Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Ancient Murrelet in Canada

Biology

General

The Ancient Murrelet is a small marine bird and is fairly generalized physically for an auk, having a bill that is neither specialized for fish nor plankton, and a functional morphology intermediate between specialized wing-propelled divers such as murres and the less specialized auklets (Gaston 1994a). It is unique in being the only seabird that has fully precocial chicks that go to sea without ever having been fed on the nest (Gaston 1994b). It also has a unique vocal repertoire that allows it to communicate effectively during its nocturnal colonial visits (Gaston 1994a).


Reproduction and Survival

In Canada, Ancient Murrelets breed only in the Queen Charlotte Islands. Timing of breeding varies across its range, with an observed 6-day delay in egg laying for every 1ºC decrease in mean April sea-surface temperature near colonies (Gaston 1992). Generally, birds arrive at the colony in March with median clutch completion dates being between mid-April and early May (Gaston and Jones 1998). Timing of breeding varies between colonies and may be dependent on when the risks to adults from predation are least, and the availability of food for chicks is highest (Gaston 1997). Each breeding pair produces one clutch per year of 2 eggs each, 6 – 10 days apart, with no replacements (Gaston 1994a).

Ancient Murrelet parents share incubation duties equally (Gaston 1992) but do not feed their chicks before leaving the burrow. The chicks leave the burrow at night, 1‑4 days after hatching (Sealy 1976; Shibaev 1978; Jones et al. 1990) and are raised entirely at sea (Litvinenko and Shibaev 1987). Parents feed the young for about 1 month, by which time they are fully grown and feathered (Litvinenko and Shibaev 1987).

Ancient Murrelets first breed at 3-4 years of age (Gaston and Jones 1998). Where there are no introduced predators, breeding pairs rear an average of 1.5 young per year to the stage of colony departure (Vermeer and Lemon 1986; Gaston 1992). Most family groups seen at sea after departure from their colonies are made up of two adults and two chicks. So, despite the precocial departure, survival of young during the first few days after deserting the nest site appears to be high (Gaston 1992). However, body condition and date of chick departure influences survival. Based on rates of recapture, chicks that leave the colony at 26 g or less (at any time) survive less well than heavier birds; birds leaving after the median date of departure survive best (Gaston 1997). Mean annual survival rate of adult Ancient Murrelets is 77%, relatively low for an alcid (Gaston 1990), but breeding success is high. Based on data from Reef Island, adult birds breed for an average of 4.5 years (Gaston 1994a).


Physiology

There is limited information on the physiology of Ancient Murrelets. However, there are traits common to alcids that provide some information. Auks store fat in a thin subcutaneous layer over much of the body, rather than in pockets as is the case in most other birds (Gaston 1992). Auks also have heat exchange mechanisms in their legs (rete mirabile) to limit heat loss (Gaston 1992) and for their size, have high basal metabolic rates; an adaptation for keeping their bodies warm in colder climates. In order for auks to store oxygen while diving, they have a high blood volume and high levels of myoglobin (Gaston 1992).

Chicks are born at a mean weight larger than in other auks (15% of adult body weight versus 11%), with legs that are almost adult size. They also have very large fat stores at hatching (Duncan and Gaston 1988) used for energy reserves and possibly insulation. At hatching, chicks contain 13 g fat, but lose 40% of this before leaving the burrow (losing 2 g per day while in burrow). The remaining reserves are essential for the long, steady swim that they will have to undertake once they reach the water. What also helps the bird once they reach the water is their ability to thermoregulate immediately (Gaston and Jones 1998).


Movements/Dispersal

Ancient Murrelets in Canada breed exclusively in the Queen Charlotte Islands off the British Columbia coast from April to June. Once breeding is complete, they leave the vicinity of their breeding colonies. Family groups from colonies in Hecate Strait remain in the Strait for several weeks (Duncan and Gaston 1990) while some appear off the Goose Islands in Queen Charlotte Sound during the same period (Guiguet 1953). By August, Ancient Murrelets are uncommon in Hecate Strait and in September they virtually disappear from British Columbia waters (Gaston 1992). Their movements during this season are unknown (Campbell et al. 1990; Gaston 1994). Large numbers of Ancient Murrelets appear in inshore waters off Vancouver Island by late October, where they remain until mid-February (Wahl et al. 1981; Campbell et al. 1990). A small number of birds move into the Bering Sea to winter, while others are known to remain within the Canadian breeding range (Gaston 1994a). Smaller numbers occur during the same season in waters out to the edge of the continental shelf off Washington, Oregon and California (Ainley 1976; Balz and Morejohn 1977; Briggs et al. 1987). By March, they appear in large numbers in Hecate Strait and begin visiting their colonies prior to egg laying.

Sightings of Ancient Murrelets have been recorded in Hecate Strait and the Queen Charlotte Sound in January and April through July, but not in September (Morgan 1997). They are present in Dixon Entrance in April and May; they have been reported in July, but are absent by October (Morgan 1997). Though it appears at times that most birds disperse south of the Queen Charlotte Island (Sealy 1976), some remain close to their colonies (Morgan 1997). Bird densities are highest during breeding season. The highest summer densities occur at the outer edge of the continental shelf, between Langara and Frederick islands. In the fall, sightings are restricted to the edge of the Shelf, west of Cartwright Sound, while winter sightings have been restricted to Hecate Strait, between Skidegate Inlet and Cape St. James (Morgan 1997). Ancient Murrelets are regularly sighted on Christmas Bird Counts in Masset and Rose Spit (Morgan 1997).

Visits by birds to other colonies do occur when colonies are close. Birds visiting non-natal colonies were found at Reef and East Limestone islands, located 6 km apart. However there was no evidence that these birds were breeding on their non-natal island. Whether birds were also visiting Lyell Island, located 15 km from Reef Island and 20 km from East Limestone Island, could not be determined but it may be possible (Gaston and Adkins 1998).

Only one banding recovery of a Canadian Ancient Murrelet has been away from the Queen Charlotte Islands: a sub-adult/immature found dead on a beach in Washington State (Gaston 1994b). The origin of the birds that occur off southern British Columbia in winter is not known, but the large numbers involved suggest they are from the Queen Charlotte Islands.

Of all the alcids, the Ancient Murrelet is one of the species most prone to vagrancy (Gaston and Jones 1998). There have been sightings on lakes in the British Columbia interior and eight records from the Canadian Prairie provinces (Sealy et al. 2001). Several records also exist for the Ancient Murrelet in Mexico (Erickson et al. 1995) and Great Britain (Waldon 1994).


Nutrition and Interspecific Interactions

The diet of the adult Ancient Murrelet is made up primarily of large zooplankton and fish. Composition of the diets varies by season, age, location and availability (Sealy 1975; Vermeer et al. 1985; Gaston 1994). Before breeding in late March and early April, the birds are known to eat Euphausia pacifica, while Thysanoessa spinifera becomes a dominant part of their diet after breeding begins (Sealy 1975). Fish (including larval and juvenile fish) dominated the diet of the birds in June. Later in the season, they also feed on fish, primarily Pacific sand lance, (Ammodytes hexapterus) and rockfish (Sebastes spp.) but also flatfish (Pleuronectidae), juvenile shiner perch (Cymatogaster aggregata) and greenlings (Hexagrammos spp.) (Sealy 1975).

Information on winter diet is scarce. Gaston et al. (1993) found that the entire winter diet of Ancient Murrelets off southeastern Vancouver Island consisted of Euphausia pacifica (Harfenist 2003). In November, juvenile herring (Clupea harengus) dominated their diet.

There is also very little information on Ancient Murrelet chick diet. The stomach contents of 8 young collected at sea contained only sand lance (Gaston 1992). Results of an earlier study from Langara Island showed that the stomachs of subadults contained sand lance and euphausiids (Sealy 1975).


Behaviour/Adaptability

While Ancient Murrelets can be found breeding in all types of forest, potential recolonization following forest destruction may take a long time (Gaston 1994b). At Limestone Island, a large area cleared by a wildfire was still not being used by murrelets 20 years later, although alder had regenerated strongly.

The reduction in area occupied by Ancient Murrelets at colonies on Langara and Lyell islands seems to be a response to heavy predation pressure by rats (Gaston 1994b). Recovery from such declines may require a critical number and density of active burrows to attract recruits. If that is the case, then recovery of extirpated colonies is unlikely, especially when population declines through the entire breeding range are common.

Pre-breeding birds have been trapped on islands other than their natal site, which suggests that some birds disperse away from their natal colony to breed (Gaston 1990). For instance, only 3% of pre-breeders trapped at East Limestone Island were banded as chicks, although about 50% of departing chicks were banded (Gaston 1990; Gaston and Adkins 1998). Subsequent DNA analysis at George and East Limestone Islands also suggests that birds move between colonies (Pearce et al. 2002). This ability to move between colonies may provide it with a mechanism to adjust to increasing pressure from human disturbance or predators, if appropriate habitat is nearby.

Finally, Ancient Murrelets are highly sensitive to disturbance at nest sites, causing pairs to abandon their burrow and eggs (Gaston et al. 1988). As pairs do not lay replacement eggs, the impact of abandonment is high and is considered the greatest cause of reproductive failure for these birds (Gaston and Jones 1998).

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur la situation du Guillemot à cou blanc au Canada – Mise à jour

Biologie

Généralités

Le Guillemot à cou blanc est un petit oiseau de mer dont la morphologie est assez généraliste pour un Alcidé, avec un bec qui n’est spécialisé ni pour le poisson ni pour le plancton et une morphologie fonctionnelle se trouvant à mi-chemin entre celle des plongeurs spécialisés qui utilisent leurs ailes pour se propulser, comme certains autres guillemots, et celle des stariques, moins spécialisés (Gaston, 1994a). Il a pour caractéristique unique d’être le seul oiseau marin dont les oisillons, pleinement nidifuges, se jettent à la mer sans jamais avoir été nourris au nid (Gaston, 1994b). Il possède en outre un répertoire vocal unique qui lui permet de communiquer efficacement pendant ses visites nocturnes à la colonie (Gaston, 1994a).


Reproduction et taux de survie

Au Canada, le Guillemot à cou blanc se reproduit exclusivement sur les îles de la Reine-Charlotte. Le moment choisi pour la reproduction varie selon l’endroit : il a été observé que pour chaque 1 °C de moins dans la température moyenne de la surface de la mer en avril près des colonies, la ponte a lieu six jours plus tard (Gaston, 1992). En règle générale, les oiseaux atteignent la colonie en mars, les dates médianes d’achèvement des pontes se situant entre la mi-avril et le début de mai (Gaston et Jones, 1998). Le moment de la reproduction varie d’une colonie à l’autre et pourrait dépendre du moment où la pression exercée par les prédateurs sur les adultes est faible et du moment où les aliments pour les oisillons sont disponibles en grandes quantités (Gaston, 1997). La couvée est de deux œufs par couple nicheur par année, pondus à un intervalle de six à dix jours, sans ponte de remplacement (Gaston, 1994a).

Le mâle et la femelle participent à parts égales à la couvaison (Gaston, 1992), mais ils ne nourrissent pas leurs oisillons avant que ceux-ci ne quittent le terrier. Le départ du terrier s’effectue pendant la nuit, de un à quatre jours après l’éclosion (Sealy, 1976; Shibaev, 1978; Jones et al., 1990). Les oisillons sont entièrement élevés en mer (Litvinenko et Shibaev, 1987). Leurs parents les nourrissent pendant environ un mois, c’est-à-dire jusqu’à ce qu’ils parviennent à maturité et soient entièrement emplumés (Litvinenko et Shibaev, 1987).

Le Guillemot à cou blanc se reproduit pour la première fois à l’âge de trois ou quatre ans (Gaston et Jones, 1998). Dans les habitats où aucun prédateur n’a été introduit, on a observé un taux de survie moyen des petits jusqu’au départ de la colonie de 1,5 petit par couple nicheur par année (Vermeer et Lemon, 1986; Gaston, 1992). La plupart des groupes familiaux aperçus en mer après le départ de la colonie sont composés de deux adultes et deux oisillons. Ainsi, malgré un départ précoce, le taux de survie des jeunes pendant les premiers jours après avoir quitté le site de nidification semble être élevé (Gaston, 1992). Cependant, l’état corporel et la date de départ des oisillons influent sur le taux de survie. En effet, d’après les taux de recapture, les oisillons ayant quitté la colonie alors qu’ils pesaient 26 grammes ou moins (à n’importe quel moment) ont moins de chances de survivre que les oiseaux d’un poids plus élevé, et les oiseaux qui quittent la colonie après la date médiane de départ ont de meilleures chances de survie (Gaston, 1997). Le taux de survie annuel moyen des Guillemots à cou blanc adultes (77 p. 100) est relativement bas comparativement à celui des autres Alcidés (Gaston, 1990); en revanche, le succès de la reproduction est élevé. D’après les données issues de l’île Reef, les oiseaux adultes se reproduisent en moyenne pendant 4,5 ans (Gaston, 1994a).


Physiologie

L’information dont on dispose sur la physiologie du Guillemot à cou blanc est maigre. Toutefois, certaines caractéristiques propres aux Alcidés peuvent nous éclairer à cet égard. Les Alcidés emmagasinent la graisse sur la majeure partie du corps dans une fine couche sous-cutanée plutôt qu’en poches comme c’est le cas de la plupart des autres oiseaux (Gaston, 1992). De plus, les pattes des Alcidés sont dotées de mécanismes d’échange de chaleur (rete mirabile) qui limitent les pertes thermiques (Gaston, 1992). Compte tenu de leur taille, leur taux métabolique de base est élevé, adaptation qui permet de garder leur corps au chaud dans les climats froids. Les Alcidés peuvent emmagasiner de l’oxygène pendant la plongée grâce à leur volume sanguin élevé et à leurs fortes concentrations de myoglobine (Gaston, 1992).

À la naissance, le poids moyen des oisillons est proportionnellement supérieur à celui des autres Alcidés (15 p. 100 du poids corporel de l’adulte comparativement à 11 p. 100) et la longueur de leurs pattes est pratiquement la même que la longueur des pattes de l’adulte. À l’éclosion, les oisillons possèdent de très importantes réserves de graisse (Duncan et Gaston, 1988) qui leur servent de source énergétique et possiblement d’isolant; le corps des oisillons contient alors 13 grammes de graisse dont une portion de 40 p. 100 sera perdue avant de quitter le terrier (perte de deux grammes par jour environ dans le terrier). Les réserves restantes leur seront essentielles pour pouvoir nager pendant de longues périodes sans s’arrêter. Ce qui aide aussi les oisillons une fois en mer est leur capacité immédiate de thermorégulation (Gaston et Jones, 1998).


Déplacements et dispersion

Au Canada, les Guillemots à cou blanc ne se reproduisent que sur les îles de la Reine-Charlotte, au large de la côte de la Colombie-Britannique, du mois d’avril au mois de juin. Une fois la période de reproduction terminée, ils quittent leurs colonies de nidification. Certains groupes familiaux des colonies du détroit d’Hécate demeurent dans le détroit pendant plusieurs semaines (Duncan et Gaston, 1990), alors qu’à la même période, d’autres individus se trouvent près des îles Goose dans le bassin de la Reine-Charlotte (Guiguet, 1953). En août, il est rare d’apercevoir un Guillemot à cou blanc dans le détroit d’Hécate et, en septembre, ils ont pratiquement disparu des eaux de Colombie-Britannique (Gaston, 1992). On ignore quels sont leurs déplacements pendant cette saison (Campbell et al., 1990; Gaston, 1994). Un grand nombre de Guillemots à cou blanc sont présents dans les eaux côtières de l’île de Vancouver vers la fin octobre et y demeurent jusqu’à la mi-février (Wahl et al., 1981; Campbell et al., 1990). Un petit nombre d’oiseaux passent l’hiver dans la mer de Béring, alors que d’autres restent dans l’aire de reproduction canadienne (Gaston, 1994a). Pendant la même saison, un nombre d’oiseaux encore plus petit est présent à la limite du plateau continental au large des États de Washington, d’Oregon et de Californie (Ainley, 1976; Balz et Morejohn, 1977; Briggs et al., 1987). En mars, de nombreux oiseaux arrivent au détroit d’Hécate et commencent à visiter leurs colonies avant la ponte.

Des Guillemots à cou blanc ont été signalés dans le détroit d’Hécate et le bassin de la Reine-Charlotte en janvier et d’avril à juillet, mais pas en septembre (Morgan, 1997). Ils sont présents à l’entrée Dixon en avril et en mai, et leur présence a également été signalée en juillet, mais, en octobre, ils ont disparu (Morgan, 1997). Bien qu’il semble parfois que la majorité des oiseaux se dispersent au sud des îles de la Reine-Charlotte (Sealy, 1976), certains ne s’éloignent pas beaucoup de leur colonie (Morgan, 1997). Les densités d’oiseaux sont plus élevées pendant la période de reproduction. C’est à la limite du plateau continental, entre les îles Langara et Frederick, qu’on constate les densités les plus élevées pendant l’été. Des oiseaux n’ont été observés en automne qu’à la limite du plateau à l’ouest de la baie Cartwright et en hiver que dans le détroit d’Hécate entre le bras Skidegate et le cap St. James (Morgan, 1997). Des Guillemots à cou blanc sont régulièrement aperçus pendant les recensements des oiseaux de Noël à Masset et la pointe Rose (Morgan, 1997).

Il arrive que les oiseaux visitent des colonies autres que la leur lorsque celles-ci se trouvent à proximité. On a observé ce phénomène entre les îles Reef et Limestone Est, distantes de six kilomètres. Toutefois, aucun signe montrant que les oiseaux auraient niché sur l’île qui n’était par leur île natale n’a été relevé. Il n’a pas été déterminé si des oiseaux visitaient également l’île Lyell, située à 15 km de l’île Reef et à 20 km de l’île Limestone Est, mais cela est possible (Gaston et Adkins, 1998).

Une seule récupération de bague posée au Canada a été effectuée à l’extérieur des îles de la Reine-Charlotte : il s’agissait d’un subadulte ou immature trouvé mort sur une plage de l’État de Washington (Gaston, 1994b). La provenance des oiseaux présents dans les eaux du sud de la Colombie-Britannique en hiver est inconnue, mais le grand nombre d’individus porte à croire qu’ils proviennent de l’archipel de la Reine-Charlotte.

Le Guillemot à cou blanc est un des Alcidés les plus enclins au vagabondage (Gaston et Jones, 1998). Des individus ont été aperçus sur des lacs de la partie continentale de la Colombie-Britannique et huit observations ont été répertoriées dans les provinces des Prairies canadiennes (Sealy et al., 2001). Plusieurs observations de l’espèce ont également été signalées au Mexique (Erickson et al., 1995) et en Grande-Bretagne (Waldon, 1994).


Nutrition et relations interspécifiques

Le Guillemot à cou blanc adulte se nourrit principalement de gros zooplanctons et de poissons. La composition de son régime alimentaire varie en fonction des saisons, de l’âge, de l’endroit et de la disponibilité des aliments (Sealy,1975; Vermeer et al., 1985; Gaston, 1994). Avant la reproduction, à la fin mars et au début avril, les oiseaux se nourrissent d’Euphausia pacifica; après le début de la période de reproduction, le Thysanoessa spinifera occupe une place importante dans leur alimentation (Sealy, 1975). Le poisson (y compris les larves et les juvéniles) compose l’essentiel du régime en juin. Lorsque la saison est plus avancée, le Guillemot à cou blanc consomme aussi du poisson, surtout du lançon gourdeau (Ammodytes hexapterus) et des sébastes (Sebastes spp.), mais également des poissons plats (Pleuronectidés), de la perche-mené (Cymatogaster aggregata) juvénile et des sourcils (Hexagrammos spp.) (Sealy, 1975).

L’information dont on dispose sur l’alimentation hivernale est peu abondante. Gaston et al. (1993) ont observé que, pendant la saison hivernale, les Guillemots à cou blanc se trouvant près de la côte sud-est de l’île de Vancouver se nourrissaient exclusivement d’Euphausia pacifica (Harfenist, 2003). En novembre, ils consommaient surtout du hareng (Clupea harengus) juvénile.

En outre, très peu de renseignements existent sur l’alimentation des oisillons. Les estomacs de huit jeunes récupérés en mer contenaient uniquement du lançon (Gaston, 1992). Une étude antérieure menée à l’île Langara a révélé que les estomacs de subadultes contenaient du lançon et des euphausiacés (Sealy, 1975).


Comportement et adaptabilité

Bien que le Guillemot à cou blanc niche dans n’importe quel type de forêts, la recolonisation suivant la destruction d’une forêt peut prendre beaucoup de temps (Gaston, 1994b). À l’île Limestone, une vaste zone dévastée par un feu n’était toujours pas utilisée par les guillemots vingt ans après, malgré une forte repousse d’aulnes.

La diminution de la superficie occupée les Guillemots à cou blanc aux colonies des îles Langara et Lyell semble s’expliquer par la prédation féroce exercée par les rats (Gaston, 1994b). Pour rétablir l’espèce après de tels déclins, il se peut qu’une densité et un nombre critiques de terriers actifs soient nécessaires afin d’attirer des recrues. Si c’est le cas, le rétablissement des colonies disparues est peu probable, en particulier avec des déclins de population fréquents dans l’ensemble de l’aire de reproduction.

Des préreproducteurs ont été capturés sur des îles autres que leur île natale, ce qui porte à croire que certains oiseaux se reproduisent ailleurs que dans leur colonie d’origine (Gaston, 1990). Par exemple, seulement 3 p. 100 des préreproducteurs qui ont été piégés à l’île Limestone Est y avaient été bagués au stade d’oisillon, alors qu’environ 50 p. 100 des oisillons avaient été bagués avant leur départ (Gaston, 1990; Gaston et Adkins, 1998). Des analyses d’ADN effectuées postérieurement pour les îles George et Limestone Est laissent aussi à penser que des oiseaux changent de colonies (Pearce et al, 2002). Cette capacité de passer d’une colonie à l’autre pourrait servir de mécanisme d’adaptation face à la pression croissante exercée par l’homme et les prédateurs, pourvu qu’un habitat convenable se trouve à proximité.

Enfin, les Guillemots à cou blanc sont très vulnérables aux perturbations sur leur site de nidification et vont jusqu’à abandonner leur terrier et leur couvée (Gaston et al., 1998). Comme les couples ne pondent pas d’œufs de remplacement, l’impact de l’abandon des nids est élevé et constitue la principale cause d’échec de la reproduction chez ces oiseaux (Gaston et Jones, 1998).