environ 9 000 kilomètres longeant la bordure septentrionale de l’océan Pacifique (figure 1). Le nombre d’individus de l’espèce augmente progressivement à mesure qu’on s’éloigne de la Chine et qu’on se rapproche de la Colombie-Britannique. Udvardy (1963) a qualifié la répartition de l’espèce de subboréale et panpacifique, semblablement à celle du Macareux rhinocéros (Cerorhinca monocerata) et du Macareux huppé (Fratercula cirrhata) qui nichent dans le Pacifique Est vers le sud jusqu’en Californie. En hiver, l’espèce se déploie vers le sud et atteint la Californie et Taïwan (Gaston, 1992).


Figure 1 : Répartition mondiale du Guillemot à cou blanc

Figure 1. Répartition mondiale du Guillemot à cou blanc.

En Asie, étant donné l’absence de relevés, peu de renseignements existent sur la répartition et le nombre de Guillemots à cou blanc. D’après les renseignements recueillis dans le passé, les populations de Chine, de Corée et du Japon pourraient être menacées de disparition (Springer et al., 1993; Gaston, 1994). Il est possible qu’il n’y ait plus que quelques centaines de couples nicheurs de Guillemots à cou blanc en Chine et quelques milliers dans la péninsule coréenne et le long des côtes de la mer du Japon. Autour de 25 000 à 35 000 individus se reproduisent dans la partie nord de la mer d’Okhotsk (Kondratyev et al., 2000), environ 13 000 dans le Kamchatka (Kondratyev et al., 2000) et moins de 2000 sur les îles du Commandeur (Kondratyev et al., 2000).

Le Guillemot à cou blanc se reproduit également sur plusieurs îles du golfe de Pierre-le-Grand, au large de Vladivostok, dans des aires de nidification distinctes. Selon les estimations de Shibaev (1987), 500 couples nichent sur l’île Verkhovskii et, dans la même région, on a signalé la présence d’individus sur les îles Russkii, Karamzin (100 couples dans les années 1960) et Klykov. Litvinenko et Shibaev (1991) ont évalué la population totale à 1200 couples. 

Selon les estimations, la plus importante colonie de Guillemots à cou blanc dans la partie asiatique du Pacifique Nord se trouve sur l’île de Talan, dans la baie Tauyskaya, et accueille approximativement 22 000 individus (USFWS, 2003). Il y a aussi une population estimative de 13 000 individus sur l’île Starichkov (USFWS, 2003).

En Alaska, l’espèce est répandue sur les îles Aléoutiennes, dans le golfe d’Alaska et dans la péninsule de l’Alaska; toutefois, les estimations de ces populations sont incomplètes. La population de l’ensemble de la région est évaluée à environ 200 000 individus (USFWS, 2003). La plus importante colonie se trouve sur l’île Forrester, dans le sud-est de l’Alaska; en 1976, elle comptait approximativement 60 000 individus. Une autre importante colonie est celle du rocher Castle dans les îles Shumagin, qui était composée de 30 000 individus en 1976. On estime que plusieurs autres îles des environs accueillent plus de 500 individus. Les îles Hunt (1978), Koniuji (1982) et Buldir (1976) accueillent chacune autour de 10 000 individus (USFWS, 2003). Près de 5 000 individus nichaient sur les îles Chagaluk et Egg en 1982 et 1980 respectivement. La seule autre colonie de taille notable se trouve sur l’île St. Lazaria et comptait 1500 oiseaux en 1981 (USFWS, 2003). Pendant l’hiver, les colonies de Guillemots à cou blanc se dispersent jusqu’en Californie, atteignant leur destination vers la fin du mois d’octobre (Ainley, 1976).

En dehors des îles de la Reine-Charlotte, il n’y a eu que deux autres observations certaines de Guillemots à cou blanc ayant niché en Amérique du Nord au sud de l’Alaska : Hoffman (1924) a trouvé un nid contenant des œufs sur l’île Carroll (Washington), et la présence d’un nid a été signalée en 1970 sur l’une des îles Moore, près de la côte continentale dans le détroit d’Hécate, en Colombie-Britannique (Campbell et al., 1990). Aucune autre observation n’a été répertoriée dans l’État de Washington, mais quelques individus ont été aperçus proche du littoral, et la présence d’un jeune ayant quitté le nid depuis peu a été signalée en 1978. Il se peut qu’une très faible population nicheuse subsiste encore à cet endroit (Speich et Wahl, 1989).


Aire de répartition canadienne

On estime que 256 000 couples de Guillemots à cou blanc, soit environ la moitié de la population reproductrice mondiale, nichent sur 31 îles de l’archipel de la Reine-Charlotte (Rodway, 1991; Gaston, 1992; Vermeer et al., 1997; figure 2). Le Canada est la seule partie de l’aire de reproduction de l’espèce pour laquelle les estimations des populations sont exactes à moins d’un ordre de grandeur près (Gaston, 1994b). L’espèce se concentre à deux endroits : le long de la côte ouest de l’île Graham, au nord, et le long de la côte est de l’île Moresby, au sud. Les quatre colonies proches de l’île Graham représentent environ 49 p. 100 de la population nicheuse; quant aux 17 colonies proches de l’île Moresby, dont la plupart se trouvent dans la réserve de parc national Gwaii Haanas, elles constituent environ 44 p. 100 de la population nicheuse (Lemon et Gaston, 1999). Le reste, soit 7 p. 100, niche dans 10 colonies le long de la côte isolée et accidentée de l’ouest de l'île Moresby (Rodway, 1991).


Figure 2 : Emplacement et taille relative des colonies de nidification de Guillemots à cou blanc des îles de la Reine-Charlotte

Figure 2. Emplacement et taille relative des colonies de nidification de Guillemots à cou blanc des îles de la Reine-Charlotte

Tiré de Harfenist et al., 2002; données provenant de Rodway [1988], Rodway et al. [1988, 1990], Harfenist [1994], Lemon [1997], Gaston et Masselink [1997], Gray [1999], Lemon et Gaston [1999]).

Les colonies proches de l’île Graham sont connues depuis le début du 20siècle, mais aucun recensement n’a été réalisé avant 1981; Spencer Sealy a cependant effectué une estimation rétrospective de la taille de la colonie de l’île Langara pour les années 1970-1971. Avant cela, seules des quantifications très vagues, comme « un nombre astronomique » (Beebe, 1960), « un nombre considérable » ou « plusieurs milliers » (Drent et Guiguet, 1961) avaient été avancées. Les données sur les colonies de l’île Moresby Sud sont encore plus récentes. Les gens de l’extérieur n’ont appris l’existence de ces colonies que dans les années 1960, mais les Haïdas les connaissaient bien. Même les ordres de grandeur de la plupart des colonies de Guillemots à cou blanc de l’archipel sont demeurés incertains jusque dans les années 1980.   

Quelques individus ont également été observés près de la partie nord de la côte ouest de l’île de Vancouver en été et il est possible que certains oiseaux s’y reproduisent, quoique cette hypothèse n’ait pas été confirmée. Il arrive que des groupes familiaux comprenant de jeunes oisillons soient aperçus dans la partie sud des îles de la Reine-Charlotte (Smith et French, 2000), l’espèce se dispersant hors des sites de reproduction très rapidement (Duncan et Gaston, 1990). 

En 1960, sur les îles Boulder et Sea‑Pigeon (partie intérieure du bras Skincuttle), Bristol Foster a noté la présence de coquilles d’œufs et de restes de cadavres d’oiseaux adultes (Drent et Guiguet,1961); cependant, jusqu’en 1971, aucun signe de reproduction n’a été relevé (Summers, 1974). Des ratons laveurs introduits sont parfois présents sur ces deux îles (Rodway et al., 1988) et pourraient être à l’origine de la disparition des Guillemots à cou blanc.

En 1971, Summers (1974) a trouvé de nombreux terriers sur l’île Arichika et les îles Bischof et a estimé que 500 couples étaient présents à chacun de ces deux endroits. Ses estimations étaient fondées sur des dénombrements des terriers et sur la proportion des îles occupée par des terriers et, dans certains cas, sur l‘intensité de l’activité nocturne. En 1985, Rodwayet al. (1988) n’ont observé aucune trace de ces colonies.