Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Ancient Murrelet in Canada

Habitat

Habitat Requirements

Ancient Murrelets live mainly in subarctic waters where mean annual surface water temperatures are between 5 and 15 °C (Kitano 1981). They breed on islands between 20 and 2000 ha in area (Gaston 1994b). Breeding sites are situated inland from the sea up to 300 m, rarely to 400 m (Rodway et al. 1988; Rodway 1990; Rodway 1994). This species does not coexist naturally with any terrestrial mammalian predators except river otters, Lutra canadensis (Gaston 1992). 

In the Queen Charlotte Islands, SE Alaska, the Peter the Great Bay, and probably also in the Kuril Islands, Ancient Murrelets nest under forest canopy. Burrows are tunneled under the base of trees, stumps, or fallen logs (Gaston 1992) and may penetrate fissures in the underlying rocks (Drent and Guiguet 1961). On Frederick Island 79% of the burrows are under western hemlock (Tsuga heterophylla) (Vermeer et al. 1984). However, from Kamchatka through the Commander and Aleutian islands, and as far east as the Gulf of Alaska, Ancient Murrelet colonies are found on treeless islands (Gaston 1992). Where forest is available, it appears to be the species’ preferred breeding habitat (Vermeer et al. 1984). Where it is absent, Ancient Murrelets usually pick the most densely vegetated area available. There may be many reasons for the choice of this habitat type, including stability of the soil for digging and this may be more significant than vegetative cover (Nettleship 2004 pers. comm.). On Buldir Island, in the Aleutian Islands they occupy the lowland tall-plant complex that grows to about 1 m high (Byrd and Day 1986). In the eastern Aleutians, the birds are found in Elymus/ Calamagrostis grassland and mixed Elymus and Umbelliferae. Burrows are also found in the foundations of abandoned native houses (Nysewander et al. 1982). Tussock grasslands are probably the birds main breeding habitat through much of their Alaskan range (Bendire 1895; Nysewander et al. 1982), but they also breed on small islands practically devoid of vegetation, and where they occupy rock crevices; the use of scree on islands off the Alaska Peninsula is common (Gaston 1994b).


Trends

There is no evidence that the Ancient Murrelet population is limited by the availability of breeding habitat, except at a few colonies where burrow density is high and all suitable habitat is occupied. In the Queen Charlotte Islands, they inhabit all but the largest islands of the archipelago because all but a few very small and exposed islets support coastal rainforest, their preferred habitat. Burrow density at colonies varies from high to low with some areas vacant that appear suitable for nesting (Rodway et al. 1988; Gaston, pers. obs.). Burrowing density decreases from south to north along the islands of southeast Moresby. Almost half the plots from colonies in the Queen Charlotte Islands had burrow densities below 0.33/m2 (G.W. Kaiser, unpublished data, in Harfenist 2003). Expansion of the colony on Langara after the removal of rats indicates that predators may limit population size at certain colonies (Drever 2002). Competition with Cassin’s Auklets may occur in a few places where the species breeding habitats overlap (Vermeer et al. 1984) but is probably not an important limiting factor (A. Gaston, pers. comm.).

Habitat loss is a continual threat for most Ancient Murrelet colonies despite existing federal and provincial protection, including the recently created Wildlife Habitat Areas (see next section). The extent of the negative impact that human disturbance can have is seen in the case of a colony on southern Langara Island that appeared to be displaced when a fishing lodge was built (Vermeer et al. 1997). Though an extreme example, these birds are at risk from any visitor activity that damages burrows or destroys their habitat (Harfenist et al. 2002).


Habitat Protection/Ownership

Sixteen of 31 Ancient Murrelet nesting colonies are protected under the Canada National Park Act in the Gwaii Haanas National Park Reserve, the southern part of the Queen Charlotte Islands (Fig. 3). One large colony off the west coast of Graham Island, Hippa Island, is a Provincial Ecological Reserve. Two other colonies, Reef Island and the Limestone islands, are protected as Wildlife Management Areas under the BC Wildlife Act. Two colonies (Lucy and Cox islands), where rats eradicated Ancient Murrelets, are on provincial crown land (Harfenist et al. 2002).

Under the Identified Wildlife Management Strategy (IWMS) of the BC Forest and Range Practice Act (formerly the BC Forest Practices Code), 11 Wildlife Habitat Areas have been approved for the protection Ancient Murrelet breeding colonies. These include Frederick, Helgesen, Marble, Luxmoore, Rogers, Sauders, Instructor, Lihou and Willie Islands (A. Hetherington, 2003, pers. comm.; info available http://wlapwww.gov.bc.ca/wld/identified/wha_areas.htm). Wildlife Habitat Areas designate important habitats in which activities are managed to limit their impact on the Identified Wildlife element for which the area was established.

Presently, there are no plans under the Canada Wildlife Act to create National Wildlife Areas in the Queen Charlotte Islands. However, there are 14 proposed ‘Haida Protected Areas” of which the largest is Duu Guusd (Langara Island) (Harfenist et al. 2002).


Figure 3: Location of Haida and Federal Protected Terrestrial Areas as Well as Provincial Parks, Ecological Reserves and Wildlife Management Areas in Queen Charlotte Islands

Figure 3: Location of Haida and federal protected terrestrial areas as well as provincial parks, ecological reserves and wildlife management areas in Queen Charlotte Islands

Harfenist et al. 2002.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur la situation du Guillemot à cou blanc au Canada – Mise à jour

Habitat

Besoins en matière d’habitat

Les Guillemots à cou blanc vivent principalement dans les eaux subarctiques où la moyenne annuelle des températures oscille entre 5 et 15 °C (Kitano, 1981). Ils se reproduisent sur des îles d’une superficie de 20 à 2000 hectares (Gaston, 1994b). Les sites de reproduction sont situés vers l’intérieur des îles à une distance de la mer qui peut atteindre 300 mètres, et plus rarement 400 mètres (Rodway et al., 1988; Rodway, 1990; Rodway, 1994). L’espèce ne coexiste naturellement avec aucun mammifère prédateur terrestre, sauf avec les loutres de rivière (Lutra canadensis) (Gaston, 1992).

Dans l’archipel des îles de la Reine-Charlotte, le sud-est de l’Alaska, le golfe de Pierre-le-Grand et probablement aussi dans les îles Kouriles, les Guillemots à cou blanc nichent sous le couvert forestier. Les terriers sont creusés sous des arbres, des souches ou de gros morceaux de bois (Gaston, 1992) et peuvent pénétrer des fissures dans les roches sous-jacentes (Drent et Guiguet, 1961). Sur l’île Frederick, 79 p. 100 des terriers sont situés sous des pruches de l’Ouest (Tsuga heterophylla) (Vermeer et al., 1984). Toutefois, du Kamchatka aux îles du Commandeur et aux Aléoutiennes, et vers l’est jusque dans le golfe d’Alaska, des colonies de Guillemots à cou blanc sont présentes sur des îles sans arbres (Gaston, 1992). L’espèce privilégie cependant les habitats boisés pour la nidification lorsque ceux-ci sont disponibles (Vermeer et al., 1984). Sinon, elle s’établit généralement dans les zones où la végétation est la plus dense. De nombreuses raisons peuvent expliquer cette préférence, notamment la stabilité du sol qui facilite le creusage des terriers; ce facteur pourrait avoir plus d’importance que le couvert végétal (Nettleship, comm. pers., 2004). Sur l’île Buldir, dans l’archipel des Aléoutiennes, l’espèce occupe des basses terres couvertes de grandes plantes atteignant environ un mètre de hauteur (Byrd et Day, 1986). Dans les Aléoutiennes orientales, l’espèce niche dans les prairies d’Elymus et de Calamagrostis et dans les zones mixtes d’Elymus et d’ombellifères. On trouve également des terriers dans les fondations de maisons autochtones abandonnées (Nysewander et al., 1982). Les prairies de graminées cespiteuses constituent probablement le principal habitat de reproduction dans l’aire de répartition alaskienne (Bendire, 1895; Nysewander et al., 1982); toutefois, les oiseaux nichent aussi sur de petites îles pratiquement dépourvues de végétation où ils occupent des crevasses rocheuses. Il n’est pas rare qu’ils nichent dans des éboulis sur les îles voisines de la péninsule de l’Alaska (Gaston, 1994b). 


Tendances en matière d’habitat

Aucun indice ne porte à croire que la population de Guillemots à cou blanc soit limitée par un manque d’habitats de reproduction, exception faite de quelques colonies où la densité de terriers est élevée et les sites convenables tous occupés. Dans l’archipel de la Reine-Charlotte, les Guillemots à cou blanc nichent sur toutes les îles, sauf sur les plus grandes, car toutes, à l’exception de quelques minuscules îlots dénudés, sont couvertes par la forêt pluviale côtière, leur habitat préféré. La densité de terriers dans les colonies varie entre forte et faible, avec certaines zones semblant convenir à la nidification, mais étant pourtant inoccupées (Rodway et al., 1988; Gaston, obs. pers.). La densité de terriers diminue du sud vers le nord le long des îles du sud-est de l’île Moresby. Près de la moitié des parcelles étudiées dans des colonies des îles de la Reine-Charlotte présentaient une densité inférieure à 0,33 terrier/m2 (G.W. Kaiser, données inédites, in Harfenist, 2003). La croissance de la population de l’île Langara après l’élimination des rats indique que les prédateurs peuvent limiter la taille de certaines colonies (Drever, 2002). L’espèce pourrait être en concurrence avec le Starique de Cassin à quelques endroits où les habitats de reproduction des deux espèces se chevauchent (Vermeer et al., 1984), mais il ne s’agit probablement pas d’un facteur limitatif important (A. Gaston, comm. pers.).

La perte d’habitats constitue une menace permanente pour la plupart des colonies de Guillemots à cou blanc malgré les mesures de protection fédérales et provinciales en place, y compris les zones d’habitat faunique récemment créées (voir la section suivante). Le cas d’une colonie du sud de l’île Langara, qui semble avoir été délogée par la construction d’un camp de pêche, fait ressortir l’impact négatif que peut avoir l’activité humaine (Vermeer et al., 1997). Bien qu’il s’agisse là d’un exemple extrême, il n’en demeure pas moins que ces oiseaux courent le risque de voir leurs terriers endommagés ou leurs habitats détruits par les visiteurs (Harfenist et al., 2002).     


Protection et propriété de l’habitat

Seize des 31 colonies de nidification de la réserve de parc national Gwaii Haanas (partie sud des îles de la Reine-Charlotte) sont protégées en vertu de la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada (figure 3). La grande colonie de l’île Hippa, près de la côte ouest de l’île Graham, fait partie d’une réserve écologique provinciale. Deux autres colonies, celles de l’île Reef et des îles Limestone, sont protégées à titre de zones de gestion de la faune en vertu de la Wildlife Act de la Colombie-Britannique. Deux lieux d’anciennes colonies (îles Lucy et Cox) détruites par les rats se trouvent sur des terres de la couronne provinciale (Harfenist et al., 2002). 

En vertu de la Identified Wildlife Management Strategy (IWMS) de la Forest and Range Practices Act de la Colombie-Britannique (anciennement le BC Forest Practices Code), la création de onze zones d’habitat faunique a été approuvée en vue de protéger les colonies de reproduction du Guillemot à cou blanc. Ces zones comprennent les îles Frederick, Helgesen, Marble, Luxmoore, Rogers, Saunders, Instructor, Lihou et Willie (A. Hetherington, comm. pers., 2003, renseignements disponibles à l’adresse : http://wlapwww.gov.bc.ca/wld/identified/wha_areas.htm). Les zones d’habitat faunique protègent des habitats importants, dans lesquels on gère les activités de manière à en réduire les impacts sur l’élément faunique pour lequel la zone a été établie.

À l’heure actuelle, il n’existe aucun plan en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces sauvages du Canada pour la création de réserves nationales de faune dans l’archipel de la Reine-Charlotte. En revanche, l’établissement de 14 zones protégées par les Haïdas (« Haida Protected Areas ») a été proposé, la plus grande étant celle de Duu Guusd (île de Langara) (Harfenist et al., 2002).


Figure 3 : Emplacement des zones terrestres protégées par le gouvernement fédéral et par le peuple haïda, des parcs provinciaux, des réserves écologiques et des zones de gestion de la faune dans les îles de la Reine-Charlotte

Figure 3 : Emplacement des zones terrestres protégées par le gouvernement fédéral et par le peuple haïda, des parcs provinciaux, des réserves écologiques et des zones de gestion de la faune dans les îles de la Reine-Charlotte

Harfenist et al., 2002.