Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Ancient Murrelet in Canada

Population Sizes and Trends

Population declines have been observed at six colonies and eleven have been abandoned. Decreases have been observed on Langara, Lyell and Kunghit Islands because of introduced rats (Harfenist 1994; Bertram and Nagorsen 1995). Declines on Helgesen, Saunders and Limestone Islands have been attributed to raccoons, Procyon lotor (Gaston and Masselink 1997). Population increases of between 2.6% and 9.5% annually have been recorded on Reef, George, Ramsay and Lihou (Lemon and Gaston 1999, Table 1). Using data from colonies with surveys in both the 1980s and 1990s, an overall decline rate of approximately 18 percent over 10 years can be calculated.

Several small colonies in the southeast Moresby area have disappeared since the early 1970s. Murrelets were present on Low Island and the Skedans Islands in 1970, but were gone by 1983 (Summers 1974; Rodway et al. 1988). It is unlikely that either of these sites would have supported large populations because the islands are very small. Other colonies that have disappeared include Lucy, Cox, Instructor, Boulder, Sea Pigeon, Arichika, Bischof, Tar and High Islands (Rodway 1991). 


Population Estimates

There are an estimated 256 000 pairs of Ancient Murrelets nesting on 31 colonies in the Queen Charlotte Islands (Rodway 1991; Gaston 1992; Vermeer et al. 1997). The largest colonies are found on Frederick, George and Langara islands. Since the time that surveying began in the early 1970s, 6 colonies have decreased in size, 4 have increased, while 11 have been abandoned (Table 1, and section on Canadian range).

Table 1 (Colony census): Census and Monitoring of Ancient Murrelet Populations in the Queen Charlotte Islands (Lemon and Gaston 1999)
Colony census1980198119821983198419851986198819891991
Reef I.*     7 845    
East Limestone I.*   2 376    2 850 
Dodge Pt., Lyell I.  10 656       
George I.     11 614    
Langara I.* 82 650     63 150  
Frederick I.68 407         
Helgesen I.      6 804   
Lihou I.      6 452   
Kunghit I.+      44.2   

 

Table 1 (Colony census) continued: Census and Monitoring of Ancient Murrelet Populations in the Queen Charlotte Islands (Lemon and Gaston 1999)
Colony census19921993199519961998Annual change (%)References
Reef I.*  10 465  2.90Gaston and Lemon 1996
East Limestone I.*  2 122  -1.00Gaston and Lemon 1996
Dodge Pt., Lyell I.8 332    -2.25Lemon 1993a
George I.   17 384 3.70Lemon 1997
Langara I.* 41 220   -6.60Harfenist 1994
Frederick I.    70 3210.20Lemon, unpub.
Helgesen I. 1 139   -23Gaston and Masselink 1997
Lihou I. 12 140   9.50Gaston and Masselink 1997
Kunghit I.+ 11.1   -18Harfenist 1994

 

Table 1 (Monitoring plots): Census and Monitoring of Ancient Murrelet Populations in the Queen Charlotte Islands (Lemon and Gaston 1999)
Monitoring plots1980198119821983198419851986198819891991
Ramsay I.*    206     
George I.*     258   327

 

Table 1 (Monitoring plots) continued: Census and Monitoring of Ancient Murrelet Populations in the Queen Charlotte Islands (Lemon and Gaston 1999)
Monitoring plots19921993199519961998Annual change (%)References
Ramsay I.*252    2.60Lemon 1993b
George I.*   367 3.30Lemon 1997

* Counts or estimates of burrows: other figures are breeding population estimates in pairs of birds, except (+), colony area in ha.
Numbers for Frederick Island in 1998 are provisional, pending reanalysis of colony area.
Data from 1980 - 1988 for whole colony censuses are from Rodway et al. 1988, 1990 and 1994.
All estimates suggest increases ranging from 0,2 - 9,5% annually except where there are/were rats (Langara, Lyell, Kunghit), or raccoons (East Limestone, Helgesen).


Though there is evidence that birds can move between colonies that are close together, there is no evidence that individuals in abandoned colonies moved to another location.

Changes in population size of colonies recently surveyed in the Queen Charlotte Islands are summarized below. Many islands have not been surveyed in nearly 20 years and therefore that information has not been included as it offers no additional insight into population trends. Estimates made on Reef, East Limestone, Langara, Ramsay and George islands are based on counts or estimates of burrow numbers; Lyell, George, Helgesen and Lihou islands are estimates of breeding pairs of birds. Data from Frederick Island are provisional, pending re-analysis of the colony area. Overall, recent increases of between 0.2 and 9.5% have occurred on all islands except on those where rats or raccoons are found (Lemon and Gaston 1999). All colonies with alien predators decline, often dramatically.

Langara Island

Based on early surveys, historic levels of the Langara Island population were estimated at approximately 200 000 birds (Gaston 1994b). In 1971, initial estimates indicated a population of between 80 000 and 90 000 breeding pairs. Subsequent studies found that the population had declined to 25 700 pairs by 1981 (Rodway et al. 1983) and 24 100 pairs in 1988 (Bertram 1989). The area occupied by Ancient Murrelets had also contracted between 1981 and 1988. These data indicate a dramatic reduction in population size of what was probably the largest colony in the Queen Charlotte Islands and perhaps in the world (Nelson 1990).

Earlier studies showed that the colony on Langara Island was not only declining, but also becoming more dense, from a density of 840 burrows/ha in 1981 (Rodway et al. 1983) to 1358 burrows/ha in 1988 (Bertram 1989). Estimates of average density are obviously affected by the choice of colony boundary. For example, if some unoccupied areas are included, the density will be lower, but compensated for in the population size estimate by the increased area of the colony. However, a difference in where the colony boundary was does not explain the difference in density, because the mean density found by Bertram (1989) was greater than the maximum density found by Rodway et al. (1983). One reason for this increase in density may have been the presence of rats on the island.

Since the main rat eradication program was initiated on Langara Island in 1995, the population has not increased in size, though the colony area has expanded. By 1999, the breeding population had decreased from 14 630± 2 060 pairs in 1993, to 10 365 ± 2 011 pairs, but the difference was not statistically significant (Drever 2002). Preliminary analysis of 2004 data continues to show no statistically significant recovery for this population (Hipfner 2004, pers. comm.). However, in 1999, there was a significant decrease in burrow density (1800 ± 160 burrows/ha to 765 ± 104 burrows/ha). There was also an increase in overall colony size from 22.9 ha in 1993 to 35.6 ha in 1999, with colony expansion towards the shoreline where the rats used to be (Drever 2002). This supports the suggestion that the presence of the rats was influencing the burrow density in the colony. There may be other factors (e.g. changes in zooplankton production, mortality from commercial fishery) limiting the population on the island. (Drever 2002)

East Limestone Island and Reef Island

Studies of the Limestone Islands reveal that between 1974 and 1989, the population fell from an estimated 5000 pairs (Summers 1974), to approximately 1500 pairs (Rodway et al. 1988; Gaston et al. 1989). Only a small number of birds remained on the west island, occupying a small portion of the northeast corner. The population on East Limestone has either remained stable or decreased slightly (1% annual decrease) since the removal of the raccoons between 1985 and 1995, and presently (1999) is relatively stable (Gaston and Lemon 1996; Gray 2001). Reef Island, only 6 km away, experienced a population increase of 30% (annual increase of 2.9%) during that same time (1974-1989), based on census and chick-trapping results (Gaston and Lemon 1996). The presence of raccoons on East Limestone may explain the difference between colonies and may also explain the recruitment of Limestone birds to Reef Island (Gaston and Lemon 1996).

Rankine Islands

No discernable change in population has been noted on Rankine Island. The colony was surveyed in 2000, revisiting burrow density plots that had been set up in 1984. An analysis comparing the numbers of burrows in the plots in 1984 and 2000 revealed no change in numbers (M.J.F. Lemon, unpubl. data).

Frederick Island

Frederick Island was re-surveyed in 1998. There was a slight increase in population size, from 68 407 pairs in 1982 to 70 321 in 1998, an annual increase of 0.20% (M.J.F. Lemon, unpubl. data). There are no introduced predators on Frederick Island.

Other Islands

Introduced predators have caused reduction in populations on several islands, including Langara (rats), Helgesen (raccoons; annual decrease of 23% (Gaston and Masselink 1997), and may have caused the extirpation on others. The presence of rats has caused populations on other islands, such as Kunghit and Lyell, to decrease dramatically or disappear altogether, Kunghit Island experienced a decrease in colony size from 44.2 ha to 11.1 ha between 1986 and 1993 (annual decrease of 18%, Harfenist 1994, Bertram and Nagorsen 1995), and it now appears that the population was extirpated by 2004, (Hipfner 2004, pers. comm.). On Lyell Island, the population decreased from 10 656 burrows in 1982 to 8 332 in 1992 (25% decrease, or 2.5% per annum) with a 30% decline in colony area (Lemon 1993a). The impacts of predators appears to be long-lasting, as the populations on Helgesen, Little Helgesen and Saunders have shown no signs of recovery since raccoons were exterminated in the mid 1990’s (Hipfner 2004, pers. comm.).

On islands with no introduced predators, there has been an annual increase in population of between 0% and 9.5% (Lemon and Gaston 1999). Annual increases of 9.5% were seen on Lihou Island between 1986 and 1993 (Gaston and Masselink 1997), an island with no introduced predators, and this population continues to remain stable today (Hipfner 2004, pers. comm.)Some of these population increases may represent a shift in the distribution of birds away from islands with alien predators (Harfenist et al. 2002).

Monitoring Plots

In 1985 and 1986, Canadian Wildlife Service (CWS) field crews set up permanent monitoring plots on several Ancient Murrelet colonies in the Queen Charlotte Islands, including George and Ramsay Island. The plots were mapped and clearly marked on the ground and the numbers of burrows counted:

George Island - Number of burrows in 8 monitoring plots increased from 258 burrows in 1985 to 327 in 1991, an increase of 27%. In 1996, a total of 367 burrows were present, a further 12% increase (Lemon 1997). Overall, the population is estimated to have increased from 11 614 pairs in 1985 to 17 384 in 1996, an annual increase of 3.7% (Lemon and Gaston 1999).

Ramsay Island - A 1992 survey of the 1985 plots showed that burrow numbers on 11 monitoring plots had also increased (Lemon 1993b). A survey in 2002 showed an overall increase of 58% between 1984 and 2002 (M. Hipfner unpubl. data). These data indicate that the numbers of Ancient Murrelets are increasing in the Gwaii Haanas area. Both George and Ramsay Islands have no introduced predators.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur la situation du Guillemot à cou blanc au Canada – Mise à jour

Taille et tendances des populations

Six colonies ont connu un déclin et onze colonies ont été abandonnées. La baisse de population constatée sur les îles Langara, Lyell et Kunghit serait attribuable à l’introduction de rats (Harfenist, 1994; Bertram et Nagorsen, 1995). Dans le cas des îles Helgesen, Saunders et Limestone, la baisse a été attribuée aux ratons laveurs (Procyon lotor) (Gaston et Masselink, 1997). Des hausses de population allant de 2,6 à 9,5 p. 100 par année ont été enregistrées sur les îles Reef, George, Ramsay et Lihou (Lemon et Gaston, 1999; tableau 1). À partir des données sur les colonies étudiées dans les années 1980 et 1990, on obtient un taux de déclin global d’environ 18 p. 100 sur 10 ans.

Plusieurs colonies de petite taille de la région du sud-est de l’île Moresby sont disparues depuis le début des années 1970. L’espèce était présente sur l’île Low et les îles Skedans en 1970, mais, en 1983, elle n’y était plus (Summers, 1974; Rodway et al., 1988). Vu la petitesse de ces îles, il est peu probable qu’elles aient un jour été très peuplées. Parmi les autres colonies disparues, on compte celles des îles Lucy, Cox, Instructor, Boulder, Sea‑Pigeon, Arichika, Bischof, Tar et High (Rodway, 1991).


Estimations des populations

On estime à 256 000 le nombre de couples de Guillemots à cou blanc qui nichent dans les 31 colonies de l’archipel de la Reine-Charlotte (Rodway, 1991; Gaston, 1992; Vermeer et al., 1997). Les colonies les plus peuplées sont celles des îles Frederick, George et Langara. Depuis qu’on a commencé à étudier les colonies au début des années 1970, six colonies ont décliné, quatre ont vu leur population augmenter et onze ont été abandonnées (tableau 1, et section « Aire de répartition canadienne »). Malgré certains indices montrant que les oiseaux d’une colonie peuvent passer à une colonie voisine, aucun n’indique que des individus de colonies abandonnées se soient intégrés à une autre.

Tableau 1 (Recensement des colonies) : Recensement et suivi des populations de Guillemots à cou blanc des îles de la Reine-Charlotte (Lemon et Gaston, 1999)
Recensement des colonies1980198119821983198419851986198819891991
Île Reef*     7 845    
Île East Limestone*   2 376    2 850 
Île Dodge Pt., Lyell  10 656       
Île George     11 614    
Île Langara* 82 650     63 150  
Île Frederick68 407         
Île Helgesen      6 804   
Île Lihou      6 452   
Île Kunghit+      44,2   

 

Tableau 1 (Recensement des colonies) suite : Recensement et suivi des populations de Guillemots à cou blanc des îles de la Reine-Charlotte (Lemon et Gaston, 1999)
Recensement des colonies19921993199519961998Variation annuelle (%)Références
Île Reef*  10 465  2,90Gaston et Lemon, 1996
Île East Limestone*  2 122  -1,00Gaston et Lemon, 1996
Île Dodge Pt., Lyell8 332    -2,25Lemon, 1993a
Île George   17 384 3,70Lemon, 1997
Île Langara* 41 220   -6,60Harfenist, 1994
Île Frederick    70 3210,20Lemon, données inédites
Île Helgesen 1 139   -23Gaston et Masselink, 1997
Île Lihou 12 140   9,50Gaston et Masselink, 1997
Île Kunghit+ 11,1   -18Harfenist, 1994

 

Tableau 1 (Parcelles de surveillance) : Recensement et suivi des populations de Guillemots à cou blanc des îles de la Reine-Charlotte (Lemon et Gaston, 1999)
Parcelles de surveillance1980198119821983198419851986198819891991
Île Ramsay*    206     
Île George*     258   327

 

Tableau 1 (Parcelles de surveillance) suite : Recensement et suivi des populations de Guillemots à cou blanc des îles de la Reine-Charlotte (Lemon et Gaston, 1999)
Parcelles de surveillance19921993199519961998Variation annuelle (%)Références
Île Ramsay*252    2,60Lemon, 1993b
Île George*   367 3,30Lemon, 1997

* Décompte ou estimation du nombre de terriers. Les autres chiffres renvoient au nombre de couples d’oiseaux nicheurs, sauf pour (+) qui indique la
superficie en hectares de la colonie.
Les chiffres de 1998 pour l’île Frederick sont provisoires, dans l’attente d’une nouvelle analyse de la superficie de la colonie.
Les données de recensement des colonies datant de 1980 à 1988 sont tirées de Rodway et al., 1988, 1990 et 1994.
Tous les chiffres soutiennent des taux de croissance annuelle variant entre 0,2 % et 9,5 %, sauf lorsque que des rats (Langara, Lyell, Kunghit) ou des
ratons laveurs (East Limestone, Helgesen) sont présents ou l’ont déjà été.

Les changements dans la taille des populations récemment étudiées dans les îles de la Reine-Charlotte sont résumés ci-dessous. Un grand nombre d’îles n’ont pas fait l’objet de relevés depuis près de 20 ans; les informations touchant ces îles n’ont donc pas été incluses puisqu’elles n’offrent aucune perspective nouvelle sur les tendances des populations. Les estimations pour les îles Reef, Limestone Est, Langara, Ramsay et George sont fondées sur le dénombrement ou l’estimation du nombre de terriers. Les chiffres relatifs aux îles Lyell, George, Helgesen et Lihou sont des estimations du nombre de couples nicheurs. Les données concernant l’île Frederick sont provisoires, dans l’attente d’une nouvelle analyse de la superficie de la colonie. Globalement, des augmentations récentes de l’ordre de 0,2 p. 100 à 9,5 p. 100 par année ont été enregistrées sur toutes les îles sauf sur celles où des rats ou des ratons laveurs sont présents (Lemon et Gaston, 1999). Toutes les colonies exposées à des prédateurs introduits déclinent, souvent de manière considérable. 

Île Langara

D’après des données anciennes, on estime que les effectifs historiques de l’île Langara étaient d’environ 200 000 oiseaux (Gaston, 1994b). En 1971, on évaluait le nombre de couples nicheurs entre 80 000 et 90 000. Des études subséquentes ont montré que la population ne comptait plus que 25 700 couples en 1981 (Rodway et al., 1983) et 24 100 couples en 1988 (Bertram, 1989). La superficie de la zone occupée par les Guillemots à cou blanc a également diminué entre 1981 et 1988. Ces données indiquent une réduction alarmante des effectifs de ce qui était probablement la colonie la plus importante de l’archipel de la Reine-Charlotte, voire du monde entier (Nelson, 1990). 

Des études des années antérieures ont montré que la colonie de l’île Langara non seulement était en déclin mais aussi augmentait en densité, laquelle est passée de 840 terriers par hectare en 1981 (Rodway et al., 1983) à 1358 terriers par hectare en 1988 (Bertram, 1989). La détermination des limites des colonies a évidemment une incidence sur les estimations de la densité moyenne. Par exemple, si certaines zones non occupées sont incluses dans le calcul, la densité sera plus faible, mais il y aura compensation dans la taille de la population du fait que celle‑ci sera estimée sur la base d’une plus grande superficie. Toutefois, la détermination des limites de la colonie ne suffit pas à expliquer les différences de densité observées, car la densité moyenne déterminée par Bertram (1989) était plus élevée que la densité maximale établie par Rodway et al. (1983). La présence de rats sur l’île pourrait en partie expliquer cet accroissement de la densité. 

Depuis le lancement du principal programme d’éradication des rats de l’île Langara en 1995, la taille de la population n’a pas augmenté, mais la superficie de la colonie s’est accrue. De 14 630 ± 2060 couples en 1993, la population nicheuse est passée, en 1999, à 10 365 ± 2011 couples; cette différence n’est toutefois pas significative sur le plan statistique (Drever, 2002). L’analyse préliminaire des données de 2004 montre qu’un rétablissement significatif de cette population n’a pas encore été accompli (Hipfner, comm. pers., 2004). En revanche, on a constaté entre 1993 et 1999 une diminution significative de la densité de terriers (de 1800 ± 160 terriers/ha à 765 ± 104 terriers/ha). En outre, la superficie de la colonie a augmenté, passant de 22,9 hectares en 1993 à 35,6 hectares en 1999; la colonie s’est étendue en direction du littoral à des zones où les rats se tenaient auparavant (Drever, 2002). Cela corrobore l’hypothèse selon laquelle la présence des rats avait une incidence sur la densité de terriers. Il est possible que d’autres facteurs (p. ex. les variations dans la production de zooplancton et la mortalité associée à la pêche commerciale) limitent la population de l’île (Drever, 2002).

Île Limestone Est et île Reef

Les relevés effectués sur les îles Limestone indiquent que, entre 1974 et 1989, la population a chuté, passant de 5000 couples (Summers, 1974) à environ 1500 couples (Rodway et al., 1988; Gaston et al., 1989). Seul un petit nombre d’oiseaux sont restés sur l’île ouest, occupant une petite partie de l’extrême nord-est de l’île. La population de l’île Limestone Est est demeurée stable ou a légèrement diminué (baisse annuelle de 1 p. 100) depuis l’élimination des ratons laveurs entre 1985 et 1995,  et elle est présentement (en 1999) relativement stable (Gaston et Lemon, 1996; Gray, 2001). À seulement six kilomètres de là, sur l’île Reef, la population a augmenté de 30 p. 100 (croissance annuelle de 2,9 p. 100) pendant la même période (1974-1989), selon les recensements et les captures d’oisillons (Gaston et Lemon, 1996). La présence de ratons laveurs sur l’île Limestone Est pourrait expliquer la différence observée entre les deux colonies et le recrutement d’oiseaux de l’île Limestone Est sur l’île Reef (Gaston et Lemon, 1996).     

Îles Rankine

Aucun changement démographique perceptible n’a été noté sur l’île Rankine. Un relevé a été effectué en 2000, les parcelles de surveillance de la densité de terriers établies en 1984 ayant été revisitées. La comparaison du nombre de terriers en 1984 et en 2000 pour ces parcelles n’a révélé aucun changement (M.J.F. Lemon, données inédites).

Île Frederick

L’île Frederick a fait l’objet d’un nouveau relevé en 1998. On a constaté une légère augmentation de la population, laquelle est passée de 68 407 couples en 1982 à 70 321 couples en 1998, ce qui représente une augmentation annuelle de 0,20 p. 100 (M.J.F. Lemon, données inédites). Aucun prédateur n’a été introduit sur l’île Frederick.

Autres îles

L’introduction de prédateurs est à l’origine de la diminution de la population de plusieurs îles, comme à l’île Langara (rats) et à l’île Helgesen (ratons laveurs; baisse annuelle de 23 p. 100 [Gaston et Masselink, 1997]), et pourrait avoir causé la disparition de certaines colonies. Sur d’autres îles, comme celles de Kunghit et de Lyell, la prédation par les rats a causé une baisse dramatique des populations, voire leur disparition complète. La superficie de la colonie de l’île Kunghit est passée de 44,2 hectares à 11,1 hectares entre 1986 et 1993 (diminution annuelle de 18 p. 100) (Harfenist, 1994; Bertram et Nagorsen, 1995) et il semble qu’en 2004 elle était disparue (Hipfner, comm. pers, 2004). Le nombre de terriers sur l’île Lyell a baissé, passant de 10 656 terriers en 1982 à 8332 en 1992 (diminution de 25 p. 100, soit 2,5 p. 100 par année), et la superficie de la colonie a diminué de 30 p. 100 (Lemon, 1993a). Les prédateurs semblent avoir un impact de longue durée car les populations des îles Helgesen, Little Helgesen et Saunders ne présentent aucun signe de rétablissement depuis que les ratons laveurs y ont été éliminés vers le milieu des années 1990 (Hipfner, comm. pers., 2004). 

Les populations des îles sur lesquelles aucun prédateur n’a été introduit présentent une croissance annuelle variant entre 0 p. 100 et 9,5 p. 100 (Lemon et Gaston, 1999). Une croissance annuelle de 9,5 p. 100 a été enregistrée pour l’île Lihou entre 1986 et 1993 (Gaston et Masselink, 1997); cette île est exempte de prédateurs introduits et sa population demeure stable (Hipfner, comm. pers., 2004). Certaines hausses de population pourraient s’expliquer par un changement dans la répartition des oiseaux, certains oiseaux pouvant avoir quitté des îles abritant des prédateurs introduits (Harfenist et al., 2002).

Parcelles de surveillance

En 1985 et 1986, des équipes du Service canadien de la faune (SCF) travaillant sur le terrain ont délimité des parcelles de surveillance permanentes dans plusieurs colonies de Guillemots à cou blanc des îles de la Reine-Charlotte, notamment les îles George et Ramsay. Les parcelles ont été cartographiées et clairement délimitées sur le terrain, et on a procédé au décompte des terriers.

Île George – Le nombre de terriers a augmenté dans les huit parcelles de surveillance, passant de 258 en 1985 à 327 en 1991, ce qui représente une augmentation de 27 p. 100. En 1996, le nombre avait augmenté de 12 p. 100, avec 367 terriers (Lemon, 1997). Globalement, on estime que la population a augmenté de 3,7 p. 100 par année, de 11 614 couples en 1985 à 17 384 couples en 1996 (Lemon et Gaston, 1999).

Île Ramsay – Le relevé effectué en 1992 dans les onze parcelles délimitées en 1985 a montré que le nombre de terriers avait augmenté (Lemon, 1993b). Un relevé mené en 2002 fait ressortir une hausse globale de 58 p. 100 entre 1984 et 2002 (M. Hipfner, données inédites). Ces données indiquent que le nombre de Guillemots à cou blanc augmente dans la région de Gwaii Haanas. Aucun prédateur n’a été introduit sur les îles George et Ramsay.