Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and status report on the eastern ribbonsnake in Canada

Biology

 

Feeding habits

The Northern Ribbonsnake feeds in the morning or early evening, and prey is detected both by olfaction and by vision (Ernst and Barbour, 1989). Many authors have commented on the absence of earthworms in the diet of this species (Ditmars, 1907; Toner, 1935; Logier, 1958; Froom, 1972; Minton, 1972; Lazell, 1976; Harding, 1997), unlike most other members of the genus.  Carpenter (1952a) examined the food preferences of 547 Michigan ribbonsnakes, in both field and laboratory. Amphibians comprised 90% of prey items taken in the wild. Two fish and two caterpillars were also recovered from ribbonsnakes, with the remainder of food items consisting of unidentified material. In laboratory feeding trials, many of the prey items offered were not consumed, including small gartersnakes (Thamnophis spp.), hairy caterpillars, soft bodied caterpillars (which were consumed in the field), spiders, ants, grasshoppers, beetles, leeches and earthworms. Conversely, several prey items not found in wild-caught ribbonsnakes were accepted in the laboratory: these included Jefferson's Salamanders (Ambystoma jeffersonianum), American Toads (Bufo americanus), minnows and chopped fish. Carpenter (1952a) believed that the scarcity of fish as prey in the wild snakes’ diet was probably due to the difficulty the snakes have in capturing them, because fish were readily eaten in the laboratory.

Brown (1979) examined the stomach contents of 21 Northern Ribbonsnakes from Michigan and New York. All 27 food items found were amphibian and 93% were anurans. Small Leopard Frogs (Rana pipiens) comprised 18 of the 27 food items. Other species consumed in smaller numbers were Spring Peepers (Pseudacris crucifer), newts (Notophthalmus spp.), a Green Frog (R. clamitans), a very small American toad (Bufo americanus) and (probably) a Pickerel Frog (R. palustris). Only three of the 21 stomachs examined contained more than one food item.  Betz (1981) made observations on the feeding preferences of a captive Northern Ribbonsnake from the Bruce Peninsula, Ontario. The snake refused every frog offered to it, feeding instead chiefly on Redback Salamanders (Plethodon cinereus). Minnows and goldfish were also consumed occasionally.

Evans (1942) describes the fishing method used by two ribbonsnakes in Missouri. The snakes swam with mouths fully open and upon contact with a fish the mouth immediately closed, thus capturing the prey. Carpenter (1952a) watched an adult female ribbonsnake chasing frogs along the shoreline of a pool in Michigan. Over a period of 45 minutes, the snake chased and missed eight frogs.

As might be expected, there are also stray reports of atypical prey taken by ribbonsnakes. Hamilton and Pollack (1956) reported a large lycosid spider as the only prey item in the stomach of an Eastern Ribbonsnake. Young ribbonsnakes may consume insects on a more regular basis (Froom, 1972).

Reproduction

Ribbonsnakes are viviparous, with a small average litter size ranging from 5 to 12 (Froom, 1972), and a maximum of 20 (Logier, 1958; Johnson, 1989). Milnes (1946) reported a brood of 10 born in captivity on 5 September, while Gilhen (1984) reported a litter of seven, also born on 5 September, in Nova Scotia. It is believed that Northern Ribbonsnakes have reproductive strategies similar to Eastern Ribbonsnakes (Hunter et al., 1992).  In the Great Lakes region, some Northern Ribbonsnakes mature by their second year, whereas the remainder mature in their third year (Harding, 1997). Although growth slows for both sexes after maturity, females appear to continue growing at a faster rate than males (ibid.). Brood size is significantly correlated with snout-to-vent length in Western Ribbonsnakes (Thamnophis proximus) (Clark, 1974); this is likely the same in Northern Ribbonsnakes.

Burt (1928) studied the relation of size to maturity in Michigan Eastern Ribbonsnakes. She determined that females are able to reproduce at a minimum total length of 600 mm. Seven of 13 mature females in her study did not produce young, a possible indication of low reproductive output for this species. It has been previously noted that ribbonsnakes produce fewer young than the majority of other species of the same genus (Ditmars, 1907; Swanson, 1952).

Courtship and mating generally occur in early spring, soon after emergence, but fall mating may also occur (Harding, 1997).  Johnson (1989) described the aquatic courtship of a pair of Ontario ribbonsnakes in April. The male approached by circling the female repeatedly, then dipping his head and entwining the female's body as she swam. He swam away from her for brief periods, during which time the female would circle back if he strayed too far away. This behaviour continued for 10 minutes, after which time the male tongue-flicked the female and aligned his body with hers.

Physiology

Carpenter (1956) studied the relationship between cloacal and environmental temperatures in a Michigan population of Eastern Ribbonsnakes. Cloacal temperatures were correlated more strongly with ground surface temperatures than with air or soil temperatures. More than 70% of cloacal temperatures were between 20º C and 30º C, thus indicating the preferred body temperature range for these snakes. During cold weather, cloacal temperatures were above the immediate environmental temperature; conversely, during hot weather cloacal temperatures were below the immediate environmental temperature.

Snake lungs appear to be common sites for parasitic infection. Chu (1936) examined ribbonsnakes from Michigan and West Virginia, and found them all to contain the nematode worm Rhabdias fuscovenosa catanensis, with average burdens of 7.4 and 48, respectively. Goodman (1951) also noted the tendency for “practically all gartersnakes” to be heavily parasitized by trematodes when collected in nature. He did not believe that these parasites greatly affected the health of their hosts.

Growth and survivorship

Newborn Northern Ribbonsnakes range in size from 160-240 mm total length (Harding, 1997). Total adult length averages 429.2 mm for males and 498.0 mm for females in Indiana (Minton, 1972).

Carpenter (1952b) studied the growth of Michigan ribbonsnakes in some detail, using a mark-recapture method. He found that smaller snakes grew more rapidly than larger individuals. Over a period of approximately five months, small ribbonsnakes increased in length by 13-25%, compared to an increase of 0.43-2% seen in larger specimens. Carpenter also found that the growth rate of males decreased more rapidly than the growth rate of females, and thus for any group of cohorts, females were larger than males, on average. Growth rates for specific age classes could not be determined because individual variation in growth obscured distinct size classes for snakes of the same age.

Information on survivorship is limited. Willis et al. (1982) studied tail loss patterns in ribbonsnakes and found that injured snakes less than 300 mm long (snout-vent) were never recaptured. They hypothesized that although the injuries were not immediately fatal, they created enough physiological stress during hibernation to kill small individuals. In Ontario, recruitment of young individuals might be low; of 71 ribbonsnakes found during the Hamilton Herpetofaunal Atlas, only one was a juvenile (Lamond, 1994).

Hibernation

In Ontario, the extreme recorded dates of Northern Ribbonsnake activity are from 28 March to 6 December (Mike Oldham, unpubl. data, OHS). In most years, however, the period of activity is from April to October (Lamond, 1994; Harding, 1997). In Nova Scotia, the extreme dates are 23 April to 2 October (Gilhen, 1984). During mild spells in winter and early spring, gartersnakes (genus Thamnophis) are known to come out of hibernation for short periods to sun themselves (Carpenter, 1956).

Carpenter (1953) examined the hibernacula and hibernating associations of snakes and amphibians in Michigan. An ant mound, a meadow vole tunnel and a crayfish burrow were excavated in search of hibernating reptiles and amphibians. Eleven Eastern Ribbonsnakes were found in the ant mound, five in the meadow vole tunnel, and none in the crayfish burrow. The uppermost ribbonsnake in the ant mound was dead, apparently frozen. It is believed that Ontario ribbonsnakes hibernate in animal burrows or rock crevices (Lamond, 1994). Because snakes must use hibernacula created by other animals or geologic events, their abundance may be limited by shortage of suitable overwintering sites (Carpenter, 1953).

Behaviour

The adjectives most often associated with ribbonsnake behaviour are “active” (Ditmars, 1907; Morris, 1974; Lazell Jr., 1976; Martof et al., 1980; Johnson, 1989; Harding, 1997) and “timid” and/or “nervous” (Conant, 1938b; Morris, 1974; Froom, 1972; Strickland and Rutter, 1992).  Ribbonsnakes generally do not attempt to bite when handled (Ernst and Barbour, 1989; Froom, 1972; Martof et al., 1980; Lewis, 1991).  Antipredator response in ribbonsnakes has been the focus of several studies. Scribner and Weatherhead (1995) found that ribbonsnakes rely more heavily on crypsis than on locomotion for escape from predators. Conversely, Bowers et al. (1993) found that ribbonsnakes often fled in response to predatory threat, occasionally striking as they moved away.

Ribbonsnakes are also well-known for their climbing ability (Logier, 1958; Cochran and Goin, 1970; Leviton, 1971), and have been observed as high as 2 m up in bushes (Carpenter, 1952a). Climbing and retreat into shade are behaviours associated with temperature regulation (Carpenter, 1956). During very hot and dry summers, ribbonsnakes may estivate for short periods (Ernst and Barbour, 1989).

Ribbonsnakes are predominantly diurnal, but they may forage at night during the frog breeding season (Ernst and Barbour, 1989). A gregarious species, three or four individuals are often found under a single board (Milnes, 1946). John Gilhen reported an aggregation of “some 40 or more adults, juveniles and young just lying about along the shore and on the surface in the shallows” (pers. comm.). He did qualify this observation, however, with the comment that he had never before or since witnessed an aggregation of this magnitude.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur la situation de la couleuvre mince au Canada

Biologie

 

Habitudes alimentaires

La couleuvre mince du Nord se nourrit le matin ou au début de la soirée; elle détecte ses proies par l’odorat et la vue (Ernst et Barbour, 1989). Plusieurs auteurs mentionnent qu’elle ne consomme pas de vers de terre (Ditmars, 1907; Toner, 1935; Logier, 1958; Froom, 1972; Minton, 1972; Lazell, 1976; Harding, 1997), contrairement à la majorité des autres espèces du même genre. Carpenter (1952a) a étudié les préférences alimentaires de 547 couleuvres minces du Michigan sur le terrain et en laboratoire. Les amphibiens représentaient 90 p. 100 des proies consommées en milieu naturel. On a également trouvé dans leur estomac deux poissons et deux chenilles, le reste des aliments consommés n’ayant pu être identifié. Lors d’essais effectués en laboratoire, beaucoup des proies offertes n’ont pas été consommées : petites couleuvres (Thamnophis spp.), chenilles velues, chenilles nues (qui étaient cependant consommées en milieu naturel), araignées, fourmis, sauterelles, coléoptères, sangsues et vers de terre. À l’inverse, plusieurs types de proies qui n’avaient pas été trouvés dans l’estomac des individus capturés en milieu sauvage étaient consommés en laboratoire : salamandres de Jefferson (Amblystoma jeffersonianum), crapauds d’Amérique (Bufo americanus), menés et poisson haché. Comme les couleuvres minces mangeaient facilement des poissons en laboratoire, Carpenter (1952a) pense que ces proies sont rarement consommées en milieu naturel parce que les serpents ont des difficultés à les capturer.

Brown (1979) a examiné le contenu stomacal de 21 couleuvres minces du Nord provenant des États du Michigan et de New York. Les 27 proies trouvées étaient des amphibiens, et 93 p. 100 d’entre elles étaient des anoures. Sur les 27 proies, 18 étaient de petites grenouilles léopards (Rana pipiens). Parmi les autres espèces consommées en moins grand nombre, on trouvait la rainette crucifère (Pseudacris crucifer), des tritons (Notophthalmus spp.), une grenouille verte (R. clamitans), un crapaud d’Amérique (Bufo americanus) de très petite taille et (probablement) une grenouille des marais (R. palustris). Seulement 3 des 21 estomacs examinés contenaient plus d’une proie. Betz (1981) a effectué des observations sur les préférences alimentaires d’une couleuvre mince du Nord captive provenant de la péninsule Bruce, en Ontario. Elle refusait toutes les grenouilles qui lui étaient offertes et se nourrissait principalement de salamandres rayées (Plethodon cinereus). Occasionnellement, elle consommait aussi des menés et des poissons rouges.

Evans (1942) décrit la méthode de pêche de deux couleuvres minces du Missouri. Elles nageaient avec la bouche grande ouverte et, lorsque celle‑ci entrait en contact avec un poisson, elles la fermaient brusquement pour le capturer. Carpenter (1952a) a observé une couleuvre mince femelle adulte qui pourchassait des grenouilles sur la rive d’une mare au Michigan. Sur une période de 45 minutes, elle a tenté de capturer huit grenouilles sans y parvenir.

Comme on peut s’y attendre, il existe également des rapports occasionnels concernant la capture de proies atypiques par la couleuvre mince. Hamilton et Pollack (1956) signalent que l’estomac d’un individu contenait uniquement une grosse araignée de la famille des Lycosidae. Les jeunes couleuvres consomment peut‑être plus souvent des insectes (Froom, 1972).

Reproduction

La couleuvre mince est vivipare; le nombre moyen de petits de chaque portée est peu élevé, soit de 5 à 12 œufs (Froom, 1972), le maximum étant de 20 (Logier, 1958; Johnson, 1989). Milnes (1946) signale la naissance d’une portée de 10 petits le 5 septembre; Gilhen (1984) signale la naissance d’une portée de 7 petits, également le 5 septembre, en Nouvelle‑Écosse. On pense que la stratégie de reproduction de la couleuvre mince du Nord est semblable à celle de l’espèce en général (Hunter et al., 1992). Dans la région des Grands Lacs, certaines couleuvres minces du Nord arrivent à maturité pendant leur deuxième année de vie, et les autres pendant leur troisième année (Harding, 1997). Chez les deux sexes, la croissance ralentit après la maturité, mais il semble que les femelles continuent de grandir plus rapidement que les mâles (ibid.). Chez le Thamnophis proximus, il y a une corrélation significative entre la taille des portées et la longueur museau‑cloaque (Clark, 1974); c’est probablement aussi le cas chez la couleuvre mince du Nord.

Burt (1928) a étudié la relation entre la taille et la maturité chez des couleuvres minces du Michigan. Elle a établi que les femelles étaient en mesure de se reproduire lorsqu’elles atteignaient une longueur totale minimale de 600 mm. Sur les 13 femelles à maturité couvertes par l’étude, 7 n’ont pas eu de petits, ce qui semble indiquer que cette espèce a un taux de reproduction faible. On a déjà remarqué que la couleuvre mince produisait moins de petits que la majorité des autres espèces du même genre (Ditmars, 1907; Swanson, 1952).

La parade nuptiale et l’accouplement ont généralement lieu au début du printemps, peu après l’émergence, mais l’espèce peut également s’accoupler en automne (Harding, 1997). Johnson (1989) a décrit la parade nuptiale aquatique d’un couple de couleuvres minces de l’Ontario au mois d’avril. Le mâle s’approchait de la femelle en la contournant de nombreuses fois, puis il trempait la tête dans l’eau et entourait la femelle pendant qu’elle nageait. Il la quittait pendant de courts instants, et elle le suivait lorsqu’il s’éloignait trop. Ce comportement a duré 10 minutes, puis le mâle a exploré la femelle avec sa langue et a aligné son corps avec le sien.

Physiologie

Carpenter (1956) a étudié la relation entre la température cloacale et la température ambiante chez une population de couleuvres minces du Michigan. La température cloacale était plus fortement corrélée avec celle de la surface du sol qu’avec celle de l’air ou du sol. Plus de 70 p. 100 des valeurs mesurées se situaient entre 20 et 30 oC, ce qui donne une indication de la température corporelle préférée chez cette espèce. Par temps froid, les températures cloacales étaient supérieures aux valeurs mesurées dans l’environnement immédiat; à l’inverse, par temps chaud, les températures cloacales étaient inférieures aux valeurs mesurées dans l’environnement immédiat.

Il semble que chez les serpents, les poumons soient souvent infectés par des parasites. Chu (1936) a examiné des couleuvres minces du Michigan et de la Virginie occidentale qui étaient toutes infectées par le ver nématode Rhabdias fuscovenosa catanensis, les charges moyennes étant respectivement de 7,4 et de 48. Goodman (1951) a également remarqué que pratiquement toutes les couleuvres (Thamnophis) capturées en milieu naturel contenaient un grand nombre de trématodes parasites. Il ne pensait pas que la présence de ceux‑ci avait un grand effet sur l’état de santé de leurs hôtes.

Croissance et survie

La longueur totale des couleuvres minces du Nord nouveau-nées va de 160 à 240 mm (Harding, 1997). En Indiana, la moyenne de la longueur totale des adultes est de 429,2 mm pour les mâles et de 498,0 mm pour les femelles (Minton, 1972).

Carpenter (1952b) a fait une étude détaillée de la croissance des couleuvres minces du Michigan à l’aide d’une méthode de marquage et recapture. Il a établi que les individus de moindre taille grandissaient plus rapidement que ceux de plus grande taille. Sur une période d’environ cinq moins, la longueur des petites couleuvres s’est accrue de 13 à 25 p. 100 contre 0,43 à 2 p. 100 chez les plus grosses. Carpenter a également constaté que le taux de croissance des mâles diminuait plus rapidement que celui des femelles; dans tout groupe de cohortes, les femelles étaient donc plus grosses que les mâles en moyenne. Il a été impossible de déterminer les taux de croissance de groupes d’âge spécifiques parce que les variations individuelles masquaient les classes de taille des individus du même âge.

L’information relative au taux de survie est limitée. Willis et al. (1982) ont étudié les types de pertes de queue chez les couleuvres minces, et ils ont constaté que les individus blessés d’une longueur de moins de 300 mm (museau‑cloaque) n’étaient jamais recapturés. Ils ont émis l’hypothèse selon laquelle les blessures n’étaient pas mortelles dans l’immédiat, mais qu’elles créaient un stress physiologique suffisant pendant l’hibernation pour tuer les petits individus. En Ontario, le recrutement des jeunes pourrait être faible; des 71 individus trouvés pour la réalisation de l’atlas herpétofaunique de Hamilton, un seul était un juvénile (Lamond, 1994).

Hibernation

En Ontario, les dates extrêmes d’observation de couleuvres minces du Nord en activité sont le 28 mars et le 6 décembre (Mike Oldham, données non publiées, OHS). La plupart des années, cependant, la période d’activité va d’avril à octobre (Lamond, 1994; Harding, 1997). En Nouvelle‑Écosse, les dates extrêmes sont le 23 avril et le 2 octobre (Gilhen, 1984). Au cours de l’hiver, pendant les périodes de redoux, les couleuvres (genre Thamnophis) sortent d’hibernation pendant de courts intervalles pour prendre des bains de soleil (Carpenter, 1956).

Au Michigan, Carpenter (1953) a examiné les hibernacula et les associations d’hibernation de serpents et d’amphibiens. Il a excavé une fourmilière, un tunnel de campagnol des champs et un terrier d’écrevisse pour y rechercher les reptiles et les amphibiens en hibernation. Il a trouvé 11 couleuvres minces dans la fourmilière, cinq dans le tunnel de campagnol des champs et aucune dans le terrier d’écrevisse. Dans la fourmilière, la couleuvre mince qui se trouvait le plus haut était morte, apparemment par congélation. On pense qu’en Ontario les couleuvres minces hibernent dans les terriers d’autres animaux ou dans les crevasses des rochers (Lamond, 1994). Comme les serpents doivent occuper les hibernacula creusés par d’autres animaux ou créés par des phénomènes géologiques, leur abondance pourrait être limitée par le manque de sites d’hibernation adéquats (Carpenter, 1953).

Comportement

Les qualificatifs les plus employés pour décrire le comportement de la couleuvre mince sont les suivants : « active » (Ditmars, 1907; Morris, 1974; Lazell Jr., 1976; Martof et al., 1980; Johnson, 1989; Harding, 1997) et « craintive » (timid) ou « nerveuse » (Conant, 1938b; Morris, 1974; Froom, 1972; Strickland et Rutter, 1992). Lorsqu’on la manipule, la couleuvre mince ne tente généralement pas de mordre (Ernst et Barbour, 1989; Froom, 1972; Martof et al., 1980; Lewis, 1991). Plusieurs études ont porté sur la réponse défensive des couleuvres minces en présence de prédateurs. Scribner et Weatherhead (1995) ont établi qu’elles se fient plus à leur camouflage qu’à la locomotion pour leur échapper. À l’inverse, Bowers et al. (1993) ont constaté que cette espèce fuyait souvent en présence d’un prédateur et qu’elles tentaient occasionnellement de mordre tout en s’éloignant.

L’aptitude de la couleuvre mince à grimper est bien connue (Logier, 1958; Cochran et Goin, 1970; Leviton, 1971), et elle a déjà été observée dans des buissons à une hauteur de 2 m (Carpenter, 1952a). Les comportements d’escalade et de retrait dans un endroit ombragé sont associés à la thermorégulation (Carpenter, 1956). Pendant les été très chauds et secs, les couleuvres minces peuvent avoir de courtes périodes d’estivation (Ernst et Barbour, 1989).

La couleuvre mince est avant tout diurne, mais elle se nourrit parfois la nuit pendant la saison de reproduction des grenouilles (Ernst et Barbour, 1989). L’espèce est également grégaire, et on trouve souvent trois ou quatre individus sous la même planche (Milnes, 1946). John Gilhen signale un groupement de quelque 40 individus ou plus, adultes, juvéniles et jeunes, sur un rivage et à la surface des parties peu profondes d’un plan d’eau (comm. pers.). Il précise cependant qu’il n’avait jamais été témoin d’un regroupement de cette importance auparavant.