Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Cerulean Warbler in Canada

Distribution

Global Range

The Cerulean Warbler breeds mainly from north-central Minnesota, northern Wisconsin, the central Lower Peninsula of Michigan, southern Ontario, New York, and western Vermont, south through Massachusetts, Connecticut, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, northern Delaware, West Virginia, North Carolina, and northern Georgia, and west to central Arkansas, Missouri and Iowa. Local breeding has also been recorded in the north (southeastern Quebec), south (northern Mississippi) and west (eastern Oklahoma, Kansas and Nebraska) (Figure 2; Dunn and Garret 1997; Hamel 2000a; Rosenberg et al. 2000). The Cerulean Warbler is not uniformly distributed throughout this range with notable concentrations in the Cumberland Mountains of Tennessee, the Montezuma Wetlands complex in New York, southern Illinois, southeastern Ontario, and West Virginia. Casual records exist in North America in both Canada (Manitoba, northern Ontario, New Brunswick, Newfoundland, Nova Scotia) and the United States (Arizona, California, Colorado, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Dakota).


Figure 2: Breeding Distribution of the Cerulean Warbler in North America

Figure 2: Breeding distribution of the Cerulean Warbler in North America (modified from Hamel 2000a).

Modified from Hamel 2000a.

The Cerulean Warbler winters in the Andes Mountains of South America (Figure 3). The range includes northern and western Venezuela, both slopes of the Andes in Columbia, and the eastern slope of the Andes in Ecuador, Peru, and Bolivia (Ridgley and Tudor 1989; Robbins et al. 1992). Extralimital sightings include 2 sightings from southeastern Brazil (Ridgely and Tudor 1989), occasional sightings from eastern Venezuela and the western slope of the Andes in Ecuador (Dunn and Garrett 1997) as well as winter sightings from the Grand Caymans, Costa Rica and Panama (Bent 1953; Hamel 2000a). This species tends to be restricted to elevations between 500 and 1500 m (Robbins et al. 1992).

The bulk of Cerulean Warbler migration (both spring and fall) appears to occur along the Mississippi and Ohio River valley (Hamel 2000a). This species generally migrates across the Gulf of Mexico and, to a lesser extent, along the Caribbean coast of Central America (Parker 1994; Howell and Webb 1995; Hamel 2000a). Fall records from Bermuda and the West Indes indicate that some of the population migrates through the Greater Antilles (Dunn and Garrett 1997).


Figure 3: Winter Distribution of the Cerulean Warbler in South America

Figure 3: Winter distribution of the Cerulean Warbler in South America (modified from Ridgley and Tudor 1989). Star represents extralimital sighting in southeastern Brazil.

Modified from Ridgley and Tudor 1989). Star represents extralimital sighting in southeastern Brazil.


Canadian Range

The Canadian breeding range for the Cerulean Warbler has not changed appreciably since McCracken’s 1993 initial COSEWIC status report. There still appear to be two main breeding geographic clusters in Ontario (in southern Ontario in Carolinian forests between lower Lake Huron and Lake Ontario, and a more northerly band between the Bruce Peninsula east to the Ottawa River with concentration on the Frontenac Axis at the east end of Lake Ontario). There is also a small number of breeding individuals in southeastern Quebec (Figure 4). Although incomplete, the current Ontario breeding bird atlas effort indicates that the two Ontario geographic clusters are still present (with some local extinctions and colonizations of sites). Records from the Banque de données sur les oiseaux menacés du Québec (BDOMQ; Shaffer pers. comm. 2002) indicate that singing males have been recorded in Quebec at 14 sites since 1965. However, only 8 of these sites have had more than one individual and breeding has only been confirmed at 6 of these 8 (Figure 4).


Figure 4: Current Breeding Distribution of the Cerulean Warbler in Canada

Figure 4: Current breeding distribution of the Cerulean Warbler in Canada.

Eagles 1987, McCracken 1993, Cyr and Larivée 1995 and the 2001-2 Ontario Breeding Bird Atlas.
Circles refer to detections during the 1st and 2nd (2001-2 only) Ontario Breeding Bird Atlas projects
(Closed circles = detected in both atlases;
open circles = detected in 1st atlas, not yet detected in 2nd;
bottom-filled circles = detected in 2nd atlas only).
Squares refer to Quebec locations
(open squares = detected only once;
top-filled squares = sightings in multiple years;
filled squares = breeding evidence).

Modified from Ouellet 1967.

Cerulean Warblers are very rarely caught at banding stations (e.g. 35 records from the Long Point Bird Observatory, 1967-2002, Francis pers. comm. 2002). The earliest documented arrival in Ontario is 18 April (Hamel 2000a) and 6 May in Quebec (David 1996). At one site in eastern Ontario (Queen’s University Biological Station), there appears to have been a shift towards earlier arrival over the last 8 years (13 May in 1994, 2 May in 2001; Jones et al. unpubl. data). Most adult birds have left Canadian breeding sites by late August.

Cerulean Warblers are considered accidental in Nova Scotia (17 records; Currie pers. com. 2002) and in New Brunswick (6 records; Christie pers. com. 2002), and rare in Newfoundland (7 records, Montevecchi pers. com. 2002). A single female found near Whitewater Lake, Manitoba, on 2 June 1924 represents the only confirmed record in Canada west of the Manitoba-Ontario border (Taylor pers. com. 2002).

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur la Paruline azurée au Canada – Mise à jour

Répartition

Répartition mondiale

La Paruline azurée se reproduit principalement entre le Centre-Nord du Minnesota, le Nord du Wisconsin, le centre de la basse péninsule du Michigan, le Sud de l’Ontario, l’État de New York et l’Ouest du Vermont, au nord, et le Massachusetts, le Connecticut, le New Jersey, la Pennsylvanie, le Nord du Delaware, la Virginie-Occidentale, la Caroline du Nord et le Nord de la Géorgie, au sud, ainsi que le centre de l’Arkansas, le Missouri et l’Iowa, à l’ouest. On a également rapporté des activités de reproduction par endroits dans le Nord (Sud-Est du Québec), dans le Sud (Nord du Mississippi) et dans l’Ouest (est de l’Oklahoma, Kansas et Nebraska) (figure 2; Dunn et Garret, 1997; Hamel, 2000a; Rosenberg et al., 2000). La répartition de l’espèce dans cette aire n’est pas uniforme. En effet, on observe d’importantes concentrations d’individus dans les monts Cumberland au Tennessee, le complexe de milieux humides de Montezuma dans l’État de New York, le Sud de l’Illinois, le Sud-Est de l’Ontario et la Virginie-Occidentale. Des mentions sont enregistrées à l’occasion en Amérique du Nord, tant au Canada (Manitoba, Nord de l’Ontario, Nouveau-Brunswick, Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, Nouvelle-Écosse) qu’aux États-Unis (Arizona, Californie, Colorado, Nevada, New Hampshire, Nouveau-Mexique, Dakota du Nord).


Figure 2 : Répartition de la Paruline azurée dans l’aire de reproduction en Amérique du Nord

Figure 2 : Répartition de la Paruline azurée dans l’aire de reproduction en Amérique du Nord

Modifiée d’après Hamel, 2000a.

La Paruline azurée passe l’hiver dans la cordillère des Andes, en Amérique du Sud (figure 3). L’aire d’hivernage englobe le Nord et l’Ouest du Venezuela, les deux versants des Andes en Colombie, et le versant est de la cordillère en Équateur, au Pérou et en Bolivie (Ridgley et Tudor, 1989; Robbins et al., 1992). L’espèce a été observée en dehors de ces limites, entre autres deux fois dans le Sud-Est du Brésil (Ridgely et Tudor, 1989), à quelques reprises dans l’Est du Venezuela et sur le versant Ouest des Andes en Équateur (Dunn et Garrett, 1997), de même qu’en hiver, aux îles Caïmans, au Costa Rica et au Panama (Bent, 1953; Hamel, 2000a). L’espèce a tendance à se confiner à des zones dont l’élévation varie entre 500 et 1 500 mètres (Robbins et al., 1992).

Lors de la migration, au printemps et à l’automne, la masse des individus longe les vallées du Mississippi et de l’Ohio (Hamel, 2000a). Les Parulines azurées survolent en général le golfe du Mexique et, dans une moindre mesure, suit les côtes des Caraïbes, en Amérique centrale (Parker, 1994; Howell et Webb, 1995; Hamel, 2000a). Des mentions rapportées des Bermudes et des Antilles à l’automne révèlent qu’une partie de la population migre en passant par les Grandes Antilles (Dunn et Garrett, 1997).


Figure 3 : Répartition de la Paruline azurée dans l’aire d’hivernage en Amérique du Sud

Figure 3 :  Répartition de la Paruline azurée dans l’aire d’hivernage en Amérique du Sud (modifiée d’après Ridgley et Tudor, 1989).

Modifiée d’après Ridgley et Tudor, 1989). L’étoile indique une observation à l’extérieur de l’aire, dans le Sud-Est du Brésil.


Répartition canadienne

L’aire de reproduction de la Paruline azurée n’a pas beaucoup changé depuis la rédaction du premier rapport de situation du CSEMDC (Comité sur le statut des espèces menacées de disparition au Canada) par McCracken en 1993. L’Ontario abrite toujours deux grands noyaux géographiques, l’un dans le Sud de la province, dans les forêts caroliniennes qui séparent le secteur inférieur du lac Huron et le lac Ontario, et l’autre plus au nord, dans le corridor qui s’étend vers l’est entre la péninsule Bruce et la rivière des Outaouais, où les nicheurs se concentrent sur l’axe de Frontenac à la pointe est du lac Ontario. Un petit nombre d’individus se reproduit également dans le Sud-Est du Québec (figure 4). Bien qu’incomplète, la version courante de l’Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de l’Ontario (www.birdsontario.org/atlas/atlasmain.html) confirme bien l’existence de ces deux noyaux géographiques en Ontario, même si la disparition de quelques foyers locaux et la colonisation de sites les ont redessinés. La Banque de données sur les oiseaux menacés du Québec (BDOMQ; Shaffer, comm. pers., 2002) fait état de mentions de mâles chanteurs en 14 endroits dans cette province depuis 1965. Cependant, seuls huit de ces sites ont accueilli plus d’un individu, et l’on n’a confirmé des activités de reproduction qu’à six de ces huit endroits (figure 4).


Figure 4 : Répartition actuelle de la Paruline azurée dans l’aire de reproduction au Canada

Figure 4 : Répartition actuelle de la Paruline azurée dans l’aire de reproduction au Canada

Modifiée d’après Ouellet, 1967.

Eagles, 1987, McCracken, 1993, Cyr et Larivée, 1995, et les données de 2001-2002 de l’Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de l’Ontario).
Les cercles indiquent les observations effectuées durant la première ou la seconde (2001-2002 seulement) période de collecte de données de l’Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de l’Ontario, ou les deux périodes
(cercles pleins = observations durant les deux périodes;
cercles vides = observations durant la première période, mais pas encore durant la seconde;
cercles divisés = observations durant la seconde période seulement).
Les carrés indiquent les observations effectuées au Québec
(carrés vides = une seule observation;
carré divisé = observations plus d’une année;
carrés pleins = preuve de nidification).

Les sites de baguage interceptent très rarement des Parulines azurées (par exemple, on compte 35 mentions émanant de l’observatoire d’oiseaux de Long Point, 1967-2002; Francis, comm. pers., 2002). Au printemps, les dates d’arrivée les plus précoces jamais documentées sont le 18 avril en Ontario (Hamel, 2000a) et le 6 mai au Québec (David, 1996). Le site de biologie de la Queen’s University constate une tendance à des retours plus précoces dans l’Est de l’Ontario depuis les huit dernières années (13 mai en 1994; 2 mai en 2001; Jones et al., données inéd.). La plupart des adultes quittent les sites de nidification du Canada avant la fin d’août.

La présence de Parulines azurées est considérée comme accidentelle en Nouvelle-Écosse (17 mentions; Currie, comm. pers., 2002) et au Nouveau-Brunswick (6 mentions; Christie, comm. pers., 2002), et rare à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador (7 mentions; Montevecchi, comm. pers., 2002). La découverte, le 2 juin 1924, d’une femelle près du lac Whitewater, au Manitoba, demeure l’unique mention confirmée au pays de la présence de l’espèce à l’ouest de la frontière Manitoba–Ontario (Taylor, comm. pers., 2002).